Lake Placid house rental - Exterior view in the spring and summer. Nice place for nights out by the fire.
Exterior view in the spring and summer. Nice place for nights out by the fire.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Placid House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8 and more, single story

This vacation rental house belonged to my grandmother & has all the charm of a 50s & 60s summer house with the upgrades of the 80s & 90s.

The house has beds to sleep 8 with room for 2 more all on one floor. The master bedroom has a king & a twin bed along with a private bath. The other 3 bedrooms are located at the other end of the house along with another full bath.

The house has TV, cable, wifi & a dishwasher in a very roomy, 1400 sf, single-story house. The house is fully furnished with all the plates, utensils, pots and pans in a full kitchen. We also supply bedding & towels.

Grandma’s Getaway is a great location to access Whiteface, the Olympic Mountain. The house can also be a great hiking or biking base & offers easy access to the High Peaks for all the outdoor activities the Adirondacks offers. It is close to the quaint shops and activities that Lake Placid has to offer without having to pay the higher rental rates.

Grandma's Getaway is located at the end of a dead end road overlooking an old horse pasture.

Please Note! Our calendar is ALWAYS up to date. We are very active in renting our properties and keep our calendars current at all times.

There are lots of activities throughout the year. Please contact us if you have specific interests or questions about the area.

Hope we can add your reservation to our calendar soon!

Key Words: Skiing, Whiteface, Lake Placid, Ice Fishing, Olympic Skating

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 285560 in Lake Placid, New York

Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 15 reviews
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Jersey City
5

Comfy n beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were a group of 8 . The place was absolutely beautiful , fully functional and could easily accomodate group of 8-10 people with reasonable prices as compared to other rentals in the area . Kim has been very prompt and helpful in all transactions. Thanks Kim , we enjoyed our stay and would love to return whenever we get a chance .
Owner's Response: Dear PS,
Thank you for your comments. I do my best to make sure each groups is happy and feels comfortable staying in my house. I am looking forward to your return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved our stay at this cottage! The front yard is huge and has plenty of space for a croquet game, a volleyball game, bocci, and a campfire, all at the same time!! It's a clean, comfortable house, with lots of room inside as well. It's close enough to tourist attractions and tons of hiking trails. I would definitely recommend this property; it is a great bargain!
Owner's Response: DB,
Thank you for choosing my house. I appreciate your comments, and I am very happy you had fun. This house is perfect for people who like to spend their time outside as your group did. The fire pit and enclosed porch are great features. The bargain rate is just a bonus! Happy traveling and hope to see you again! Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great Vacation Home to enjoy the summer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed this house very much- it felt like we were away from everything but yet we were so close to so much in Lake Placid. The house looks better than in the pictures. It is clean, spacious and price is great. We would highly recommend a vacation here!
Owner's Response: WT,
This area is close to so many opportunities. You are so very right! The short distance makes this property very affordable. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Everyone here works very hard to keep things clean. Your comfort is what I strive to attain. Two new a/c units are being added this week.
Thank you for choosing my propety. I am looking forward to your next visit! Kim
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thank you for the weekend

  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We would like to thank you for the weekend. We enjoyed the weather. The master bed was comfortable. We had a BBQ. Hope to see you soon.
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Hiking Basecamp

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time at the house. Everything was perfect and just what we needed. Kim was great, even making sure that the house was fully stocked on paper products. We did some hiking in the area and the house was just far enough from town to make you feel like you were out in the woods, but close enough to drive in and enjoy a nice dinner in Lake Placid. Everything with the trip went really well, but the house being better than advertised, everything was jsut a bit easier.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you had a wonderful time. It is nice to visit the Adirondacks and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and yet be close enough to hike, bike, ski, fish or kayak. Looking forward to having your group stay again! Happy Vacationing!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Down home time at Grandma's House

Down home time at Grandma's House
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family had a wonderful stay at Grandma's House. We arrived from three different locations in North America and were greeted by a quaint house nestled underneath beautiful pine trees. There was a lot of space for all of our cars and the large private yard gave ample room for our dog to run and a great place to play. We loved sitting under the car port in the evenings watching the sun set over the mountains or looking for deer out grazing in the early morning mist. The four bedrooms offered enough places for everyone to sleep and a place to go if one needed a bit of quiet.

The water under the covered bridge in Jay offers an excellent place for families to cool off on hot summer days and a great opportunity for meeting the locals. The community of Jay is quiet and very friendly. The High Peaks area is a short drive away offering lots of hiking and rock climbing.

We will come again to Grandma's House and enjoy another wonderful family time together.
Owner's Response: Donna,
Thank you for taking the time to tell of your experience in our house. We love where we live and like to share the scenery, the Au Sable River & covered bridge, the beautiful nights and the mountains. Jay is a friendly community very close to so many fun things. Whiteface Mountain, Wilmington Beach and Lake Placid. When you come back, there are many more things for you to do and see. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
3

Food fit for a group

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Functionnal home, good place for a drop off point for lake placid without the price. Kim will help you in order to make your stay confortable. The pictures of the house are correct. The house is very clean and has two bathrooms. Easy acces to highway and grocery stores. Very big house for 8 guys!

Thank again Kim
Owner's Response: Gentlemen, I am glad you enjoyed your visit and found everything you needed already at the house. The house is spacious enough for a group as you indicated. As you also acknowledged, it is close enough to enjoy Lake Placid and the surrounding areas. I am sure the fishing and hiking experiences were just what you needed for your vacation. I look forward to your return trip. You will be more than welcome. Thanks for letting future guests know that they would enjoy the house also.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Rochester, NY
5

Perfect location & spacious for 3 families

Perfect location & spacious for 3 families
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I thought I have posted review.
Well, it's quite late already. But, I think it's better than never.
We have been there for two nights. The rooms were clean, all the beds were made properly. The kitchen was clean. Although the weather was a bit challenging, we enjoyed a lot staying in this house, especially due to the weather, we stayed more at home and it was really nice experience. Because the owners provide enough woods for the fireplace, we have stayed warm and dry.

Thanks again, and see you this Fall again.

Gabriel
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Peace & Quiet and Lots of Things to See & Do

Peace & Quiet and Lots of Things to See & Do
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had the pleasure of leaving Florida during the month of August to travel to the cooler temperatures in the Adirondacks. Other than the fact that Mother Nature sent a hurricane all the way to Upstate New York to visit us, our stay was everything that we were looking for. The house was nicely equipped, with more than the essentials in the kitchen and the linen closets. The wood pile for the firepit and the fireplace was substantial!

We had our two young labroador retrievers with us and they absolutely loved the huge front yard, the trail down to the brook and playing in the brook!

The location of the house was absolutely perfect. We were able to take day trips to Lake Placid, Saranac Lake, Whiteface, Lake Champlain, Plattsburgh, Ausable Chasm, Keene Valley and Vermont via ferry across Lake Champlain.

The owner and his assistant were available at all times to help and/or answer any questions we may have had. In addition, we found the townspeople and other locals to be very friendly and eager to make our stay pleasant.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Affordable and Close to Lake Placid & Whiteface - Great Yard & Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285560
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great Stay, Great Service, Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I got to the place a little early and left a little late, was no problem with them. I was checked on when I got there and they had binders of information from food to nature trails. Shared this place with 5 guys and we all have plenty of room, could of had even more. Was very clean upon arriving!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Matt, thank you for taking the time to let others know how you enjoyed your stay. We are really glad to have you back again this year. Welcome back!
Helpful votes: 1/1