Chicago condo rental - Open floor plan is great for entertaining......
Open floor plan is great for entertaining......
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Chicago Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Residnence on the Avenue. A Spacious Vintage condo in a stunning 1928 Art Deco building on a tree lined avenue. We are a fully licensed vacation rental #2087704 and 1 of only 73 licensed vacation condos in Chicago! A very quiet and secure 4 unit building with front lobby entrance. Property manager on site to answer any questions and to make sure that your stay at Residence on the Avenue is a wonderful experience. Open floor plan with spacious gourmet kitchen/dining area over looking the living room with fire place. Custom cabinets, granite counter tops and Jenn Aire Stainless Steel appliances. Great for entertaining. This spacious condo has 9 ft. ceilings. All hard wood floors. Private garden with its own seating area. Free inter net & long distance phone service included. Also see our 3 bedroom 2nd floor unit #290256.

Large bathrooms. One with whirlpool/shower,the other with large walk in shower. Italian tile heated floors. The bedrooms and main bath are located down a seperate hallway. Bedroom one has a French four poster queen size bed. Bedroom two has a Victorian antique full sized bed and walk in closet. All linens are 400 thread count or greater to insure a comfortabele sleep. Our condos are maintained at the highest level to insure a healthy environment. We are a Green building with high effeciency systems.

On the Evanston Border, only 1 mile from the quaint downtown, home to great shops, restaurants and of course Northwestern University. Loyola University is also really close to Residence on the Avenue. This would make a perfect place to call home for all Northwestern & Loyala games and events. Also while visiting your child who are attending one of these great schools.

Walking distance to the Red Line as well as bus service. Quick access to Wrigley Field, Lincoln Park Zoo and the Magnificent Mile. You can reach the city center with in 20 minute. This is truly a great place to call home while exploring all the wonderful things that Chicago and Evanston have to offer.

Keywords: Chicago vacation rentals,Chicago hotels, Evanston hotels, North Shore hotels, Wilmette hotels, short term rental, holiday rental, self catered accommodations, corporate housing, Evanston events, Evanston, Wilmette, Northwestern University, Loyala University,conventions, Lake Michigan, Magnificient mile, Rogers Park, Lincoln Park, Wrigley field, Northwestern students, Northwestern alumni, Loyola, Evanston Hospital, St. Francis Hospital Evanston,vacation rental, gay friendly, boys town, pet friendly, Human Rights, Ridge historic district, Licensed vacation rental,

More Details
Hide Details

President of family business. Member of the Glen Ellyn Chamber of Commerce. Father. Animal lover. Former instructor/director/member of the Guardsmen Drum & Bugle Corps.Member of the Human Rights Campaign.

William Harty purchased this condo in 2003

The location is perfect. I wanted to be close to the lake, airport and Evanston. I am a fanatic for wonderful architechture and Rogers Park is known for the late 20's grand style. Only 10 miles from O'Hare Field. Midway Airport is 22 miles away. Just a 15 minute ride on the Union Pacific train to the heart of the city. This train stop is only 6 blocks from Residence on the Avenue. Ravinia Park, the out door concert venue can be reached in 20 minutes by this same train.The Red line will take you to Wrigley Field, Lincoln Park Zoo & to down town.

I love the location. All that the city has to offer is so reachable. Lake Shore Drive is so close and can take me to the Magnificient mile (Michigan Avenue)Or head the other direction where LSD becomes Sheridan Road & view the beautiful mansions along the way to the Chicago Botanical Garden..........All alon the the lake front. I enjoy as well the peacefulness ofthe beautiful North Shore towns of Evanston, Willmette, Winnetka & Glencoe Having the lake front so close is also a benefit.

17 Reviews of Property 265424 in Chicago, Illinois

Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
5

Love this place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is our second time to stay at this vacation rental! We love it! Ross has always greeted us warmly and makes sure our stay is comfortable. The condo is nicely furnished and allows us a place to relax and to cook, if we choose. This time off street parking was included at an additional charge, which we felt was very worth the extra cost ($10/day)...no trying to find parking or having to park way away from the building. Once inside the condo, everything is on one level and spacious but getting inside there are a few steps...so not truly accessible. :(

We have found the condo to be clean and well kept both times we have visited. Bath towels and bed linens are provided. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit. Hand and shower soaps have been included. We have had to purchase items such as toilet paper when we used up what was supplied, also baggies, aluminum foil, etc. Dishes, glasses and silverware are provided along with a few basic pots and pans. There is also a dishwasher, gas range, refrigerator and microwave. A grill and a smallish courtyard are available to use but that did not work into our plans on this trip.

After searching on-line for both vacation rentals and hotels, this is definitely the best deal. Close to the "L" (within approximately a 15 minute walk) makes this an easy and quiet place to stay but still allows you to be able to get anywhere you want.

We were privileged to tour the 3 bedroom unit in the same building...LOVED IT!!! There were only three of us staying this time but for a larger party, it would be well worth it!!!

I would definitely recommend this rental unit to friends or family!!!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
5

Great Stay in June

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed in this beautful unit for a week with our daughter while she attended tennis camp at Northwestern University in Evanston. The unit was very clean and we really enjoyed all the amenities. The check-in process was efficient; Ross, the property manager who just lives upstairs, contacted us by email and met us at the prearranged time to walk us through the unit to show us all the features as well as the outside garden area and the all important designated parking space. We made full use of the modern kitchen as we did a fair amount of cooking. We also used the Weber grill in the garden area a lot; it was quite nostalgic as we hadn't used charcoal briquets in years!! The available wireless internet worked very well and we appreciated the high speed very much; the download and upload speeds were absolutely awesome!! We took full advantage of the in unit washer and dryer since we were all very active during the day with tennis and running, The unit is only a short 10 minute drive away from the great shopping and restaurants in Evanston. We also ventured into Chicago for more shopping and visited the Shedd Aquarium in the downtown area. We would definitely recommend this unit for our friends and family but only when we don't need it for our return trips to the area!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Los Angeles, CA
5

Lovely Garden Unit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We really enjoyed our stay in your Garden Unit on Jarvis. It met all of our needs perfectly and our family and friends who visited there were all very impressed. My wife and I both agreed that whoever chose the furnishings and art share our eclectic tastes for mixing the vintage with the modern. Hopefully we can stay there again on our next stay in Chicago. Our thanks as well to Ross who greeted us upon our arrival, gave us a tour of the property and its amenities and was always available to answer any questions we had about the apartment and the neighborhood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Hove
5

Amazing Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was our first time visiting Chicago, I chose this property because the photos look so nice, and I was not disappointed, the reality was an apartment that was very spacious, much bigger than in the photos, immaculately clean and a really good layout, Ross and Glenn the managers greeted us on our arrival and gave us a very warm welcome, they told us all we needed to know and made it clear that they would be happy to help in anyway they could, we never needed to contact them once and this was because we had everything we needed and we had clearly been given lots of info in both the folder that is in the apartment and also because they patiently answered any questions and gave us info on our arrival, this apartment was a real joy to come back to after our full days out in Chicago, we loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms, the jacuzzi bath and spacious shower, the flat screen tv with built in dvd player in the living room, the large beds that were very comfy, an abundance of thick fluffy towels, the cooker and dishwasher worked amazingly well, the drinks feature on the American fridge was great for crushed ice and lovely cooling water to fill your bottles up for the day, there's a lovely garden out back for your use ,lovely to sit out with breakfast as there's a table and chairs for you, Chicago is the best City ever, so unique with an abundance of character, the architecture is amazing, there is so much to do, Willis tower with the glass rooms you step out into, the Navy pier, shopping outlets, six flags, museums, the beaches, magnificent mile with the water tower shopping mall, it was all so amazing, we didn't get to do everything and we stayed 11 nights, we are seriously thinking of going back next year and would have no hesitation in staying in this apartment again, it was nice feeling part of the community, the only gripe is some evenings was a bit of a struggle finding a parking space and we did get a ticket for having the car parked facing the wrong way, anyone from Europe would be oblivious to this law of having the car facing the way you are going to pull out, I suppose it makes sense when you think about it, but be aware so you don't get a ticket, that's the only gripe, everything else was perfect, thank you so much Glen, Ross and William the owner we had an unforgettable time, and hope to see you again in the very near future Jackie Mark and Damien
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Hove
5

Amazing Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was our first time visiting Chicago, I chose this property because the photos look so nice, and I was not disappointed, the reality was an apartment that was very spacious, much bigger than in the photos, immaculately clean and a really good layout, Ross and Glenn the managers greeted us on our arrival and gave us a very warm welcome, they told us all we needed to know and made it clear that they would be happy to help in anyway they could, we never needed to contact them once and this was because we had everything we needed and we had clearly been given lots of info in both the folder that is in the apartment and also because they patiently answered any questions and gave us info on our arrival, this apartment was a real joy to come back to after our full days out in Chicago, we loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms, the jacuzzi bath and spacious shower, the flat screen tv with built in dvd player in the living room, the large beds that were very comfy, an abundance of thick fluffy towels, the cooker and dishwasher worked amazingly well, the drinks feature on the American fridge was great for crushed ice and lovely cooling water to fill your bottles up for the day, there's a lovely garden out back for your use ,lovely to sit out with breakfast as there's a table and chairs for you, Chicago is the best City ever, so unique with an abundance of character, the architecture is amazing, there is so much to do, Willis tower with the glass rooms you step out into, the Navy pier, shopping outlets, six flags, museums, the beaches, magnificent mile with the water tower shopping mall, it was all so amazing, we didn't get to do everything and we stayed 11 nights, we are seriously thinking of going back next year and would have no hesitation in staying in this apartment again, it was nice feeling part of the community, the only gripe is some evenings was a bit of a struggle finding a parking space and we did get a ticket for having the car parked facing the wrong way, anyone from Europe would be oblivious to this law of having the car facing the way you are going to pull out, I suppose it makes sense when you think about it, but be aware so you don't get a ticket, that's the only gripe, everything else was perfect, thank you so much Glen, Ross and William the owner we had an unforgettable time, and hope to see you again in the very near future Jackie Mark and Damien
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Los Altos, CA, USA
5

Warm, welcoming and comfortable for family visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We brought our daughter into Chicago/Evanston area from college for the weekend and celebrated her birthday together in the lovely garden condo. I took her clothes shopping at Urban Outfitters in Evanston. The owner was very helpful and welcoming. There was even a beautiful bouquet of flowers in a vase to welcome us, a real treat on a cold, snowy day. The condo was very clean, well-maintained, and comfortable. We really appreciated the fact that the condo was comfortably warm but not dry, which was a relief after staying in a hotel near our daughter's college. We highly recommend the property and will pass on the information to our relatives and friends. We'll also keep it in mind for our future visits to Chicago.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
NYC
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I stayed at this place for a week and I loved it. The rooms were very clean, furnished and immaculate. It had all the provosions needed to feel like 'home'. I would totally go back:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Bartlett, IL
5

A relaxing weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This is a beautiful condo with modern amenities such as a fully equipped kitchen with elegant design. The bathrooms have heated floors! The whirlpool was a nice feature as well. It was a great place to relax and watch movies and order delivery. The place was very clean. The owner is helpful and accomodating. If you are looking for a place with modern conveniences and luxuries this is it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Maple Grove, MN
5

Girl's Family Getaway (MN)

Girl's Family Getaway (MN)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful stay in the Garden Unit when we visited Chicago this past summer. What was so great was that we were able to park our vehicle and leave it at the condo while we visited downtown Chicago. We discovered that we were not that far from the train line and was able to maneauver our way from the condo to the bus then onto the train to go sightseeing downtown. After a busy day of sightseeing, it was so nice to get back to a beautiful place to stay and just relax. We enjoyed having the kitchen facilities as well as the spaciousness of the condo so that we were not bumping into each other (plus having our privacy!). Everything was very well kept up and clean and (Glen) the property manager was very helpful. We would highly recommend a stay at the Residence on the Avenue.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Chicago Luxurious Vintage Vacation Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265424vb
+1 7087029431
Chicago Illinois
Michigan
5

Best time ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
I just got engaged in this condo! This place is fabulous! Its close to everything by car and quiet. I love the hosts.. Glen, Ross and April. They decorated for halloween and had a ghost that made sound when you opened the gate! OMG, it scared me the first time! This place is immaculate ! The bathrooms were spotless and the showers had ALL WHITE TILES!! ( I am very picky about showers and baths) No signs of dirty. It was huge for 2 people and lots of counter space for cooking. I loved it!! THANK YOU ALL!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1