Guanajuato house rental - Sleep in the romance and comfort of fine quality sheets and feather pillows
Sleep in the romance and comfort of fine quality sheets and feather pillows
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Guanajuato House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps up to 4)

Tranquil and elegant, this historic home is located right in the Centro Historico of Guanajuato (two blocks from the lively Jardin de Union and Teatro Juarez) yet tucked away up a quiet pedestrian-only street.

What you will love about staying in Casa Caracol is its perfect location. The city of Guanajuato is situated in a canyon, with the town center at the bottom and the private residences nestled into the mountainsides. The higher up, the better the mountain view, but also the more arduous the hike home. Casa Caracol is situated about one block up from the Plaza San Francisco (which is in the car-free zone), just high enough to have a view, but close enough so one can pop home without working up a sweat.

The central location of Casa Caracol allows the visitor to have the quintessential Guanajuato experience strolling and taking in all of the spontaneous happenings downtown: from joyful mariachis, solemn religious processions, bizarre costumed parades, open-air dancing, frequent craft fairs, mimes and clowns, and plentiful outdoor cafes and restaurants. Living downtown means you can hear the parade drums coming, grab your camera and watch it go by. It means you can enjoy your morning coffee/tea/fruit smoothie and home-made bagel around the corner at the Bagel Cafe, then come back home to freshen up and plan your day.

Renovated by an artist, Casa Caracol is notable for its beauty and romance. The difference is in the details. When you approach Casa Caracol you are first greeted with the outdoor garden - an ivy-covered archway encloses a miniature garden with potted plants and citrus trees. When the flowers are in bloom this archway is a frequent photo op for tourists. (Once an entire mariachi band posed there for their CD cover!)

Behind the giant ancient door and down four small steps is the foyer, with diffused light coming from a domed skylight. Off of this is the cozy bedroom with double bed, and the architectural feature for which Casa Caracol takes its name: the stone 'caracol' (Spanish both for 'snail' and 'spiral staircase') with original stone steps cantilevered magically into the massive walls. Walking up the caracol takes you to the shared rooftop terrace with breathtaking views of the Templo San Francisco. Bring your iPod and enjoy a nap in the hammock (listening to your own tunes on the Klipsch for iPod speakers), or bring your laptop and enjoy wifi service throughout the entire home.

Continuing you come to the sun-flooded kitchen/dining/living area. With a wall of eastern exposure windows, this is the heart of the home, both sunny and peaceful. The kitchen is equipped with modern conveniences: four burner stove/oven, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster oven, blender (for those frothy drinks!), coffee maker, stemware, and pots and pans to cook up and enjoy delicious meals. Off of this main room is the large bedroom with king size bed (that can be converted into two twins but please advise me beforehand if you would like this option) and the bathroom with modern plumbing and unlimited hot water. Casa Caracol is a all on one level, not including the entranceway and rooftop terrace. The price includes all utilities, linens, weekly housekeeping, unlimited purified drinking water, and wifi.

When renovating, we preserved the historic Spanish colonial beauty of this 200+ year old building. Enjoy the romance and natural insulation of 40 centimeter thick adobe walls (cool in the summer, warm in the winter), wood-beamed high ceilings, original built-in wooden cabinetry with antique wavy glass, and hand-carved stone details. We added festive Mexican tiles, traditional fired-clay floors, high thread-count sheets, and goose feather comforters and pillows. The walls are decorated in original art from our private collection.

Let us customize your stay in Guanajuato. Having lived here full-time for 15 years, we are fortunate to know many of the artists, artisans and cultural gems of Guanajuato. For example, we can help you enjoy print-making, stained glass-making, horseback riding, tours of famous local pottery studios, guitar lessons, Mexican cooking or dancing lessons. Experience a sweat lodge with guided shaman, or natural hot springs. We can give you recommendations to the best dark roast coffee, eating out vegetarian, a homeopathic pediatrician, or one of the many often-unpublicized jazz and classical music concerts around town.

More Details
Hide Details

Marie is a classical musician who performs weekly with the Guanajuato Symphony. Dean is a professional artist. We have lived here full-time since 1998. When not playing music, painting, or renovating houses, we enjoy hiking, sharing meals with friends, and goofing off with our young son.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

We moved here in 1998 and fell in love with the colonial architecture. Casa Caracol is our third historic restoration project, and our only vacation rental, which we manage personally. When we first saw Casa Caracol the roof was falling in! When it became available we couldn´t resist the temptation of restoring it to its original glory.

A magical, romantic place to visit, Guanajuato was recently ranked FIFTH out of the 830 current World Heritage Sites by a panel of 419 National Geographic experts in sustainable tourism, meaning this is one of the best-preserved cultures to visit in the world. What better way to experience it than in an authentically-restored historic home?

26 Reviews of Property 285148 in Guanajuato, Central Mexico / Colonial Circuit

Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed a little over a month in December 2012.

Marie and Dean were excellent hosts - very accommodating and helpful. They live right next door and speak both English and Spanish. The house is rustic and has some shortcomings, but overall, it's an amazing property. Almost like living in a museum. The location is perfect. The house is well-maintained and everything functions as intended. There was some pretty uncomfortable living room furniture during our stay, but it looks like that has been replaced!

FYI - to travelers who are renting a VRBO for the first time - it's just not like staying in a hotel, and you must adjust your expectations. However, I think there's much more value (financially and culturally) in staying in someone's home, rather than a sterile hotel room.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Seattle, WA
5

Can't imagine staying anywhere else

Can't imagine staying anywhere else
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Only when you've walked 30 minutes uphill to get to other locations in Guanajuato, can you appreciate the truly great location of Casa Caracol! A highlight of its location is the breathtaking rooftop deck view from a comfortable table & chairs or a tempting hammock for your afternoon siesta.

Humongous windows let in all the Guanajuato sun, so even during winter the temperature inside was perfect. Beds and living room furniture are really comfortable. Best bookshelf selection (including maps and guides for local sightseeing, as well as wonderful literature) and iPod music EVER. All the cooking utensils we needed were there. Delightful to have weekly maid service included, with fresh linens.

Owners are quick to respond to any questions or requests; everything about our month at Casa Caracol went perfectly smoothly. It was also great to have their driver Gabriel for the trip back to Leon airport; he's charming, informative and reliable.

On the next trip to GTO, won't even look at another place: this is where I'd want to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Where do you live?
5

Perfect home, perfect location, perfect hosts.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I loved my time at Casa Caracol. Spacious, comfortable, and in the best neighborhood for many reasons in Guanajuato. I travel a lot and to find a property like this is a god send. I felt like I lived in Guanajuato as a resident of Casa Caracol, not just a customer in a room in a hotel. We didn't really need the 2nd bedroom but loved having the extra room. Loved the roof top patio which was an awesome was to spend an afternoon reading or having a drink, listening to music. Weather was perfect for our whole stay in Guanajuato, and loved the hospitality of everyone. This location is literally around the corner from the Escuela Mexicana if you are considering a language school there is no better property or location for your convenience. Plan to book again for next december unless you beat me to it. Enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Prince Rupert, Canada
5

Why you Should Stay Here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I would like to say that this is a terrible place and you should not stay here. Saying this would ensure that the place was always available for my wife and I (it has been said that Miss Piggy has nothing on me when it comes to being self –centred).

However, the truth must out. ..

Location - Really good. 5 – 6 minute walk from the Union Jardin, Teatro Juarez and Teatro Principal (yes, I really did go to the symphony twice). A bus stop about a 5 minute walk away. One of the real benefits of this location is that you are not climbing 100+ steps when you walk home from the downtown central corridor.

Vista – You look out onto the Templo San Francisco bell towers. Also a view of the houses rising up the hill on the other side of the valley.

Bedrooms – Two located at opposite ends of the apartment. The master bedroom is really nice with lots of space with a built in clothes-closet. Another wardrobe is available of the other bedroom. My wife took the built in clothes – closet and I used the wardrobe by the other bedroom.

Bathroom – beautifully tiled and the shower really works. Good water pressure and lots of hot water (the owners have installed an On Demand Hot Water Heater).

Internet - Really good. There is WIFI and cable internet. And, a writing desk.

Rooftop Deck – There is a really cool staircase up to the deck. The staircase a caracol (go look it up). There is a great view from the deck and if you handwash your clothes, it is a good place to hang them to dry.

Barbeque – There is a Weber briquette barbeque on the deck. I used it a lot to cook chicken and hamburgers.

Towels and Sheets – My wife says the linen and towels are really good quality. I personally noticed that there wasn’t any holes in the sheets.

Noise – GTO has a fair bit of ambient noise. Dogs, chickens, roosters, church bells, university students. It is part of the GTO experience. After a while you do not notice it (we were there for a month). Incidentally, in AD 400, Paulinus of Nola introduced church bells into the Christian Church and in AD 604, Pope Sabinianus officially sanctioned their usage (try working this information into your next cocktail party conversation).

Landlords – We liked Dean and Marie. They have lived here for many years and have a really good understanding of the City and what is available for people

Cats - the Callejon is patrolled by three cats. Two are friendly, the other not so much.

We hope you enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Prince Rupert, Canada
5

Why you Should Stay Here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I would like to say that this is a terrible place and you should not stay here. Saying this would ensure that the place was always available for my wife and I (it has been said that Miss Piggy has nothing on me when it comes to being self –centred).

However, the truth must out. ..

Location - Really good. 5 – 6 minute walk from the Union Jardin, Teatro Juarez and Teatro Principal (yes, I really did go to the symphony twice). A bus stop about a 5 minute walk away. One of the real benefits of this location is that you are not climbing 100+ steps when you walk home from the downtown central corridor.

Vista – You look out onto the Templo San Francisco bell towers. Also a view of the houses rising up the hill on the other side of the valley.

Bedrooms – Two located at opposite ends of the apartment. The master bedroom is really nice with lots of space with a built in clothes-closet. Another wardrobe is available of the other bedroom. My wife took the built in clothes – closet and I used the wardrobe by the other bedroom.

Bathroom – beautifully tiled and the shower really works. Good water pressure and lots of hot water (the owners have installed an On Demand Hot Water Heater).

Internet - Really good. There is WIFI and cable internet. And, a writing desk.

Rooftop Deck – There is a really cool staircase up to the deck. The staircase a caracol (go look it up). There is a great view from the deck and if you handwash your clothes, it is a good place to hang them to dry.

Barbeque – There is a Weber briquette barbeque on the deck. I used it a lot to cook chicken and hamburgers.

Towels and Sheets – My wife says the linen and towels are really good quality. I personally noticed that there wasn’t any holes in the sheets.

Noise – GTO has a fair bit of ambient noise. Dogs, chickens, roosters, church bells, university students. It is part of the GTO experience. After a while you do not notice it (we were there for a month). Incidentally, in AD 400, Paulinus of Nola introduced church bells into the Christian Church and in AD 604, Pope Sabinianus officially sanctioned their usage (try working this information into your next cocktail party conversation).

Landlords – We liked Dean and Marie. They have lived here for many years and have a really good understanding of the City and what is available for people

Cats - the Callejon is patrolled by three cats. Two are friendly, the other not so much.

We hope you enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Tucson, AZ
5

Fantastic Rental Experience in Guanajuato Centro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This well located (Plaza San Francisco) rental property was perfect for my friend and me. We are both seniors and looked for a rental w/o too many steps or a too steep hill. This is Guanajuato, so not all things are possible, but this was an easy walk compared to many we've seen. The owners live next door, and were exceptionally helpful. Free water (and the changing of bottles) is a huge plus, and anything we needed done was taken care of immediately. Always hot water and good pressure, reliable WiFi, comfy beds, well-equipped kitchen, and wonderful roof top terraza - we loved it! Also, good locks on the doors - we felt very safe and secure. All in all, it was a wonderful month spent in a magical city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
san francisco, ca
5

Perfect place to explore Guanajuato

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A beautiful and charming place in the best neighborhood. Very comfortable and easy walking distance to the Jardin. Big windows and a lovelly rooftop deck have excellent views of the city.
Guanajuato is not a quiet city so any where you stay you can expect to hear music, people and barking dogs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Santa Fe, NM
5

Fantastic location and a truly great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
First, Marie and Dean were great. They were so helpful and accommodating, it was a pleasure meeting them both. The house is a real gem, it's beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It has to be one of the best places to stay in Guanajuato (we rented a couple houses in the area as we had a big family). The location is excellent and is very near the Teatro Juarez. It's ideal for anyone, particularly those who don't want to climb as much. Many places throughout Guanajuato require taking a lot of steps, this house is a very short walk from the heart of the city without too many steps to take. We had our parents stay at this place and they truly loved it. We're hoping to come back and stay here in the future ourselves. Again, the house is wonderful and Marie and Dean were great. We have nothing but good things to say about the house. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
SANTA FE, NM87507
5

Lovely Place, Good Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Marie and Dean could not have been more helpful and accomodating. Casa Caracol is beautiful and comfortable and was well supplied with everything you could possibly need. I'd highly recommend staying there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Caracol: Tranquil and Elegant in the Historic Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285148vbi
(949) 202-5587 (California, USA)
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Fort Worth Texas
5

6 enchanted months in Guanajuato

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
our stay was magnificent. the location of the charming casita we rented was excellent and the space full of beautiful sunlight. Warm in the winter and cool in the hottest months with a fan. The neighborhood is wonderful including beautiful people and the view from the terrace is spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway