Mathews house rental - Taken on approach, up 9 feet for panoramic views and great breezes!
Taken on approach, up 9 feet for panoramic views and great breezes!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Mathews House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whatever the Season, this home is a tranquil, extremely private vacation retreat! From fishing on the Chesapeake Bay, to dipping your toes in the water while watching the birdlife from the dock, to feeling the constant breeze on the screened 10X50 porch, Catherine's Cove calms the mind, relaxes the body and soothes the spirit. With year-round water access to the Bay only minutes away, Winter Harbor has excellent crabbing and fishing (including fly fishing!), smooth and peaceful kayaking, birding, and sun bathing. In autumn and winter, the raised hearth fireplace creates a warm space to cozy up with a good book or hold long conversations with family and friends.

Walking into the main floor, you are quickly touched by the sun-drenched feel of the house. With heart-of-pine floors throughout the main floor of the house, all reclaimed from a factory in Connecticut, and windows with expansive views of wetlands and water, the physical structure of the house is complimented by the crisp and clean style throughout. Topping this off, the tin roof is perfect.The open kitchen plan, designed by a local Richmond restaurant owner, makes for a welcoming space for all. A separate eating area, both inside the house and on the screened-in porch, provides ample space to enjoy each other's company over a meal. The living room has stylish but comfortable seating for a nap or a nice long chat. There are three bedrooms on the same floor, with enough privacy and space in each: One has two twin beds, another has a full bed and personal access to the bathroom shared with the great room, and the master bedroom has a queen-sized bed with it's own bathroom and front porch access. The loft space, with two twin beds, as well as a fold out queen sofa, accents the open floor plan and provides another place to lounge and relax.

Catherine's Cove is located only minutes from Main Street, Matthews, where shopping and dining are available, if you want to venture 'downtown'! The house has a well appointed kitchen, so onsite dining can be even better.

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS:

DONK'S LIVE THEATRE is just up the road. This 1947 true piece of Americana is the kind of old movie house or theater that the late Charles Kuralt would have stopped at and done a story on for his On the Road Series. Opry singers and talent contests, are just a few examples of how you can walk back in time for a fun, country evening.

NEW POINT COMFORT NATURE PRESERVE is a short 15 minute drive. It provides a unique look at life at the edge of the Chesapeake Bay. The lighthouse is the third oldest still standing on the Bay.Depending on the tide, this site combines tidal shallows, mudflats, beach, exposed pilings, and deep offshore channels, all of which offer their own assortment of numerous waterbirds, lusty displays of fiddler crabs and yellow Seaside Dragonlets, our only truly saltwater dragonfly. You may experience this beauty on the boardwalk, or launch a kayak or canoe there. Located in Mathews County at the southern end of Route 600, Virginia Historical Marker N-89.

HISTORIC WILLIAMSBURG and YORKTOWN, WATER COUNTRY, AND THE WILLIAMSBURG OUTLET STORES are all a 45 minute drive..

We built this vacation home just five years ago as our vacation retreat from the City. With our adult children scattered about the country, we have decided to share our home with you. Please call or write to reserve your dates!

Keywords: Contemporary Waterfront Home

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 284894 in Mathews, Virginia

Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
-
5

Catherine's Cove = Great Getaway!!

Catherine's Cove = Great Getaway!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I stayed at Catherine’s Cove for a long “get-away” weekend in March. We had gorgeous weather on Friday and Saturday and took advantage of the time to explore the county and Matthews proper. At one of the small antique/consignment stores I found something I have been searching for for over a year - the find of a lifetime at a fantastic deal! Talk about a kid in a candy store!! Plus we managed to get in some kayaking back at the house and sit on the deck enjoying a glass of wine and just listening to the quiet. Sunday brought us cold rain, but the house was so well stocked with games and puzzles we actually had a blast being “house-bound.” We’ve stayed in quite a few VRBO homes, but Catherine’s Cove was so well stocked with thoughtful items (coffee!) it is on our list as one of the best.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to read this review of Catherine's Cove! It reminds us that we are doing things right; that an immaculately kept house with many amenities bodes well for a wonderful time, no matter what the weather or time of year. Being "well stocked" has been a top priority. We know our guests appreciate settling in and relaxing smoothly and simply. From coffee, tea, spices, paper goods, shampoo and detergents to name a few, we want our guests to walk in and feel like they are staying at a friend's home, warm and inviting.
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Wi & NC
5

Furthest thing from Disneyland.....great for Birding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Just what we love! Don't expect a lot of gaudy, flashy tourist stuff in this beautiful area. We arrived in a snowstorm hoping to do some early spring paddling on the inlet- but with the weather- plans changed. Instead we found time to explore the wonderful little village of Mathews, even fell in love with the lovely ladies at the hardware store- drove out to Gywinn island to a little seafood restaurant on the water, piled on our warm jackets & walked Beverly beach - an outstanding natural place with lots of wintering waterfowl. Often places have a fireplace advertised, but wood isn't provided or it isn't functioning properly- but this house has a very nice one with plenty of DRY wood to use. It was so appreciated! After the ice moved out of the little bay - Tundra Swans moved in, Blue Herons stopped to perch on the dock- lots of birds taking shelter in the wooded area across the sandy road from the house. The house very comfortable, had wonderful views. Can't wait to come back & pull out the canoe provided for guests!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We feel so gratified to read a review like this and agree 100%!

“Downtown” Mathews is quite magical and one never knows where or when a special moment will take place. The hardware ladies are a treat! But don’t forget Steve, the curbside fishmonger, John from the asparagus farm, and the Bay School Community Arts Center. We have the wonderful combination of the eternally pleasant and helpful librarians in an award winning rural library! And then, Best Value Super Market can't be left out. They market grind their own hamburger and sausage- a must for all carnivores. We could go on and on....!

Our fireplace, built as a very important focal point in the Cove house, has a raised hearth, easy to load with wood, easy to tend, and so very relaxing.

We send our gratitude to this couple for their complete and thoughtful review. They related what we have known for quite some time: Catherine’s Cove and her environs can be a wonderful experience any time of year and regardless of the weather.

Best,
Kit and Tom
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
United States
5

Best vacation I've had over the past decade!

Best vacation I've had over the past decade!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This property met and exceeded my expectations in every single way. I felt like we had arrived at an upmarket family guesthouse as opposed to just another 'vacation rental'. The owners have gone far out of their way to ensure that you will enjoy your best vacation. There are so many little touches, linens, towels, notes, vanity kits in the bathrooms. We've been going to Topsail Island and Emerald Isle for 10 years and I can honestly say that this is the first time I've come back from a vacation feeling rested. Everything was wonderful. The teenagers didnt even miss the internet but spent all day outdoors, the dogs loved swimming in the water and would've gone all the way to the Bay if I had kayaked that far. Mathews is gorgeous. This is the first holiday home I have visited that I would gladly return to next year, if I can't wangle another week prior to next summer! Gosh, thank you so much for sharing your home, it is beautiful! The bald eagle landed in the tree at dusk one evening, and we didnt see another soul the entire week when we were at the house. Total, blissful rest and relaxation - just what some world-weary travellers needed. Thank you again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Marietta,Georgia
5

Stress relief

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very nice! We enjoyed the hometown atmosphere in the town of Matthews. We visited several of the local businesses and they made you feel very welcomed like, you were back home for a visit. The home we stayed in the owners are very very hospitable as well. They have everything you need to make your vacation so so relaxing and enjoyable. We made wonderful family memories there. You would truly enjoy your stay! Close enough to Williamsburg yet far enough from all the attractions to enjoy the peace and quiet at Catherine's Cove. Knowing you are in a bird sanctuary the first day there a Bald Eagle flew in and purched in a pine tree to the right as you walk to the dock, what an amazing sight and one of the many highlights of the stay. Kit was very helpful in giving us info on the area local markets, restaurants and such that was very nice to know we also picked Blueberries just down from where you turn into Catherine's Cove they were very good so my wife the baker she is made a fresh blueberry cake. To close if you just need some R and R, a history buff, or roller coaster fanatic Catherine's Cove is an hour or less away from it all.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Pottstown, PA USA
5

Serene, Beautiful, Quiet, Restful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I just spent a wonderfully quiet, restful week at Catherine's Cove to celebrate our 40th anniversary. We wanted someplace where we could relax and just enjoy each other's company without distractions. Catherine's Cove gave us that beautiful time for which we had hoped. The house is lovely, welcoming and stocked with just about everything you could possibly need. We particularly liked the wonderful screened in porch with the most beautiful view of Winter Harbor and the Chesapeake beyond. In fact, we spent a great deal of our time there, from sipping coffee in the morning and watching the herons and egrets perform their morning primping, the songbirds waking and greeting the morning, and some of the most beautiful sunrises I've ever seen, to a quiet evening with a glass of wine and watching the sky change from beautiful blue to purple to night, the egrets and herons heading to their evening rest and the gulls catching one more fish before heading to bed. If you want excitement and plenty of activity, then Catherine's Cove is not for you, but if you crave peace and quiet, beauty and serenity, then settle into Catherine Cove's wonderful atmosphere. Our biggest excitement was when we found crabs in the trap and once when a long boat sculled by. The most activity we encountered was the egrets, herons and gulls spending the day fishing, and watching the waterman bring in his crab traps. We did some activity of our own; fishing, crabbing (they were delicious!) and some light kayaking. We also explored various areas of Mathews County and visited their wonderful visitor's center in downtown Mathews. The whole area is so lovely, the people of Mathews extremely friendly and the ladies at the visitor's center extemely helpful and sweet. But for the most part, we just enjoyed the quiet! We marveled at how infrequently we saw or even heard another human being. So often, the only sound we heard was the laugh of the gulls, the wind through the brush, the splash of a fish. As to the house itself, we were pleasantly surprised at how comfy the bed was, how spacious and and cheery the main room was, and all the little touches that made it feel like home. Having the fishing tackle, the crab and minnow traps, kayaks and canoe available for our use was an extra bonus! Our dog Rohan enjoyed her vacation, too. We will go back to Catherine's Cove next time we need a booster shot of the total serenity we encountered there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Reston, VA by way of Silver Spring, MD
5

Memorial Day Family Get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
No words are enough to describe the feelings I felt as soon as I walked into the house. My breath was taken away by the view from the living room …natural setting of shrubs, trees right by the water truly AMAZING!!! Perfect setting for a get-a-way from the hustle and bustle. The view of the water & sunrise from the living room & master bedroom was my favorite :) Not to mention the fully-loaded kitchen, screened porch (kept mosquitoes at bay), main floor setting for the bedrooms and washer/dryer were a definitely plus. We tried to fish from the pier, but weren't quite lucky this time. Everyone kept asking me how I picked such a perfect location...must have been destined to be!!! We were so relaxed and are even considering making this a family tradition to come back to Port Haywood over Memorial Day Weekend!!! That's how much of a wonderful time we all had!!! The typed directions were a great help...coz GPS alone would not have gotten us to the house - so thoughtful!
My family & I truly enjoyed visiting in the Mathews county area. We ventured to Bethel Beach and Gwynn’s Island. Got a chance to shop at the Farmer’s Market on Sat morning, walked along Main Street got ice cream from Richardson’s, fresh flounder from the guy on the truck - he ran out of sugar toads which I wanted to try - and everyone we met was super nice to us!!!
I'll definitely be BACK :) in the near future. May God Bless you & your family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Saint.Cloud.Fl
5

Beautiful Water Front Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I enjoyed my visit to Catherine's Cove,the house is like home away from home,only better.the view and and the sunrises were fantastic!! it was a wonderful place for entertaining family and friends.had a wonderful cookout and everyone loved the house.very comfortable and roomy.hope to be back in the future.great restaurants close.am a seafood snob. loved Chef Todds! would recommend this property to family and friends.Thank You Mr.Mrs Leppert .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Columbia, MD
5

Peaceful waterfront vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We just spent a wonderful week at Catherine's Cove. The house is beautifully built, well-equipped and spacious for a family of five. It felt like visiting the home of a friend; the owners were very welcoming. The big screened porch was great enjoying the view without the mosquitos and for eating crabs. The boys got up eagerly every morning to check the crab traps and put out fresh bait. We didn't catch many fish, but it was fun to catch minnows and little crabs in the minnow trap. We kayaked in the evenings and saw kingfishers, herons and turtles. One overcast day we went to Water Country USA and got our fill of waterslides. We also walked around Mathews, ate at Chef Todd's (generous portions and delectable desserts), and visited the Gwynn's Island museum. Our survey of favorite things: kayaking, catching crabs, fishing, learing how to throw a cast net and examining what we caught, and playing with the tree frog that jumped on my shirt.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Vancouver BC Canada
5

Total relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
If you want to get away from it all this is the place. Great space for a family get together as there are plenty of beds and bedrooms. The house is fantastic but the screened porch is the absolute highlight! The bird life abounds and several times we spotted a family of wild turkeys living on the property. It was fun for our kids to crab off the dock, fish and kayak. They didn't really like the swimming though as the bay is muddy and there are jellyfish plus a plenitude of crabs.
The citizens of Mathews are incredibly friendly. They were amazed that we came from the other side of the continent to stay in quiet little Mathews. We enjoyed browsing the town and eating at Chef Todd's and Richardson's Cafe. And you must visit the library - it really is award winning!
Located less than 1 hour from the Historic Triangle of Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown it is easy to access a urban enviroment for day trips or just relax in the rural comfort of Mathews County.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Catherine's Cove at Winter Harbor on the Chesapeake Bay, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284894vbi
+1 804-513-4785
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Paterson, NJ
5

One of the top 3 places we have rented on VRBO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This place is fantastic. Exactly as described the outside screened in deck is perfect to hang out on. We were greeted by the owner who went over with us the house and property. We crabbed and had cocktails out on the dock every late afternoon with many crabs caught. The house is in a great area not another soul around the only things you really saw were the fiddler crabs, blue and grey herons, eagles and ospreys it's a true birding paradise. The stars at night were awesome. The town of Mathews offers everything you need, there is a Food lion supermarket for all of your food needs. We gathered oysters at low tide and grilled them they were very good. We had our boat which we kept at the dock and went out into the bay for fishing and crabbing also went to the beach to the left of the inlet which was totally secluded. We caught some croakers and a few snapper blues but the big fish eluded us. If you want peace and quiet and a truly remarkable place to stay Catherine's Cove is the place, we will be back.
George, Barbara and Bill.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7