Angel Fire house rental - Home is set among forest and meadows.
Home is set among forest and meadows.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Angel Fire House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)

This two bedroom one bath 1400 sq. ft. timber home sleeps 5 comfortably with 1 king and 1 queen bed with all modern amenities There is also a fold-out couch. The large and combined kitchen and living room offers a wonderful setting for viewing nature and sharing time with family and friends. With a wood stove and multiple bay windows it's bright and cheery in the daytime and warm & cozy at night. The home also has central heat. This beautifully restored Historic Log Ranch Headquarters sits on 7 acres and is located 9 miles south of Angel Fire just off the road to Ocate. We have unobstructed views across ponds, wetlands, and extensive ranch lands which surround the home. Great for bird watching in the summer and during migrating seasons. Elk herds can be seen almost daily in the fields next to the home as well as bald eagles, osprey and varied waterfowl. It is 14 min. highway drive to the upper parking lot at the Angel Fire Ski Area.

Owner Description: Ed May purchased this house in 1991. The house was originally built around 1927. The original ranch that built this house had over 50,000 acres. At one time this area was very successful at growing potatoes and other vegetables. Now it is mostly cattle land. Remnants of old potato bunkers can still be seen around the valley. Craig Hudson, the local agent and neighbor lives 3 blocks away and he has been in this neighborhood for ten years.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 284489 in Angel Fire, New Mexico

Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Keller, Texas
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The elk grazing in the meadows each morning and evening were amazing! This cozy little cabin provided a great view of grassy fields, mountains, every star in the northern hemisphere...all God's handiwork. None of the reviews could have prepared us for the perfection of this vacation. We arrived just after the rains, so everything was green and renewed. We just added a couple of hummingbird feeders to cap off the entertainment. (Beware of the ruby-throated bully we seem to have created!) There is even a pair of binoculars for you to use. You may want to throw in Peterson's Field Guides for birds, wildflowers and trees and a couple of comfy camping chairs to set up on the huge deck. The quiet was only broken by the coyotes, turkeys and elk calling from the mountain ridge. The log house had every amenity you could want, including gas range, dishwasher, every small appliance (including coffee bean grinder) you could want, w/d, shower & tub. The computer is dial-up and the TV has more channels than you can count, but who needs that with the picture windows?! This place is a photographer's dream. The house was spotless, the manager was awesome and the owner is lucky! If you just want to have a relaxing place to crash, cook and get close to nature, this is your place! Angel Fire didn't have a lot going on so we drove to Taos for an afternoon, but the rest of the time was spent just hanging around. Being summer, the rental was so affordable. We lucked into last-minute openings and were truly blessed!! (Downside: The gravel walkway and stairs on the deck are tough for those who need to roll luggage and coolers, so you'll need to carry everything you pack. The Lowe's grocery in town has everything you need and the prices aren't outrageous. There isn't a grill outside.) The only thing missing was our golden retriever who stayed behind to keep our son company. The twelve-hour car ride would have been too much for him, but he would have enjoyed the meadows and ponds. I could envision myself retiring to this place and utilizing that greenhouse to its fullest!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Tisbury, Ma/ Martha's Vineyard
5

Great stay at Ranch Headquarters!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had an amazing 2 nights in Black Lake! The house and property are incredible! Beautiful views, and over the top comfort...great kitchen/dining area, and very comfy beds with nice linnens( no scratchy sheets here!) SO private, we were able to see the meteor shower and hear the coyotes. A great spot to do some touring and nice to come back to after a long day of exploring. We did the Enchanted Circle drive, went to Cimmaron Canyon, had lunch at the famed St. James Hotel, went to gorge bridge, Taos pueblo, Vietman Vetran's memorial, had a margarita at the Taos Inn, went to the Toas ski valley..with a stop in Arroyo Seco. Well worth the drive outside of town! Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of four had the privilege of staying at the cabin for 3 nights and we absolutely loved everything about it! We were immediately greeted by two mule deer who were enjoyingsnacking on a few of the bushes out front. They were fun to watch.

The cabin is so well appointed. We felt at home right upon entering. Such a comfortable, clean atmosphere. The kitchen is well equipped, beds were very comfortable, and the cabin decor was very tasteful. Our son slept on the sofa bed and said it was very comfortable as well. Linens were fresh and the cabin was spotless.

We enjoyed relaxing on the porch and watching the elk graze in the meadow in the evenings. We were fortunate enough to see some baby elk as well. The views were amazing from every window in the cabin.

We can't say enough about what a wonderful few days we spent in this place. We were sad to leave this piece of heaven and hope to have the opportunity to stay again in the future.

The property manager is wonderful as well. He anwsered all of our emails promptly and was wonderful to deal with. Thank you Craig and thank you Ed for sharing your wonderful place!

The Howes'
Edgewood, NM
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Fort Worth, TX
5

Excellent Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband, Sophie our 19 month-old Weim and I stayed in the cabin and thoroughly enjoyed the setting, views and the cabin. The views are incredible and yes, we saw the elk too! Usually twice a day, morning and evening...the herd is 200-300 head. Dont forget to take your binoculars but they aren't needed the elk are so close.

Sophie was in heaven with so much space in and around the cabin to explore! She spent most of her napping hours in the bay window soaking up the sun.

The kitchen had everything we needed to fix our meals and the master bed was very comfortable.

Thank you Ed for making such a great place available and pet friendly and thank you Craig for wonderful service.

Perfect stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

What a great place

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
It came a beautiful snow during our stay (a wonderful surprise). We skied, sledded & went horse back riding.
The house was the best equipped ever! Clean, warm & very inviting.
We thank you for sharing the great getaway, we will recommend to all our friends.
Keli
Mabank, TX
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

White Christmas

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We came from Austin, TX for our first white Christmas ever. We had a wonderful time, loving every minute of the house, weather, skiing and Angel Fire hospitality. we are looking to buy a summer home here.
Thanks for loaning us your beautiful house for the holidays.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
San Antonio Texas
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
In January, we brought our two daughters on winter break from college, and our two dogs. It was the perfect location, just outside of town. The cabin was comfortable and well supplied. The elk crossing the field at sunrise was the most memorable part. Had everything we needed and the property manager was wonderful. Clean, warm and absolutely perfect for what we wanted.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Fort Worth, Texas
5

a piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
A cabin with character and modern equipment situated in a piece of heaven!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
San Diego, CA
5

Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What an amazing place to spend a week. The views were spectacular and watching the elk come out of the hills each evening was something. One night we stopped counting at 63. The home is very comfortable and relaxing. Quiet and private. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The property manager was easy to work with and respected our privacy. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys the peace and quiet of rural living and just wants to get away from it all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Remodeled Historic Home with Modern Amenities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284489
575 377-6960
Angel Fire New Mexico
Rio Rancho, NM
5

Beautiful country!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Beautiful location. Very interesting and solid built cabin with all the amenities you could want, including comfortable beds, at a reasonable price. And folks, no extra (cleaning) fees - hallelujah! I cannot describe the beautiful views; pictures just don't do it justice! We even saw a herd of elk one evening grazing in the next field. The caretaker was easy to work with and the entire process was hassle free. Angel Fire is just a hop, skip and a jump away. We would definitely recommend this property and would love to stay here again!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3