Michigan City house rental - Zenadu welcomes you with climbing hydrangea
Zenadu welcomes you with climbing hydrangea
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Michigan City House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms and loft, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, 1 outside shower, sleeps 8

Climb the stone stairs of Zenadu, and escape to an oasis that feels worlds away, yet convenient to everything. Discover a koi pond with water lilies, lush gardens and the music of waterfalls. Atop a secluded wooded acre, Zenadu is surrounded by decks with all-day sun and shade. With 2 huge bedrooms, a sleeping loft, vaulted cedar ceilings, 6 skylights, a natural stone fireplace, 3.5 baths, a double, air-jet massage tub, and a double shower with 7 jets, Zenadu sleeps 8 in style. And the beach is a 15 min. walk. As you enter, jade slate tiles give way to gleaming Brazilian walnut floors. High walls of windows bring the beauty of its surroundings inside. Modern kitchen with cultured granite countertops and stainless appliances opens onto a large eat-in screened porch with a stainless Weber gas grill. Dramatic master bedroom suite has a king bed and a private wrap-around balcony. Extra large first floor bedroom suite has a queen and 2 twin beds (a king combined), private bath and entrance.

12 Reviews of Property 284369 in Michigan City, Indiana

Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
United States
5

Attention to detail!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house and grounds are even better than the pictures. We had a lovely week and look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Gilberts IL
5

Zenadu – A Tranquil Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
If you are looking for a peaceful retreat, Zenadu offers the complete package. The moment you walk onto the grounds, you are taken into a world of serene calmness by the waterfalls, koi pond and the natural landscaping. You instantly feel separated from the fast pace of the everyday world. The cobblestone fireplace and natural wood set the tone for the home. You just get that warm, comfy feeling. You won’t need to bring anything. It has it all. From aprons to beach chairs – they’ve thought of it all. I’m usually a bit apprehensive about cleanliness, but this house was immaculate! You can walk to the beach or stay in and roast smores over the fire pit. Elena handled the rental transaction and it was a pleasure working with her.

I was looking for a relaxing, family getaway and Zenadu exceeded all of my expectations! Zenadu will be our new family retreat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
5

Perfect Fall Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our family of six couldn't have been happier with Zenadu for our annual Fall weekend trip. Every detail of the home is spotless, beautiful, and relaxing. The finishes are all lovely! The outdoor shower is perfect for little ones coming home from the nearby beach and the many outdoor spaces allowed us all to enjoy the peace and fall colors surrounding the property. Our highlights included smores by the firepit, relaxing in the hammock, nearby horseback riding, visits to the beach, and enjoying the fall colors! If you actually want to leave, this location is wonderful for pumpkin patch visits, apple picking and more. What a treat of a home in an excellent location. Thanks for sharing this truly remarkable home.
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Hammond, IN
5

The name says it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I were planning on shopping and exploring the Harbor Country for the Labor Day week-end. But we ended up loving the house so much we stayed in all day on Sunday. The home is so beautiful and relaxing, we did not want to leave. The decks are great for reading or just soaking up the sun. And the inside of the home is just as comfy, everything you need is there! Elena was very nice and helpful. We are already planning another trip soon. "Zenadu" is truly a perfect balance of Zen and Xanadu!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Salina, KS
5

Beautiful setting for a family get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have been fortunate to stay in many lovely homes over the years, and this is certainly one of the nicest. As other reviewers have observed the pictures do not do justice to the gorgeous building materials, excellent craftsmanship and beautiful design of the house. The sylvan setting is equally compelling, and we spent hours on the screened porch, reading with the sounds of the nearby waterfall in the background, lingering over coffee or enjoying a meal. We love to cook and we appreciated the well-equipped kitchen with decent knives, and a rolling pin, which came in handy for making a pie to contain the bounty of blueberries we picked at a nearby farm. We appreciated the restaurant recommendations in the binder full of helpful information, and would also recommend a great little Middle Eastern restaurant in nearby Michigan City called Sahara. We spent a nice afternoon hiking at Dunes National Park, and enjoyed the beach. It was wonderful to walk or jog along Lake Shore Drive in the morning. We were with our three college-aged children and it was a perfect spot for all of us - beautiful communal gathering spaces and plenty of room to spread out. We enjoyed every aspect of the experience, from our first contact to make rental arrangements to the follow up after we left. We appreciate the owners' willingness to make their beautiful home available to others. We hope we will have an opportunity to return to this special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Great Girlfriends Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Just spent the weekend at Zenadu and met up with 6 of my college friends who live in the surrounding states. This place was perfect! We hope to meet up here again next year. The bedroom set ups were ideal for us. And plenty of bathroom space for a group of women. Even though there are all of these gorgeous outdoor spaces, we probably spent most of the time hanging out at the bar in the kitchen - typical. Spent a perfect day at the beach. Really a nice place equipped with more than you would need during a vacation. Super clean, plenty of parking, a binder with info about the house and area, beautifully maintained grounds...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Minooka, Illinois
5

Amazing Luxury at Zenadu!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My Family of 7 stayed here and had such a wonderful time in the lap of luxury this house has to offer! The beds were so comfy, the showers and tub amazing- No detail left unturned! My kids loved sitting on the screened in porch listening to the bubbling waterfall and feeding the koi fish. We also love smores by the fire pit and days on the large deck just talking! Horseback riding within walking distance, shopping at the outlets, eating at some great restaraunts nearby and loved going to the private beach up the street! Thanks for sharing this beautiful home with us! I hope to be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you guys had a great time at Zenadu. Hope you tried Stop 50 the brick oven pizza restaurant that's just a short walk up the street. It's one of our fav's. Hope to see you back at Zenadu next year too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Chicago, IL
5

Great Escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My family and I had a very memorable Thanksgiving at Zenadu. The house was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The house is even more beautiful than in the pictures. Being less than a mile from the lake, we will look to return next summer!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
La Grange, IL
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We spent 4 days at the house with 4 kids, ages 5 to 14, and loved everything about it. Bathrooms and kitchen are over the top nice, and the furnishings are lovely and very comfortable. There was plenty of room for all of us. The setting is also great- there is a huge screened in porch for dining outside, hammock, fire pit and more. Our kids liked the koi pond and feeding the fish. The Red Arrow Stable is right around the corner if you are interested in horse back riding, and Stop 50 wood fired pizzas- great- is a quick 3 or 4 blocks away. We loved the beach too and spent most of our time there. It wasn't too crowded so we could really relax.

If you plan to spend time on the beach, I would suggest bringing a wagon or small cart to help get things there and back- like towels, coolers, beach toys, etc. It's a 15- 20 minute walk to the beach and there is no parking allowedh, only 15 minute loading/unloading.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review Suzan!
We took the hint and got a brand new beautiful Radio Flyer beach wagon with wood side rails for the 2011 season.
It'll hold loads of stuff for the beach like coolers, beach chairs, towels, toys and oh yes, kids too.
Hope to see you at Zenadu again soon.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Zenadu: Chicago chic meets woodland rustic in this tranquil retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284369
+1 3128489210
Michigan City Indiana
Georgia
5

Our family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
The pictures and description do not do justice to this beautiful home...It was wonderful..with so many ammenties..master bedroom suite WOW!! We enjoyed our stay and only wished we could have stayed longer..so relaxing..inside and outside..the Koi pond was so enjoyed by all of us..as was the screened porch.. the property was very well maintained. inside and out...enjoyed the landscape around the home especially..

Would highly recommend this property..we want to go back next year..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2