Wellfleet house rental - View of the house from the street
View of the house from the street
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Wellfleet House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, in-town location, water views, sleeps 7

Lovingly restored in 2002 and 2003 by its owners, this 200-year-old cottage is nestled in a grove of Locust Trees, situated on the banks of Wellfleet's historic Duck Creek. The 3 bedroom, nook-filled home boasts rare views of the Duck Creek marsh and its wildlife, and gives vacationers a multitude of indoor and outdoor options for privacy and relaxation. A large kitchen provides everything needed to create a meal worthy of the home's formal dining room, yet it offers a comfy spot from which to enjoy a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a pastry from the bakery located right across the street.

Whether it's enjoying the nature from the home's 200 square foot screened in porch, relaxing in the backyard under shade-bearing trees, or sinking into any of the home's comfortable sofas, chairs or beds to read a book, the home affords amenities for young and old.

Pets possible - please ask

Mike is an engineer, and Brad is a communications professional. Mike hails from Providence and attended West Point, and Brad is originally from Los Angeles and attended UCLA.

After living in Boston for many years, the couple now lives in Washington, D.C.

Brad Reichard purchased this house in 2002

This property simply has it all. A walk to Wellfleet's galleries is simple. Parking the car and leaving it for days at a time is doable. Strolls in the national seashore are minutes away, as are the ponds and beaches. This is an absolute jewel of a home, which is located in Wellfleet's town center on the edge of Duck Creek.

Herons nest in the marsh behind the house, and the mellow tones of the town church bells help pass the hours and minutes at this home. A gentle breeze blows from Cape Cod Bay through Wellfleet Harbor directly to the home's backyard. Sunsets are beautiful from the back yard.

13 Reviews of Property 284129 in Wellfleet, Massachusetts

Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Brooklyn, NY
5

Highly recommended for a family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2004
We stayed here with grandparents and kids. There was plenty of room for every body. The living room has a door and can be used as a 3rd bedroom. The dining room and large screened in porch offered plenty of room for people to gather and/or find their own quiet place for reading a book. Great kitchen and super charming design details throughout. Can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
5

Excellent "retreat" Setting

Excellent "retreat" Setting
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After a crazy period at work, I needed a get away from it all. Several friends and I decided this was the perfect get away to experience the Cape and to recharge. The secluded back yard and patio was perfect for early AM coffee or evening glass of wine and enjoying nature and friends. It was an easy walk both into town for wonderful meals or to the beach and seashore walks. The layout is great for families with kids, multiple couples or as we did, groups of friends (5 or 6). The house is well cared for and immaculately clean and in wonderful shape. If you have a car, the house is in an excellent location to see all of the Cape on day excursions - Provincetown, Chatham, Wellfleet, etc., I would definitely use the property again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review - and I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves. You are always welcome at our home. Brad.
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
5

Beautiful Cape Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My wife and I rented the house in early summer. An old beautiful cape house overlooking the marsh. Sea air plus peace and quiet was wonderful. We were there for my mother in laws wedding which was near by. The next day we had a cook out in the lovely garden around back. The front is surrounded by a large hedgerow, so you would never know you were so close to main street. Also the restaurant across the street is amazing. Can't wait to go back.
Roland Pratt
Silver Spring, Maryland
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and it was so memorable. You are always welcome back! Brad.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Toronto, Canada
5

Beautiful home in beautiful Wellfleet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family had a fantastic stay in Wellfleet! The home was warm, inviting and easily accommodated our two young children. The owners were a delight to deal with and we definitely recommend this historic home, within walking distance of all of Wellfleet's shops and restaurants. The only draw back that we could find was that the driveway could be difficult to get in and out of given its sharp angle on to a busy road. But all in all an absolutely wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Philadelphia
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I have been coming to this spot for the past 4 years.  
While living in Boston we always felt that this place is our special  
getaway. A charming cape vacation spot we hope to visit for a long time.

The faculties and location have always been more than perfect. My  
favorite thing to do is BBQ/smoke food in the backyard while napping  
on the hammock.

The surrounding area gives you the ability to walking into town, hit  
the beach or hike to a pond.

Many thanks.

Jamie and Yuko
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Los Angeles, CA
5

Antique Charm + Outstanding Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We stayed here with a large party of friends in the summertime and loved it so much that we came back for a return visit in the winter! This is a 200 year old house that has been lovingly and thoughtfully restored by its owners. Yes, the stairs are steep and the bathrooms are not large by modern standards, but this is all part of the charm of an authentic old New England house. We found the house to be spacious and comfortable---plenty of quiet corners to read a book or simply contemplate the stunning views of the salt marsh, a large dining room for long and lazy afternoon luncheons with all of our friends, a very well equipped kitchen, a good wireless connection, a great outdoor shower, and a lovely back yard terrace overlooking the marsh.

In addition, we found the house to be very well located. We enjoyed the short walk into the charming town of Wellfleet with its art galleries and book stores and excellent restaurants and strolls into the woods for night swimming in the ponds. The gorgeous beach at the National Sea Shore is just a short drive away.

In short, we found the house to be nothing than less than a dream for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Writing this review reminds me that we are past due for a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Boston, MA
5

This home inspires us more every time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
As we’ve learned over time, (five years of renting, sometimes twice
a year!) the house welcomes and inspires us more and more each time we visit. Staying here, you can’t help but feel special -- like one of Wellfleet’s true insiders.

We visit usually once in the summer, and once off-season, and we are a crowd of three generations. Needless to say, each one of us will list something favorite they love about it. But we do all marvel at the inspiring décor, the creature comforts, the location, the dining and kitchen facilities, the sun porch, the views, the walks we love to take to Uncle Tim’s bridge and then to town.

And no, this is no cookie-cutter, “ikea-ized” version of a second home. The owners obviously have taken great care to restore it with full respect to its historic integrity. And yet the amenities are top notch and offer all the easy living of the modern world.

With great thanks and appreciation for the owner's care for us as renters. We recommend it as the best place to stay in Wellfleet -- and Wellfleet as the best place to stay on the Cape!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Los Angeles, CA
5

Authentic Cape Cod Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We stayed at this house in 2008 with another couple and we thought the house was charming and we are hoping to rent it, again. The authenticity of the home, the grounds and the neighborhood all help to make your Cape Cod experience real and memorable.

It was hot the summer we stayed in the house, but the air conditioning in the upstairs bedrooms kept them nice and cool, so when you came back from a bike ride or a walk, you could take a shower in the FABULOUS outdoor shower, then head upstairs to your cool bedroom to take a nap. When you wake, someone is usually making dinner downstairs in the charming kitchen, champagne is already flowing and the table outside in back is set with candles, and all.

For breakfast, we often headed across the street to that lovely restaurant where they served up a terrific breakfast! We felt lucky and spoiled to have found this house and look forward to our next stay.

Note: In reading one of the other reviews, I noticed that someone else did not have as pleasing a stay at the house as we did, and I have to say, if you are hoping the rooms are modern with central air and pink wallpaper (like a Best Western Inn), this is not the house for you. If you are hoping for an authentic, Cape Cod experience, complete with outdoor shower, a short walk to the main square and a fabulous bike ride anywhere, this is the house for you! We highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
New Jersey
5

Wonderful Wellfleet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Lovely experience! Will go back next chance we get. NIce restaurant and the cute little downtown is just a couple blocks down the street. Enjoyed the views and the breakfast on the back porch- overlooks the water. House was very pleasant comfortable for all of us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Duck Creek Antique, Water Views, Prime In-Town Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p284129
+1 617 536-1122
Wellfleet Cape Cod
Central Mass
3

Buyer Beware

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
The property owner assured us that the house would be very comfortable for two couples and a 4 year-old child. While the living areas and dining room were lovely, and the kitchen well equipped, the size of the shower in one of the full baths was minuscule (and we are small people). Although I had asked the owner about the bathrooms, he neglected to mention the same size of that shower and that only one bathroom had been fully renovated. The stairs to the bedrooms, where the more usable shower was located, were precipitous. The stairs leading to the basement, where the laundry was located, were even steeper, basically a ladder. We do not recommend the property for a family with young children or for older adults.

After a month had passed since our departure and we had not received our deposit, we contacted the owner and were told we had broken a window. This was untrue; indeed, we had correspondence with the owner the week after leaving and he responded that all was "awesome" and that he "would be in touch with the security deposit." We have rented properties for several years on the Cape, and always take good care of them, as we do our own home.

In looking for a house for this year, I happened upon the same property and noticed that the owner had changed the property number and included only select past comments about the property. The property may offer a comfortable stay for some, but the buyer should beware.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: First, note that this site has the strictest rules governing consumer reviews. I have no control over the reviews that appear on any advertisement, and am not clear as to why alleged reviews are not in this ad.

I am, however, pleased to see that with time, this renter's property star rating has improved - this current review rates the property two stars higher than in the previous ranking. I thank you for the improved rating.

I clearly remember this renter, and I remember the circumstances under which this property was rented. The renter initially disclosed that although a lease had been signed with another property owner, that owner never closed the agreement with the renter. Feeling this family's plight, I worked to rent the property for a period during which it had never before been rented. The renter's problem was solved.

With only 5 days between our initial conversation and the tenant's arrival, I disclosed that minimal "renter prep" basics such as limiting access to the laundry room, etc. would not be completed. The renter was grateful that we were accommodating and flexible given the tight timeframe.

I also remember cheerful exchanges during this renter's stay - it was "awesome" to note that the renter had a pleasant, uneventful stay. But when I returned physically to the property, I found damages. After sending a photo of the damage to this renter and receiving their assurances that they were note responsible for the damage, the security deposit was returned in full.

Time and again, renters return to this property. They like our home because it is a 160 year Cape with an older home's quirks. It has suited their needs.

They have found no fault with bathroom fixtures. They understand that homes from the 1850s have features of a by-gone era, such as high-rise stairs. And, we maintain close communications with our renters - it is our goal to ensure prompt service and rectify any issues as soon as possible.

This particular renter did teach me 3 valuable lessons:
1.) The more photos, the better. I encourage interested renters to look at the stairway pictures and note the steep banister rail;
2.) Immediately assess damages and communicate concerns as soon as possible; and,
3.) Screening renters not only ensures that our home is the right fit for the renter, but that a renter is a good fit for our home.

And, I thank this renter for the improved property star ranking - time does have the ability to heal.
Helpful votes: 0/2