Twain Harte cabin rental - Our cabin in the shade of the dogwoods
Our cabin in the shade of the dogwoods
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Twain Harte Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

This is one of the original summer cabins with a wonderful mountain cabin look and feel that has been updated with modern amenities to make your stay convenient and comfortable. There are a total of 3 bedrooms, each with a queen bed. Included in the rental is the main cabin with two bedrooms and 1-1/2 baths with shower only and the bunkhouse with one bedroom and one full bath with tub and shower. There are two sleeper sofas in the living room that can sleep up to 4 adults. We include free housekeeping with your rental. The beds will be made with clean sheets and pillow cases when you arrive. At the end of your stay just leave the beds unmade and the dirty towels on the floor. Our housekeeper will clean the cabin for you. Access to the private Twain Harte Lake is also included. Contact us to see a video of the cabin.

I'm a San Francisco native now living on the Peninsula in Belmont. We discovered the wonders of the Sierras in the late 60s and go back regularly.

Jim Cole purchased this cabin in 2000

When we decide to find a place in the Sierras, Twain Harte was the perfect location as a quaint, small town with many amenities. There are so many things to do close by and in town. It is also the perfect location from which to venture out into the foothills or the mountains. You can even drive to Yosemite for a days adventure and be back at the cabin for a late dinner.

14 Reviews of Property 283674 in Twain Harte, California

Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
average rating of 4.769231 based on 14 reviews
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Seattle
5

Comfortable and well managed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cabin exceeded our expectations. The owner provided an abundance of information on surrounding hikes, sights, and points of interest. The cabin was clean and in good repair. The games and recreational equipment were in good shape and we made good use of them. We utilized the rear, separate structure that contained a queen bed and private bath, which we felt was a big plus in comparing this cabin rental opportunity to others. The location was nearby great hiking, biking, fishing, and minutes from Twain-Harte conveniences.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Stockton, CA
5

July 2013 Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time during our 3 night stay at this cabin. There were 5 boys ranging from 3-11 and they had a great time playing ping pong, & hide and seek on the property. The highlight of the trip for the boys was swimming and playing at Twain Harte Lake. This is definitely a family friendly cabin and location.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Placerville, CA
5

Down Home comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you ever had the chance to go to a good old-fashioned summer camp, this cabin provide that rustic feel with great old-time amusements on hand. My adult children and I had a very memorable reunion there. We enjoyed the darts, ping-pong, and puzzles and took the golf clubs down to the nearby golf course for 9 holes one morning. Three of the party went hiking one day higher up along Sonora Pass, and the whole group hung out at Pinecrest Lake one beautifully cool afternoon, hiking the perimeter, puttering around in a paddle boat, and kayaking. From the cabin, we went for walks around the nearby neighborhoods and the town of Twaine Hart. You won't find any chain stores there, but if you are hankering for Starbucks, there's a really good non-Starbucks coffee shop in town with similar concoctions next to the miniature gold course. If you need to stock-up shop, Sonora is easy to get to and not far away and has all the usual shops and amusements.

There is nothing sophisticated or high-tech about the cabin or the region, but it's cute and comfortable, and has lots of unique charm. If you always wanted your own family cabin, but didn't inherit one and never found the resources to buy one, you can have the experience vicariously here, without the hassle of maintenance and upkeep. We found plenty to do--social, semi-active things that people of many ages could enjoy together. There is ample space for a group of ten or so to eat together and meet together, but the cabin also has room to subdivide-- the breezeway, the wrap-around deck, the living room, the "bunkhouse" (no bunks). The cabin does not come with air conditioning, but Jim and Melody have placed fans everywhere, and the property has plenty of shade. During our 4-day stay in high summer, only one day was uncomfortably warm.

Jim and Melody are very hospitable. They have thought carefully about what their guests would enjoy and have done all they could to make their guests' stay worry-free. Maid service was included in the very reasonable cabin rental so that we didn't have to worry about leaving everything just-so. The printed information about cabin amenities and how to close up the cabin when leaving are very clear. You are not dealing with property managers, but the owners themselves, and I found them to be accessible and very friendly.

My children all thanked me for renting the cabin and have mentioned more than once since then how much fun they had and that it was "worth it."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Bay Area
4

Fun stay in the cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed here with three families (a little tight) and had a blast. Our 2.5yr old keeps asking about the air hockey table which he loved. The beds were comfy, the place got warm in a hurry, especially after arriving on a snowing day. The place isn't the most modern, but it has its own charm and all the amenities one could ask for (except for a dishwasher, but we didn't notice and had no problem keeping up with dishes). The location was ideal from the Bay Area, and easy to get to Dodge Ridge. We also loved that we could bring our dog!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Fremont, CA
5

Perfect for so many reasons!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family and friends stayed at Jim's cabin for a close friend's wedding on Labor Day weekend. Not only was there ample accommodations for the 8 adults and 1 infant comfortably, we all felt at home here. If we had more time we could have enjoyed the games and great selection of movies that are available. The proximity to Twain Harte Lake is fabulous and an easy walk. If you walk to town on the back roads, rather than Twain Harte Drive, the walk is very enjoyable, as is the walk above the property. Our adult children are hoping to come up next year during the summer, or even during the winter, with friends. Definitely kid friendly (and adult friendly as well!).
Thank you Jim for sharing your home. -- Jean & Dave
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Los Angeles, CA
4

cozy charm = 4 1/2 stars

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a darling cabin: rustic and comfortable with lots of old-school charm (e.g., all-wood window frames (no aluminum) - yay!). The setting in a dogwood and pine forest is very leafy, shady, and pretty. This cabin is great for a large family or multi-family vacation, with the bedrooms away from the action (upstairs and in a separate little cabin), and 4 large common areas: the living room, the kitchen, the deck out back, and the covered front porch (with a ping-pong table - yay again!). And the cabin has a singing deer! (You have to see it to appreciate it.) The cabin is well-supplied with sheets, blankets, pillows, paper products, and kitchen gear - very convenient. And the owner is great: very nice, accommodating, and helpful. If you have a problem, just call him - he'll get it resolved.

Twain Harte is a darling town just a mile or so down the road from the cabin, with cute shops, restaurants ... oh, and a lake! I highly recommend the supermarket in town: lots of organic meat, fish, and produce, plus many cool specialty items at very reasonable prices.

Also worth a visit is Pinecrest Lake - gorgeous! It's about 18 miles further up the mountain in a pristine alpine setting. The topography changes dramatically as you drive up Highway 108, and the route is home to several small (sometimes tiny) towns, each offering unique enticements.

One more recommendation: we ate dinner at the Jamestown Hotel (@ 12 miles down the hill in Jamestown, just outside of Sonora). Lovely old period hotel offering an upscale menu and good food at reasonable prices.

Minor issues: The cabin is a bit close by Twain Harte Drive - the main road into town - so there is some car noise. Also, while the cabin is very welcoming and is not dirty, the inside (especially the kitchen) needs a good scrubbing top to bottom - just to make it lovely.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
san mateo
5

family fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin is exactly as it looks. Everything you need is supplied. There is no dishwasher but had we read the amenities listed carefully we would have known this. The wii with netflix is a very nice touch. Jim was extremely easy to deal with and I would recommend the cabin and intend to return too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
Camano Island, Wa
5

A great choice for family fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cabin and bunkhouse worked perfectly for us. I do the cooking and found the assortment of
kitchen equipment and dishes one of the best I have found in a rental. We didnt take advantage of
the huge movie collection but if the weather was bad one would not have trouble finding something to watch. Restless children and adults could work off extra energy on a beautiful ping pong table or
play fooseball or air hockey. We were content to talk and drink wine on the shaded deck. The cabin
though not air conditioned was comfortable even in the very warm weather we had. I would definitely
recommend this cabin to others. We had a very tasty lunch at the Little Cottage Cafe in Twain-Harte.
As part of our family gathering we went to a wine paired dinner at Val du Vino winery in Murphys. This was a very special treat. Murphys has the largest number of wine tasting places of any place in the
country. It was more than worth the 45 min drive from Twain-Harte. Twain-Harte is a great location
to use as a base for other activities. Our family picnic was up the Sonora pass highway at Pinecrest
lake. Get there early on a weekend. The day use area at Pinecrest was packed with folks enjoying a very warm summer day but you didnt feel crowded.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
San Francisco, CA
4

Nice Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Big kitchen, decent sized living room, 2 good size bedrooms upstairs with queen beds and a very nice deck on the front of the house - the deck overlooks the road which is a little loud but not too bad, still a good place to BBQ and hang out. Definitely a good value and Jim is easy to work with. Excellent base to explore the Gold Country and Yosemite.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Cabin in a Dogwood and Pine Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283674
+1 650 339-1775
Twain Harte Gold Country / High Sierra
San Francisco
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband, our four sons and I had the pleasure of vacationing at this amazing cabin in Twain Harte this August. We have four boys and two dogs and we all loved our glorious 10 days (only wish it could have been longer). The house is so well appointed for happy, busy people on holiday, between the ping pong table and air hockey set-up and the many many games and movies we were all entertained at home. Outside the house, Twain Harte Lake is beautiful, welcoming and full of community feeling, big enough for adventure and small enough for comfort. Located easy driving distance from the house are Pinecrest Lake, Kennedy Meadows, Old Town Columbia and Sonora. You are surrounded by fabulous options with the only difficulty being which to choose each day. As I told my husband, when I'm at Twain Harte Lake I know it's my favorite and then when I'm at Pinecrest Lake I know it's my favorite. Basically, you can't lose. We also really appreciated not having to bring our own sheets and towels or do a major cleaning on departure day(Although, we certainly wanted to leave the house in nice condition as we found it. It's a great place!). Those are inconveniences that can keep you from feeling like you are on holiday and we thought it was really wonderful of the owners to consider our good time! The cabin is walking distance to Twain Harte Lake, the Twain Harte golf course, the miniature golf course and downtown Twain Harte. Overall loved our time there and hope to return again next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2