East Village apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
 

East Village Apartment Rental Photos and Description
two bedrooms sleeps 1 to 5; 1 full bathroom with tub and shower

This floor- through apartment is located on the most beautiful block in Manhattan's East Village, lined with weeping willows and other huge trees. The view from avenue C is breathtaking. It's an 1890's building renovated in 1993, with new plumbing and electric, and re-roofed in 2010. There are lovely brick walls, an old pine floor, and a beautiful sleeping loft, with other beds in the living room. A thoroughly charming atmosphere, with lots of sun and air.. . . Air- Conditioned in summer, and 6 fans besides the A-C.. . . .and heated all night long in winter. Kitchen looks out on huge garden with several species of very beautiful trees. 4th floor, no elevator. One week rental minimum.

East Village becoming classier daily: This is a growing neighborhood, yet retaining the tradition of smaller, neighborhood run Parks, tended to by volunteers, and ambitious amateurs of gardening, each trying to out-do their neighbors. You can visit these botanical hot spots during the day and on weekends.

Restaurants of different ethnicity have sprung up all over, all new--and these are reasonable in price, and attractive in , decor.There's a little thin crust Pizza store on Avenue B that looks like an old New York candy store (Gruppo). Several French restaurants (Rue B, and 26 Seats) and Esperanto --a Brazillian place on the corner with live Brazillian Musicians often and with sidewalk tables for Brunch on Sundays.

More Details
Hide Details

33 Reviews of Property 283292 in East Village, New York

Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
average rating of 4.2413793 based on 33 reviews
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Thank you Tom for being a great host. The place was cozy and warm. I was surprised at how quiet a condo in Manhattan can be. Yes there are a lot of personal effects but those made it feel like a real home instead of a sterile hotel. We were hoping our flight would get canceled due to the snowstorm while there but it did not, so we had to leave on Sunday. Tom called us and said the place was available for extended stay if the flight canceled, so it was nice to be put at ease. We also appreciated some of the items left in the fridge for us, especially the bottle of champagne the previous guests left behind, we enjoyed a nice toast before heading out on the town. We'll return for another visit again soon. Richard & Aaron!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
4

Good Price

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was an artist studio. The apartment is full of personal stuff but is fully equipped with everything you need. The neighborhood is pretty particular, since it offers a real NYC experience, lots of good and cheap restaurants, bars and nightlife. Tom is very helpful and if you are looking for an affordable place to stay, this is a good choice. Subway stations are a little away, but bus stations are a block away from the apartment.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
5

bon accueil, bon rapport qualité/prix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
l'appartement est très bien équipé, on a l'impression d'être invité dans un logement habituellement habité : il y a de la vie, un peu de désordre, rien à voir avec une location impersonnelle ! On se sent très vite chez soi.
Tom est très cool et accueillant. Beaucoup de conseils sur les commerces du quartier, et sur Manhattan en général.
Accès internet : le wifi marche très bien dans l'appartement.
Le métro le plus près est à 10 minutes à pied (ligne L, 1st Av.), il y a des arrêt de bus à moins de 5 minutes.
Le quartier est calme et sûr, plein de petits restos et de bars, d'épiceries 24/24.
Pour les sportifs on peut aller courir le matin au bord de l'East River (parc).
Bref, on a passé une excellente semaine (3 adultes, 2 ados)

Thierry
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
5

A great NYC vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a charming and typical New York apartment in a wonderful neighbourhood. Tom was a very good host who was accommodating and helpful. The apartment was nice and clean. I'm looking forward to coming back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
4

Wonderful Neighbourhood

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We absolutely loved this neighborhood, our daily runs in Tompkins square park and chats with some of the neighbors, really colorful and full of life. We had a fantastic 2 weeks - a little tiring because we walked and walked and walked and it was very cold but we'll definitely be back.

The apartment was incredibly cosy - a big relief given the cold weather - sometimes a little too hot but once we'd worked out how to turn off the heating it was very comfortable. Hot water, a bit hit and miss at the beginning of the first week but got its act together after a couple of days. The apartment was big for Manhattan so we didn't feel too confined, unfortunately we couldn't use the loft because we are a family of restless sleepers and there is no safety rail.

As mentioned by a number of other guests, the apartment is very cluttered, so nowhere to hang clothes or put things away in the kitchen, the fridge was also full of food when we arrived - presumably left by previous guests, a lot of it out of date, so we had to clean out the fridge to accommodate our stuff. I feel sure that Tom left it there in case we could make use of it, but there were plastic pots containing cooked pasta and very old eggs, not stuff that you'd want to eat. There were also 3 bags of rubbish left in the apartment which we didn't know where to put (we arrived in the evening too late for Tom to be there to meet us).

The apartment was good value and Tom was very helpful during the booking process and with information about places to go. We saw him very briefly during our stay - he came to clean on the day before we left - whilst this wasn't particularly inconvenient for us as we had planned to go out anyway, it could have been as we had to pack up our stuff earlier than originally planned. Having said this however, Tom was very flexible about us leaving our bags until mid-afternoon on the departure day so on balance not a problem.

The apartment very welcoming and homely, it has a nice atmosphere. We stayed with children so couldn't go out galavanting in the evening too much but this wasn't a hardship as we looked forward to getting back in the evenings and getting cosy with a glass of wine or two.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
4

Wonderful Neighbourhood

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We absolutely loved this neighborhood, our daily runs in Tompkins square park and chats with some of the neighbors, really colorful and full of life. We had a fantastic 2 weeks - a little tiring because we walked and walked and walked and it was very cold but we'll definitely be back.

The apartment was incredibly cosy - a big relief given the cold weather - sometimes a little too hot but once we'd worked out how to turn off the heating it was very comfortable. Hot water, a bit hit and miss at the beginning of the first week but got its act together after a couple of days. The apartment was big for Manhattan so we didn't feel too confined, unfortunately we couldn't use the loft because we are a family of restless sleepers and there is no safety rail.

As mentioned by a number of other guests, the apartment is very cluttered, so nowhere to hang clothes or put things away in the kitchen, the fridge was also full of food when we arrived - presumably left by previous guests, a lot of it out of date, so we had to clean out the fridge to accommodate our stuff. I feel sure that Tom left it there in case we could make use of it, but there were plastic pots containing cooked pasta and very old eggs, not stuff that you'd want to eat. There were also 3 bags of rubbish left in the apartment which we didn't know where to put (we arrived in the evening too late for Tom to be there to meet us).

The apartment was good value and Tom was very helpful during the booking process and with information about places to go. We saw him very briefly during our stay - he came to clean on the day before we left - whilst this wasn't particularly inconvenient for us as we had planned to go out anyway, it could have been as we had to pack up our stuff earlier than originally planned. Having said this however, Tom was very flexible about us leaving our bags until mid-afternoon on the departure day so on balance not a problem.

The apartment very welcoming and homely, it has a nice atmosphere. We stayed with children so couldn't go out galavanting in the evening too much but this wasn't a hardship as we looked forward to getting back in the evenings and getting cosy with a glass of wine or two.
Owner's Response: I mailed the keys to these guests, and planned to return to put the finishing touches on the preparation for their arrival. But untoward events intervened and I
was not able to return before their arrival, regrettably. But they still voted 4 stars, and more importantly they had a good time. I am astonished that
the vacation rental has worked out so well, because of the stairs. --Tom
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
5

alsof we er woonden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Ja, het was alsof we er woonden, in het appartement van Tom. Dat was omdat het zo aanvoelde als thuis. Met de vele spulletjes om ons heen, en vooral met de volledig uitgeruste keuken hetgeen zelf eten klaarmaken gemakkelijk en leuk maakte. Alles in het appartement is proper en verzorgd. Onze 7-jarige zoon kon zijn hartje luchten op de piano en het zeer aangename Tompkins sq park op het einde van de straat. Ook hij voelde er zich thuis. Tom verdient van ons een extra bedankje, want omdat Air France onze vlucht naar huis had afgelast, mochten we van hem zonder probleem een extra nachtje blijven. Hij heeft ons zelf niet gevraagd dit extra nachtje te vergoeden, wat we natuurlijk wel zelf hebben gedaan. Tof tof tof!
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
5

East Village Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Tom was a lovely host and very accommodating. The apartment slept four adults very comfortably and provided plenty of privacy. The neighborhood could not be better and there were plenty of fine places to walk to for food and drink. It was also only a short walk to the nearest metro for travel uptown, downtown, or across the river to Brooklyn. This property is unlike most rentals, as it is fully furnished and a bit cluttered. While you feel at times like you are just moving into someone else's apartment, I think that's the point. However, it is important to know as some people could be surprised. That being said, the unit was spotless and there were no issues with appliances, etc. We look forward to maybe returning some day, but definitely recommending this to our friends and family the next time they plan a trip to New York City.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
4

Cant wait to visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I havent actually stayed in the apartment as yet, but will be in september. I will be visiting from Australia with my friend from California.We could have stayed in a hotel with all mod con but we wanted a real New York experience. The apartment looks great, just what i imagined an old new york apartment to be. Excited to be in New York
Helpful votes: 2/10
business
Charming quiet East Village historic apartment heart of Garden District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283292
+1 718 547 2042
East Village Manhattan
4

GREAT HOLIDAY!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
2 adults and 2 teeenagers, spent 2 weeks and we had a great time! We particularly enjoyed the area and Tom was a great host.
The apartment is not big and it's also very cluttered, but certainly with a great atmosphere and with all you can need!
the four flights up can be hard after a long day in the city......but certainly a good exercise!
Thanks again, Tom, for trying to always give us the right suggestions!
Helpful votes: 4/4