Santa Rosa estate rental - Front of home
Front of home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Santa Rosa Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)

Approaching on a winding private drive lined with ancient live oaks, its own vineyard of mature zinfandel grapes to the right, guests arrive at this soulful estate magically sited on 8 acres overlooking Bennett Valley, just minutes from the famed Valley of the Moon and the amenities of Santa Rosa. There are about 3 level acres and 5 acres of wooded trails, creeks, and exploration. If you and your group appreciate privacy, and “artisan luxury”, we think you will love our house and grounds.

Tall glass walls offer light and views of the natural gardens, vineyard, and fruit orchard, while relaxing in contemporary luxury. The lower level of the home features slate and maple flooring, ancient fir beams, an open living room with hearth and woodstove, spacious dining, Mexican tile kitchen, and a great room with stone fireplace, entertainment kitchen and French doors leading to outdoor deck, expansive, level lawn. Make your way across the lawn and there, tucked into a private benched terrace surrounded by a woodland grove, lies an artful pool with stone spa and large patio area.

Cascade stairs lead to the second floor balcony overlooking cathedral ceiling living room. A master bedroom with skylights, King bed and room to spare, a large private bedroom with Queen bed and views of the valley, a loft bed for 2 or more and a high loft for 2 or more, especially fun for kids. The second floor bath has a fabulous Victorian claw foot tub and shower, mosiac tiles and lots of room for candles and music!

This is not a party house. We do not allow events of parties of any kind. Sorry!

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 283029 in Santa Rosa, California

Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
average rating of 4.0625 based on 16 reviews
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Chicago, IL
2

Not well maintained

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Pat was very personable when setting up the rental. However, I had a number of concerns with the property when we arrived. The property manager was not available that weekend, so I was told to check with Pat for any issues. I have contacted him through numerous methods over to past week (during and since our stay) and received no response. I probably would have rated the property higher if there was proper service recovery when my concerns were mentioned. The concerns were, no central heating. This should be stated on the listing. Space heaters in bedrooms and family rooms with missing smoke detectors, seems risky. Carpeting worn and dirty. Sulfur smell with hot water. Patio and outdoor furniture way too dirty to use. Pool with layer of dirt in the bottom, leaves present, skimmer basket not working and even an overturned patio umbrella in the pool. Another person was staying on the property which would have been helpful to know since it was an isolated location. Persons should also know the road into the home is narrow and steep. The pros were that it is a beautiful location and we enjoyed exploring the region. I can see how this property could be wonderful with a little more TLC.
Owner's Response: A key issue was - I was unresponsive. (I’ll also address the substance of the complaints in a minute). I usually “live” on email and phone, and try to jump on any renter request or issue immediately. And in fact it starts with either me or a family friend greeting renters and giving them full walk-thru. Unfortunately, the weekend Meghan rented was my wife’s and my anniversary weekend, we went out of town, and for once, I didn’t focus on my email and phone. I think my unresponsiveness quite understandably increased their frustration level.

Water sulphur smell – Fixed in December. We updated the filtration systems on our well, and replaced water heater. I am VERY happy to report that the sulphur smell is finally, 100% eradicated. (Long complicated country living story – but we have a well, 300 feet deep, well water can have iron content, water can sit in water heater . . . . )

Central Heating – We have a very powerful pellet stove – we are here right now on February 1. Came up last night. Cranked the stove. House is quite warm today. It does take a couple hours if the house has had no one in it for a few days. We also have 5 space heaters that can be used.

Carpeting – Had it cleaned.

Dirty outdoor furniture – it was a bit dirty in October (Fall, leaves falling, etc.). Our cleaners had tended to concentrate just on the inside of the house/doing laundry/etc, and I’ve since corrected their job description to include that.

Smoke detectors – Since replaced. A couple were down.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Torrance, CA
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I had the opportunity to stay in this house for a week with two different groups. Patrick the owner was easy to reach before the trip and we maintained contact while we were there. The house is in a beautiful, secluded part of Santa Rosa and it had the accommodations we needed. It has room to sleep 8, the pool and jacuzzi after long days of wine tasting and bbq's were wonderful. The fairly new Weber grill didn't work properly, but after reaching Patrick, he replaced it with a new one and the second group thoroughly enjoyed it. The beds are comfortable, the living room is fine and if you're lucky, you can pull some peaches and plums off the trees. The house is roomy and I recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the area.
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Houston
5

Girls/Birthday trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This house was amazing for our stay. Look forward to coming back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Houston
4

Thank you

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a ladies trip and this house was perfect for it. We appreciate everything and look forward to visiting again...

Thank you
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Pittsburgh
5

Long overdue reunion of good friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had such a wonderful time and the space was perfect for us! Great community space, but a nice feeling of privacy when we retired to our respective bedrooms ... particularly great for snoozing children and rambunctious adults. The location was wonderfully convenient - close to market, Starbucks and, most importantly, some of the best wineries in the world! We did not partake of the pool (a little chilly in November), but the hot tub was fantastic! We would definitely recommend this place and might return again ourselves one day. Many thanks to Patrick!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
San Francisco
5

Fabulous owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I just wanted to sing praises for the owner of this property. While I didn't have the pleasure of staying on his beautiful property, the owner was very gracious with me in helping to make my trip
possible. Unplanned circumstance made it not possible to enjoy this place but I can say from my small amount of interaction with this owner that he is truly a lovely person who I am sure would help make anybody's stay absolutely fabulous!

Looking forward to enjoying this property very soon I hope!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
4

Home outside of Santa Rosa

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our stay was great, Home clean and accessible
Hot tub was not used and was a disappointment to all.
because of the weekend we couldn't resolve it

I would stay here again and would also recommend it to anyone
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Bainbridge Island
4

Initial problems but alls well that ends well

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed here for a bachelorette weekend. Arrived Thursday and had some difficulty with hot tub, but made the best of it. Started dinner around 7:30 - 8PM and found grill to be out of propane (3 empty tanks onsite) and didn't want to head out to get propane after a couple of drinks. Other problems initally found were inadequat dishwasher soap, laundry soap, limited toilet paper and plugged toilet.

Next day pool man appeared, corrected hot tub issues. Numbers and names left for property mgr were outdated (hadn't been associated with property for 1 year) so went out to buy standard supplies. It took full day to reach owner to discuss issues. While apologetic, the initial provisioning of the house was poor and we were left to address the deficiencies on our own. The Owner did tell our organizer he would provide compensation given our inconvenience was agreeable to our party.

Otherwise, house was just fine. We had fun overall and initial problems were addressed via compensation that made the entire party feel good about the rental. All in all, the place was well provisioned with cookery items, nice bedding, and plush towels. Only other comments are there are steps everywhere, not good for elderly or handicapped.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Milford, CT
5

Great Family Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful week at this property. The grounds and pool were fabulous, even a horse in the vineyard next door. The house has lots of great places to read or chat, in a group or individually, inside and out.The downstairs bedroom and bath were perfect for grandparents while the rest of us were upstairs.
We will definitely try to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Los Angeles
4

Great family wine country vacation base

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our two families, arriving from Boston and Los Angeles, with kids aged 2, 4, 10, and 12, enjoyed a wonderful vacation week at this home. There was lots of room for adults and kids to spread out, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took day trips to Mendocino, Fort Bragg (glass beach), Napa, and closer locations in Sonoma. One day we just enjoyed the house and didn't go anywhere. We used the outdoor decks a lot, and enjoyed the scenic seclusion of the setting. It was a very nice setting for morning walks/runs too. I see other reviews comment that the hot water smells like sulphur. Yes it did. Not really a big deal. Our kids still had daily showers and baths smelled just fine :) Would recommend to friends and family, and would stay again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children