Dauphin Island house rental - Stairs lead to outside shower.
Stairs lead to outside shower.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Dauphin Island House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 12

Completely Remodeled!! New floors, New Walls, new paint, new windows, new doors, new electrical, new metal roof, new deck, new boardwalk, new bath house, new ceiling fans, new light fixtures, etc. Free use of two kayaks - complete with paddles, vests, etc.

Very quiet street with sandy beaches front and back of house. Gulf of Mexico is across the street and the Bay is a few hundred feet behind you. Great sunsets. Unique house that offers the best of both worlds. Beach or Bay - you decide. Roughly two hundred feet to the Gulf of Mexico or two hundred feet to Mississippi Sound. Water is in front and back of house!!

I am married with two daughters. We all love the Island. My oldest daughter graduated from Auburn with a Masters degree and my youngest is a Junior at Auburn. This is Rachael, Tommie and my wife Martha.

John Reeves purchased this house in 2009

We have four vacation homes on Dauphin Island. This one has quickly become the favorite. Shallow water is great for kayaks and all other forms of water sports. The Gulf is across the street and the Bay is at your back door. The best of both worlds. I totally remodeled the house - new metal roof - new windows - new siding - new carpeting - new light fixtures - new doors - new decks - new stairs - new boardwalks - new appliances, etc.

Both the Mississippi Sound and the Gulf of Mexico at your door.

13 Reviews of Property 282924 in Dauphin Island, Alabama

Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Chicago, Illinois
5

Perfect for a famiy with kids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in the home recently and had a great time! The home has 4 bedrooms and a total of 6 beds with 2 full bathrooms. It also had an outside shower that was very helpful when rinsing off all the sand. I loved the open floor plan - made it easy to cook dinner while the kids watch TV! There were lots of little touches that made the home be very comfortable - from all the extra bedding & towels available to the kayaks and sand toys being available to use. One thing that really was surprising was that there was a booster seat in the kitchen! Made us realize that the owners really did think of everything (and make us wonder why we hauled a folding high chair all the way from Chicago!). Overall, I thought the house was beautiful. We will be coming back next year.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

kayak house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a great time here. The house was very nice, and we really enjoyed both the bay and the ocean. The owners were so nice and easy to work with. I highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

WONDERFUL FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our first time renting a beach home. The pictures were accurate to what this cute little beach house looks like. We are from Oklahoma and this was the best family vacation we have had in a while. It was great to have the bay at the back of the house because the waves were too rough for the little ones to play on the gulf side. The shower outside was great to rinse off little ones covered in sand. The house was clean and comfortable. We did see dolphins out in the channel on the bay side along with finding hermit crabs near the shore. Everyone one on the island is amazing, very friendly. We hope to make this a yearly family vacation. We recommend taking the dolphin watch tour and a fishing charter. Make sure you visit the little gift shops too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad everyone enjoyed their visit. My wife has family in Oklahoma and like you they love the Island. Come back soon!
John
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Raymore, MO
3

Memorial Day stay 2013

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
During Memorial week, stayed at the property. The bay side was quiet compared to the ocean side. The beaches on the ocean side were busy, while on the bay side shown on the pictures, you had a little slice of a beach just for us. I took out the kayaks a couple of days and had a great time. We saw dolphins, crabs and sting rays daily. The only draw back to the property was that while it was updated in at some point, the house is starting to become run down. The living room furniture is in need of repair or replacement(broken chairs, TV lamp needs replacing so picture was discolored). The 'main bedroom', I called it that since there was a bathroom attached, did not have a dresser or a bar in the closet to hang up clothing. While the basics were provided, I was expecting a nicer house based on the pictures.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow, wish you would have called me. My cell phone is on 24/7 and is posted throughout the house. I jump though hoops whenever someone has an issue but can't do anything if I don't know there is a problem.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
O'Fallon, Missouri
5

Thanksgiving Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This beach house is absolutely gorgeous and very well-maintained. For two adults, one teen, and three children, there was more than enough space. We decided to get away for a relaxing mini-vacation at the last minute. Thank you, John, for helping to make that happen!
We enjoyed watching the sunrise every morning on the deck while drinking our coffee/hot chocolate. We loved both beaches....kayaking in the bay (right in the backyard) & body surfing in the gulf (a walk across the street)! We built sandcastles, had a bonfire, and spent some time reading and watching family movies. We also visited the Estuarium and Fort Gaines....a definite unexpected highlight of our trip!
I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. Dauphin Island is beautiful and peaceful...a place to really enjoy some family time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Champaign, IL USA
5

Perfect location for a perfect beach vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our week on Dauphin Island spent with good friends simply couldn't have been better. There were 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 children and we had plenty of room in the house that was clean and in order when we arrived. This house has the perfect location on the island, just a minute walk from the Gulf, but also with a beach out the back where the kids could swim and fish in the morning while the adults had coffee on the deck. We enjoyed the warm water and the white sand beaches. This part of the island is quiet, just right for families or couples wanting to get away. A trip to the Estuarium and the bird sanctuary are worth the time. We had a couple of meals at restaurants on the island and one meal in Mobile, but mostly we cooked at the house or grilled because we wanted to spend as much time in swimsuits and at the beach as possible. The owner is friendly and helpful and we would recommend this property. The kids are already asking if we can reserve our week for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad everyone had a great time. Please come back anytime.
John
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Cameron, SC
5

Fantastic time! 23-30 July 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great week in this house. There were 2 adult couples, 4 "kids" age 16-20, and 4 age 3-7; 12 people total and we had no trouble at all. We ran into a snag when we were reserving the house, but the owner bent over backwards to accommodate us. I can't say enough good things about him. We found everything at the house in order and had no trouble with anything all week. We really loved the large living space. It was plenty of room for all 12 of us. The beach out back is perfect for small children, as it is quite shallow and has a very gradual drop during most of the tide. Also, it was just a short walk to the beach on the gulf. We caught a nice mess of fish from both the beach at the gulf and the bay out back. The kayaks were great fun. We even took them out to the gulf for a day. We enjoy cooking our own meals, and we had to buy a couple of pots as there weren't many at the house. That is the only negative in our stay and it was only a slight inconvenience, hardly worth mentioning. Dauphin Island was exactly the kind of laid back, out-of-the-way place we were looking for. Everyone from the youngest to the oldest had an absolute blast! The short version is we highly recommend this house to anyone looking to get away from it all!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
warsaw, missouri
5

Daniels Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our entire family, kids, grandkids, foster kids....14 of us total....stayed a week in July and had the most wonderful vacation ever!!! It was so nice to have the covered deck and the under the deck sandy area...used these in the daytime for the kids to play... and so close to the water...we went every chance we could. There are lots and lots of beautiful seashells that the kids enjoyed gathering and playing with....especially the hermit crabs!!! The family really enjoyed our visit to the estuarium and gift shop there. We bought beautiful albums at a local souvenier shop to hold the hundreds of pictures we took!!
The house is just beautiful, open and spacious ...fully equipped with everything we needed. We have such beautiful albums of pictures as well as memories! Not sure if we can ever manage to make it down there again from Missouri, but sure would if we could.
Thank you to the owners for giving us this opportunity. It was a vacation to remember, and we surely will!!!
I don't think the pictures show how spacious and beautiful the rooms really are. The owner was readily available to answer questions we had about fishing opportunities. We found everything there just as we were expecting, or even better and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a happy and relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Bedford, TX
5

Summer Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Really enjoyed our stay, the house accomodated all 7 of us perfectly. we enjoyed the kayaks on the bay side of the house and it was a quick walk to the gulf beach, perfect location. We have some great pictures, and awesome memories. we hope to return someday.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind comments. I am glad everyone had a great time and enjoyed their stay.
Awesome memories are priceless.
John
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kayaks - Waterfront - Quiet - Remodeled - 4/2 - Linens Furnished
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p282924
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
chapel hill, tn
5

PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My family and I stayed here 5-26 - 5-30 2011. It was extremely peaceful and relaxing. We really enjoyed having our own little private beach on the bay. Our kids seemed to enjoy catching blue crabs with the provided traps, and they were delicious. We also caught a nice mess of fish in the surf. Kayaking was also very fun. Everything your going to need except food is provided. We had a problem with the air and called the owner. Immediately he contacted an hvac company and had them on the way. The house very spacious and could comfortably sleep 12. The best vacation rental I've had so far. Will definitely visit again, and I would recommend it for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the kind words. Looking forward to your return visit.
John
Helpful votes: 3/3