Beautiful house, Fantastic, Private location, stunning mountains views BUT cant stay here after 1 pm
Everything that previous guests have said in the past is true: Beautiful house with a good size pool, great location and wonderful views of the mountains. However there are no ocean views except in the horizon and only visible at sunset which is just gorgeous.
I found the owner, Nick, accommodating although not always prompt with his emails as he travels but when he does respond, he is generally helpful.
However some pointers and hopefully constructive criticism:
1- An accessible and responsive bi-lingual manager is a must and his name and info should be provided in the arrival package. He should always pick up the phone and respond as required.
2- Local cell phone should be provided with the house. I was only given the phone with the minutes added (which was a thoughtful gesture) after I told them the sim card bought in San Jose didn't work.
3- The internet stick provided may or may not work on some computers. When it does work, it is slow and spotty. However the internet stick I purchased myself in SJ worked fine. SO perhaps the quality of the internet stick should be reconsidered. If possible buy one prior to arrival. My recommendation is to provide more than one data stick so that teenagers and a couple of people could have access to internet at the same time.
4-Due to lack of curtains/blinds and no cooling or air conditioning unit the main floor, it is virtually impossible to stay inside or outside of the house after 1 pm when the sun hits the whole house. The whole place becomes an oven.
5- Speaking of an oven, due to lack of cooling facility on the main floor, it is impossible to cook or warm anything in the house. If its too hot outside and there are bugs to get away, you are stuck, you simply cannot stay indoors.
6- The lighting in the house is the worse I have ever experienced. After dark you feel you are in a prison with all the white florescent over head lights hitting you in the eyes. The nights are long here as the sun sets at 6 pm so being able to enjoy the house in the evening is part of the overall experience .This beautiful house deserves a more ambient lighting.. After all what is a point of pot lights if you have awful white florescent lights that cannot be dimmed? Perhaps have less ceiling lights and provide some floor lamps and bed-side table lamps so that we can enjoy the house more after dark and are able to read in bed.
7- Provide better quality pillows. They look like they belong to backpackers hostels and they have seen better
Families with Teenagers,
Owner's Response: Regarding my availability: The renter contacted my property manager and project manager no less than 15 times as we always have someone nearby. In fact, I offered her a full refund after 5 days (not a pro-rated discount but a full discount) since she was unhappy at the home. She refused the refund.
Regarding Bi-lingual manager: The renter informed me that she is fully fluent in Spanish as she owns land in Argentina. She arrived around 1 am which I strongly discouraged – and made clear to her numerous times. I recommend all clients fly into Palmar Sur airport if they are arriving into San Jose or to arrive during the day.
My Project Manager and Property Manager are bilingual.
A local cell phone IS PROVIDED with a functioning SIM card.
The internet stick was purchased specifically for this client (as stated in the contract) and tested in the office of the cell phone providers. My project manager went to assess the situation and discovered that the client’s computer was quite old and, in fact, the internet stick worked quite well on her son’s newer computer.
We often times stream movies via Netflix at the home via the cell network.
Client informed me she needed ONE internet stick for her trip. Upon arrival she informed me she wanted additional data sticks. This was not discussed prior to her arrival or in the contract so we scrambled to help her.
The master suite on the main floor does have an air conditioner. The entire south-western facing wall is all sliding glass doors that provide incredibly fresh breezes due to the home being situated ½ way up a mountain and with great elevation. We recommended opening the sliding glass doors and windows. Additionally, there are two sets of windows facing the north, another sliding glass door and window facing the east and the entrance to the garage facing north.
Regarding the kitchen: This has not come up before, and in fact, we have numerous photos of clients enjoying the wonderfully stocked kitchen.
Regarding the lighting: This has never been brought up before so we may consider it moving forward.
Regarding the pillows: We recently replaced most of the pillows.
In all this client prefers her home in Argentina. The wonderfully friendly people and environment where this house is located is not for everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?