Jackson house rental - View of dining area from kitchen
View of dining area from kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Jackson House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Ultra Unique Green home on the original ‘Whitney’s Slope’ of Black Mountain Ski area in charming Jackson. South facing orientation (and 42 windows) offer plenty of sunshine, stunning views of several mountain ranges, farmlands, horse pastures and tons of character. Three floors of living provide abundant recreation opportunities for various family interests and a cozy, yet open, floor plan, perfect for entertaining. Outdoor space includes a covered farmers porch, balcony, patio with fire pit, private yard and abundant gardens and seating areas.

The home has 2 driveways and separate entries, so the first level of the house offers it's own privacy, which is perfect for families sharing the home. The first floor sectional has a full bed pull out and a full lounger, which can comfortably accommodate an adult couple or young family. There is also a half bath on that level.

Enjoy horses grazing in the pasture right outside your door, as well as swimming, fishing, National Forest hiking and biking trails. Short walk to the Shovel Handle Pub and restaurant, Black Mountain Stables (horseback riding, pony rides, lessons, camps), Jackson Falls and Jackson Village. Free passes for Whitneys Inn swimming pool and trout pond as well as a gift certificate to the restaurant. Home within 1 mile of 2 golf courses and 3 miles from Storyland. Simply step outside the door to enjoy Skiing (alpine and cross country)snowshoeing, sledding, ice skating. World reknown Jackson Country Ski Touring Center located 2 miles from home and offers hundreds of miles of trails, accessible across the street from home. North Conway and outlet shopping less than 15 minutes away.

Keywords: house, chalet, mountain retreat,

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 318973 in Jackson, New Hampshire

New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Not Your Average Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We love this home and rent it frequently. We first rented this because we have 2 dogs and there are not many rentals that live up to our standards that also allow pets. We found this home delightful. Very clean and well stocked. Lori and Steve are always very responsive. Every time we rent this home it is better than the last. (many times you love a place and then return to find it has gotten tired, or it's just not as you remember). With this home there is always something new and upgraded, and they always have everything you could need to make your stay more than comfortable.
We cannot wait to return...we have rented in October also...
Teresa and Greg
and 2 big Goldens (and sometimes they bring a friend)
Beverly, Ma
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
Ohio and Georgia
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed for one week, and the home was wonderful. The decorating was amazing. The home was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The views were excellent. Lori was an absolute pleasure to deal with. The communications were clear and timely, and everything that was communicated was accurate. We had 3 adults and a dog and everyone enjoyed the home. Even after a week, I think there were many things in the home that I did not notice - there was so much to see and enjoy. There were great books to read, beautiful pictures to see, antiques to admire, and great places to sit (both inside and outside).

The layout: The house can be entered from one of two driveways. One driveway is on the lower level, which contains a spacious family room with a new sectional and a great TV, DVD area. The lower level also has a bathroom and a laundry area (the washer and dryer were the nicest I have ever used). Also on the lower level, there is an excellent area to have refreshments or work on your computer, etc. Just outside the door to the lower level was a grassy area for the dog and seating areas with tables. There was even an area to sit by the fire (wood provided) and warm up while admiring the beautiful flowers and plants that Lori and Steve have planted.

On the second level (which can also be entered from the second driveway), were two bedrooms and two bathrooms and a large entry area. There were also grassy areas and seating just outside the door there as well. Outdoor steps led to from the second level to the first level, so you can walk entirely around the house on beautiful stone steps - seating, tables, and benches abound outside, and we used those outdoor areas nearly every day.

On the third level is a huge seating area with a gas fireplace, a very well stocked kitchen, and a large dining area. The library area has some excellent books (I read 2 or 3 while I was there). There is a deck off the third level with a grill (but we really didn't use it - we enjoyed the ground level so much). The steps between levels are beautiful wood and are wide, sturdy, and have excellent handrails.

The location of the house is excellent - it's just outside of Jackson (perhaps 3 miles) and has many excellent restaurants within 5 miles, and even more within 10 miles (about the distance to North Conway).

If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Happiness!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We haven't even left yet, but I couldn't wait to post my review! This house is beautiful, and the energy is wonderful. Today it is raining, and I am watching the rain and clouds move about the mountain, and the horses in the field, and I am perfectly happy.

The house is clean, spacious, and has all the amenities you could ask for. We have rented several times from HomeAway, and this is by the far the best. We plan to come back in the future with some of our extended family too!

The owner is very nice, and very easy to work with. I feel like she and her husband have welcomed us as long lost friends, and that truely makes us enjoy and respect this house even more.

Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

The perfect place to unwind and relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house and location were even better than we had expected. The house was beautiful and very clean and the views were amazing. Lori and Steve are very accommodating and a pleasure to rent from. During our two week stay, we enjoyed watching the sun rise over the mountain in the mornings and dining at the Wildcat Inn and Tavern nearby at night. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this property for your next vacation. It really is a special place to be and relax.
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What an amazing experience!

The house is just as pictured / described. It's walking distance from Black Mountain ski lift and is filled with local history and memorabilia.

Added bonus is access to the Whitney Inn property with heated pool and trout pond.

Lori and Steve are wonderful hosts and we loved everything about our stay and will recommend this property without any reservations!
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Great place, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed here for our annual family getaway this year. What a beautiful home! Lori was very helpful and responsive. We're long-time HomeAway renters and this was our best experience yet!
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Simply Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful home in the fall of 2012. It was simply an incredible experience. My wife and daughter stayed for a full week while her parents and brother joined us for a few days towards the end of the trip.

It is a truly unique property with stunning views of Black Mountain and adjacent hills. The interior is stunning. It is decorated with a tastefulness and uniqueness like I've never seen before. My wife and I would catch ourselves staring off at various decorations throughout the upstairs each day.

The upstairs area has a wonderful kitchen with a nice eat-in area that had wonderful views. This was by far everyone's favorite floor in the house. The kitchen was so enticing that I ended up cooking 4 nights we were there. This wasn't something I anticipated doing but after seeing how wonderfully stocked the kitchen was, I just couldn't help myself. All the basics are there; from pots and pans to spices and oils.

The exterior of the house is quite a marvel and really needs to be seen in person. The eco-friendly build type just adds to the allure of the building.

In all the time my family and I were there, there was not one thing I can think of that wasn't in the house for our usage. The outdoor fire-pit was even ready to be lit. There happened to be a wedding on the Saturday night of our stay at the nearby inn and wedding guests literally walked over to the house and made conversation about how amazing it looked while we sat by the fire-pit.

Lori, the owner, was gracious and easy to communicate with. This was our first home rental so we had tons of questions and she made every step as easy as could be.

If I could give this house and our stay more stars than the 5, I certainly would. Anyone visiting the Jackson area would be doing a disservice to themselves to not consider this house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
natick ma
5

Peace on Black Mountain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This house is simply amazing. The pictures do not do it justice and Lori the owner is an amazing decorator--every nook in cranny in the house looks like it could be in a magazine. The location is fabulous...high on the mountain with the sounds of the wind rustling the birch leaves and the brook across the street. Breathtaking views of mountains in every direction, horses grazing in the field across the street and the night sky sparkling with countless stars (my kids have never seen so many stars living in the suburbs of Boston!) The kids loved the access to the pool at Whitney's and the gift certificate to the Pub was such a nice touch. We will definitely be back, Thanks Lori and Steve!
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
Dublin, Ohio
5

Awesome home in perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Myself, my wife and two young children (ages 4 & 7) recently spent a week in this home and it was perfect! This house (and its location) is outstanding in all aspects and truly exceeded our expectations. The layout of the home is very unique and combined with its pristine condition and very tasteful decor we were always happy to return home after a day of enjoying northern New Hampshire. The location 10-15 miles north of the hustle and bustle of North Conway provided a perfect base for our daily adventures - Storlyland, Attitash Mountain summer activities, hiking Mt. Washington, etc were all easy drives from this home. Lori (the owner) was outstanding to deal with and the entire rental process from beginning to end was very straightforward. We definitely plan to return and would wholeheartedly recommend this house to everyone!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New home on Black Mtn. Views, Sun, Private, Convenient, Cozy, Unique, Green.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318973vb
+1 2076717676
Jackson White Mountains
5

Fabulous Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I had the pleasure of staying in this lovely home. The moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Our children enjoyed spending time at the pond near by and watching the horses graze right across the street. Everything we wanted to do was within easy driving distance: hiking, horseback riding, Storyland, shopping and eating (everything you need in a vacation).
We will absolutely be renting this beautiful home again!