Houghton cabin rental - Cordwood Cabin View From Lakeside
Cordwood Cabin View From Lakeside
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Houghton Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 three-quarter bathroom, loft, sleeps 4

The Keweenaw Cordwood Cabin was constructed in 2005-06. It overlooks the Keweenaw Waterway which is about one-half mile wide at this point. The cabin has one bedroom downstairs and a loft above and sleeps a maximum of four persons. A covered deck at the front of the cabin provides a spectacular view of the waterway and the hills along the opposite shore. Fall colors are especially dramatic across the water. The private, sandy beach is great for swimming and wading and is only a stone's throw from the cabin. A dock slip with shore power is available. The town of Houghton has a full range of amenities and is only 5 miles by car or boat. Michigan Technological University is located in Houghton and enriches the cultural opportunities. Tourist attractions abound nearby. Fishing is excellent in the waterway and deep water fishing is available on Lake Superior. A trout pond is available for use of children. A full range of water sports are available locally.

7 Reviews of Property 281714 in Houghton, Michigan

Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
Onondaga, MI
5

A very unique cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a wonderful cabin with a great location. Close to Houghton with a country setting.The kitchen was better equipped with matching equipment and dishware than we have at home! We even had a lovely wildflower bouquet on the table when we arrived. All the bed and bath linens you could ask for. The loft would make me nervous with children younger than about 4 yrs old but it can be gated off. The rope net and cable hand rail and loft wall would be too tempting for any smaller child to resist climbing. Since our kids are all in college, it was wonderful and airy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
Suwanee, GA
5

Cordwood Cabin is Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at the Keweenaw Cordwood Cabin last week. Besides having perfect weather the whole week, the whole experience was perfect. The accomodations are spotless, very up to date, and comfortable. The views of the water in the morning will stay with us for a long time. The property is close enough to town to either drive or boat in 15 minutes. We went into Houghton for breakfast by boat which was a great time. The beach, dock, and calm waters of the Portage were a perfect setting for the week. To be honest, we would not change a thing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
san antonio
5

Blue Top is great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Very clean. Well equipped - linens, kitchen ware, etc.
Wonderful view.
Very very quiet.
Wonderful owner.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
Holland, Michigan
5

Relaxing Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at the Cordwood cabin when our youngest son graduated from Michigan Tech this last weekend. It was the most relaxing time that we have ever spent in Houghton. The cabin was neat and clean and fully stocked with everything that we needed. There was plenty of room and the pictures don't fully express the charm of the property. The view is great and we even saw two eagles flying over the cabin. We also saw deer and a coyote in the field behind the cabin one evening.
The cabin is very private but is only a 5 minute drive to town. Grocery shopping, restaurants and hiking trails are all nearby. We spent time hiking to local waterfalls and really enjoyed it!
The only regret that we have is that we did not find this property earlier. It was far more enjoyable than any of the hotels that we have stayed in the last few years. Do not hesitate to book this cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

Cute, Scenic yet Close to Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family and I stayed here in August 2011. We thought the cabin was great, the placement is ideal and the owner is a lot of fun! It's just a few miles to town yet it's out in the country. The photos here are accurate, although the real-life charm of this place can't be caught with a lens. We heard loons, saw eagles, swam in the oh-so-cold waters and had a great time. We'd recommend this without reservation and hope to be back ourselves!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
steamboat springs, colorado
5

Impressed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and our two children (5 and 8) stayed at the cordwood cabin the last week in July, 2011. Impressed is really an understatement. This cabin is SOoooo cute! Very comfortable with a great design; it suited us perfectly. Very accurate listing. Super clean and as previously mentioned, meticulously maintained! We loved the beach and the nice breezes on the deck and lawn. Would definitely recommend this property, thanks for a great stay! :)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Cordwood Cabin on Keweenaw Waterway, Sandy Beach, Deep Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281714
906 482-9966
Houghton Upper Peninsula Michigan
Denver, Colorado
5

Fantastic cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at this cabin over the 4th of July holiday 2011 with our 2 young boys and had an absolutely wonderful time! The property is meticulously maintained, and the cabin is very unique. It has a nice, private beach with great fishing for little ones.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1