Sebago Lake Basin cabin rental - Main cabin photo taken from lake side facing Hackett Road (2013)
Main cabin photo taken from lake side facing Hackett Road (2013)
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps17
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Sebago Lake Basin Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 Cabins near the shores of Sebago Lake Basin, 4 bedrooms sleeps 12 comfortably

Three cabins located near the shores of Sebago Lake Basin. The property is near the heart of North Windham and provides easy access for vacation needs at the local Wal-Mart, Shaw's and Hannaford. The cabins have been fully modernized and were renovated in 2012. This location represents the closest point to Portland's downtown and travel centers on Sebago Lake.

It is a wonderful family location. Nearby for rainy days are movie theaters and on sunny days adventurous activities from hiking to swimming to boating and the amusement parks. For parents, the cabins are nearby the JCC day camp.Maybe a little bit more of a vacation for you?

The main cabin sleep arrangements include a master bed room with a large closet and deck access for views of the lake. The sun room has deck access and a door to the main living area. Both the main living area and the sun room have comfortable full sized futons.

The guest cabins can be used for a separate family or as a bunk house for the kids.

NOTE: We do not allow the storage or usage of fireworks on the property. Storage and usage of fireworks will be considered to be a breach of the rental contract and we will ask you to leave the property before the end of your stay without a refund. We appreciate your consideration with this matter.

A list of Association and Cottage rules are furnished with the rental. Service Dogs with documentation are permissible. Dogs are prohibited from the association beach..

Property inquiries without a telephone number will not receive a reply.

Prices do not include state tax which is 8%.

WINTER RENTAL NOTE: Only the guest cabin and bunkhouse are available for winter rentals. In addition to base rate, there is a $75 per person charge plus tax and booking fee. The guest cabin has a full size futon (2 people) and sleeper couch (2 people) located in one sleeping area, kitchen, bathroom and electric baseboard heat. The bunk house has a full size futon (2 people) in living room and queen size bed (2 people) in bedroom. There is no bathroom in the bunk house. Each room has an electric space heater. There is a $75 per additional person per night additional fee when occupancy exceeds 2 people. Due to the extreme cold weather we require tenants to purchase Property Damage Protection $89 and we advise purchasing the Carefree Rental Guarantee (http://www.vacationprotection.com/?aff=vpharenter&tab=Carefree-Rental-Guarantee).

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 281696 on Sebago Lake Basin, Maine

Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

Great Vacation on Sebago!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great stay at Gene's Lodge! The cabins are larger than we expected - they easily accommodated our two families of four, grandparents and overnight guests. It's very nice to have three separate cabins to give people some space, and the kids loved having their own cabin! The cabins are fully stocked with linens and the kitchens had everything we needed. The back cabin is dated but it's clean and serviceable. (Kids' cabin!) The location is very convenient for quick runs to the grocery store or an afternoon at the movies on a rainy day. The deck on the main cabin is large and has a nice patio set - we had most of our meals out on the deck. You can't see much of the lake from the cabin, but it is only a short walk to the beach. The shared beach is GREAT - sunny and sandy and was never crowded. The firepit is large and surrounded by a nice grassy lawn - the perfect place to wrap up a day at the lake.

The property is very well maintained and we appreciated that the owner and property manager checked in with us during the week. Overall it was a great experience. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

Magical summer memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I loved my recent stay at Genes lodge! We have stayed at this location before and I really liked the recent addition of the bunk beds and outdoor fire pit. The property is always clean and is close to several restaurants that sell fresh seafood. We had fresh corn on the cob and lobster on the covered deck. Perfect spot for a family reunion with lots of kid friendly perks: beach access, bunk beds, on site laundry, walking distance to a park, lots of nature to explore!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

This property has it all, and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Everthing you don't need (traffic, crowds, etc.), everything you want: lake views with full access to sandy beach, quite, solitude, and mother nature. My wife and other members of our extended family stayed here the last week of August right throught Labor Day. The accomodations were perfect; you will not want for anything with this property. Spacious, comfortable, very clean, and extremely well maintained. Has all the comforts of home, yet still maintains a Maine cabin feel to it. This property came with other adjoining cabins. It was easily able to accomodate me and my wife, our three children and their spouces, as well as three of our grandchildren. As an added bonus a supermarket and Walmart is conveniently located just 10 minutes from the property! Best vacation in years! Owner is very attentive and responsive. I can't recommend this vacation retreat enough!
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

A great getaway spot in Maine!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I can't recommend this rental property enough. The main cabin has a great deck complete with patio furniture and a grill and overlooks the lake. Inside, there's a kitchen, bathroom, two bedrooms, and a back room with a futon. There's also wireless internet and a flat screen in the living room. You won't have much time for that, though, since you're a stone's throw from the lake.

Overall, a great place to vacation - especially if you're with a large group of people.
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

The property is truly amazing. Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the best vacation we have ever had. The accommodations, the beautiful lake, each house equipped with more than was needed or expected, and of course, perfect weather all week.

Having Pat and Teresa just a phone call away gave us the assurance that if there were any problems, help was on its way. We had no problems. We had a remarkable experience at a remarkable place. I recommend this place to anyone who wants a great vacation spot. You will get more than you could possibly expect. Thanks so much from all of us, Joe and Roberta Greenberg
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

A fantastic Maine camp rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I cannot speak highly enough of my experience at Gene's Lodge! Note for non-Mainers: I'm calling this a "camp" since that is what my Maine-native wife says it is. To us non-Mainers, it is a cabin complex on a lake. Having more than one cabin is a great benefit, as we had family in the area stay a night or two with us, and there was ample sleeping and living space for all 12 of us.

The camp is accurately described in the listing, and it is very clean and well-maintained.

From the moment I spoke with Scott Cohen, the owner, it was plain that he took great pride in his camp and in doing his best to ensure a great vacation for his guests. I was not disappointed at all in his efforts.

Within 10 minutes of our arrival, Scott's property caretaker, Patrick, arrived. Patrick showed us the property, explained the function of the electronic door locks, showed us all of the amenities, and gave us his personal cell phone number in case we had any problems emerge. Patrick also brought by some excellent firewood for use in the fire pit, and did his very best to help us with any requests we had. I am truly impressed by the commitment demonstrated by both the owner and his caretaker/manager.

The camp is beautiful with hardwood floors in the main cabin, and the on-site laundry is a great perk. The community beach is a two-minute walk away, and you are very close to grocery stores, shopping, etc. However, one benefit of this camp is that even though you are very close to services, you would never know - - the site is tranquil and VERY quiet. Two young woodchucks and deer are in the neighborhood, and you will love the natural beauty of the camp.

Important notes: owner provided own linens and towels, cleaners, toilet paper, and paper towels. Also, wireless internet is very fast and reliable.

You are close to Portland, you're on Sebago Lake, and you're close to many of southeastern Maine's many attractions.

I would recommend this property to family and friends, and intend to come back!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the favorable review. I hope that you visit us again next summer.
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

Sebago Lake Vacation Land at Genes Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I enjoyed looking forward to our Sebago Lake vacation with our dear friends.
The massive boulder landscape was a precursor of the nature that was to follow.
Upon entering Genes lodge I noticed the very clean spacious kitchen which bodes well since I packed lots of organic food for breakfast and grilling on the huge deck. The frig and grill are large. Then my eyes turned upwards to take in the cathedral ceilings with 2 skylights and to the left the focal point, a large stone fireplace. The weather was amazing.
We enjoyed the sunny sandy beach with children frolicking in the water.
Colorful ducks swam by while we were on the beach.
During our stay at Genes Lodge I kept thinking this truly is vacationland.
The Loons and wild life were melodically singing as we gazed upon the tranquil lake.
We completely relaxed with close friends as we watched the sun set over the water and trees as the stars came out with a partial moon.
We also enjoying waking in the morning with full length screen doors letting the sounds of nature in. So many very tall trees pumping out clean oxygen.
There are numerous shopping centers and restaurants only a couple of miles away.
I’ve been thinking how great the vacation was and I’ll enjoy the memories and return visits for years to come.
Everything was perfect, even the weather.
Thanks so much Scott
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We're looking forward to having you as a guest again at Genes Lodge or the recently renovated Lady Pepperell Lodge (Homeaway Rental 965012)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

Excellent anniversary getaway place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I visited Gene's Lodge for our anniversary and had a most lovely time at the site. The main cabin was spacious with about any amenity we could think of, and an entire second guest cabin went unused. What a great place with quiet beach and friendly neighbors. We are already thinking about opportunities for next summer. Also, the lodge is hidden away in the woods by the lake, but is still only a five minute drive from downtown North Windham for any grocery, restaurant or other quick access needs. We give the highest recommendations indeed.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We hope to see you again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

True Definition Maine Vacationland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Both Cabins very clean and well maintained and easy accessibility to Portland's fine dining and night life options. Seconds away from Windham main 302 roadway with every shopping and chain restaurants at your convenience. Lake setting and easy access to city life makes this a great vacation destination. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed hosting you for the month of July. We hope to see you next summer.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sebago Lake Basin, Close to Portland, Great Family Retreat, 3 Cabins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281696
+1 4054454459
Sebago Lake Basin Sebago Lakes Region
5

No compromises here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This property has it all. It is a literally just 10 minutes from shopping, a grocery supermarket, and restaurants, yet retains the feel of being set deep into the Maine woods. The accomodations include comfortable bedrooms, bath, common space, and a full function kitchen. Once you have the 'fridge and cupboards stocked up there is literally no reason to get back into the car...and why would you? Walk down to the semi-private beach and there you will find the cleanest sand and water to enjoy. Everywhere the scent of white pine hangs in the air, and there are plenty of opportuties to just casually stroll the surroundings as time just seems to slow down. This is the perfect venue for resting, relaxing, and just enjoying a good book. Yet, for the more enthusiastic there is that very large lake to explore and play on. My wife and I just love this place, and we can't wait to return. We highly recommend this property to anyone who wants it all without sacrificing anything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit. And we hope to see you next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3