Newport apartment rental - view of the sunny guest deck
view of the sunny guest deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Newport Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4 adults

Hawthorne House of Newport is located in the city's south end. The private three-room suite offers the convenience and comfort of home. Your privacy is assured as we accept only one booking at a time - in other words, you will be our only guests. The suite's arrangement and amenities make it ideal for a variety of travelers. The suite includes a private deck with gas grill, both high speed or wi-fi Internet access, a queen-bedroom and a separate living/dining room with queen sofa bed. Due to the privacy of this suite, we are happy to welcome children. They will be delighted to find a nearby playground and family beach - as well as a large yard. This home is accessible for most wheelchairs - please ask us for specifics. Well-behaved pets allowed - please ask for our 'Pet Policy'.

Location: Fully-equipped and nicely decorated, your suite includes a private entrance and off street parking. Oh, did we mention your helpful hosts? Feel free to ask us for shopping, dining, or sightseeing suggestions. As native Newporters, we are well acquainted with our famous hometown and its surrounding areas.

We are located in a quiet residential area ('Fifth Ward') within walking distance to downtown (1.2 miles) , a local beach (0.7 miles), Salve Regina campus (0.5 miles), and Breakers Mansion on the Cliff Walk (0.9 miles). We are 1.3 miles from Fort Adams State Park.

Wheelchair / Other Mobility Needs: For most guests with mobility needs (walkers, canes, standard-sized manual wheelchairs, etc.) or for those who can easily stand and pivot to transfer, this suite should prove accommodating. May not be suitable for power wheelchair users - please call us for specifics. We are, of course, happy to move (or remove) furnishings or scatter rugs as per your requirements. Floor plan (with measurements) available.

More Details
Hide Details

We are very casual, friendly hosts. We like to treat our guests as we would wish to be treated if we were away from home. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know!

Terri Fitch purchased this apartment in 2002

We are native 'Newporters' - and both grew up in this neighborhood.

We designed our home specifically with guests in mind. Your suite is as private as you would wish. Or, if you are looking for sight-seeing or dining suggestions or if you would like to chat, we are happy to oblige!

45 Reviews of Property 281613 in Newport, Rhode Island

Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
average rating of 4.970588 based on 45 reviews
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Montreal Canada
5

Great place in Newport!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second stay here - and, once again, it was nothing less than perfect! Terri and Mike are exceptional hosts, caring and kind. The apartment is spotless, nicely appointed, and very comfortable. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to see and do in Newport. We look forward to our third stay next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Great stay, will definitely return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband, 18 month old son and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. We had a wonderful time. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The owners were extremely kind and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. My son loved roaming around the large backyard where a baby pool was set up for him. Gooseberry Beach is a short 10-15 min walk and was very nice and clean. The water was also very calm, which is pefect for small children.
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Truly a 5 Star B&B

Truly a 5 Star B&B
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I enjoyed my stay at Hawthorne House. It was meticulous and in such a beautiful and relaxed setting. Terri and Mike are lovely people. Mike gave us a little tour of the area and we had nice evening visits with Terri. I can’t say enough good things about the home and the owners because there are just so many but I should mention the best banana bread I have ever had !!! I highly recommend Hawthorne House and I will be going back !!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
California
4

Charming!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We recently traveled to Newport for a wedding and had the pleasure of staying at Hawthorne House of Newport as guests of Terri and Michael Fitch. Although Hurricane Sandy delayed our arrival, shortening our stay, accommodations for the sudden change in plans were made. Hawthorne House is nestled in a quiet neighborhood, close to historic downtown Newport and the mansion district, and we found the atmosphere relaxing, the accommodations comfortable, and the hospitality genuine. Terri greeted us at the door upon our arrival and throughout our stay made sure we had everything we needed to make us feel welcome and comfortable, including fresh baked banana bread and homemade chocolate chip and raisin/oatmeal cookies. She kept the refrigerator stocked with a variety of beverages and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were also available for fresh brewing in the kitchenette. We felt perfectly at home during our stay and even more so when, on late nights out, came back to find the porch and foyer lights on, awaiting our return. We recommend Hawthorne House and the Fitch’s kind hospitality to anyone visiting Newport or the surrounding areas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Hartford, CT
5

Great Weekend!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Had a fabulous weekend in Newport, the owners Terri & Mike were wonderful. The apartment was clean and spacious enough for the 3 of us. The location was great, close to busy downtown but just far enough to enjoy a quiet nights sleep. The homemade baked goods were delicious. Can't wait to come back soon!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Orlando, FL
5

Ourstanding - Hawthorne House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved our stay in Newport! It is a delightful seaside town, with lots to see and do. We enjoyed visiting several of the "millionaire houses" , some of the historic sites, and eating delicious sea food. Mike and Terri made our time there even more enjoyable by providing such a lovely and spotlessly clean place for us to stay. They have thought of everything to make you comfortable and happy while you are there. We were delighted and surprised to receive fresh towels and a touch up cleaning of the guest suite everyday. Breakfast supplies were furnished and treats for the afternoon, all were delicious. The suite worked out well for us and our adult son. He said the sofabed was very comfortable. We agree with all the positive reviews above and will certainly recommend Hawthorned House to our traveling friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

great place to stay in Newport R.I.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from Newport where we spent two wonderful nights at Hawthorne House. It was like staying at your “home in Newport” when you don’t own a home there! Hawthorne house is conveniently located near Belleview Ave. It has two rooms which are clean and fresh (5 years old) and well designed. Cold bottled water along with OJ, milk, breakfast cereal, and cookies were provided daily. Appliances at Hawthorne house include a microwave, toaster, refrigerator and a gas grill. As vacation go, it is one of the most accommodating and enjoyable stays we have ever had!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Terrific! Even better than expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Truly 5 stars! Accommodations pristine. Hosts Terry and Mike were gracious and made us feel like family! We hated to say goodbye! Location is perfectly situated for whatever you're hoping to do in Newport! The "extra" touches were so nice! They thought of everything! And our walnuts were perfectly placed on the delicious banana bread. We enjoyed every moment. Their cat is even sweet!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
Scotch Plains NJ
5

Anniversary Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just got back from a 2 nite stay at the Hawthorne House, and we had the best time. Terri, Mike and their daughter Cristina (who is visiting before she joins her husband in Japan) were just great. We will never stay in a hotel again! All the goodies were grea,t and we felt so at home there, and look forward to returning soon. The place was so clean, and every amenity was taken care of. I have told all our friends of this great experience, and wouldn't be surprised they will look to book in the future. Thanks again Terri and Mike, and hope your Clamn Bake was a success. Wish we were there. Barb & Carl
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Suite in Newport RI - Bed & Breakfast!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281613
+1 401 847-6340
Newport Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

A TRULY WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Spent two night in July 2011 (wish it was more)!! The suite is absolutely spotless & comfortable. Terri & Mike are the nicest people you would ever want to meet & their detail to customer satisfaction is unbelieveable. Will definitely go back in the future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1