Kaanapali condo rental - Enjoy Gorgeous Blue Hawaiian From Our Lanai
Enjoy Gorgeous Blue Hawaiian From Our Lanai
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kaanapali Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Maximum occupancy 2 adults only)

MAKING YOUR NEXT MAUI STAY A TRULY MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE. Our recently renovated Whaler studio condo is all about views, privacy and comfort. It is located on the 10th floor of Tower 1 with 180 degree unobstructed views of the ocean, Isle Molokai, Black Rock and the North shoreline, and West Maui Mountains. You will find yourself waking up everyday with a postcard view of the legendary Black Rock.

Black Rock is believed by ancient Hawaiians to be the site from which their spirits 'jumped off' or left this world to join their ancestors. The Black Rock area is highly popular for snorkeling and scuba diving as the rock forms a great reef wall attracting turtles and hundreds of beautiful tropical fish. From our Lanai, you can enjoy the legendary torch lighting and cliff diving from Black Rock everynight before sunset. Making your next visit to Kaanapali Beach a truly memorable one.

We offer competitive rates, first class accomodation professionally maintained by our local property manager. We completed a significant interior renovation in 2011 with many upgrades. Our new interior strikes a fine balance between modern luxuries and the Whaler island charms, appointed with many fine local arts. Hope you find our Maui home equally enjoyable as we do. Please enquire with confidence and mahalo for looking. Aloha.

Keywords: Strictly Non-Smoking Condominium, No Pet Allowed, Maximum Occupancy of 2 People Only.

More Details
Hide Details

We comply with the Hawaii legislation. Below is our tax certification # and we employ a full time local property manager as our agent. Please make your booking inquiries with confidence! Aloha.

HI Transient Accomodation Tax Registration # W39926824-01

Maui is our favor island in the world and we love spending time on Kaanapali Beach. Our humble vacation home at the Whaler offers a perfect getaway for two. The exterior views from our lanai is breath taking and inspiring - with that 180 degree unobstructed views of ocean, beaches and mountains. We chose a higher floor location for the best vista and privacy. The interior of our condo offers you the old Whaler island charms uplifted with modern convenience and upscale feels. It is warmly decorated with many Hawaiian paintings and pictures through out and we will continue to add our personal touch to it on every chance we have. We feel strongly that everyone staying at our condo should enjoy it as much and as the same as we do.

The Whaler is so conveniently located with everything just a few steps away. No shortage of things to do or see, and places to eat or shop. Take the beach walk every morning for a refreshinig walk/exercise that stretches from the Shareton at Black Rock all the way down to the south end of Kaanapali Beach. Try Hula Grill next door with nightly live entertainment (one of the only two authorized Kiawe Grills on the Island), or enjoy Luau at KBH also located next door to the Whaler.

18 Reviews of Property 281403 in Kaanapali, Hawaii

LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Berkeley, CA (USA)
5

Profile doesn't do this condo justice!

Profile doesn't do this condo justice!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Though the pictures accurately depict the condo, it was way more amazing than I ever dreamed! In the morning, I loved to let the sun rise while I sipped coffee on the lanai. Just before dusk, I would whale watch (it was that time of year) from the lanai with a piña colada! Plus, you are close enough to the ocean to hear it, so every night I let the waves lull me to sleep. It was heaven! The Whaler is a great place in general; very close to the beach, good pool, and connected to the promenade that allows you to walk to several places to eat/drink. If I am able to return to Maui, THIS PLACE is where I'd stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Michael, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and sharing your experience of staying at Whaler 1018. Not only you have brought smiles to our faces, you have taken us back to our Maui home. In our upcoming return to Maui, we would be doing exactly of what you described - enjoy that views and the sound of waves. We hope you visit us again soon.

Mahalo, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
5

Gary and Jill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Wonderful unit. Exactly as described with a beautiful view. Everything we needed was there. It was clean and spacious for a studio unit with easy access to the elevator and then to the beach. Would recommend it to anyone. The location was right on the beach with restaurants and Whalers Village right there. Would return in a heartbeat if I had the money and time.
Thank you to the owners Maria and James, who were great to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Gary and Jill,

We are absolutely delighted and humbled by your review. Whilst we feel the same every time on our return to our Maui home, we wanted very much to share that experience with our guests. I am glad to know that Whaler 1018 has made a difference for you on this trip. Hope to see you all again soon.

Mahalo, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Great location and view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great location and view! The Whaler in general is a very nice property - simple & tasteful. This condo looks exactly like it does in the pictures and possibly better. It is a large studio - very comfortable for the 2 of us. Renovated kitchen and bathroom makes it feel new, modern and fresh. The adjacent building is lower than this 10th floor unit so that provides a sense of openness and privacy. Lovely view of the water, beach and black rock. I would have no problem recommending this unit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Allison, Thank you for the kind remarks. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to your return someday.

Mahalo, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
4

Lovely condo in Whaler

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The condo is lovely, well decorated, quiet and very clean. It was slightly larger than we had expected for a studio. It was well stocked with everything, including movies, books to read, and kitchen and bath supplies. The bed was very comfortable as was all of the other furniture. We felt that it was well priced and convenient to all of the activities in the surrounding area. The owners were lovely to work with and we really enjoyed all of their help.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: John, Thanks for the kind remarks and glad that we were able to assist you on this trip.

Mahalo, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Vancouver, B.C.
5

FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our first time to Maui and what a great holiday it was. We couldn't have wished for a better condo. The view from the lanai was breathtaking and to have the patio doors open from wall to wall was like having an extension from the unit to the outside. It was well appointed and clean and the king bed was VERY comfortable. We had a car while there and explored different areas of Maui and at the end of day we both said there isn't any other place I'd rather stay. From the location (beautiful beach, snorkelling right there, shops, good eateries), to the unit, perfection! You won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sue and Gary,

Thank you so much for writing to us and sharing your wonderful experience of Maui on VRBO. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at our condo, especially for your first visit to the island. This means a lot to us and we wouldn’t want it for any less. Please look us up again when you plan your next visit to Maui.

Mahalo and with warmest regards,
Maria & James
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Tarpon Springs
5

Wonderful vacation property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this vacation property. It was very clean, well appointed with an incredible view from the lanai. The Whaler property is also very well maintained with excellent parking, laundry services and a close proximity to shopping. Looking forward to our next stay in March.
Owner's Response: Aloha Patti, We are truly honored by your high remarks and repeated booking. It really speaks volume when former Whaler owners express confidence in us and share their enjoyment of staying at Whaler 1018 in public. We are delighted to know that this trip has brought back many fond memories for you, and we hope that your March visit is as joyful. Mahalo and kind regards, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Albany, OR
5

Great condo with great view. Would love to return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The condo was beautiful, just as pictures showed. Everything was in great shape, clean and the place was spacious. The balcony is a wonderful place for morning coffee and breakfast while you watch people heading out to enjoy the beach. We were in the perfect location and enjoyed having everything we needed close by and in walking distance - the best snorkeling, great restaurants, pool, towels, beach, ocean, and a great view from the room. I would love to return to this condo and would highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Julia,
Thank you so much for the kind remarks. It is absolutely a great feeling to know that Whaler 1018 has made a difference for you on this trip. We hope to see you soon!

Mahalo and Warmest Regards, Maria and James.
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Northport
5

Absolutely wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
As I write this I am sitting out on the lanai in this great condo, words just cannot describe how great it is. We could not have ask for a better place to stay. I was uncertian after reading the last comment but I can tell you that we have not experienced any of the same issues that were mentioned. We have not seen one bug, not even an ant! The bed to us could not be any more comfortable, have slept soundly since we have been here. The condo is very well updated, was so clean when we checked in. There is everything you need and its much larger than I expected for a studio. It was nice having the extra small closet/storage room off the bathroom to store our luggage in and keep it out of the way, this was a nice surprise to have available. There is plenty of room for a couple and the view is absolutley stunning. The complex has nice grounds and everyone has been extremely polite and helpful. This is not a hotel but to us is much nicer and quiter. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping at the Whaler Village right next door. Snorkling at Black Rock(just a few steps away) was great, saw all kind of fish, sea turtles and sting rays. Without a doubt we would definitely try to stay in this same condo if we can make it back to Maui. Do not let the other review steer you away. It really depends on what you are looking for and this was just the right place for us. So much better than a standard hotel room. Every morning we were able to make our coffee and sit out and look at the ocean and mountains and just take a break from our normal hectic lives. We will be sad to be leaving in a couple of days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lisa,
Thank you so much for taking precious time off from your relaxation to share your experience of Whaler 1018 in “real time” with us. It is awesome to know that you are having a great time staying at our condo. We look forward to your future visits and thanks again for having the confidence in us.

Mahalo, Maria and James
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
Lansing, Michigan
3

Lovely unit, but we had some issues

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Overall, the unit was lovely and the location was perfect for us. We loved the building and area and had a great time during our 10-day honeymoon.

We had a few issues with the unit, however. First, we discovered three varieties of insects infesting the kitchen area. The first were very tiny ants around the coffee pot; the second seemed to be saw-toothed grain beetles infesting boxes of pasta and all the spices in one of the cupboards; and the third appeared to be some kind of roach that came out of one of the dining-side cabinets.

Although a cleaning service came in the day after we reported the insects, before that happened we took great lengths to sterilize the kitchen, dispose of contaminated products, spray, and set traps, and throughout our stay we had to be be extremely conscientious about keeping ALL our food in the fridge, constantly cleaning the counters, and always keeping the balcony doors shut. FYI I did take photos of all the insects to document the problems.

In addition to the insects, we also only had two bath towels for our entire 10 day stay, which isn't really enough. We had to call and pay extra for a mid-stay towel change, only for the maid to reveal an entire drawer full of clean towels that we simply had not been informed about before our arrival or when we called to ask for fresh towels. I guess we should have gone through all the cabinets in the unit to look before we called, but we just assumed the towels would be in an obvious place, not in the very bottom drawer of a random cabinet.

Yet despite the fact that the maid failed to exchange any of our towels (not even the two dirty ones!), we were still charged the towel change fee.

Finally, a maid came in and kicked us out of the unit an hour before our scheduled check-out time, which was very inconvenient since we had planned our last day carefully and had even called to beg for an extra hour before checkout. Kinda thought one little hour would be the least they could do, given our complaints, but instead they SUBTRACTED an hour from our stay and never offered us any compensation for any of our troubles.

Finally, the bed was hard as rock. I am a side-sleeper and my hips were actually BRUISED from the bed. Imagine spending most of your honeymoon sleeping on a couch!

Overall, the unit, view and location were lovely, but the host was unaccommodating. We wished we'd gone through the building website and picked another unit instead of using Whaler Realty Management and VRBO.
Owner's Response: Whilst we have always tried to be fair, reasonable, and accommodating to our guests, we understand that there are those who would never be pleased irrespective of what we do. We welcome all guests' comments, good and bad, as long as they are presented with merits. In this case, we strongly disagree with the guests on their comments above. First all, we offered them a discounted rate for a peak season stay as per their request and as our kind gesture for their celebration, which we seldom do during the peak season inclusive of July 4th. Secondly, we could not grant their request for a late check-out notified us in the night prior to their scheduled departure because another guest is due to check-in the next day. Were we being unresonable under the circumstance? Well, you be the judge. As a result, our property manager instructed them to check out at the time as agreed per original rental agreement. There was no wrong doing by my manager. Thirdly, we have never had guests staying at our condo not taking the time to look for clean towels in the bathroom cabinets. If the guests prefer to be fetched, they should have checked into the Westin next door for over $300 a night. Fourthly, many guests have raved about the comfortness of our king size bed as can be read from the their comments on this site. We understand that no two bodies are alike. What is impossibly hard for the guests may be theraputic for others. Lastly, we stayed in our condo for 10 days early in June, two and a half weeks prior to these guests' arrival. As part of our annual visits, we checked the place inside and out, experienced no insect issues and enjoyed sleeping in our bed. We have never heard or seen "saw tooth beetle" on the island before. Nonetheless, we notified our property manager immediately after learning about the complaint. In the morning of the complaint, my property manager ordered the cleaning crew to scrub down the place and sent in the Whaler Maintenace crew at my expense to address any insect issues reported. My manager advised us later that it was an "ant issue" potentially caused by a box of foods left behind by another guest stayed earlier. Since then, I received no further complaints from the guests until they abruptly requested for a late check-out in the night before their scheduled departure. Whilst it is unfortunate having to dispute these complaints, we will continue to be fair, reasonable and accommodating to our guests as our virtue. Aloha!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOVE DA BLACKROCK OCEAN VIEW STUDIO, PLAN YOUR PARADISE GETAWAY.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p281403vbi
(732) 248-1829 (New Jersey, USA)
Kaanapali Maui
College Station, TX USA
5

Maui Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The studio exceeded our expectations. The photos on the Internet do not do the condo justice as it is much, much nicer than it appears. The condo was clean and spacious and was very quiet. The view was spectacular and access to the beach was exactly what we were looking for. One of our favorite activities on Maui was snorkeling at Black Rock which is a short walk from the condo. Would recommend to friends and would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Karen, we are so pleased to learn that you had a terrific time in Maui and that our condo exceeded your expectation. It is wonderful to know that our guests recognize how truely a gem that Whaler 1018 is. For us. it's a home away from home and has never ceased to amaze us for its location and the ambiance that we have created. We look forward to your future visits.
Mahalo, Maria and James