Napa house rental - The sunny east side of Silverado Trail, The Highland House, in central Napa
The sunny east side of Silverado Trail, The Highland House, in central Napa
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Napa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Make your reservations today at The Highland House for that getaway where wining and dining is part of the landscape daily. Harvest season is filled with special events throughout the valley, so choose to stay with us and be centrally located!

Permitted and licensed, The Highland House, a fully restored 1940's cottage, is located at 3 Highland Drive on the sunny side of Silverado Trail near the heart of Napa's revived Oxbow District. Within walking distance of the Highland House are many Zagat-rated restaurants, wine-tasting rooms, world class entertainment venues, art galleries, antique shops, museums and boutique shopping options.

Decorated with refreshed period furnishings, this home offers every amenity of comfort and convenience for enjoying the luxuries of Wine Country. Whether choosing to enjoy a good book or a great glass of wine, you will find the warmth of home at The Highland House.

Each bedroom features queen-sized mattresses with Egyptian cotton sheets; a desk in one and a vanity dressing table in the other offer our guests the convenience of preparing for work or play. Complimentary toiletries, including facial wipes for make-up removal. are provided in the custom-tiled bath. The kitchen, featuring granite counters and Italian slate flooring, is fully equipped for conveniently preparing meals.

The bustling aorta of the Silverado Trail, and its bicycle path, flows north where numerous winery or dining choices, spas, and golfing are within minutes of The Highland House home base. The Oxbow Preserve, a new park developed along the Napa River, is a few yards south east of The Highland House's front steps. You will also be a short walk away from the redeveloped & revitalized downtown of Napa, our Napa River Trail and its waterfront, the famous Napa Valley Wine Train, the Oxbow Market tasting rooms and restaurants, and downtown activities such as Chef's Market, Farmer's Market, and the Wine & Crafts Fair, the Napa Valley Film Festival and various Music Festival events (BOTTLE ROCK FAN?) to name a few.

If you are a Food Network Fan, then you must be excited to know that the forum for great chefs in Napa is ever expanding. Morimoto's is open. With Michael Chiarello's Bottega earning points in Yountville, the choices continue to grow for 'foodies'. Can you imagine? We can also boast of many talented graduates from the Culinary Institute in St Helena contributing to the dining pleasure of valley guests.

With an average hotel room in the United States at 325 square feet, and the base cost for a room in the Napa Valley exceeding $225/night, the comparable space and price for The Highland House is a great option for a visit. In addition to having the common spaces to visit with family or friends, the full kitchen saves the traveler to splurge on our specialty restaurants and wineries, as preparing breakfast, lunch, picnics or happy hour snacks is convenient. Imagine that staying a week during harvest for a party of four at The Highland House amounts to rent at $50.00/night per person!

The city and county of Napa works to identify and close

illegal vacation rentals. Therefore, if you choose to book a vacation rental in Napa, please ask for a permit number and, if in doubt, check the permit number with the city of Napa Business Department. This will ensure that your reservation will be honored and available when you arrive.

Be our guest at this Belle Abode in the Napa Valley! Concierge services are available.[VR09-0006, License #27741]

Keywords: Charming 1940's cottage style home located on the Silverado Trail, near Oxbow, downtown Napa, all attractions, Permit #06

More Details
Hide Details

It was a misty February when our family moved to the Napa Valley in 1982. Transplants to Southern California from New Jersey, we longed to have a small rural community to raise our children. What a paradise we found in Napa! Incredible generosity and charity is a signature of wine country, complimenting the breathtaking beauty of the distinct landscape. Making new friends through volunteer work, enjoying the natural surroundings, and making the most of proximity to cultural activities fueled our desire to invite others to our 'home'.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

The location of The Highland House is one which appealed to the prospect of giving our guests the convenience of being close to all the Napa downtown riverfront revival and activities generated by the Oxbow District. In addition, being on the Silverado Trail makes our location ideal for guests who want to take in some of the boutique wineries accessible within minutes and the luxury of a leisurely drive to some of the up-valley locations that have world reknown. The Highland House anchors a corner of a quiet neighborhood to the thorough-fare of tourism.

Not only is there the wonderful opportunity to enjoy fine wines and dining in Napa, but the arts, antiquing, and outdoor options are abundant. Hiking, cycling or rollerblading along the Napa River Trail is great fun. Hiking Skyline, Alston, Westwood Hills, or Robert Lewis Stevenson Park is a great way to start(or spend) a day. Making a trip to Napa exclusively to participate in a Marathon, a winery's fundraising event, other charitable events or planning to attend a performance at the Opera House, the Lincoln Theater in Yountville, or a small venue is always a memorable occasion.Historical tours, Castello d'Amoroso, Napa Valley Museum, Sharpsteen Museum, the Bale Mill, and outlet shopping also have their allure.

37 Reviews of Property 190935 in Napa, California

A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
average rating of 4.84375 based on 37 reviews
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
5

Wine country get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The Highland House has everything you need for a trip to wine country!
The place is comfortable, clean and has everything you need for a get-away. It is a short distance to downtown and a quick drive to Napa Valley! VERY convenient!
We would highly recommend the house to our friends and would consider staying there again if we ever return.
Thank you, Roseanne, for opening your house to us!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mark and Aleta! We would love to host your return visit to the Napa Valley. There is always something special going on with wine, food, the arts, and special events year-round. We also appreciate your referral to family and friends. Happy Thanksgiving!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
Bakersfield, CA
5

Great stay at The Highland House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Stayed at the Highland House for a weekend of wine-tasting. Having never been to Napa I was unsure of the surroundings. However, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Such a nice location within walking distance to downtown Napa and Ox-Bow Marketplace. Highland House was very nice, modern conveniences, very clean, and made us feel right at home. The roof-top deck was great and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather to enjoy it. The house is on the Silverado Trail so somewhat noisy for the front bedroom, but the proximity to downtown outweighs that small negative (maybe some ear plugs). Roseanne was great to work with and overall we loved our stay at the Highland House and would definitely recommend to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, Taren. With the winter season, The Highland House is definitely convenient for those looking to enjoy the Oxbow Market indoor offerings, the world class entertainment at Silos, the Uptown Theater, and the Napa Opera House. The Oxbow Preserve, a riverside city park across the trail from our house, provides a nice venue for bird watchers. January is restaurant month in the valley, too! A great time to visit.We hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
4

Too close to the main road.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This house is very clean and cozy but our biggest complaint is the traffic noise. The house is on the corner of a busy street and cars and trucks are constantly driving by. I thought it might quiet down at night but it didn't. Our friends stayed in the bedroom by the street and they said it felt like they were sleeping on the sidewalk. If you turn on the window-mount AC in your room it does drown out the noise somewhat. It's about a 20 minute drive to the wineries up north.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
Wauwatosa, WI
4

Harvest in Napa

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Perfect location for access to Napa and the valley. The four of us had an excellent stay at the Highland House. Able to run scenic routes around Napa, easy access to dining and shopping. We even found picnic supplies, were able to do laundry and kitchen was perfect for breakfast before heading to wine country tours.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive comments, Nick! The local Open Studios tours, an annually anticipated event, was just one of innumerable activities in the Napa Valley during your stay. We hope you all enjoyed Bottega in Yountville. May your plans include another trip to Napa soon, and we look forward to being your conveniently located home base. (Your fan awaits, Jason!)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
El Dorado Hills, California
5

Perfect location for a Napa getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We booked the home for a girls weekend away. We found the home very comfortable for four women. It was centrally located so that we could walk to Ox Bow Market and easily head out for wine tasting. The neighborhood was safe enough that we felt fine walking the neighborhood at night to stretch our legs.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Caryn and friends! The calendar of Riverfront or Downtown Napa events continues to blossom, complimenting events at the Opera House, the Uptown Theater, Silo's and other live music venues close to The Highland House. We are delighted that you had the chance to enjoy the short walk to the activities that created wonderful memories of your weekend together! Hope to see you again soon. Roseanne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
5

Exceeded expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I usually get a little nervous renting someone else's home, because I never know what to except. As soon as we arrived at the Highland house, I immediately felt at home! The house exceeded our expectations. It was so cute, clean, and comfortable. We all slept great at night! The roof top deck was my favorite feature. We drank coffee on the deck every morning. I have already started recommending this property to friends and family and I plan on returning myself.

The ONLY thing to consider is where you plan on spending most of your time. If most wineries you are visiting are in the north area of Napa Valley (Calistoga, St. Helena) then this house isn't super close, but the drive isn't a big deal. If you are making plans in Napa, then the location couldn't be better.
Owner's Response: Thank you, Julia, for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Highland House. We appreciate hearing about how features of The Highland House made our guests comfortable. It is also valuable to future prospective guests to know "the lay of the land" in our inviting valley. Our proximity to the very popular Oxbow District, the Wine Train, and the Riverfront is a relatively NEW destination, with numerous restaurants, tasting rooms, and entertainment/activity options. Many of our guests who venture to the great up-valley destinations choose to book a tour with a designated driver accommodating pick up and drop off at our door; many opt to select that for their arrival day, as an early tour can book for 10 am, and with a vehicle parked at The Highland House, the guests return "home" just after our check-in time. We look forward to hosting your referrals, and you, again, in the very near future. I always remind guests that January is Restaurant Month...a great way to start a diet! Thanks, again. Roseanne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
4

Lovely Mother Daughter Wine Tasting Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My mother and I rented the house for a 4 day trip to Napa wine country and loved staying at this charming house. I looked exactly as the pictures listed. It was very clean and comfy! The bathroom is better than the pictures portrayed. I don't think we could have asked for a better situation for our stay. The only reason I did not give this an excellent rating was because one of the bedroom windows is against a busy street, and if you like to leave the windows open for an open air breeze at night it can be very noisy. Nothing some earplugs couldn't fix. Or you could shut the windows and use the fan or air conditioner, depending on your preferences.
I would definitely stay here again.
Thank you for your well kept home Roseanne!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Evelyn and Debbie. The Highland House has the benefit of being centrally located within the Alta Heights neighborhood's corridor, providing quick and easy access to the Riverfront, the Oxbow, west end destinations, and the routes leading north and south for wineries, spas, restaurants, golf, trails, and valley events and entertainment. With that convenience comes the bustle of those enjoying valley life along with our house guests. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to your next visit. We are so pleased to provide an intimate cottage setting where family and friends can reconnect, celebrate, and relax while in Napa's incomparable wine country.
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
San Francisco
5

Cozy & Convenient

Cozy & Convenient
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay at The Highland House with two friends during the Bottle Rock festival, and we had quite possibly the BEST accommodations within walking distance of the Napa Expo. The Highland House was extremely convenient to the Napa Expo, the Oxbow Public Market area, and downtown Napa. Our car sat in the driveway the entire time, because we were able to easily walk everywhere we needed to go from here.

After a long day of enjoying music in the sun, we were happy to walk back to the comfort of a cozy home to relax in. We didn't have to spend the entire weekend eating out (even though there are a lot of delicious spots close by), because we were able to cook up some breakfast and enjoy the deck. The kitchen was equipped with dishes and all of the necessities, and the washer/dryer came in handy after some spills/dirt mishaps at the festival. The check-in/check-out process was easy and the owners were extremely helpful (and easy to reach) with any questions we had.

I would gladly stay here again and recommend this place to any of my friends!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Melissa and Mark! WoW! BottleRock Napa set a high bar for concert loving, food loving, wine appreciating fans! Isn't Napa the best place to R&R with Rock and Roll? We are glad that you had the benefit of enjoying The Highland House's convenient location and amenities as a respite from the expo. Not only does the valley lure wine lovers for harvest, but the culinary fingerprints of fine dining and chef schools draw people to our locale as well. Craft fairs, street fairs, fund-raising events(upcoming Wine Auction, for example), and the recently established Napa Film Festival are among the many activities that define our desirable destination-something for everyone, and year-round choices. How wonderful to add to the concert event schedule the BottleRock itinerary.Hope to see you next year! tickets are on sale now...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
Tucson, AZ/USA
5

A Wonderful Place to Stay in the Napa Valley!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
In March 2013 my husband and I had a wonderful relaxing two weeks at the Highland House in Napa. Upon our arrival there was a detailed "Welcome" packet that allowed us to know exactly what to expect, what was available on the property and of the many activities available in the beautiful Napa Valley. The house is immaculate, exquisitely furnished, well-stocked and well-maintained.
The kitchen is full of everything you would ever need; there are games to play and a high selection of DVD movies to watch. The owners were readily available and helped with any questions we had. We would highly recommend the Highland House to anyone who'd love to treat themselves to an enjoyable experience in the Napa Valley. We tried it and loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Tom & Lucy, for your thoughtful, positive comments. We like to make future guests aware that our quaint cottage,The Highland House, is uniquely situated to afford the opportunity to step across the street to The Silverado Cooking School for a private class. Our proximity to the Oxbow Preserve nature area, the Oxbow Market & tasting rooms, and the downtown riverfront make it possible to enjoy a variety of activities whether during peak season or during the times of year when the vines are "sleeping". We hope to see you again, very soon! Roseanne
business
A COZY HOME BASE FOR HARVEST SEASON-BOOK NOW!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190935vb
(707) 337-8466 (California, USA)
Napa Napa Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

BIRTHDAY IN WINE COUNTRY

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you for the great opportunity to stay in your lovely home. We had a wonderful time in Napa.
Helpful votes: 2/2