Dark and Uncomfortable House
Though this house has a nice location, it was very uncomfortable for our stay. The house is extremely dark, making it nearly impossible to read in the evenings. Due to the staircases, falls are also possible. In addition, every bed in the house is shot. After a long hike in the mountains, one craves a good night's sleep, though this is difficult on old, damaged beds, all of which need to be replaced. In addition, the house has a mold and a mouse problem. There is a very unpleasant odor.
With a bit of maintenance, the owners might make this a more comfortable property.
The owners require renters to drive garage to the dump; the drive is at least twenty minutes away.
Owner's Response: The last negative reviewers of the house are those who left the house trashed and damaged. It is hard not to believe that this review is not petty revenge for the fact that we very strongly objected and and charged them for the extra cleaning costs and the damages. The review says more about them than it does about the house The contract requires them to leave the house in the condition they found it. With the garbage, everybody in the area takes their garbage to the dump. This is the country. Nobody has ever objected to that before. It is one of the conditions for renting the house. If they don't want to take out the garbage, they shouldn't rent the house. It is an old house. We keep it not to rent it, but because it is very dear to our family, and for this reason, we keep it as we remember it, and much of the furniture is old. Many people think that, with the barn, meadow, and Chororua mountain in the background, it has the loveliest view in the area. The vast majority of our renters find the house and the property very charming. The property itself has real historical significance. Abraham Lincoln's son stayed there many times. In the country mice are not uncommon. All houses in the area have the problem and we battle to deal with it. Bears have been seen very close to the house. What would they do in that case? It is hard to believe that somebody who in the country is bothered by mice can get very far up any mountain. This is not at all an expensive summer rental property. This in not a Holiday Inn, which for a week would cost substantially more and wouldn't remotely have the equivalent view. The telltale is that the reviewers, while identifying the property, remained anonymous themselves, so as to avoid taking personal responsibility, behavior we find consistent with their treatment of the house.
Helpful votes: 4/4
Did you find this review helpful?