Stinson Beach house rental - View to the front porch in November.
View to the front porch in November.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
 

Stinson Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

Your beautiful retreat is hidden from view by a rose covered fence. The most difficult decision is where to relax first - inside the comfy and cozy house or outdoors. Each side of the Cape Cod style house offers a unique outdoor experience. The back deck gets wonderful, warm sun during the day. Two lifeguard chairs offer a view of the waves. A nice large hot tub is perfect for relaxing after a long hike, ride or surf, or for stargazing at night. The outdoor fire pit is around the corner and looks out on a small lawn surrounded by bushes and trees. The front porch has an Adirondack loveseat for enjoying the evening light on Mt. Tamalpais.

The porch door opens into the living room. The open living room, kitchen and dining area has many large windows with deck, garden, mountain and partial ocean views. The large brick fireplace is the cornerstone of the living room. The comfy, big couch is great for lounging or sleeping if needed. The kitchen area is small but well equipped with a convection oven and two dishwashers. An electric teapot, coffee grinder and a choice of French Press or drip cones are provided to make sure you can start your morning with a wonderful cup of coffee. Dine inside on comfy Maine Cottage chairs, or outside on the deck.

Sleep is heavenly in the European Sleep Works king bed. The bedroom is at the far end of the house and the sounds of the waves are the only sounds you hear. Wake to a view of the flowers and hummingbirds through the glass doors and bedroom window. Furniture in the bedroom includes a rocking chair, a table with desk lamp (which is perfect for computer work or writing), two nightstands, a dresser and a large closet for your use.

The bedroom is separated from the living area by a bonus room that features a sleeping nest perfect for a child or friend. The sleeping area has its own ceiling lights for reading, and can be closed off by a curtain for privacy. The room has two closets; one contains the washer and dryer.

The bath is small but tidy. The shower has good pressure and lots of hot water.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I met at UC Berkeley many years ago. After a stint in New York, we were able to move back to San Francisco. We have a teenage son at home and another in college. We have always loved west Marin for its scenic beauty, wildlife and incredible beaches. The Stinson house has moved me closer to many of my dreams. I just completed docent training at the Martin Griffin Preserve and now have the pleasure of introducing fourth graders to the wonder of the area. I look forward to the time when I can spend more of my days paddling the lagoon, hiking the trails and doing what I can to preserve this treasure. Until then, I hope to share this truly multifaceted rejuvenating home with others.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

We always dreamed of having a place in West Marin. I love Stinson because there is so much to do and see without having to get into a car. The town is friendly and meets all basic needs. Almost everyone of any age enjoys a day at the beach. Hiking trails are right outside the front door. And I fell in love with the house. It is bright and sunny, quiet and peaceful and the hot tub makes it better than a day at the spa. I also love Pt. Reyes Station, which has become the hub of the sustainable food movement, and which has interesting, unique shops. But it is just a beautiful 13-mile drive or bike away.

The benefits of a vacation at this home are many and varied. You can experience one or all of the four S’s – sun, surf, sleep and shall we say romance. I would also add sustenance for the spirit, opportunities for socializing and if desired, exercise and challenges for the physical self. The location of the home is wonderful, but it is also a good base for exploring the San Francisco Bay Area and wine country.

19 Reviews of Property 280664 in Stinson Beach, California

Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this cute little house. The house was very comfortable and felt like a beach house. We enjoyed the view from back deck, the hot tub and relaxing in the front room. The bed was very comfortable. Short walk down the hill to grocery store. We would definitely return to this house. Owner was very easy to work with
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Pacific NW
5

Light-filled beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I love houses that are filled with light and Cathy's beach house did not disappoint! Both the light and the comfortable furniture make this a dreamy, relaxing place to stay. We hiked every day and returned to make dinner in the great kitchen and then relax. We slept so well in the great bed, woke up refreshed, ready to hike again. Cathy was so easy to work with. I would recommend this house to friends and family and would stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
5

Quite lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Lovely detached cottage up the hill from the supermarket. Owner was prompt and very helpful. Hot tub excellent and everything worked. Bed linens and towels were old and polyester mixes and not attractive - very worn and I felt for what we were paying peak season they could be nicer. No curtains on some of the windows in the bedroom either. Patio door lock very week - felt the place could have easily been broken in to. Fox cubs playing on the deck early in the morning and humming birds in the tree were enchanting. Would stay here again. Ate at the Parkside restaurant a lot and drove to Hearts Desire Beach where it's safe to swim. The Zen centre has good massages and there's recommendations at the house for visiting masseuses. The 'den' is in between the bedroom and bathroom so you have to walk through it. Tiny bed in window recess with the curtain oddly on the other side of it so you have no curtains if you sleep in the bed. There's no blow up mattress. Having said all that it's a cute place and is right up the hill out of the Tsunami danger area.
Owner's Response: It is all true - but for one thing - all of our linens are 100% cotton except perhaps the mattress pads. Many of the towels and sheets are from Coyuchi Organic cottons in Pt Reyes Station. But point is well taken - I think it is time to purchase some new towels and sheets. You will not find fluffy towels there though, we have been on a quest for the perfect towel for many years - which for us is an absorbent, quickly drying towel. And I tried to accurately describe the bonus room and window bed in the description. The windows face south so the morning sun is a gentle sun. It's not for everyone but I enjoy opening my eyes to the flowers and deck. I have not been so lucky to see the baby foxes but you can usually count on hummingbirds. As for our locks, they do work and things can always change - but folks in Stinson feel very safe.

It's been a wonderful couple years since I began to rent the home. I truly try to make it a relaxing and comfortable retreat for me and for all of you. I appreciate all of you who have stayed and all who have taken the time to review the property online and send me comments. And I am ever grateful to the visionaries who fought to preserve West Marin and keep it such a special place so close to such a vibrant city.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
5

Perfect place to wind down

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was the perfect place for us to wind down. We enjoyed the quietness of not being right at the beach but aswell the short distance to the beach. Hiking up the hills or walking and running at the beach was our daily routine. Even though summer in northern California can be a Little on the cooler side, we loved to sit outside and listen to the waves of the ocean or to read in front of the fire place.
We certainly would love to come back to this wonderful and very romantic place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
San Francisco
5

Relaxed Writing in Stinson Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I don’t reach full relaxation easily. Learning to relax challenges me. It challenges a lot of writers, I hear. Yogis will tell you that learning to relax at will is the pinnacle of a lifetime practice. Lifetime!
So when The Wife and I really need to relax, we head for a private bathing experience that allows layers of relaxation over the course of several days. Unpack. Take a bath. Have a snack. Take a bath. Sit in the lifeguard chairs and watch the sea. Take a bath. Pour drinks. Take a bath. Make lunch. Take a bath. Eat lunch. Take a bath. Take a nap. Take a bath.
“I hope the weather is nice for us,” The Wife said a few days before we left for the Stinson Beach House.
“Doesn’t matter the weather,” I bragged. “We’ve got a hot tub and 2 fireplaces!” I got it right. The weather–foggy, gray, and chilly–did not temper our glee at being alone with no responsibilities in this little gem by the shore.
The owner possesses an enviable sense of interior design. The uncluttered little house offers so many comfortable lounging spots, each with its own breathtaking ocean or garden view. Pillows and luxurious linens abound in shades of seafoam green, like the walls. Artful and textured light switch plates illuminate the tactile experience of flipping on a light.
The place evokes calm: the crashing ocean waves in the distance, the pale walls, the king-size bed with its firm mattress, soft sheets, and abundance of blankets and pillows. It was such a well-dressed bed, I peeked around for labels. “Are these designer sheets? Is this quilt handmade?”
The landscaping strikes a balance between the formal–pruned pink climbing roses
and an umbrella-sculpted shade tree—and the wild—survivor succulents, a meandering creekbed path, and an abundant bush of lavender.
I found little treasure piles of beach glass, sea shells, and curious objects everywhere. The library is well edited and fascinating at once, so that when inspiration doesn’t gurgle up from the hot tub’s luxury or materialize in the sublime view, I can go looking for it on the bookshelves.
This house beckons writers to write with its just-so writing spots. I’m certain I did not utilize every single ideal writer’s nook available, but I did lounge and cuddle with a notepad or laptop and create, make-believe, and dream in at least a few choice positions:
- curled up on a comfy denim couch by the fire
-perched up on a lifeguard’s lookout chair with a view of the beach
-stretched out in the sunny window seat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
United States
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The house was amazing. The grounds are beautiful- we enjoyed seeing all the plants and the birds that would visit. It feels so private and the sunshine in the morning was lovely. Everything we needed was there and thoughtfully provided plus more! We had beautiful weather. We would hike all day (redwoods and point reyes) then come back, light a bonfire and hang out in the hot tub under the stars - then wake up the next day and do it all again. And the roads! Just driving felt like an adventure. The last night we got to watch the sunset from Stinson Beach then eat at one of the places in town. The town is so cute with that perfect market right there with whatever we needed. We felt like we were on a different planet. It was easily one of the best vacations in our lives and I hope we can do it again someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Sacramento
5

Peaceful Stinson Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I just returned from spending 6 days at this charming and comfortable home. The location is excellent, a short walk down the hill to town and the beach. There are lots of windows that flood the house with light, yet it still feels very private. The deck off the back of the house and the lovely garden are like outdoor living rooms. I liked to sit in the tall life guard chair on the deck and look at the ocean and listen to the waves. The house is tastefully furnished in a casual and comfortable seaside cottage style. It's also well stocked with quality appliances and dishes.

We enjoyed hot tubbing every night and even had a few clear nights where we could sit in the tub with the lights out in the house and look at the stars. As other reviewers mentioned, the market in town is stocked with just about everything you might need. We went to the market just about every day to get fresh bread baked at Brick Maiden Breads in Pt. Reyes.

This is my first experience using VRBO and I was not disappointed. The photos accurately represent the home and the property is very well maintained. The owner and I communicated easily via email I used PayPal without any glitches.

I loved how quiet and peaceful the house is. I truly felt like it was one of the most relaxing vacations I've ever had. Stinson Beach is a great place to decompress and enjoy a slower pace of life.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
San Anselmo
5

A perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My cousin and I get together each year for a girl's getaway. This year we chose Stinson Beach for the hiking on Mount Tam. The house was perfect for us. We hiked on Mount Tam every day, returning to sit on the wonderful deck in our bathing suits (in early March!), hopping into the hot tub when the sun began to set. After dinner in town, we'd settle in the cozy living room with our books and a fire in the fireplace. It couldn't have been more perfect. Everything we needed was in the house, which is clearly well cared for and loved!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
San Francisco, CA
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I recently stayed here for a weekend of down time. The house is great--very relaxing and nicely decorated, and the pictures are very accurate. I loved the location--perfect for a morning walk to the beach and then to the market for the newspaper. Hottubbing under the stars was a wonderful end to each day. I highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Stinson Beach - Hot Tub, Fireplace, Garden and Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280664vbi
(415) 987-3811 (California, USA)
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Mill Valley
5

Great local getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I live right over Mt. Tam in Mill Valley and rented this house for a few days over my birthday to have a nice private getaway. It's always a risk booking a house you've never seen, but I could not have been more happy with this place. It is such a cute house — not too small, not too big; beautiful lush and comfortable yard; clean hot tub that was serviced, warm and bubble when I arrived; everything you'd ever need in the kitchen; and so cozy and comfy. I walked into town for breakfast and dinner at The Parkside ( a Stinson Beach treasure) every day. The beach is also walking distance, as is the general store and downtown Stinson. I will definitely stay here again. Oh, the bed — the most comfortable!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1