Bridgetown apartment rental - A typical evening sunset
A typical evening sunset
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bridgetown Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

#9 Freshwater sits adjacent to the parking facilities and is a 15 minute walk to Kensington Oval (5 min drive), the home of cricket in Barbados; 30 minute walk to Broad Street, Bridgetown (7 min drive); 20 minute walk to University of the West Indies Cave Hill (4-5 minute drive). It really is an excellent hideaway for the whole family and the owners often enjoy long weekends in the apartment when it is vacant. Occupants are at liberty to go to the supermarket of their choice to satisfy their individual requirements and the apartment contains everything that you would find in your own home - and if you don't find it, just ask - no reasonable request will be denied. Also, free, high speed, wireless internet available now!

Outside

Gardens and beach: there is access to lovely gardens which borders one of the famous West Coast beaches and calm waters. Late in the afternoon, you can relax in the garden and watch the sunset. There is a clear view of the Bridgetown Harbour and you may even witness the large cruise ships as they enter and exit the port. There is also access to a gazebo within the property. See above for further details.

Coast/Beach

Barbados is 166 sq miles. The Freshwater property sits on a beach, but a change of scenery is as close as a 5 minute walk, or a 35 minute drive over to the other side of the island.

Special interest holidays

From high performance World Rally Cars to a tram ride through the extensive Harrison's Cave, to name two out of hundreds of activities on the island, there is truly never a dull moment in Barbados... unless you choose to relax and enjoy the Caribbean.

Travel

If you are arriving by plane, Grantley Adams International Airport will be your first experience and truly, as a person that travels regularly as part of my job, in my opinion it is one of the best run in the world. A 30 minute drive will have you at Freshwater. Arriving by cruise ship, you will enter the Bridgetown Harbour where you can see the property as you dock. A taxi ride will have you on our beach within 5 minutes.

Keywords: Whitesand beach, Bridgetown, West Coast of Barbados, Platinum Coast, Spring Garden Highway, Kadooment, Kensington Oval.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Chris Maloney and my family (wife and 2 kids aged 10 & 7) love spending long weekends at this apartment. It's literally 65 steps to the white sandy beach and the beach runs south for about 1 1/2 miles and North about another mile. We really do have a great time in the water during the day, then watching the sunset over a rum or 8, and then, sometimes we strike up the BBQ and have a great meal outside under the gazebo. I would love for you to experience my island home!

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2006

It is very difficult to find reasonably priced property on the west coast of Barbados - particularly directly on the beach!! This is a cozy 2 bedroom apartment that we could manage and I pass my pricing onto my guests. It really is an affordable place to stay and you enjoy the beach, gardens and the priceless sunsets every day.

One of the greatest benefits is that, after a morning spent in the sea, the kids are exhausted and normally drift off to sleep in the early afternoon, leaving my wife and I with much needed quality time. Outside of that, I find the gardens and loungers very relaxing.

9 Reviews of Property 280546 in Bridgetown, Barbados

Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Canada
4

"bajan" oasis

"bajan" oasis
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I visited this property for 2 weeks in August, and it was a perfect little spot. The bedrooms are spacious and air conditioned which was a blessing considering how hot the island is, and the kitchen was very well equipped. However, what took my breath away was the gardens which are well maintain and because of the trees it is very cool, and a step away from the beautiful beach. I visited the Bush Bar for Karaoke and had some excellent fried pork, it was great fun. Overall I had an excellent time, everyone was helpful, and I definitely got some much needed rest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Mansfield, UK
5

Charles, Mansfield, UK

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a great way to spend some time away from home! After doing some research of other properties on the West Coast of Barbados, we were thrilled to find this little gem tucked away on the South end of the coast. We were a bit put off by the power plant when we arrived but like vrbo said, once we got inside the complex, settled in and went into the gardens and saw the beach, it was truly a little oasis.
Its not the most posh place on the west coast of the island, but the beach, the people and the price will definately bring us come back. Keep the Banks cold!
Charles and Joyce!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
knoxville, tn usa
1

Do your homework

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I would tell anyone looking at this unit to make sure they do their home work. I would ask many questions. My wife and I were ready to go home when we walked in this apartment. We felt unsafe. We booked the unit for 10 nights and only stayed 1 night there. That was 1 too many.
Owner's Response: It is very unfortunate that Tomas had a bad experience with my apartment. I was honestly completely taken aback when I received the phone call (my manager met him onsite) and I could tell that he was disappointed and that his expectations were not met. What Tomas does not mention in his review is that he was completely refunded for all but 3 nights (as per my rental policy which is listed) and that he stayed in another apartment in the same complex so his safety comment is both strange and new to me.
My listing on VRBO is both truthful and, unlike any other site I've seen, tells not only the advantages about the property but also what you the guest should be aware of SO THAT their expectations are met. I have far too much respect for the other owners within the complex and far too much pride in my country to be labeled as untruthful or devious.
To future guests - please - do your homework, ask as many questions as you wish and for as many pictures as you wish. At the listed rate, double occupancy incl wireless internet, on the west coast of Barbados in Winter Season, you will not find better value, in an albeit cozy, but well equipped apartment.
Sincerely
Chris
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Toronto
5

Barbados July/August 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I recently stayed at freshwater about 3 and 1/2 months and had the best vacation ever. The apartment is located directly off the ocean where you are literally steps from the beachfront. There is a beautiful garden for relaxing while taking in some son and enjoying a BBQ with friends and family. You are close to restuarants, night life and all the awesome attractions that Barbados have. The location and conveince can't be beat and I would definitely recommend this spot to anyone.

Cheers,
Brandon Bassett
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Canada, Ontario, Toronto
5

Barbados trip 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
A beautiful place for a great get away, home away from home. Gorgeous beach just steps from your front door, with a beautiful private garden and gazebo where you can enjoy your meals, great barbecues or even cocktails with your awesome most friendly neighbors right by the sea. It is a short distance from all your grocery stores, banks, attractions and night life. Owners leave everything you would need in the apartment for you to feel right at home. I would recommend fresh water to anyone who would love to visit Barbados and have a fantastic time. I can not wait to return here next summer :) Thanks again for an amazing time!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

=)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I stayed at Freshwater #9 for just over a week in August, and never wanted to leave! The apartment has everything you need (kitchen, a/c, laundry just across the complex), and the owners were super helpful. The apartment is literally a 60 second walk away from the beach. It has a shared garden and bbq which is perfect for dinner, hanging out or watching the beautiful sunsets. It is a short drive away from attractions/bank/grocery store. The pictures definitely don't do it justice...the beach is absolutely stunning. I highly recommend Freshwater to anyone and can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Barbados
5

A sweet weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
A wonderful place for a quiet get away that doesn't break the piggy bank. This little place was clean and cosy as ever. The owners have left nothing out of the kitchen as we cooked breakfast and dinner there and all the necessary equipment was there...Some we didn't even touch! The garden area is sweet by the seaside, sweeter for sundown. Since we were late in the Friday, the owners were kind enough to let us leave the Monday morning.No complaints! A good birthday retreat!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
Ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Pictures definitely don't do it justice. Literally a
slice of paradise. Gorgeous beach off of your
own private patio area with bbq's. In room A/C
with very comfortable living quarters. Short
driving distance to all attractions including
national park, caves, and east coast of island.

I would give my stay a 10 out of 10 and highly
recommend for all purposes, family or non. And
the owners are very helpful.
Owner's Response: Thank you Gordy. The private patio area that Gordon refers to is actual the private gardens of the property which are obviously shared. It is just a few steps from my apartment.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beachside, Fully Equipped, Comfortable Downstairs Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280546vbi
+246 233-3395
Bridgetown St. Michael
toronto, ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I stayed at #9 Freshwater for about a week at the beginning of January, and it is truly a delightful apartment. The pictures almost do it justice, but don't show how fully stocked the place is (with everything you could need for a short stay), nor do they fully depict the amazing beach just steps from the front door.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great beach, friendly neighbours, and proximity to the nightlife in St. James and Bridgetown.
Helpful votes: 6/7