Holualoa house rental - West-facing 180 view lanai with lap pool, teak dining set, BBQ
West-facing 180 view lanai with lap pool, teak dining set, BBQ
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Holualoa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 adults)

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is located on the historic Mamalahoa Highway in the Kona Coffee Belt area.

The half-acre coffee orchard of four hundred trees surrounds two beautiful custom designed and built homes; the farm house and a cottage.

The farm is 1200 feet above sea-level on the slopes of Hualalai Volcano (dormant) with breath-taking views of Kona and the vast Pacific Ocean. The farm house has a spacious covered lanai and sliding glass doors that open completely onto the lanai with unobstructed 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean. A 4 foot deep lap pool adjoins the lanai.

The property is terraced with lava rock, landscaped with a variety of tropical plants and very private.

The homes were designed by renown Seattle architect, Chris Snell. He built the homes for his wife and daughter. The architecture mimics traditional Hawaiian hale (homes) and Japanese farm houses.

The building materials are unique to the Kona-area. He incorporated lava rock walls, hand milled Ohia trees for framing and paneling. The homes are constructed by the best carpenters and craftsmen on island.

The farm house is built of hand milled Ohia wood. The slider doors are teak. The kitchen cabinets are bamboo with black granite counters. The roof is galvanized metal and exposed on the interior of the home. The roof replicates the corrugated tin roofs seen on old coffee shacks. The home is exquisite in every detail. The bed room looks over the lap pool into the coffee orchard.

This a working farm and during coffee harvest from September to December, you can watch coffee picking and processing on the farm.

Snell Kona Coffee Farm is only a ten minute drive down the mountain to Kona Town for shopping, and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm.

The town is an artist-community and home to numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is a historic road, the High Road, and runs through the heart of Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

I enjoy farming Kona Coffee, swimming in the ocean and learning about 'old Hawaii.'

The Owner purchased this house in 1998

The farm is a 15 minute drive down the mountain to Kailua-Kona for shopping and beautiful white sand beaches for swimming and snorkeling. Holualoa is a quaint town located 3 miles south of the farm. It is an artists' community and features numerous art galleries. Mamalahoa Highway is an historice road and runs through the heart of the Kona Coffee Belt with many fascinating towns, galleries, farms and historical sites.

The farm house is surrounded by coffee trees, palm trees, avocado and other fruit trees for privacy. The quiet beauty of the surrounding jungle, the tropical song birds and the verdant coffee orchard imbue health and serenity.

18 Reviews of Property 280051 in Holualoa, Hawaii

Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Perfect month on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I spent four weeks in this beautiful spot. We loved the abundance of papaya, avocado, tangerines and lemons growing on the property as well as the nice neighbors who were very generous and also gave us grapefruit etc. The location is convenient to so many activities. Shopping at the local markets was fun and made it easy for us to prepare many of our own meals. The beautiful setting and view provided glorious views and sunsets. Mornings and evenings can be chilly because of the open-air design of the house, but there were plenty of blankets available to ward off the chill. It was a'perfect four-week getaway from our Ohio winter. we would go back and do it again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha,
I love the tropical fruits and avocados too.
In December, my neighbor's star fruit tree
Fruited and we enjoyed pounds of it! Next month the lillikoi or passion fruit comes in. Mahalo for your kind review and come back soon.
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Austin, Texas
5

Dream Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had the best week staying in this rental. It was so amazing that it was hard to tear ourselves away some mornings! The other renters comments on the home are spot on so I thought I'd leave a couple of tidbits for upcoming rentals based on questions I had prior to our arrival.
The kitchen is fully equipped- has everything you would need from cooking gear to salt/pepper/spices. We used the blender a lot for fruity drinks by the pool. They also provide laundry and dish detergent/soap/trash bags, toilet paper etc. (Other rentals I've been in didn't so I was curious and had written to Motter before hand!)
There is fresh fruit on the farm (I'm assuming dependent upon time of year) but we ate our fill of fresh oranges and starfruit from the property and avocado from the neighbors stand.
This is a working farm and the little man that prunes/works the trees is lovely. He brought us a bag of fresh fruit one evening when he heard us pondering whether a tree had flowers or fruit on it.
There are beach towels, yoga mats, a small cooler for picnics, and snorkel gear.
You're 10-15 minutes from downtown Kona and the closest grocery store although there's a fruit stand practically next door and a small "general store" down the street.
I did not know this but when ripe, coffee "cherries" are red. So cool. The property is lined with coffee trees and it's really lovely.
Prepare yourself for a great and comfortable week of open air living. This home was a dream come true.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
San Jose, CA
5

jedj

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful Christmas vacation at the Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House. The house is absolutely stunning. Every detail was very well thought out. We loved the way the entire back of the house opened up to make the living and outdoor area as one. Fabulous view of the ocean. Quiet neighborhood...except for the roosters. (Don't forget to pack earplugs) We would definitely stay here again. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
2

Great house, but...

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
On the positive side: This house is beautifully crafted to the very last detail. The workmanship is truly spectacular. The views are amazing and you almost feel like you are outside, even when indoors, given the vast openness of the floor plans and slideable doors. The property feels isolated but is located conveniently near Kona. It had plenty of supplies (but the owner left her own things in various drawers and closets which was a bit unusual to see as a renter).

On the negative side: While beautiful, the slidable doors are very sensitive and even when gently used do not always or easily close properly. The owner charged me $28 to send someone out and get a door back on its track and did not tell me ahead of time that there would be a charge. Additionally, I felt that it was not fair for me to pay to fix for something that was faulty in the first place. There are many special and evidently easily breakable features of this house (like the TV that slides up from within a cabinet - cross your fingers that it doesn't break) but I would never stay on the properly again for fear that the owner would keep my deposit.

Also, there is no dark spaces anywhere at any time and no blinds or any means to create a dark space. So if the sun is up, plan to be up (the roosters help a lot with this).

The bed (as well as the futon, which is somewhat expected) are very hard. I like a firm mattress but this was a bit much. Either the bed or futon mattress should be replaced with a softer option to give the renter a choice.

Finally, one of the (male) neighbors is quite noisy and was always walking near the driveway. Very creepy to say the least. He was also very rude when spoken to.

So, overall, while the property is beautiful, renter beware. The negatives could be overcome, but my interactions with the owner based on the issue of the door were not positive to say the least. Because of this alone and I can not recommend this property.
Owner's Response: Dear Visitor,

Please accept my apology for any discomfort I caused. Of course I will refund the $28.

The TV very simple to operate. Just read the instructions. None of the other guests have expressed concerns about operating the TV.

The mattress in the bedroom is new. I have never had any negative reviews. Some have commented on how comfortable it is.

I bought the property from my mauka neighbor. He lives alone and is very quiet. I have never had any complaints about him or from him.

I hope other renters will not be deterred from renting my beautiful and serene home. I have a great track record of returning damage deposits.

Aloha
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Oregon
5

Most Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We've rented many VRBO houses and this is hands-down the most beautiful place we've ever stayed at. It is more than a house, it is a home and a piece of art. We were in awe the entire time as we relaxed and felt the breeze blow throughout the house. The location was serene, although it is just a short drive to restaurants and nice beaches. Beach chairs and water toys were provided. Comfortable bed, lovely artwork, and an amazing view. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We hope to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

Kona Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at Mo Snell’s cottage the week of August 26th 2013. We will definitely stay there again!
Mo answered our emails promptly; she was easy to talk to and is so nice. We had the opportunity to meet Mo which was really great. There is a smaller cottage on the property and she was there for a couple of days before we left so we got to chat one morning and she told us about some fun things to do around the island. She keeps the house extremely clean which was a big deal for me! There was nothing I found that could have been kept cleaner, or in better shape which made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Obviously, you have to do your part to make sure ALL food is packed away in the fridge & cabinets if you are not using it. The kitchen had everything we needed, there are a lot of towels, the bedding was very nice and the bed is extremely comfortable. Other than being clean and well kept, this house is BEAUTIFUL. We couldn’t stop taking pictures of it! Having the kitchen open up to the lanai was so awesome, watching the sunset from every room in the house was also awesome. The sunsets are absolutely breathtaking. From the lanai, to your left is pretty much all rainforest, and to the right is a spectacular view of Kona. The house is just perfect. We enjoyed our privacy very much; we enjoyed the sounds of all the little critters and birds in the trees, and the cute gecko’s! I have read some reviews that say the roosters are annoying…they were the cutest things! We loved hearing them; they weren’t too loud at all. Be careful driving up the road, there was always a chicken with her babies cruising around the property. The kitchen is so beautiful and so spacious and organized and was so much fun to cook in! The décor and the details in the house are stunning and unique (one whole wall is lava rock!) Anyways, it was easy to rest and it really felt like we were far away from everything and just alone (which after planning a wedding is exactly what we needed) Only 10 minutes down the road from your complete solitude, is the “hussle and bussle” of Kona. Kona is the place you want to stay on Big Island. Yes, you have to drive everywhere but nothing is too far away. There is always something new to see and experience on this island. The people are incredibly nice, & welcoming. We cannot wait to come back to Kona and hopefully stay in this house again. We are absolutely in love with Kona, Big Island, and Mo’s home! -Kurt and Chantel
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Calistoga, CA
5

Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House

Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is an absolute dream of a house....you will feel like a movie star! It is more stunning than the photos can show you. We loved the way the two opposite walls in the living room open up to allow the fresh breezes to come through. Everything about it was wonderful. I also enjoyed the shower (with a view!) and the large, tiled bathtub. The bed was very, very comfortable. Regarding the wild roosters that begin their noise early in the morning.....the owner is in the process of having them trapped, so it probably won't be much of a problem in the future. Just in case, take ear plugs. I didn't need them, but my sweetheart did. We were both very happy with this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha,
I am happy you enjoyed my little farm in paradise! We required only the finest materials for our home construction. Chris specified that the materials were local. Hence the lava rock walls, hand milled ohia beams, purlins, and paneling. The sliding teak doors made in Oregon and flown to the Big Island. Thank you for noticing!
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
-
4

Architectural Digest Living Experience!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This place is even more beautiful than what you see in the photos. My husband and I were so in love with the architecture and the view, that we found ourselves being content with just hanging out. This is really a one-of-kind place. I highly recommend it for someone who wants to get away from the crowds and yet just be 15-20 minutes away from the Kailua-Kona action.

The reason for not giving it a full five stars:
- I did have trouble getting a good nights sleep as the pillows on the bed really needed to be replaced. That, combined with the wild roosters which cock a doodle too too often. Obviously the owner can't do anything about the wild roaming animals (of which there are many all over the island), but please, replace the pillows.

- Lack of basic supplies. I certainly don't expect shampoo/conditioner, but please do supply enough toilet paper, garbage bags, dishwasher detergent, soap so that tenants can keep the place clean during their stay. I too am an owner of a vacation rental property on an island and always keep such basics well supplied. I don't expect my tenants who are just staying a few days, to have to buy a whole box of detergent; I make it as easy as possible for them to keep my place clean.

- Unfortunately the next-door-neighbor's yard is quite a mess and really detracts from the experience as you drive in and out.

- An absolute pain is having to roll out the fence as you leave in the evening or come back in - there isn't sufficient outdoor lighting to do this, so you're kind of stumbling around in the dark.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Kona Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This place was awesome, it is better than the pictures show. There was great attention to detail in building it. There are screens around the top of the building which kept it cool and it was nice being able to hear the birds. The one thing that I didn't expect was the cottage being close to the house, it was not a problem at all and I enjoyed talking with the people staying there but just something to be aware of.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Kona Coffee Farm House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280051vbi
808-238-5223
Holualoa Kona Coast
New York, NY
5

beautiful deck for relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house was beautiful- more so than in photos, but it's better that way to have the nice surprise! The pool was a little too brisk (perhaps warm enough in summer?) for use but was great for birdwatching (like a giant birdbath and fun to watch them all early in the morning). Kitchen was nice and big, i think the bathroom had the best view! sunsets were great (of course). has the owner thought of switching the bed with the closets? then the bed would also have a panoramic view (in addition to a great view of the birdbath/pool)! Enjoyed reading the owner's copy of Mark Twain's letters from Hawaii- read his account of running across the Kilauea caldera! It's hilarious! We enjoyed eating at Ultimate Burger, Original Thai. All the Kohala beaches (Hapuna, Mauna Kea, Beach 69, Kiholo Bay) were great and it was about a 1 hr drive to mauna kea visitor ctr. Holualoa village does not have much (the one grocery store appeared to have mostly processed foods) but it was easy enough to shop at the strip malls off the main highway. The farmer's market on Alii Dr wasn't as great as the one in volcano but we did get a lot of papayas there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi, Just a few words about Holualoa town (only 3 miles south of my farm), it has the best restaurant on the island called the Holuakoa Cafe. The food is organic and grown on the island. The chef is a master of blending tastes, textures and ingredients. Highly recommended. Expect to kick back and relax in the garden setting. Also, the town hosts numerous galleries owned by local artists. I take yoga class at the holistic center there. It's open to everyone. Best wishes, Mo
Helpful votes: 1/1