New Braunfels house rental - The Libelle Haus
The Libelle Haus
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

New Braunfels House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-8.

Convenient to all things New Braunfels, the fully furnished Libelle Haus, circa 1930 Craftsman-style Bungalow with high ceilings, transom windows, fireplace, large backyard & deck, was completely renovated in 2010 w modern comforts & conveniences. 1/2 block to park with playground equipment and basketball court and just a few blocks to our award winning Sat. Farmer's Market with live music. And, no more train horns!! YAY!

** Less than 1 mile to the crystal clear Comal River, Schlitterbahn (voted Worlds Best Water park 11 years in a row), Rockin'R tubes, Naeglin’s bakery (the oldest bakery in TX), other downtown Restaurants & Shops, historic Faust St. bridge over the Guadalupe River, & the Public Boat Ramp on Lake Dunlap.

** Drive 5 minutes to historic Gruene, Gruene Hall, Gristmill Restaurant & many other restaurants, Landa Park & Golf Course, spring-fed pool, and Wurstfest.

** Drive 20 minutes to the infamous San Marcos Outlet Malls or Natural Bridge Caverns.

** Still want more to do? Drive 35 min. to San Antonio or 50 min. to Austin - limitless activities!

WATERTHERULES.COM

History of The Libelle Haus: Thanks to notification from people on the New Braunfels Historic Commission in the fall of 2009, we rescued The Libelle Haus from demolition. Originally built in 1930, the Craftsman-style Bungalow had seen better days and was in need of major renovation. The new owner of the house felt that the land was worth more without the house on it, and therefore wanted to demolish the house. So, we contracted to move it down the street to its current site. On its new foundation, we embarked on a major renovation down to the studs inside and replaced all of the shingle-skirting outside. The general lay out of the house is the same. We enclosed the back porch and reconfigured the kitchen a little bit to accomodate the master bathroom, walk-in closet, and washer/dryer closet. We also tweaked the main bathroom to make a large closet in the 2nd bedroom. Original to the house are the wood floors, all of the shelving in the living and dining rooms, and the window seat area of the dining room.

Above the kitchen sink window hangs the flue cover we took off the old stove stack. Everything else is new: AC/heat, ductwork, insulation, plumbing, electrical, window glass, cabinets, fireplace, appliances, back deck, etc., etc. The name Libelle Haus, German for Dragonfly, evolved from the interior furnishings. While working on the interior design, we located replicas of historic Dragonfly Tiles (artist Nawal Motawi) that were popular during the Craftsman era. We ended up using the Dragonfly tiles on the fireplace surround. The 'Libelle' house theme evolved from there, and the rest, as they say, is history...We completed the renovation in April 2010. We LOVED bringing this house back to life and are very proud of it. We sincerely hope you enjoy it, too!

Need to sleep more people?: Combine with Owner's 2 other NB properties approximately 1 mile away.

HomeAway property #240655, sleeps 8-11. The charming Market Street House, circa 1908, is a completely renovated 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage with tall ceilings, transom windows, covered front and back porches, gas grill, yard with tall privacy fence, lots of off street parking and RV electrical hook up.

HomeAway property # 29...., sleeps 6. The 'retro' Cool on the Comal River Condo is completely renovated inside and out with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, fireplace and private 300’ Comal Riverfront park above The Tube Chute for the second longest toob ride on the Comal River.

Texas Tubes & Landa River Trips are located between The Market Street House and the Cool on the Comal River Condo.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 280038 in New Braunfels, Texas

1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
4

Charming home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house had so much more charm and design than other options in New Braunfels, and we were pleased with the home. The O'Toole's thoughtfully left homemade Christmas candy for us, which was a nice gesture, and they were prompt in refunding our deposit even during the holiday timing.

My only complaint was the train which passed by 3 times while we were there in the evening and morning (we were away during the day). I did try the sound machine, but it did not help me, at least. Fortunately, the train did not bother our kids while sleeping.
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

Great house and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the second time I've stayed in this house, with a group of friends, and we loved it just as much this time as we did the first time. The location is great for any activity you would want to do in the area. We floated the Comal and went into Gruene and this house was close to both. If you want a nice place for a getaway, this house is perfect!
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
Katy, TX
5

Everything you want & more at the Dragonfly House!

Everything you want & more at the Dragonfly House!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Dragonfly House. The pictures do not do this house justice. You will be totally amazed the minute you walk in the door. The decor, quality of upgrades and cleanliness by far exceeded our expectations. You can tell a tremendous amount of love and care has gone into making this house a home. Sharon and Kevin (the owners) knew we would be arriving in the evening, so they made sure all the outside lights were on for us....in addition to leaving us an arrival gift. You can not beat the location - it is conveniently located to everything in New Braunfels...easy access to the freeway and downtown area. The train tracks are near and you can hear the train, but this did not bother any of us. We will definitely be renting this awesome house again!
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

Fantastic House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family and I had a great time staying at the Libelle Haus in New Braunfels. The home is centrally located to all the major attractions and restaurants. The house is as described if not better! Everything you could possibly need is provided and this was a huge plus. The railroad tracks nearby did not bother my family at all and my children looked forward to it's daily passing. Please note that the trains no longer blow their horns! My family and I highly recommend this home and look forward to staying there again soon!
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
4

Fun times in the Dragonfly House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Libelle Haus, aka the Dragonfly house was perfect for the girls weekend/bachelorette party I hosted last weekend. There was more than enough room for everyone and all the accomodations we could need. Being pregnant and a light sleeper, the train did wake me up, as well as people walking through the house (wood floors). But, I did notice when we were leaving that there was a sound machine in the rooms... Wish I would have found that sooner :). But, other than that, we really enjoyed the back porch, the movie selection, and the location to everything. I look forward to staying there again with my family. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

Great Little House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house was perfect for us. We were using New Braunfels as a central point for day trips in the Hill Country and this was fantastic. The home is very nicely appointed, clean, with lots of amenities. Very nice quality furniture and decorations. Felt like staying in someones home as compared to "just a rental" - we loved it and will stay again, and recommend it to others. I was a little concerned about the proximity to the train tracks but it was not a problem. They dont blow the horn in town so all you have is the sound of the train slowly moving through town...but I dont think there is a house in New Braunfels that cant hear that (since there are a number of tracks in town).

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, and will come back. The owner was very easy to work with, was extremely responsive and helpful. We particularly liked the way the house had labels on lighting, instruction sheets for wifi, the tv/dvd, and everything else that may be unfamiliar.

This is a great home and a wonderful experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Above and beyond what we expected!! The charm of this cottage is unprecedented. Beautifully decorated and everything was pristine. The owners were wonderful and even left us a gift upon our arrival. We had a great time and it was close to all the main attractions. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
5

Good times in NB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time in New Braunfels and staying in the house on Comal street made the activities even easier. It is a hop skip and jump from the water parks and very close to everything else. Easy access to freeway and downtown area. The house itself is outstanding, extremely well restored and all the extras you need for a good stay. The railroad tracks extremely nearby are indeed a factor that you need to know about, trains do come by both day and night and they do blow their horns. First night it was a bit distracting, from then on we really didn't notice that much. If you are an extremely light sleeper that can't go back to sleep when awakened, this may not be the house for you. If you are a normal sleeper, you will love this place. We highly recommend and will go back again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
4

Comfortable Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A charming, comfortable and well-maintained home. The owners provided excellent customer service along with suggestions for restaurants, shopping and local services. Every day we walked to restaurants, the downtown area, the river and through neighborhoods; we were a half hour's drive to downtown San Antonio and close to Enchanted Rock and the Fredericksburg area. Between hiking, sightseeing and shopping there was plenty for us to do, perhaps most enjoyable were afternoons spent reading on the back deck or the front porch. Light sleepers might have a difficult time as the neighborhood can be noisy on weekends and the trains are a constant presence. We hardly noticed them after a week or so and as they pass through so quickly, were instantly forgotten. We arrived home to a half foot of new snow and are greatly missing the beautiful, warm TX weather.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930 Beauty in town,Near rivers,restaurants,convention center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p280038
+1 8306097454
New Braunfels Texas Hill Country
3

If you are a light sleeper..........

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The house is really very nice and very comfortable. The living room has a nice electric fireplace with comfortable leather seating. The kitchen is very nice with everything you need, The bathrooms are lovely and the bedrooms are very large and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are beautiful wood floors throughout. But, on the completely negative side ( no fault of the owners) the train comes by right at the back of the fence to the property. For the 3 days I got NO sleep.
On Saturday night from 2am -6am there had to be trains every 20 minutes. there were trains all nites but Saturday nite was terrible. They blow the whistle at least 3 times each rime the train passed. The bed vibrates from the train, It is SO loud, you'd swear you were on the train! I do not know how anyone in that entire area sleeps unless you work at night.
The location is close to everything but, the train noise is horrible!
Helpful votes: 6/6