Mendocino house rental - Dining with a View
Dining with a View
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Maximum)

UPDATE APRIL 1, 2014: We are now taking reservations up until June, 2014. (See reservation schedule below)

FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE, PLEASE READ OUR RESERVATION SCHEDULE AND COTTAGE DETAILS:

WE ONLY TAKE RESERVATIONS A FEW MONTHS IN ADVANCE. Here is our reservation schedule.

April 1, 2014: Taking reservations until June 30, 2014.

May 15, 2014: Taking reservations for July and August.

July 15, 2014: Taking reservations for September

August 15, 2014 Taking reservations for October, November and and December.

To SEE OUR VIDEO TOUR, click on the video tab above the photo. Please CLICK ON 'CALENDAR' above the photos for availability and please CLICK ON 'RATES' for all rate details.

The cottage is a NO PETS, smoke-free environment. 2 adults Maximum. NO ADDITIONAL SLEEPING SPACE.

NOT SUITABLE for divers or any wet sporting gear, RV's or motorcycles, no portable BBQ's, or outdoor fires.

The cottage has an amazing location on a bluff above a magnificent cove, sandy beach and island. A short private path on the property leads you down to the peaceful cove. The cottage is just 3 miles from Mendocino Village and close to restaurants, markets, activities, golf and hiking. It's a perfect romantic place for 2 (or an inspiring single's retreat). It's a great place to celebrate an anniversary, birthday or just get away from it all.

This charming oceanfront cottage is a separate and private building on the owner's 3-acre property. It's light and airy, nicely decorated, and very clean! Vaulted ceilings give an open feel to this romantic little house. It is well-equipped with electronics, including 2 Cable TV’s, WIFI, DVD player, stereo IPOD docking station, and CD player.

Enjoy the scent of the ocean, see and hear the waves, and have a front-row seat for the sunset. And on clear nights, enjoy the moon shining on the water and an amazing array of stars.

THANK YOU for taking the time to read it all. If this suits you, we will be happy to welcome you for a special oceanfront getaway. Ginny & Norm

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with Mendocino in the late 80’s while staying at an oceanfront vacation rental. In 1989, we got the wild idea to buy an oceanfront property and left our home in Sausalito to become “Mendonesians”. Since we both had jobs in the wine business which allowed us to work out of our home, we have managed quite well over the years thanks to the FAX-era of the 80’s, the dial-up era of the 90’s, and finally the high-speed era of today.

The cottage was almost totally rebuilt in the 90’s and was used as our offices for several years. We also lived there while we built our new house and have very fond memories of our years in the cottage. On sunny days, we liked to sit on the porch steps for our evening glass of wine.

We have only been renting the cottage since February, 2010 and so far it's been a 100% positive experience for us, as well as our guests. We give our guests the key and we usually don't see them again until they leave, totally relaxed and happy. Most people report that the cottage is like a decompression chamber and a great escape from work, home, and city life. This is always music to our ears!

The Owner purchased this house in 1989

65 Reviews of Property 279299 in Mendocino, California

SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
average rating of 4.9846153 based on 65 reviews
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Absolutely the BEST on my favorite coast!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
There just don't seem to be enough adjectives to praise this cottage! If you have ever dreamed about the perfect spot on the Mendocino Coast, this is it. Ginny and Norm are fantastic hosts and have thought of everything to make your stay memorable...fully supplied kitchen, relaxing living room, cozy and comfy bedroom, and well-equipped bathroom...all beautifully appointed inside with fabulous views of your own cove. Did I forget to mention that there's a path to the beach? And an adorable bunny who would visit us. Convenient to everything Mendocino Coast. It's the only place we ever want to stay in on the Coast. We have found our coastal Shangri La!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I just recently stayed in this lovely cottage for our honeymoon and had so much fun. There's an amazing view of the ocean and a little walkway that leads down to the beach. The cottage is in a great location, pretty secluded and just about a 6 minute drive to Mendocino. It was our first time up to Mendocino and we were very happy to stay here and plan to come again soon. The owners provided jam, bread and coffee in the cottage kitchen upon our arrival, which was very nice. We loved the cozy feel to it as well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Rockton, IL
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Look at the photos - (they're really what you'll see), read the reviews -(they're accurate) - this is the place to stay!!! Gorgeous location, immaculate cottage which is nicely furnished, (love the heated bed), and gracious hosts who provided travel tips and maps. What more could you ask for! We especially enjoyed directions to "the best beach hike" - a hidden path along the ocean! The cove is beautiful - we spent several nights enjoying wine watching the waves come in. The location is perfect - just south of Mendocino and just outside of the wine country in Anderson Valley. We are hoping to return soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Sierra foothills
5

A lovely place to view the Pacific ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
An ocean front cottage is very difficult to find on the Mendocino coast and we enjoyed this cottage for 4 nights. The view is wonderful -- especially at night with a full moon. We so enjoyed sitting on the bench in front and just watching the ocean. The cottage itself is very cosy and comfortable. Norm and Ginny will make your stay truly enjoyable.
We hope to come back again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
You will not find a better place for a secluded getaway with a stunning view. You'll have everything you need in the cottage and great hiking, food and wine nearby. Ginny and Norm are gracious hosts who make sure guests have everything to enjoy a perfect place.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

More than pleased

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After our helpful greeting and orientation we settled into this well-appointed, clean, charming cottage which was exactly as described. The ocean view was spectacular at any time of day, the path down to the beach was easy and the winter whale watching was an added bonus. Mendocino and ocean-side hikes are just a few minutes away.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
San Francisco
5

Stunning views from a very quaint cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My girlfriend and myself spent a weekend on this beautiful cottage. It overlooks the ocean. We woke up and went to bed every day with stunning views. It's also very close (10 min drive) into downtown Mendocino. I highly recommend this cottage! The owners were very nice as well. Two thumbs up.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Breathtaking views, conveniently located...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I had the pleasure of celebrating her birthday weekend in this cozy cottage overlooking the beautiful Mendocino coastline. Amazing hosts, totally private and a trail out the front door leading directly to the cove where we enjoyed fishing and tidepooling. Just minutes from Mendocino Village and Albion, both offering plenty of delicious restaurants to choose from. A must for anyone searching for a romantic getaway and adventures along our amazing North Coast!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
United States
5

What a way to wake up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The cottage was directly by the ocean and a cove. What a beautiful to wake up ! The sound and view of the ocean directly from the bed. This home away from home was cozy, modern, and equipped with what we needed. The owners greeted us upon arrival, showed us how to get to the beach below us and the goodies they left for our stay. A very nice touch. A very good coffee and local preserves, a freshly made loaf of bread. The location was great as well, just a short trip to a local market and restaurants, Mendocino village, Van Damme State Park, and a comfortable drive up the coast to botanical gardens, Fr Bragg, and lots more. We highly recommend this cottage, especially if you like the peace of a home that's that's the only one there - not a part of a larger complex. It's just you, the cottage, and the gorgeous views
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Sinton, Texas, (South Texas)
5

11th Anniversary Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of staying in this beautiful and peaceful cottage for our 11th anniversary. The cottage has to be experienced. Words do not do it justice. There are some things that must be felt by the heart and seen through the eyes of the soul to be thoroughly taken in. And, this cottage is just that - amazing. We loved the view we woke up to and enjoyed until we closed our eyes at night. We were able to witness the sunrise, an amazing sunset and a crescent moon during our stay. Everything in and outside the cottage was perfect from the cozy loveseat, the bench overlooking the aclove and the Pacific, to the flowers that greeted us as we walked the path to and from the cottage each day. Mil gracias, Ginny and Norm for making our stay even more special for us with a bottle of wine and an anniversary card. We thank you both for opening up your cottage for us to have this amazing experience. Thank you and we hope to get back out to Little River someday. The weather was a wonderful change from our weather in South Texas.

P.S. please be sure to visit the LIttle River Market &Deli. They serve a great breakfast and the hospitality and service was delightful, not to mention the view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3