Murphys cottage rental - Cottage French Doors Deck & Patio
Cottage French Doors Deck & Patio
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
 

Murphys Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Enjoy a private and cozy cottage for two in the beautiful wine country of Calaveras county.

The cottage is located in historic Douglas Flat, just one mile from the charming downtown of Murphys. The cottage was originally built in the 1960's as the post office for Douglas Flat and is a separate building at Harmon Gardens. Enjoy your morning coffee from the cottage deck or stone patio, watching the ever present hummingbirds sipping flower nectar. Or, stroll through the gardens with a glass of wine and enjoy the water ponds. If you're an artist, bring your easel for plein-air painting in the garden. There is always something in bloom or ready for picking at Harmon Gardens. And our little Douglas Flat community has two wineries, just a short walk from the cottage. Chatom Winery is one of the first wineries in the county and Ayrael View Winery is a new boutique winery.

Nearby Murphys was named the best small town getaway by Budget Vacation Magazine, with plenty of free or nearly free outdoor activities in the area. Downtown Murphys also boasts over a dozen wine tasting rooms and great restaurants. Enjoy the many vineyards that compliment the beautiful hills in the area or travel up Highway 4 a short distance to Big Trees State Park for a fantastic outdoor hike and picnic. Bear Valley skiing is less than an hour away. Ironstone Vineyards summer concerts are just over the hill from the cottage.

Privacy, yet plenty to keep you active, if you want to!

Keywords: Private Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 279248 in Murphys, California

Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Clean, Quiet and Private

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I just returned from 3 days in Murphys. The property looked just like the photos and the owners were very responsive to our e-mailed inquiries. Harmon Gardens in Douglas Flat was just what we were looking for. The gardens were lovely and colorful with a lily pond. The cottage was quiet (we could even hear the frogs at night). It was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay; comfortable pillows and bed, too. There is a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker--just enough to have breakfast or to relax. The patio was ideal for wine and quiet conversation. Overall, a perfect base for all our activities. The owners were not intrusive, we only met them as we were leaving when we had an informative and insightful conversation about the history of the area. We found both Angela and Don very friendly. BTW Alchemy's in Murphys had a wine tasting dinner while we were there with music that was nice. The cioppino at Grounds' was wonderful, also! Wine tasting on Main Street in Murphys was enjoyable, too. The rain didn't stop us from enjoying all the things we wanted to do in the area. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Drew for your kind review of your stay at our guest cottage! We appreciate when our guests also provide reviews of their experiences in Murphys. Best of all, you and Paul came during the week when our rates are less and Murphys isn't as busy as on weekends. Hope you come again!
Angela & Don
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
San Jose, CA
5

Perfect as always

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is the second time we stayed here. The apt was ready for us with everything needed. We will definitely be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Brian for your review of your second stay at our cottage. We appreciate hearing from all our guests and most especially returning guests! Look forward to seeing you again.
Angela
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After a heavy semester of night classes my fiance and I needed a relaxing get away. The cottage was exactly what we needed. We made a few trips into Murphy's for food and a little shopping but mainly just stayed in the room and vegged out. It is a great little place, we hope to make this winter trip an annual event.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
San Diego county
5

Garden cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great location, just a couple miles to Murphys, you are out of the crowds. Angela has a wonderful art studio on site with her floral creations made from local materials. The Autumn colors were fantastic at various wineries and other locations in the Murphys area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
Los Angeles
5

Lovely Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage was lovely. Very quiet and quaint. A perfect place for my weekend visit. Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Cozy cottage, garden setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage is cozy, clean and in a beautiful garden setting, as depicted in the photographs advertised. We were attending a wine Passport event in Murphys, CA and the cottage provided a comfortable place for us to stay after wine tasting and shopping. It was very close to the event site, and we enjoyed the patio setting in the evening while snacking on deli items we had purchased to compliment our wine selections. The owner, Angela, came by to check on how we were doing and visited with us for a few minutes. She was very pleasant and sociable. Overall, we had a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Celia for your review and kind words. I'm always happy to know our guests enjoy our private setting as much as we do! And Murphys is just a mile away. I forgot to ask you if you saw Chef Ramsey in town? He's "recharging" the historic Murphys Hotel for one of his TV show's. Can't wait to see what he creates! Hope to see you again at Harmon Gardens.
Angela
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
Santa Cruz, Ca. USA
4

A lovely stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Love Murphys and the surrounding areas, and Douglas Flat is a perfect spot for a quiet retreat. This cottage was just what we needed for a restful mini-vacation: cozy, clean and comfortable. Our favorite times here were the mornings we spent enjoying coffee and long, leisurely breakfasts on the patio, lounging among the rose bushes and spring flowers. Thank you to Don for bringing the citronella candles one evening!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
Napa CA
5

We loved it.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our last minute weekend getaway to Murphys was perfect. The cozy, charming cottage was equipped with charming decor, an excellent bed, luxury linens, and lots of dining essentials. We used the small microwave and the dishes to enjoy simple breakfasts and lunches on the sun speckled patio while surrounded by lush gardens. (May I suggest providing a small cutting board and cheese slicer for cheese and wine lovers?) We both enjoyed wandering through the gardens, taking photos and marveling at the beautiful chickens and turkeys. The hosts were very welcoming yet invisible the rest of the time. There even is a charming art studio on the grounds. I hope I'll contacted when there are any art workshops.This place has comfort and soul. We'll definitely be back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Linda for your lovely review of our cottage and property! I'm always glad to hear our guests enjoyed their stay as well as the gardens. And a great suggestion for the cheese board! We'll add that to the cottage utensils pronto. When we have the art studio classes in place I'll be sure and let you know.
Angela Harmon
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
San Luis Obispo
5

Slogirl

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harmon gardens! Even though it was mid-February we had spring temperatures every day. The cottage is cozy and very comfortable, just as it looks in the photos.It's well maintained and much more personal than a motel room can ever be.
The town is a little walk up the street but we very much enjoyed the exercise, especially since there are lots of great places to eat in Murphys: "Aria" is a great bakery, you cannot miss, "V" and "Grounds" offer deliciuos food. Actually everywhere we went that weekend was memorable.
We also signed up for the Root-Food Tour that is offered in Murphys and highly recommend it .It takes about 3-4 hours, but you'll learn all about the town, its history, food and wine culture.
We will definitely recommend the cottage to our friends!!! Thank you, Angela
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Annette for your review of your stay at our cottage. And I know other guests will appreciate knowing you really can walk to Murphys! Although it's a short one mile jaunt, it's still walking along Hwy 4. And we have two wineries in Douglas Flat that are an easy walk, Ariel View and Chatom. Great recommendation for the Murphys food tour as well. Another reason for staying at Harmon Gardens when visiting our area!
Angela Harmon
business
Private Garden Cottage Get-a-Way
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279248vbi
209-559-0620
Murphys Gold Country / High Sierra
Dayton Nevada
5

Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at the cottage two weekends ago and had a great time. The room was clean (I am super picky about cleanliness) and had everything we needed. Coming from Nevada where it is dry, dry, dry, it was so nice to be surrounded by lush gardens. The owners let me pick some fruit from their trees. We really enjoyed sitting on the porch and drinking coffee in the morning and reading in the afternoon. Much better than a hotel. It felt very, very private. The only negative was that we had to drive about a mile to town and internet connection was spotty. No biggie. Other than that...it was perfect! The owners were helpful with recommendations.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway