County Limerick farmhouse rental - Glenview Lodge
Glenview Lodge
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

County Limerick Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, traditional kitchen, large gardens, sleeps 5.

Glenview Lodge 4 star Self Catering accommodation ideal for touring South & West of Ireland.

Situated in its own private grounds in the hearth of rural Limerick.The house is approached via long driveway offering spectacular views of the countryside.Enjoy the local walking trails.The house in its tranquil setting among mature gardens including some two hundred year old beech trees combines the charm of an old farmhouse with high quality living. The highest standard of accommodation is provided including WIFI and retaining the building’s old traditional character.

CONTACT US RE AVAILABLE PACKAGES/SPECIAL OFFERS BELOW INCLUDING LOCAL IRISH EXPERIENCES Receive our “Breakfast Welcome Pack”. Enjoy a traditional Irish Stew. Join us for a talk on the history of the house, farm and locality.Discover the Local walks,packed lunch, Irish Coffee Demo.Enjoy our Glenview Lodge handmade soda loaf and chocolates.The local Mullaghareirk Mountain Walking Trails consist of 8 sign-posted walks, most of which are loop walks will introduce the visitor to the many natural springs, bird life, wild life, bogs and historical sites. Walks range from 4km to 21km over a variety of terrain from open farmland and forest paths to quiet country roads. Maps and extensive local information are available to guests and also information on other walking and garden trails in Cork and Limerick. Visit Ballybunion the famous beach and Golf Links1hr drive or Charleville golf course 25 min.from the lodge.

Discovering the South and west of Ireland.Some suggested day trips: Limerick City(Ireland's City of Culture 2014), Cork City, Blarney Castle, Fota Island Wild Life Park, Killarney Lakes and the Ring of Kerry, Ballybunion Beach and Golf Links, The Rock of Cashel, Bunratty Castle Folk Park and Banquets, The Cliffs of Moher, Lough Gur Stone Age Visitor Centre, Ballyhoura Bicycle Trails Dingle Peninsula and Skellig Islands (world heritage site)

all part of the Wild Atlantic Way (Ireland's first long distance touring route).

Festivals in Munster.

A random list of some of the festivals/days of commemoration.

March 17th March St. Patrick’s Day.

April Easter Ceremonies and holidays.

May Riverfest Limerick City.

Ballyhoura Walking Festival.

Writers’ Week in Listowel

June Lough Gur Summer Solstice Fest

Charleville Agricultural Show

Mid Summer Concert Broadford

July Foynes International Flying Boat Festival

Broadford Horse and Pony Racing

August Holiday Weekend.

Rose of Tralee Festival.

Puck Fair Killorglin Co.Kerry

September Listowel Racehorse meeting

October Broadford Autumn weekend Festival

November Halloween Storytelling Festival

December/January Christmas/New Year Ceremonies/Holidays

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 279059 in County Limerick, Ireland

Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

stay here you won't regret it!

stay here you won't regret it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband, parents, and I had a fantastic one week stay at Glenview Lodge. Sean and Monica were delightful and always willing to help out, telling us local sights of interest, day trips, and hiking trails. The cottage itself is lovely, historical, and cozy with a modern kitchen. The property is situated on a hill surrounded by trees and beautiful views. We felt like we were able to experience true Ireland away from the touristy places. We definitely recommend the Irish experience package. We enjoyed the historical talk, the soda bread, chocolates, Irish coffee, stew, and breakfast. We can't recommend Glenview Lodge enough!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Exactly what we'd hoped for

Exactly what we'd hoped for
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
It was everything we had hoped for. A beautiful home in a lovely stetting. Upon arrival we couldn't wait to walk about to take in the beautiful surroundings. The views down the drive were just as we had imagined Ireland to be.

The home was a perfect fit for our family of five (2 sons,15 & 16 and our daughter 18) We prepared and ate breakfast and dinner each day in the home leaving lunch for traveling about.

Easy day trips took us to places like Cork, Kinsale, The RIng of Kerry and so much more.

We recommend this beautiful home for anyone desiring a beautiful home and setting while wanting to travel about in Ireland.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Affectionately restored and very quietly situated

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Glenview Lodge is a very cultivated and with a lot of love to the detail restored former farmhouse. With hosts that will get you close to the Irish culture and local history in a miraculous way. The "Irish Experiences" package is to be recommended anyway, just because of the Irish coffee whose preparation landlord Seán accompanies with marvellous stories. By him and his wife Monica you find out many small things which give you the feeling to really belong there, even as an inexperienced Ireland vacationer. The equipment of the house is excellent and fascinates also by matters for everyday use as by unusual items. Thus the inclined house musician finds a guitar! Heating and turf fire make you able to resist almost wintry cold; a fact which is not to be underestimated after a long day of sightseeing and walks. It really feels like home, safe and secure. We have liked it, anyway. We have already spent two of our holidays there. And that was not for the last time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
All was perfect!
Typically Irish, great location on a splendid farm with green pastures all around.
The house was clean, the bedrooms were comfortable (with good mattresses) with a main bedroom with Queen bed, other room with 2 singles, as well as another smaller bedroom with another single; perfect for family of 5. There were 2 full bathrooms with shower, all this on the second level of the house
There was a nice fireplace (on the first floor) that we used with supplied firewood, with local temperatures, this was needed and appreciated even in late june.
Living-room was very nice, rustic but a bit classic-looking as well.
The owner (Sean) was very nice and paid a lot of attention to making us feel at home without being invasive.
House is close to amenities in Newcastle West (you'll find just about everything at the Tesco there in terms of food, and other furnitures that you may need) about 10-15 min. drive but you'll find a lot in local Broadford which is a 3-5 min. drive.
Kitchen is very functional and you can actually do a lot of "home-cooking", if you need, and/or get bored from local food...
The house is very well located, although it may seem a bit in the middle of nowhere, you're actually well located and close to Limerick, Cork the south-west coast and local favorite attractions such as Kerry's ring, cliffs of Moher, Blarney's castle, to name just a few. But remember, you'll need a GPS to get around.
Roads are decently identifiable but local streets are challenging as the name can often change. Local adresses are often not in classic numerical order (2 may followed by 99 ?!); try to hit "1 main street" in most villages that you might want to get to, then figure out local "set-up".
In summary, Glenview Lodge was "great", all of our family (9, 13 and 16 y.o.) enjoyed and we all found ourselves felling quite like being at home in this splendid, typical irish farmhouse.

Eric H.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

A Wonderful House in a Gorgeous Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
It is terrific to have an opportunity to extol the many virtues of this holiday cottage. I note that all of the previous reviews do this too, but I must repeat how well kept and well appointed the house was - we lacked for nothing during our week's stay there (apart perhaps, better weather!). We found that the photos on the website didn't do justice to the house and grounds in reality - we were blown away by the extensive private drive into the property. Every afternoon when we drove in after a day's touring (and there were so many wonderful places to see), I would exclaim, "All this land is ours ... for a week anyway!" Monica and Sean were fantastic hosts/owners and the "Local Irish Experience" package was great with Sean giving us a local history talk one night and an Irish Coffee demonstration another evening, and Monica providing a wonderful Irish stew, handmade chocolates and a lovely packed lunch (which we enjoyed on the side of the road at the Ring of Kerry). The Welcome Breakfast pack was also outstanding in its quality, quantity and local flavour. Thank you, Sean and Monica, you were very generous, friendly and helpful hosts and we would heartily recommend your cottage to anyone looking for a central place from which to explore southern Ireland.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Wonderful situated and lovely-maintained lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We recently spent one week in this beautiful lodge of Monica and Sean. We enjoyed our stay a lot as this lodge is just perfect - perfect situated in a lovely area, perfect furnished/maintained and Sean and Monica a just perfect hosts. When arriving we found a welcome food-basket with self-baked bread, delicious chocolate, ... Sean and Monica were always available and very helpful when we had questions. Thank you so much!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Lovely home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We were more than happy with our choice of Glenview Lodge. Our family (2 adults and 3 children) stayed for two weeks and we had plenty to do.

We took many day trips (Killarney and the Ring of Kerry, Cashel, the Cliffs of Moher, Clare coast, Bunratty, Adare) and also spent a few days local.

Our kids loved the fields to roam and we all enjoyed the house. Lots of fires and quiet evenings which was just what we were looking for in a rental. The house was beautifully charming and the property surrounding the house was absolutely georgeous!

Sean and Monica were very helpful with information about things going on in the area during the time we were there and there were notebooks in the house with lots of maps and brochures on things within reasonable driving distance.

I think our favorite thing was the basket of goodies Monica had prepared for us upon our arrival!

We hope to visit again someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
San Francisco, CA USA
5

My favorite vacation rental, ever.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Glenview Lodge was everything we’d hoped for, plus some. The house is beautifully restored and fully equipped. There is a wood-burning fireplace with plenty of wood for drizzly afternoons. The setting is lovely, private, and surrounded by green woods, fields, and a large expanse of well-kept lawn.

The Lodge is centrally located for day trips to Limerick, Cork, the Burren, the Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, The Blarney Stone, and the Rock of Cashel.

Great hiking, too.

Our hosts were the best. They had prepared two notebooks of things to do in the area. They had written many of the entries and organized them by driving time back and forth, so we could easily plan our time. Beyond this, Monica had put together a sheet of Xeroxed clippings about local events in “our” week, including a hurling match, a huge horse fair, and Seisuns, shows with singing, dancing, playing unfamiliar instruments, capped by a terrific storyteller.
I’d go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
5

Schönes Haus in Alleinlage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
In Irlands Jahrhundertsommer haben wir eine Woche in der wunderschönen
Glenview Lodge verbracht. Wir sind weitgereist - selten haben wir so schön gewohnt. Neben den vielen Möglichkeiten zu Ausflügen haben wir auch immer wieder Ruhezeiten am Haus und im Garten eingelegt. Das Haus liegt völlig separat mit eigenener längerer Auffahrt auf einem Hügel. Man schaut ins Tal oder auf
einen Bauernhof auf der anderen Seite des Hügels. Unsere Nachbarn, eine Jungbullenherde kam einmal täglich bei uns am Zaun vorbei. Ansonsten Ruhe, eine Hasenfamilie, Vogelgezwitscher. Toll !
Das Haus ist in einem guten Zustand, alles ist da und funktioniert auch.
Die Betreuung durch die Vermieter Monica und Sean hätte nicht besser sein können. Und das Willkommenspaket mit den ersten Frühstückssachen ist auch eine nette Geste.
Kaum abgereist verspürten wir schon eine Art Heimweh nach diesem schönen Ort. Ein Auto ist erforderlich - und dazu ein Fahrer, der sich bei Linksverkehr nicht von engen Strassen schrecken lässt.
Uneingeschränkt zu empfehlen! Thank you, Sean and Monica, I think we´ll be back some day.....
business
Relax in traditional farmhouse cottage perfect for touring South & West Ireland.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279059
+353 86 8177527
County Limerick Ireland
Neunkirchen/Saar
5

Ein toller Urlaub !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Ein wunderschönes Bauernhaus, dass liebevoll restauriert wurde. Technisch modernisiert ist das Haus voll ausgestattet.
Von Handtüchern über Geschirr bis zu Taps für die Geschirrmaschine ist Alles vorhanden was man braucht.
Das „Eltern“-Schlafzimmer ist stielvoll eingerichtet mit eigenem Duschbad. Das zweite Zimmer hat 2 Einzelbetten und das 3. ein Einzelbett. Zusätzlich ist auf der oberen Etage ein Bad. Die Küche ist gut ausgestattet mit Waschm./Trockner. Das Wohnzimmer ist gemütlich eingerichtet mit Kamin (Holz vorhanden).
Das abgeschiedene Haus liegt ca. 400M. von der Straße zurück. Umgeben von mehreren großen Wiesen kann man in der ferne einige Nachbarn erahnen.
Im Nachbarort (ca. 10 Min.) gibt es einen großen Supermarkt. Restaurants und Pubs gibt es überall.
Alls Ausgangspunkt für Tagestouren in den Westen und Süd-Westen ist es sehr gut geeignet. Wir machten Ausflüge nach Cork, Rock of Cashel, Killanery National Park, Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, Dingle Halbinsel, Limerik und nach Mizen Head.
Wir verbrachten eine sehr schöne Woche hier und können diese Unterkunft uneingeschränkt empfehlen.
Ein besonderes Lob können wir auch den Vermietern machen, der Kontakt im Vorfeld und während des Aufenthaltes war sehr angenehm.

Thanks again to Sean and Monica – it was an pleasure !!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3