Playa Grande villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Playa Grande Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bdrm, 1 bath, full kitchen, bar, living/dining area w/covered patio, sleeps 6

BEST VALUE for something truly nice in PLAYA GRANDE. Our beautifully appointed, fully furnished home provides a wonderful and relaxing getaway in a private, gated, quaint, laid back beach community separated from the congestion of Tamarindo. It is within a short 5 minute walk to a beautiful, pristine surfing beach, several great restaurants, bars, and a grocery. Tiled roof, floors and counter tops throughout. Relax on the covered patio where Iguanas and colorful birds perch and will eat from your hand. Monkeys and parrots play overhead. Also, within walking distance, a beautiful estuary provides fishing, boating, and offers a water taxi which takes you on a 5 minute ride to Tamarindo for dining, dancing, gambling, shopping and souviners. You may also choose to walk to Tamarindo via the beach. Dual vanities in bathroom. Maid service included (Mon/Wed/Fri)! We invite you to stay in comfort while you are in Playa Grande. Mi casa es su casa). AWESOME BEACH!!!!! Read our reviews

Close to the beach: The house is close enough to the beach to hear the waves crashing when they are big! It is an easy and very short walk to the beach from the house.

REVIEWS: Our reviews say it all! Please read them if you have not already.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been going to Costa Rica at least once a year since 1987 and continue to love the place tremendously! Always look forward to my next trip to Playa Grande.

Hank Townsend purchased this villa in 1999

Most pristine beach, laid back community in all of Costa Rica in my opinion. Close to everything you can want or need. Great waves and beautiful beach. Great people!

23 Reviews of Property 278167 In Playa Grande, Costa Rica

Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 23 reviews
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
5

Casa Mambo is an awesome place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Me and two buddies rented out Casa Mambo for two weeks and had a blast! The house was excellent and the maids were great too. We had air conditioning in each room which was just another great perk of this place! Would highly recommend for anyone who is looking for close proximity to the beach and world class surf. The waves are great all summer with off shore winds in the morning and barrels up and down the beach. The store is right next to the house and the food at both Restaurants (Los Malinches and The Great Wallitinis) is awesome. We can't wait to go back again next summer
Owner's Response: Glad to know you guys had such and incredible time and thanks for the great review. Just let me know when you are ready to come back down! Pura Vida, Hank
Helpful votes: 2/6
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
5

Casa Mambo Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Simply put.... property is awesome! Private with beautiful landscaping, very well kept and perfect location. Restaurants and general store within 1 min walk. Walk to beach is maybe 4 minutes due to the restricted access to our favorite beach in the world... playa Grande.... home of the leatherback turtles and 3 miles of beach break! I would recommend Casa Mambo to all! We will come back next year to make it 3 years in a row.
Owner's Response: Great to hear you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. I look forward to having you back on a regular basis. Thanks for the post. Pura Vida, Hank
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
5

We loved our stay at Casa Mambo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful time at Casa Mambo. We loved the villa, it was very comfortable and we felt very at home. The pool was great, very tropical. We had it to ourselves most of the time, We loved sitting out on the patio every morning having our coffee, listening to the sounds of nature, and looking at all the tropical plant surrounding us. It is a 5 minute walk to the most beautiful beach. We rented surf boards and boogie boards and enjoyed the surf. There was no beach chairs but we rented some at a hotel up the street. We had some fun times at Bula Bula Hotel, walking distance, bartenders were great! Enjoyed a great meal at Rip Jacks, excellent pizza at El Huertos, and tacos on the beach. Also, went to Playa Flamingo for a day trip and did a ATV tour called On Top of the World, took us up the congo trail and to some beautiful secluded beaches. Thank you to Alyssa and Hank for a wonderful vacation. We can't wait to go back! Pura Vida!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We look forward to your return soon. Pura Vida, Hank
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
Houston
5

Timid Travelers Delighted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wow! Casa Mambo was absolutely perfect for us! We 3 ladies from Texas thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay. The property is very clean and well maintained and is within a gated community. We never felt uncomfortable about walking anywhere. The casa is absolutely beautiful and the amenities were wonderful! Everything we needed was close at hand. We spent each morning on the lovely covered patio drinking our coffee and watching the iguanas take their morning stroll. The beautiful beach is an easy walk as are great places to eat and enjoy the scenery and/or your favorite tropical drink. Bulla Bulla, a local restaurant and bar was quite lively every evening and there are few other smaller eating establishments also available. There is also a water taxi within walking distance and for a small fee will take you across the river to the small town for shopping. The property manager was also a great help to us in finding the right tours for us and for making arrangements for transportation to and from the airport
Thanks, Hank, for sharing your beautiful casa with us!
Owner's Response: Ladies, thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. You are welcome in our casa anytime and we hope to have you back again in the near future. Mi casa es su casa! Hank
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a great place! This casa was just what we, three retired educators, needed to have fun, relax,and tour CR. From the fully equipped kitchen to the relaxing patio, we found this house to have everything we needed for our week stay. We enjoyed the closeness to Tamarinwodo for shopping and the ability to return to the quiet way of life that Casa Mambo provided. If we return to the country, we will certainly stay here again!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review.Glad to know that you had such a great time. We hope to have you stay with us again sometime soon. Hank
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
California
5

Perfect place for our first time to Costa Rica!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We absolutely LOVED our stay at Casa Mambo! We snuck in a pre-Christmas trip and it was perfect for our family 4. Close to the beach, the kids loved the pool in the afternoon. It was quiet, peaceful and we can't wait to get back!

We rented boards at Frijoles, my kids learned to surf in the warm water, I did yoga at Rip Jack, we saw a leather back turtle laying her eggs. I did not want to come home!

Thanks to Hank and Alyssa for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am happy to know that you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to having you back again in the near future. You are welcome anytime. Best Regards, Hank.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
1

Read this review

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The reviews on all the sites can't be this place. I was conned into staying when Hank kept saying just read my reviews many from Texans. Don;t stay unless you see clear pictures. No dishwasher, hair dryer, pot covers, bent pans ready for scrap, plastic glasses, toilet that won't handle toilet paper, no beach chairs , 10 feet from neighbors. holes in blankets, platform couches with three inch cushions . From the other reviews I though it was quality property, but this is much like a motel 8. Hank "I don't have any clearer pics at the moment. Please read our reviews if you are doubtful in anyway. It is a beautiful, clean, and comfortable house. ". It is nicely laid out but and with some care and decent quality furnishing it would be very nice. Can't wait to come back more likely can't wait to leave. Also I noticed many positive reviews from owners immediate area?. Housekeeper, and Alyssa the property manager are very nice and helpful. I was sold by the reviews what a mistake. Hanks response "I'm sorry you feel the way you do about Casa Mambo. Again, you are the first to complain about it. Based on your response, has been no misrepresentation of the property description, it's location, or its amenities. You are certainly welcome to depart early however, no form of refund will be offered. A full refund of your security deposit will be given upon departure assuming the property is left in good condition. "

On a positive note the beaches are great plenty of towels. Having great time.
Owner's Response: FRAUDULENT REVIEW. Please take the time to read all of our reviews and see that there has never been a negative review on Casa Mambo prior to this unfortunate and obviously fraudulent review. My family and I have worked very hard to make and keep this a beautiful, lovely get away as described by all of the rest of the reviews. I can only say that I am working to have this post removed and hope that you will take the time to read all of the rest of our reviews. Sincerely, Hank
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
Houston, TX
5

Home away from home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wow. What a great place. We were thinking of going to Mexico, but after hearing of the travel warnings, we looked into Costa Rica, since many of our friends have been lately and loved it. We were looking for a place to totally relax, away from the hustle and bustle and we found it! From the minute we arrived, we were in true vacation mode. The house is great (very clean and lots of natural light) and had everything we needed. We felt like we were at home. Each morning we ate at the market near your place on our way to the beach (which is a really short walk), rented surfboards/boogie boards from Jerry (so nice!) and then to the beach. The beach, shells and waves were fantastic. We saw lots of monkeys, iguanas and some really cool birds. The kids loved hanging out at the swimming pool in the evening (which was literally a few steps from the patio), and walking to Hotel Bula Bula for some of the tasty (and STRONG) Waltinis. Everyone is so nice around there and made us feel so welcome. Love all of the teak wood throughout the house. You guys did a great job on the place. We can't wait to visit again. Thank you so much for making the rental process so easy too!!! We highly recommend to others!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the excellent review. Glad you had such a wonderful time in Casa Mambo and we welcome you back anytime! Our house is your house. Hank
Helpful votes: 2/6
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
Seattle Wa
5

Time to lay back and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had grand plans of taking day trips outside of Playa Grande but once we got to Casa Mambo we didn't want to leave. Partly because it is much harder to get around then we expected but more so because after only a few hours we knew there was no need to go anywhere. We loved meeting the other families staying in the nearby homes and since we all had children the pool became a social gathering and made sone great new friends from all over the world. Alyssa is available to help plan anything you may need or answer any questions. There is a great little grocery store just a few steps away along with two restaurants. More restaurants are only a short drive away. Rip Jack Inn has outdoor yoga. That became a daily must for me and if you want you can walk there from the beach about a 20 minute walk. They also have a delicious all day menu. I wish I was back there now.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Glad to know you had such a great time in Casa Mambo and in Playa Grande. We look forward to having you back again soon. Hank
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
Beautiful Casa Mambo; beach/pool/bicycles/surf/wi-fi/maids/cable-tv/ac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278167
+1 7137021104
Playa Grande Guanacaste
Denver, CO
4

Just right for our trip...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Great property - just what we needed. This was a trip wtih my 13 year old daughter - the house had everything we needed. With the beach so close, the pool at the property, little market and a couple of restaurans nearby, we could have never left Playa Grande at all - but it was really easy to go visit some of the other nearby beaches as well, so we did! I'd love to come again for a longer visit with our other kids!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/4