Cassopolis house rental - Gorgeous wheelchair-friendly home w/3,900 sqft has 7BRs +6BAs+Gathering-Game Rm!
Gorgeous wheelchair-friendly home w/3,900 sqft has 7BRs +6BAs+Gathering-Game Rm!
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps26
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Cassopolis House Rental Photos and Description
House, 7 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 6 Baths - Sleeps 22-26

Welcome to our sandy gentle-slope-beach *** wheelchair-friendly*** family retreat - secluded and surrounded by our private 50 wooded acres with trails - at 148-acre Stone Lake that is famous for its fishing and quiet solitude. Five minutes away are the Park Shore and Diamond Lake Public Golf Courses - with many more in the area.

***** To see LOTS of photos see below link that reads 'CLICK HERE - Add'l Photos of Our Vacation Property.' The link is right above 'Map and Owner's Profile.' ******

The Lake House, with 7 BRs & 6 BAs, is nestled among mature trees and sits upon a small rise with a commanding view of Stone Lake. **The property includes a lakefront lot with a private beach, porch and boat dock reserved for Guests that is just a 150-foot stroll from the main house down a path through the trees (the main house is 75 feet and across a quiet dead-end street from the lake.)** As such the property offers the best of both worlds: The seclusion and serenity of a quiet wooded retreat combined with the fun and excitement of lakefront property.

The Lake House features a completely restored 3,900 sq ft Craftsman-style home with rooms full of charming woodwork and walls of windows. Built circa-1935 as the dream retirement home by the couple who originally farmed all of the land around Stone Lake, the house has central air conditioning and is perfectly arranged for multiple families.

A unique feature to the house is its numerous private spaces that are located throughout - on both levels - that are great for reading, napping, quiet conversation, etc. Yet the house also has large public gathering spaces that can accommodate the whole gang: A 1st floor 450 sq ft Gathering-Game Room, a spacious Dining Room with a table that can seat up to 16 (with table space for 6-8 more a few feet away at the two kitchen tables), and a 600 sq ft deck with a pavilion roof over much of it with lots of seating and a firebox. Another popular outdoor gathering space is the large firepit set in a private area tucked near the trees for seclusion - yet only steps away from the house (and accessible by vehicle for those with mobility challenges).

A NOTE ABOUT ACCESSIBILITY AND THE LAYOUT OF OUR LAKE HOUSE

With its Spring 2013 renovations the Lake House is now wheelchair friendly:

A. The new concrete parking pad gently slopes up to the front door to allow one to exit a vehicle on a hard surface and enter the house with zero steps.

B. The following ground floor rooms are wheelchair accessible: LR, DR, Kitchen, Breakfast Nook, Gathering-Game Room, 1st Floor BR-BA Suite in the Attached Guest Quarters with its ADA-compliant full BA with 3x5 roll-in shower. Also the 600 sq ft deck overlooking Stone Lake is wheelchair accessible.

Below we describe the 3 sections of the Lake House: the Main House, the West Wing, and the Attached Guest Quarters (AGQ). Please note that these 3 sections are all connected as one large house; none of them are separate structures.

THE MAIN HOUSE (3 BRs, 2 BAs)

Has plenty of room for one or two families with a Queen bed master bedroom, 2 guest bedrooms with full-size pillow-top beds, two full bathrooms, and of course the living room, dining room, study, and large eat-in, fully equipped kitchen. The Main House also includes the 450 sq ft Gathering-Game Room with lots of windows, pool table, foosball table, ping pong table, 55-inch flat screen LCD TV w/ JBL audio, 4 leather sofas, 2 Bistro tables with barstools, and a 2nd full-size fridge to keep the beverages cold! This space is also ideal for Yoga Groups, Scrapbookers, Quilters & Business Retreats.

THE WEST WING (2-3 BRs, 2 BA)

Attached to the Main House, the West Wing is perfect for another one or two families with a large 2nd floor MBR-MBA suite (the brand new BA has a spacious 3 x 5 shower) with a Queen bed and its own private outside entrance. On the 1st floor of the West Wing there is another BR with a Queen bed plus a Twin Bunkbed. Just outside the BR door is a full BA. The West Wing includes the TV Room with a 50-inch LCD flat screen TV which can also serve as a private bedroom (that makes 8 BRs total). The West Wing is automatically included with the Main House and is not an additional cost.

THE ATTACHED GUEST QUARTERS (2 BRs / 2 BAs)

Completed in April 2013 and attached to the Main House is the 2-story, 770 sq ft optional Attached Guest Quarters (AGQ) that adds 2 more BRs and 2 more BAs - room for another one or two families. This addition includes a 1st floor wheelchair friendly barrier-free BR-BA suite with a Queen bed, a 3 x 5 roll-in shower with grab bars and built-in folding bench, knee-room vanity, fold-down grab bars at the toilet -- and plenty of maneuvering room. The 2nd floor BR in the AGQ is generously proportioned with a vaulted ceiling, a Queen bed plus a Twin bunkbed, and its own private BA with a roomy 3 x 5 shower. The AGQ gives the Lake House a total of 7-8 BRs and 6 BAs spread over 3,900 sq ft of finished above-grade living space.

A NOTE ABOUT OUR BEDS

All Queen beds have high-quality memory foam toppers that make them exceptionally comfortable. Both Full size beds have pillow-top mattresses that are also very comfortable.

THE LOG CABIN

The lakefront Amish-built western red cedar Log Cabin is part of the property and sits directly on Stone Lake (built April 2009). The 15' x 22' Log Cabin features a cozy Little Great Room with a soaring 18-foot high cathedral ceiling, a wood-burning fireplace, and includes two full-size futons. The 2nd floor Loft overlooks the open great room and has a Queen inflatable Aero bed that sits 18” off the floor and has a 4” thick memory foam topper -- very comfy. The cabin has a TV with DVD and VCR, a huge 60-inch ceiling fan, window AC, and a fridge to keep your beverages cold -- right at the water's edge.

***** PLEASE NOTE: To see lots of photos of our Log Cabin, Pontoon Boat & the Amish-built Playset see below link that reads 'CLICK HERE - Add'l Photos of Our Vacation Property.' The link is right above 'Map and Owner's Profile.' ******

The Log Cabin has a high-tech Sun-Mar Excel composting toilet in the bathroom for use by Log Cabin Guests (instructions included - it's easy to use and extremely sanitary!) but there is no running water. However Guests can easily use the main house's 6 full bathrooms for showers and baths.

Whether or not you rent the Log Cabin, its 22-foot covered porch, lakefront dock and sandy gentle-slope beach are for your exclusive enjoyment while staying at the Lake House.

Most all of our warm-weather Guests enjoy reserving our Pontoon Boat Pkg. It really opens up a whole new world to be able to get out on the lake - the little ones just love playing 'captain' steering the boat -- and it makes for a great mobile swimming platform. Sunsets are glorious and it's so peaceful to be out in the middle of Stone Lake and just slowly drift and watch the waterfowl, birds, etc. And if anyone likes to fish - that's what Stone Lake is famous for! We include (actually require) in the rental of the Pontoon Boat a personal orientation session by a qualified boating instructor so that the Pontoon can be operated safely and with confidence; fuel and life jackets are provided.

Included at no add'l cost with the Pontoon Boat Pkg are four (4) easy-to-use Sea Eagle 2-person sit-on-top Kayaks, plus an aluminum fishing row boat. These are perfect for Mom and Dad to take the kids out on the water to explore the quiet undeveloped shoreline of Stone Lake to experience aquatic life up close and personal. Or let the teens go out and have a blast on the water with their own private flotilla of watercraft!

For Guests with children who love to vacation with other families, it's truly an ideal destination. And with its accessibility features the Lake House has become a favorite for multi-generational family reunions and 40-, 50- and even 60-year wedding anniversary celebrations.

We're happy to answer any questions you may have so please ask away!

Fondly, Ted & Brenda

P.S. The 47 wooded acres w/ trails surrounding the Lake House are great fun for the kids & grown-ups to explore (dogs really love it!).

P.P.S. We've added 8 Mountain Bikes (mix of child and adult sizes) for our Guests to ride on the trails in the 47 acres of woods -- and through the residential areas of the Village of Cassopolis for those who like to admire the many grand turn-of-the-century homes that are sprinkled throughout. Bring your bike helmets!

More Details
Hide Details

47 Reviews of Property 277715 in Cassopolis, Michigan

Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
average rating of 4.8913045 based on 47 reviews
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
5

Dr. Martin Luther King getaway weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This Lake Retreat was just that a RETREAT!! It was 14 adults in my group and we absolutely loved it! It was spacious, clean, secluded and well furnished! I loved the attached guest quarters.... Initially, we thought that we would not enjoy it as much because there are no t.v.'s in the bedroom's, but it was awesome b/c that made everyone spend more time together. I liked that Ted and Brenda provided us with a binder of places to eat and go. We went to the Meat Market and saved tons of money!! We went to the movies and skiing! I have nothing negative to say about our stay. I am actually planning another trip to stay at their Lake House - I cannot wait! Ted and Brenda were great! We met Don, one of the people who take care of the property and he was very pleasent! Overall, I would not hesistate to return to this Lake Retreat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
5

Thanksgiving weekend reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our extended family (14 adults and 5 children; 5 generations) gathered for a fall getaway and thanksgiving family reunion. This property was perfect and met all of our needs. We especially appreciated the large dining room and kitchen tables with lots of extra chairs, for accomodating our family card/game night and Thanksgiving dinner. The kitchen was fully equipped and there were two grills on the deck, as well as a fire pit for s'mores. Our younger members enjoyed the very cool tree house and swing set and all of us spent time in the game room playing ping pong, pool, and watching football. Everyone had their own rooms with very comfortable beds and most had private baths. One bedroom is handicap accessible, perfect for grandparents. The smaller den was ideal for little ones to watch movies before bedtime or to sneak away for a little quiet time reading. But the real beauty of this property is the setting and view. The weekend we were there, we had an early snow storm, so were unable to hike the woods as we would have liked, but did do a bit of sledding and enjoyed the picture postcard view of the Lake and woods after the first snowfall! We even had two deer come right up to the deck as we ate breakfast one morning! The pictures on the website don't do justice to the view and setting of this unique property. This home is very charming and cozy and pride of ownership is evident throughout. I would definitely recommend for extended families, large groups of all ages, and nature lovers in all seasons. This is a hidden treasure! Only a 20-30 minute drive for us, but felt like a real mini vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Novi
4

Nice getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a pleasant experience, the owners are nice and responsive. The space in the house is small but well organized so that it can accommodate larger groups. The beach/ boat/ kayaks really helped enhance our experience. The Fire pit, deck, bikes and the trails were also highlights of the vacation. The log cabin is a great addition for folks that like it rustic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Port Lambton, Ontario
5

Another wonderful week!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just returned from another great week at Stone Lake. This is our third year in a row to rent this wonderful cottage. At one point, there were ten adults and five children in our group this year. We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the beautiful renovations that were completed since last year. Ted and Brenda have added on two more bedrooms and three bathrooms. The additional space is amazing. So much room!! Thanks, Ted and Brenda!!
We ventured to South Bend and visited the grounds of the University of Notre Dame one day and then we all met for dinner at Carrabbas in South Bend. We always do one dinner away from the cottage and we chose to go to South Bend this year. It was a very good choice. On our last day we always order pizza and this year we ordered from Marcello's which is just a short walk away from the cottage. The pizza was one of the best we have ever eaten. I would highly recommend Marcello's.
Don, the caretaker, is very helpful. He was available when we needed him and he is becoming an old friend. It was nice to see him again this year. He takes a lot of pride in his job.
Some of the adults with their children took out the bikes that Ted and Brenda have supplied and had fun with them. We had several bonfires on the nice cozy deck. The bbq was in great working condition and we had lots of home cooked meals on it. The kitchen has everything you need to make a great dinner. It is great that the playground equipment is so close to the deck so that the children can play while the adults relax, while still being able to keep an eye on the children. The property has lots of walking areas and we were lucky to be able to pick some wild blackberries that we found growing....yummy!!
We rented the pontoon boat again and had loads of fun out on the lake. It was great swimming off of the pontoon. We also used the kayaks that are supplied. The lake is so quiet and lots of times it is crystal clear, almost like a sheet of glass. The sunsets were awesome from the deck of the cottage.
All in all, we had a wonderful, funfilled family time at Stone Lake and hope to return again.
Thanks again, Ted and Brenda, for opening up your wonderful Lake House for our family to enjoy this year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Cleveland
5

Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was a great location for our family to meet, all from different locations: Cleveland, Columbus, and Illinois. There were 11 of us with ages ranges from 2 months to 84 years old. This home had something for everyone. Quiet spaces for reading/relaxing to exploring the surrounding woods, to fun on the water. We also ventured away from the home for some antiquing and Warren Dunes on Lake Michigan.

We have rented other VRBO homes and this fit our needs. It wasn't too far away: 3-4 hour drive for each family. Each family could have their own bedroom with a bathroom. The wheel chair accessibility came in handy for a family member who has difficulty walking. It also had an extra refrigerator in the rec room for all our food and beverages. The boat rental was huge part of our fun so it is highly recommended. Plenty of things to do and see at the home and nearby.

We had a couple situations that needed attention and they were taken care of promptly by Don, the property manager. He was very helpful and answered all our questions.

Be aware that there is a short walk to the lake. You can take the stairs or a graded slope. This was not a problem but not as evident from the pictures on VRBO. There is also a garage on the property used by the property manager so you may see him on occasion. Again, it was not a problem for us.

We had a great time and would highly recommend this home. We will be returning in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Manhattan, Illinois
5

Our Winter Getaway 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I, and four of our closest friends spent the weekend together in this gorgeous Lake House retreat. We are fellow campers who escape for one weekend away together every winter. This winter Ted and Brenda and their beautiful home made this a perfect weekend. We ate, drank, played cards and started all over again. We enjoyed the game room, played pool, I won a few times at table tennis, or ping pong as I would call it, we watched the Oscars together on one of the big screen televisions, sat by the fire and overall just had a great time. We only had to make one trip to the super market which was only five minutes away. Ted and Brenda were very helpful in making this a great weekend away. Thank you!!! Tammi
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL/USA
5

Wonderful multi family getaway home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We were a group of four families with five little kids on a three day winter weekend getaway. Plus our dog. We all had a great time, and fit perfectly cozy in the house. One bedroom has bunk beds which were perfect for our two kids. The kitchen is well equipped. Bring paper towels. And toilet paper. No crib, so remember to bring your pac-n-play;) Great amenities- a washer and dryer, hair dryers, a variety of board games, and best of all- the recreation room with a pool and ping pong table to keep us all busy. Stores were easily accessible; town is just down the road by car - less than 5 minutes you have a grocery store, pharmacy, gas station, etc. Even in the winter we were able to play outside, nice fire pit, great views, great land and an awesome trail by the house for a pull-sled and hike. The construction for additional rooms did not bother us and from the looks of it, looks like there will be more to offer. Ted and Brenda were excellent about addressing any of our concerns like medical doctors on call. Thanks for the wonderful accommodations, would highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
South bend, in.
5

Family get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our family had a great time at the house! We had infant grandchildren to adults and all had space to run and play. The house was very clean and spacious including a dining room table that seated all of us(16). This was very important to us! We plan on returning next year.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
northwest Indiana
5

family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was everything it was described to be. Our family had a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing vacation. The playground equipment was a big hit with the young grandkids they were out there playing all day. While the fishing was not great it was still nice to cruise around the lake in the pontoon. The stores and restraunts in the area were as good and easy to find as listed in the email contact with the owners. I have nothing but postive feedback for our experience and would stay here again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Beach Secluded WhlChr-Accessible 50-Acre Retreat on Stone Lake!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277715
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Port Lambton, Ontario
5

Another Week in Paradise!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is our second year in a row to stay at the Lake House and we had an absolutely wonderful time.
As soon as we turned onto the street going to the cottage it brought back so many great memories. The house is so cozy and inviting and has so much room and lots of comfortable beds for everyone.. This year there were eight adults and four children and one beloved dog. The new addition games room is awesome. We spent time out there playing ping pong and pool and watching the big screen television. It was so cool and refreshing in the games room on a hot day. We rented the pontoon boat again and literally spent hours out on the lake. It was so easy to get in and out of the boat to swim in the lake which was very warm, Our grandchildren loved it. They also had lots of fun playing in the sand on the beach. The covered deck is a wonderful spot to relax and read or just hang out. We ate every meal outside on the deck and used the charcoal barbeque quite often. We also had many bonfires right on the deck. The adults could relax and never worry about the children - they were either on the swings or in the playhouse directly behind the deck. There are also new bikes that we were able to use to go for bike rides. Thanks, Ted and Brenda, that was a thoughtful addition. This year our family didn't seem to venture out away from the cottage as much as last year - I think it was because everyone loved it at the cottage so much they didn't want to leave - there's so much to do right there. I want to thank Brenda and Ted for again sharing their wonderful cottage with us. We all can't wait to come back next July.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3