Moneta house rental - Your Private Cove Awaits
Your Private Cove Awaits
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms

Perched on a gentle slope overlooking the water, this vacation rental offers the ultimate Smith Mountain Lake experience. Looking to cool off in the summer heat? Simply hop off the private dock and into the crisp, refreshing water. You can also grab one of the two complimentary kayaks and cruise along the shore. Either way, you’ll find that the house is in a low-traffic cove that makes it ideal for swimming and other low-key water sports. When you’re ready to kick back and relax, you can take your pick of the shoreline cabana or the spacious outdoor patio. Both provide unparalleled views of the lake.

Inside, you’ll find that the house feels more like a home than a vacation rental. We lived here for several years before work relocated us to Arizona, and we’ve left all the amenities you would expect in a well-cared-for family home. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to prepare gourmet meals for a crowd, and stylish furnishings are plush but comfortable. We also have a terrace level with an extra living room for your kids; it includes a Wii game station, DVD player, and a large High Definition TV.

Off the terrace level is a huge deck with table, chairs, lounge and Weber Genesis BBQ for your grilling pleasures. Enjoy your morning coffee with great views of the lake, an afternoon card game or the beautiful sunsets. There is a fenced yard for your four-legged family member to play and we do not charge anything extra to bring your dog. The home offers 4 bedroom and 2.5 baths and over 2200 square feet of living space. The property is .34 acres with 120 feet of prime water frontage.

In terms of location, the Smith Mountain Lake vacation rental couldn’t be better situated. On one hand, the house feels very private and secluded. On the other, it only takes two minutes to drive into town, where you’ll find everything from boat rentals at Captain's Quarters to miniature golf at Bridgewater Plaza. The area also has plenty of restaurants and grocery stores.

There is high speed internet with Wi-Fi access throughout the entire home. There is parking for 4 cars and additional room for a boat and jet-ski trailer. The public 'put in' ramp is close by to the home.

Please note Bedford County says the max occupancy of this home is 8 people based to the size of the septic system. Be VERY careful renting a home without the proper rental permits and septic capacity, as your stay can be cut short by the county. This home is 100% in compliance with the county regulations. They are now strictly enforcing this policy at the lake.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners are Tom & Tracy and their kids Tate & Taylor. Tom owns a real estate company and Tracy is a healthcare executive. They lived in Charlottesville, Virginia for 10 years prior to being relocated out west. The owners now share their time between Smith Mountain Lake and their home in Scottsdale, Arizona.

The Seeley's purchased this house in 2009

We LOVE Smith Mountain Lake. The location of the home is close to all the action, but still very private. We were looking for a place to spend quality family time and we found it. We are there much of the time when it's not rented, so it is well maintained and professionally managed. We feel very lucky we found this very special home and are happy to share it with our guests.

Easy walk to your own private dock and boat house in a VERY private cove. This is one of the best locations on the entire lake. Bridgewater Plaza is minutes by car or boat. The kids love the location and the house. There is not a minute of boredom when we are at the lake.

40 Reviews of Property 277502 In Moneta, Virginia

Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
average rating of 4.925 based on 40 reviews
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
North Ridgeville, Ohio
5

Amazing Lakefront Rental!! One of the Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
First of all, what a pleasure working with the owner. He was outstanding at communication and answered any question I had.

The lakehouse was great. The pictures are exactly what you get when you get there. Very pet friendly. Loved the fenced in yard. It was very relaxing and exactly what we needed. I agree with the other reviews that it doesn't feel like a rental, but a home.

Our son loved the games and puzzles on the back wall. He could not get enough of them .The TV and video games were great, although we spent the majority of our time in the lake and on the deck.

We rented a pontoon boat for 3 days and we easily were able to dock it at the house. Krogers/Food Lion were just a few miles away and we made daily trips there.

We highly recommend the Smith Mountain Lake Community Park. It's about a 12 minute drive. We were able to easily take our dogs into the water and there was a small beach for our 3.5 year old to swim in.

I would also recommend going to see the Smith Mountain Lake Dam. It's pretty amazing.

It was truly a positive experience and I would highly recommend this Lakehouse to everybody and anybody.

The owner and the house are top notch.

Tom - Thanks for a truly memorable, relaxing, perfect vacation.
Owner's Response: Hi Angie, Thank you so much for the awesome review. Nothing is better than knowing our guests enjoy the home as much as we do. We try very hard to make the home as inviting as possible. We are so glad you had a great time and we hope to have you back again. Thank you for being our guest.
Helpful votes: 26/26
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Chester, VA USA
5

Great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was the perfect getaway. The house had everything we needed and more. We loved our time there and can't wait to rent it during the summer months so we can swim and tube as well. The owner was very helpful and wonderful to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Laura, So glad you had a good time at the home. We hope to have you back again soon as a guest.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Raleigh, NC
5

The Best of Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had the pleasure of staying at this home over the past summer. The home is laid out very well and was perfect for our group of 8 and our dog Missy. The kids had their own space and so did the adults. We were never on top of each other. The dock and boat house are a great place to hang out. The cove was private and protected which was great for the kids to swim. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could think of. You can tell the owners care for the home very well. Speaking of the owners, Tom was really great to deal with. He answered all of our many questions and really made the whole process easy. We got our deposit check in the mail two days after we left which was a nice surprise. We would all highly recommend this home to any family looking for a good time at the lake.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Peggy, thank you for the terrific review. You seem to love the home as much as we do. We too love the layout of the home and it works great for our family and friends. Our kids love swimming the cove all day and it is hard to get them out of the water. We hope to have you back soon.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
4

Smith Mountain lake in the Winter

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Beautifully designed and fully appointed home. We loved the house - it was perfect for our family and our teenagers imagined how much fun it would be in the summer time - especially with the great dock and pier. We had a little snow and hunkered down to enjoy the views. We hiked Peaks of Otter and visited Moosie's. This house is in an ideal location for Smith Mountain Lake and we really appreciated the owner's hospitality. Everything we needed was at the house. Thank you.
Owner's Response: Hi Amy, Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you loved the house and had a great time. We work very hard to try and make the home as comfortable as possible for our guests and reviews like this are greatly appreciated.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Richmond, VA
5

Great House - Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent 4th of July week with our friends at this house. We had so much fun! The house is a great size for two families. We brought 2 dogs with us and they had just as much fun as we did. The fenced in yard was perfect for them - with no weak spots for them to escape. The house is close to several grocery stores and shopping areas, but it still feels like a secluded cove - far enough away from the the jet ski and boat traffic of the lake. The house was clean, well decorated; the beds were very comfy and the dock was perfect! On the 4th of July we were able to see lots of firework displays all around the lake - we just sat on the deck and enjoyed the show! Many thanks for a great week! I would definately visit this house again and reccommend to friends.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Sara, Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you had such a good time at our lake home. You had the best week of the year! 4th of July is always awesome at the lake!
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Charlottesville, VA
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Smith Mountain Lake. Your home was perfect for our family -- the young folks downstairs with their own sleeping area and TV while the "older" folks could stay upstairs. The deck was roomy and great too. The dock was the favorite place to hang out because of the deep water swimming with the noodles and large float, fishing and kayaking. The house was stocked with all the necessities and the kitchen was roomy with lots of everything we needed. The fenced yard for the dogs was fantastic -- which made life so much more pleasant than having them on ropes. It was clean and the owners were very attentive and responsive to our questions. We loved the property and would recommend it highly and probably return to it when we visit SML again. You even gave us fantastic weather!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hi Margaret, Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy you had a great time. Nothing is better than to get a review like this. We hope to have you back again soon.
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

An oasis on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I've rented a number of properties in my life but this one is special in that it feels like a home, and not like a rental property. From the secluded (but very convenient) location, to the furnishings, kitchen and things like the quality gas grill, this place doesn't feel like someone's investment property but instead like the place you'd buy/build if you had the dough and that's a great thing.

We particularly enjoyed the private cove that the house sits on and would spend hours just sitting on the dock reading while the kids swam. The other thing we loved was that while it felt very private and secluded, it was actually quite close to the grocery store and other amenities so even if you forgot to pick something up it was no big deal.

All in all a great relaxing time and Tom the owner clearly cares about his guests and works hard to make sure that the house is in great shape for your stay. We'll be back and we've told friends about it too who plan to rent a week next year. Thanks Tom.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the stellar review. We try very hard to make each person feel at home and love when our guests feel that way. We too love the location and privacy of the home and are glad you appreciate it as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Crozet, VA
5

Best Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
WOW…we had a such a great time. The house is great, the dock is awesome and the location is perfect. We LOVED the house and all it had to offer. What a great layout and super cute. The house was immaculate when we arrived and everything was perfect. Great views of the lake and the dock is large enough for everyone and our two boats. Fishing from the dock turned out to be pretty good as well. All and all a great trip plus the owner is super nice and easy to reach. We will be back for sure. Best money we ever spent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sally, WOW is right, thank you for the stellar review. We are so glad you had a great time at the house. Nothing is better for us than to see a review like this. Thank you so much!
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
4

Relaxation at the Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great time, very nice house, fenced yard, which was perfect for the dog! Owners were very accommodating ..... we had a problem with the DVD player, and they called right away and walked us through the issue. Great house & beautiful view, would definitely go back!
Owner's Response: So happy you guys and the dog had a good time. Please keep us in mind the next time you are headed to the lake. We would love to have you back again.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Valrico, Florida USA
5

Best location is the best !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I have stayed at several different locations at SML over the past two years. No place that my wife and I have stayed at has had so many great things going for it as this home. The location is amazingly close to everything yet still isolated on a quiet cove. When you come to the lake for vacation(which we did), you want to see the lake, not just be near it. The upstairs family room that faces the lake is wonderful and the views are great everywhere you look. The dock is a great place to sit and unwind after a long day. Tom, who we rented the lake house from, is by far the most responsive ownwer I have had the pleasure to do business with. We had a minor problem during our stay and he was on top of it immediately. We will be back for sure and repeat business is the best form of flattery. Thanks for a great time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bob, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to keep on top of everything as we know your time away is very precious. We hope to have you back again as our guest.
Helpful votes: 9/9