Gualala house rental - Hot tub on the deck
Hot tub on the deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Gualala House Rental Photos and Description
Oceanfront House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

*******************************************

PLEASE NOTE: The VRBO/HomeAway calendar search function is currently not working properly, and the panel to the upper right may show Cove House as unavailable when it is in fact available. Please look at the 6-month calendar below for accurate availability, or email us to check if your dates are available. Thanks, Patrick & Lisa.

*******************************************

Perched at the edge of a bluff overlooking some of the most spectacular coastline in Northern California, Cove House sits facing West-Southwest on a fenced acre and a half, with private access to the cove below. A true nature-lover's paradise: whale watching, kayaking, tidepooling, all at your doorstep. If you long for a place to recharge and get back to a relaxing and simple life, this is it!

This charming, two-bedroom, one-bath home is light and airy with white-washed wood beamed ceilings and comfortable cottage-style furnishings. The ocean-side bedroom provides direct ocean views and deck access. A second bedroom is paneled in knotty pine and has the look and feel of a vintage cabin.

The living room entertainment center is stocked with books, board games, and movies for your enjoyment. An adjacent sunken oceanfront sun room leads to the large deck with the hot tub that practically hovers over the cove. Both the living areas and deck offer panoramic white-water views of cliffs, a rocky cove, offshore islands, and the wide horizon of the Pacific. Our sea-side meadow offers its own jaw-dropping views - ideal for a leisurely game of croquet or horseshoes (both provided). Or curl up in an Adirondack chair with a good book, some wine and cheese, and the surf lapping in the cove below. Watch the sun set as hawks, pelicans, egrets, and an occasional crane sail by.

The Gualala stretch of Highway One is one of the most scenic in the country, and is the mid-way point of a drive Coastal Living magazine recently named the #1 coastal drive in North America. Gualala itself enjoys a 'banana belt' microclimate, with sun and mild temperatures much of the year - along with the occasional whopping coastal storm to entertain and lend an extra coziness to winter guests enjoying a warm fire by the glass-front wood stove. The world-renowned Sea Ranch golf course is located just ten minutes south of Cove House and is open to the public, kayaks can be rented in town, there are several excellent restaurants in the area, and the lovingly-restored Point Arena Theater runs first-run movies and regularly hosts concerts.

Cove House is a wonderful place to celebrate that special birthday or anniversary, or just to relax and forget about the rest of the world for a few days. Kick off your shoes, prop up your feet, and stay awhile!

More Details
Hide Details

Patrick is a third-generation Berkeleyan, who has lived most of his life in the Bay Area with some years in Argentina, LA, and San Luis Obispo. He is an IT project manager, scuba diver, die-hard Giants fan, and political junkie. Lisa lived in the Midwest, Northeast and South before finally settling in the Bay Area. She is a former recruiter and HR manager turned painter and lover of good fiction. We have four grown children.

Patrick Ellis & Lisa Lauer purchased this house in 2001

We both love the North Coast and found we particularly liked the Gualala area for the dramatic seascapes, great weather, and less touristy ambiance.

We like to just close the gate at Cove House and withdraw from the world. We love to go tidepooling in the cove, check out the frequent art shows in the area, enjoy some wine and cheese out in the meadow looking out towards some offshore islands, catch the sunset from the hot tub and watch the stars come out. We maintain an excellent and broad library at Cove House too, so there's always a good book to read.

41 Reviews of Property 116115 in Gualala, California

Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.904762 based on 41 reviews
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
5

Perfect Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My boyfriend and I spent a romantic weekend at this spectacular cottage last weekend for his birthday. The place was absolutely spotless - so clean that we marveled over it. The view was amazing and one to be enjoyed day or night. The hot tub was hot when we arrived and super clean. We also enjoyed two sunsets in the lovely meadow. The climb down to the cove was easy and the tide pools were fun. We drove up the coast one day to Mendocinco and had two great meals right in Gualala. We highly recommend St. Orres for a romantic dinner. We hope to make this our regular get away place and can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Fenton
5

Peaceful and Breathtaking at once!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were thrilled with this home...it had every convenience and the location was at the edge of the world. The sunsets we watched from the hot tub on the deck were gorgeous beyond description, and the peacefulness was perfection. We felt totally safe even though we were in a sparsely populated area of California. There was an incredible library which we took advantage of, including bird identification books. Our time there felt like heaven on earth. I sincerely hope we can return some day, as it was beyond our expectations.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Ukiah
4

Cove House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a beautiful home! Wonderful view of the ocean and the cove seems to be a popular fishing place as there were several boats daily. The house is very clean and cozy.
My only complaint is the neighbors are closer than I expected with full view of the hot tub, so no naked tubbing! One of the neighbors spent the entire weekend remodeling or building something so we got to hear hammering, nailing and power tools all weekend. Not the fault of anyone, just bad timing on our part.
Aside from that we had a very relaxing anniversary weekend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're sorry you happened to be at Cove House when the neighbors decided to do that project! They're generally very quiet, and are rarely even on the side of their house that faces Cove House.

For everyone else reading this, we assure you that the neighbors are across a fairly wide creek gully and truly are unobtrusive. This is honestly the first complaint in 12.5 years we've gotten about the neighbors, and we think we only need to point to every other review being a 5-star review--with no mention of the neighbors--as proof that the neighbors are really not an issue for the vast majority of people staying at Cove House. Typically the only people you'll see across the gully are people from the neighbor's few rental cottages, when they use their path to the shore (Cove House has a separate and private path to the shore).

Many of our renters in fact report a great feeling of seclusion at Cove House, which we completely agree with. While there are neighbors within sight, Cove House is oriented towards the cove and away from the other property, so it's easy to forget about them. Yes, getting in & out of the hot tub naked during the day would be a bit exhibitionist, so if you like to hot tub nude, just bring your swimsuits and slip out of them once immersed, or wait until dark! (And yes, the hot tub is cleaned and treated between all rentals!)
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Huntsville, AL
5

Pacific Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This rental was everything I could have hoped for. The pictures cannot truly convey the gorgeous sunsets and comfort of the home. Laying out on the deck in the afternoon with the warm sun and cool ocean breeze was a welcome change from the high humidity I live with every summer. I would definitely return for future visits!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
5

Wonderful week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house and view are even more lovely than the photos can show. The library is extraordinary. We spent a week in total relaxation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Bakersfield, California
5

Honeymoon and BEST vacation EVER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I were married on May 11. We could not wait to get to the Cove House and finally unwind from all things wedding. The Cove House far exceeded our expectations. The house had everything we needed. The views and serenity were amazing. The pictures listed on the site are beautiful, but the Cove House and its views are so much more beautiful in person. If you are looking to get away from the world and the big cities, the Cove House and Gualala, California is the place for you. We drove up the coast several times visiting local tourist sites and Anderson Valley for local wine. Everything was amazing. My only regret, is that we did not plan to stay longer at the Cove House. We are already planning our next trip back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Santa Fe, NM
5

Very enjoyable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Very comfortable, clean and quiet. And, I am a tough customer because I have vacation rentals in Santa Fe. We were very relaxed by the time we left the house. Many thanks.
Roxanne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Long Beach, CA
5

Honeymoon Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed here for our honeymoon. As soon as we walked in, the view took our breath away. The large windows face the setting sun in the west. You have a private walk to the cove below to explore. We had great weather and everything worked out perfect. It was an outstanding get away location and a great deal for what you get. The home has everything you need. Town is close and the people are wonderful. Day trips to all sorts of places are near. There is tuns to do or tuns not to do. I do not know how many hours we spent just looking out at the ocean. We saw whales and heard seals barking. We soaked it all in and loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Sacramento, CA
4

Cove House 2013

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a wonderful place!!! We were specifically looking for A place on the ocean to celebrate our anniversary and the Cove House did not disappoint. The home was so comfortable and clean, that the moment we walked in we felt like we were at home.

The home has access to the cove below and there was plenty of opportunities to go down to the tide pools and see ocean life. We were even able to see whales off it the distance coming up for air in the first day there. The sunsets from the meadow are beautiful and the evenings in the hot tub were so relaxing. The surrounding area has plenty of fun things to do for day trips, such as visiting the Point Arena light house.

Thanks you Lisa and Patrick for opening your home up to me and my boyfriend. The rental process was easy and you answered all my questions before making my reservation. The driving directions were perfect and the location and amenities were all we had hoped for.

Our only regret..... We stayed four nights. Next time we would stay for the whole week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Oceanfront Cottage - Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116115vb
+1 7074128828
Gualala North Coast California
Flagstaff, AZ
5

Lisa (Flagstaff, AZ)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Absolutely wonderful property. Very private and peaceful. Hot tub is the best! Much newer and nicer than picture appears. Spent a lot of time just sitting on the deck listening to the sound of the earth. Although there is much to do in the surrounding area, you may just want to stay put! House is very clean and I would definitely consider renting property again. Owners made rental process smooth. I would definately love to return for another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway