Portland house rental - Lexie House retains its vintage 1905 charm.
Lexie House retains its vintage 1905 charm.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Portland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + double futon, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3-5)

Lexie House is a cozy, comfortable, restored 1905 cottage tucked right into the middle of Portland's most coveted historic neighborhood.

Your friendly hosts live nearby, and are available to assist you or just leave you alone to enjoy your stay.

Antique and vintage furnishings, along with original fir floors and many wavy-glass windows, add to the cottage charm. But 'mod-cons' -- including cable Internet access -- abound. Ten-foot high ceilings, with an open floor plan and lots of light.

In the master bedroom, there's a late-1800’s brass double bed, with a Tempur-pedic mattress. The smaller bedroom also boasts an antique brass bed, a single.

The spacious open living area offers a comfortable double futon, adjustable Morris chair, good reading lights, desk with high-speed Internet access, and TV with premium cable.

In the bathroom, there's a shower, tub -- and rubber duckies galore! Highchair, crib, playpen, changing table and stroller are available, as are roll-a-way and inflatable beds for your own visitors.

The fully equipped kitchen has a modern gas range and stainless steel fridge, dishwasher, microwave, cookware, dishes, herbs and spices, and (of course!) that Pacific NW essential: an espresso machine!

The utility room off the kitchen has a washer and dryer. The kitchen opens into a tranquil deck area, with two tables, chairs, a barbecue -- and the surrounding bamboo garden creating maximum privacy.

Sellwood Park, with its seasonal public pool and wonderfully equipped playground, is three long blocks away. Westmoreland Park -- playground and all -- is three blocks in the other direction.

The public library is on the next block. Funky or elegant restaurants, grocery stores, two Starbucks, and Sellwood's justly-famed Antique Row are all a stroll away. A four-block walk takes you to the New Seasons natural foods market.

Explore Oaks Bottom, renowned wildlife preserve -- or Oaks Park, America's oldest continually running amusement park!

Take the bus to Portland's downtown and east side shopping districts. Reed College, Lewis & Clark College and Law School, Oregon Health Sciences Universities and Portland State are all a ten-minute drive away.

More Details
Hide Details

Susan and Sam, writer and lawyer respectively, are longtime Sellwood homeowners, and love to help visitors enjoy all the historic neighborhood has to offer.

26 Reviews of Property 276678 in Portland, Oregon

Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

Lovely little house, perfect neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here for several weeks in August, and it was lovely. The house itself is darling. It's also super kid friendly--when Susan heard we'd be bringing our two children, she brought over a huge bin of legos that kept them entertained for days. Our kids loved the tiny back bedroom too. Overall, the house feels very homey, and the kitchen is fully equipped. There is a little patio in back where you can eat on nice days. Susan was a great hostess and was there to answer our dumb questions (like how to work the cable). And when we forgot a few things, like we always do, she graciously volunteered to mail them to us.

The house is also in the perfect location in the perfect Portland neighborhood. You can walk to the park, to the local pool, to get a sandwich at Grand Central, to rent a game at Cloud Cap Games, to get groceries at New Seasons... and the list goes on and on. The library across the street even gives out temporary cards if you want to borrow a book! Could not have been happier with our stay.
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
Fenton, MO (near St. Louis)
5

Nice Christmas cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Lexie House was a great home away from home while we visited kids and grandkids in Portland. Susan and Sam were gracious hosts who went out of their way to make it feel more like Christmas by putting up a tree for us so that we could put the grandkids' presents under the tree. They also went above and beyond by providing extra table and chairs so that we could host a family Christmas dinner. We all had a lovely time and are so grateful that we found Susan and Sam and Lexie House. What a great place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
Munich, Germany
5

Great place for staying in a lively neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We found the little house fully equipped with everything you need, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The owner gave us a warm welcome, check-in and check-out were easy and uncomplicated, so were the arrangements before and after our stay (communication, confirmation, payment, refund of deposit, etc.) Giving us many options to contact her made sure our stay was always comfortable.
The property is situated in a quiet side street, in easy walking distance from shops and restaurants. Easy access to buses to downtown, centrally located as well for trips by car, parking available on the street.
We would definitely want to come back and can recommend this property to anyone who wants to spend some nice days in that neighborhood.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

Superbly presented and very charming cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Susan is a wonderful host who goes out of her way to make sure her guests really enjoy their stay. The cottage is a delight and very well equipped. I f you enjoy staying in a real neighbourhood, this is for you!

Veryhighly recommended!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

A Cozy Cottage Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was my 3rd stay at Lexie...keep being drawn back there, because it is comfortable, safe, charming and complete....full bath, kitchen, laundry, comfortable beds, wireless internet, cable...have all of this plus a delightful community to explore with restaurants, shops, grocery store, parks and movie theater. I really like throwing a coat on when I wake up and walking across street with my mug for fresh coffee and pastry!!! Everything is convenient. In addition, it is an easy drive to downtown Portland, highways or the suburbs. To make visit completely wonderful, the friendly owners attend to detail and readily help you in any way possible.

Really now, Lexie House is the best spot to be in Portland!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
Berkeley, California
5

Lexie House Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I just returned from our second stay at Lexie House, and, if possible, we enjoyed it even more this time. It's in my favorite neighborhood in Portland, Sellwood, and is filled with beautiful, gracious old homes with lovely landscaping, as well as a lively restaurant scene and lots of antique shops. Lexie House is a charming little cottage just a hop and a skip from the heart of the action. Great restaurants and shops in easy walking distance ... even a few food trucks just across the street!

The bedrooms are sweet, but my favorite part of this little cottage are the spacious and comfortable living room adjoined by an equally spacious and comfortable kitchen replete with all possible cooking and eating paraphernalia including a charming and large kitchen table where we spent many happy hours talking and eating with our family.

Just off the kitchen is a small deck, garden, and grill. What more could we want? Susan and Sam, our hosts, are friendly, funny, very generous with all manner of welcoming gifts for their guests, and extremely prompt in addressing any problem or inquiry. Late Friday afternoon in the middle of a brief heat wave, we called to ask about the malfunctioning air conditioner unit. Susan arrived within a half hour, worked hard at untangling wires, then called Sam. Eventually through a lot of effort by both of them, it was magically fixed!

Wonderful relief for an hour or two when the heat wave broke, but they thought that was funny too. They are a cheerful pair. Altogether, Lexie House is comfortable, charming, and extremely well located. It's a treat that should not be missed!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

Adorable cottage in Sellwood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I and our two kids were met at the airport by the owner, Susan. She give us lots of information about getting around, a gift certificate to a great restaurant around the corner and a nice bottle of wine. Very helpful and friendly.
The house is a cozy little cottage in Sellwood. We had a great stay and can't wait to come back. Nancy Marshall
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

Nice Place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The house was comfortable, clean, quiet, and walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops, and parks. During our walks through the neighborhood we enjoyed viewing the unique rambler style homes and flower gardens planted in most front yards.

I highly recommend staying here and taking time to explore Portland's Sellwood neighborhood.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

Comfy, Cozy, and Convenient!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I knew this was going to be a positive experience when the owner offered to pick me up from the airport because she found out I didn't have a car! It was so nice to have someone greet me when I arrived in Portland. The house itself is adorable. It is well-maintained, cozy, and about 50 feet from the main street in Sellwood, which includes two cute coffee shops, a bunch of food carts, a bike shop, a bakery, etc.
It is an ideal place for a couple looking for a romantic, affordable vacation, or for a 3-4 person family that doesn't mind being a little tight. Overall it was a really easy rental experience, and Susan, the owner, was very easy to communicate with through the entire process. I'll also say that the bottle of wine and restaurant gift certificate were very nice touches. Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lexie House -- A Cozy Victorian Cottage in Portland's Sellwood Neighborhood!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276678
+1 5032367875
Portland Oregon
5

THREE TIMES A CHARM

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I am just wrapping up my third month-long visit to this wonderful little home in the heart of Sellwood, and already looking forward to a fourth stay next year. I just love it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3