Sausalito house rental - morning view
morning view
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sausalito House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Fabulous panoramic city and water views from Coit Tower to Bay Bridge, Alcatraz, Angel Island, Belvedere. Deck, garden, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths (each bathroom has a shower but the ground floor bathroom is small). Walk, along the Bay, to excellent restaurants, cafes, music, bus, ferry, sailing, kayaking, art galleries, all only a few blocks away!

This very cute house, built in 1920 and with many original features, is situated on a sunny lot in Old Town Sausalito (a flatter part of Sausalito) on a quiet street and has a spacious back yard. The walk back and forth to the Bay is easy with a gentle slope.

There are two living areas, the Bay side which is very sunny in the morning, and the street side around the (not yet functional) antique fireplace.

There is a small public, dog-friendly beach close by. Rodeo Beach (off-leash) is a 10 mins scenic drive through the Marin Headlands.

The ferry is an enjoyable 10 mins walk and it takes about 30 mins to the City. You can take a late night bus back. There are bus stops one block from the house.

One block away is a general store with organic vegetables, fresh bread, and local wines and beers.

Generally, we do not rent out for less than 7 days. Maximum number of days is 14 to 21 depending on availability.

Please check our calendar for availability before submitting an inquiry.

Keywords: House, view, close to down town.

More Details
Hide Details

We are (semi-)retired couple who initially bought this house for one or two nights/week. We live about an hour away from Sausalito and fell in love with the views.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

We were dreaming of a place with a wonderful view with easy walks along the Bay to restaurants and long walks on dog-friendly beaches. The house is only minutes away from excellent restaurants and the Ferry to the City.

The house had multiple offers and was sold within a week, just because of the location and view.

The most enjoyable hours of the day are early morning watching the sun rise and the fog dissipating around Angel Island and Alcatraz and the evenings watching the City Lights. Taking the Ferry to San Francisco in the afternoon, browsing the Market in the Ferry Building, having dinner at a North Beach Italian restaurant, and taking the bus back to Sausalito is a delightful way to enjoy the City.

74 Reviews of Property 276378 in Sausalito, California

Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
average rating of 4.9459457 based on 74 reviews
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
5

Best Winter Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This winter we have been incredibly fortunate to wake up every morning to a fabulous view of the sun rising over the Bay from our bedroom window. This rental has been the perfect haven for my husband, English Setter and me. Aside from giving us an amazingly comfortable home to escape from Minnesota’s cruel winter, it meets every expectation created by the listing description and more. Although the photos on the site are beautiful, they cannot capture the beauty of the view or the comfort of the home. Frits, the owner, meticulously cares for this property and has been available to answer the most trivial request at a moment’s notice. Aside from the view, the location could not be more perfect. It is a quick walk to the ferry, which I take daily into the city to work. The highlight of my day now is my commute! We have realized it is rare to have this view without a commensurately difficult hike up the hills here. Additionally, Frits has thought of everything one needs. Whenever we think we are lacking in something, we end up finding that Frits has already thought of it. He also provided an amazing list of recommended restaurants, sites and activities, all of which we are making our way through enthusiastically. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants a lovely place to stay in the Bay area, and particularly if they have brought a furry friend with. It is perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
5

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, our Golden Retriever and I stayed at this perfect rental for three weeks. The lovely house was exactly as depicted in the description and photographs, yet the reality was even better. The views were spectacular and the location was ideal for walking to the town and the ferry. Frits, our host, was a pleasure to work with; he is helpful, attentive and professional. We look forward our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
Boulder, CO
5

lucky to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We are so lucky to stay in your Sausalito home during the American Cup Races. Walking to the Ferry takes only 12 mins and a wonderful ride to SF across the Bay. I drank my morning coffee on the deck and watched the fog creep in and lift to show the City. Two books were read on the deck: Kon-tiki (thor heyetahl) and The wild parrots of Telegraph Hill. My daughter visited one weekend and we saw flocks of green parrots in the park across the SF ferry building on Embarcadero. This is a fabulous location to explore and enjoy. It is a relaxing retreat and the sparkling sun on the water always makes me happy. Thank you for our wonderful vacation. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
Bend, Oregon
5

Just like home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed a week, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. The house is perfectly located...2 blocks to the bus to take you to San Francisco; a few blocks from downtown Sausalito and the ferry. The views are amazing!! The perfect place to return to after a day of sightseeing. Waking up each morning with a view of the beautiful blue sky over the bay was awesome. fritS made sure our stay was uncomplicated and enjoyable. Thank you, again, for your hospitality! We can't wait to return for another visit. ~merrae and dan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
Chicagoland area, IL
5

Gem on the Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Your home is so warm and lovely, and we've had such a wonderful stay in what is now "our Gem on the Bay".
We were thrilled to see over the Bay (and what a gorgeous view it is), every morning and evening.

We had a great trip and enjoyed so many things that the area has to offer. None of the four of us have been to California before, so we took in as many sites as could fit into our stay:
San Francisco - a Giants games, the piers, cable cars, golden gate park
Muir Woods and Point Reyes area
carmel and monterey (and Gilroy too!)
and of course, beautiful Sausalito

Created so many memories for my husband and myself and this special week spent with my parents
Thanks for any and all of your guidance and the delicious wine also.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
4

Sausalito Vacation Rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home was just as described. It was quite cozy. The views were outstanding. We were able to walk to downtown Sausalito and catch the ferry boat to San Francisco. It was also an easy commute to Muir Woods. The mild weather was perfect for touring the area. The owner was very accommodating. He even left a bottle of wine and a gift certificate to a wonderful Italian restaurant. We would stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
5

lovely place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
what a lovely place, we enjoyed our vacation. The views are incredible, better than even expected from the online pictures. So appreciative that we could bring our dog, it made it a true family vacation for us. Frits, you were a lovely host and so willing to communicate and help - your rental gets a 5 star from us and we hope to be back soon
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
-
5

Sausalito home rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family and I had a wonderful time staying at this Sausalito vacation home. Frits, the owner is a super person who cares very much that his guests enjoy their stay at his home. From my first email to Frits through our departure Frits could not have been more helpful. He is a true gentleman. The home has great SF bay and city views, and is within walking distance to downtown Sausalito. If you want to drive to Muir Woods or Napa Valley it is super easy due to the close proximity to US 101.
I highly recommend this vacation home in Sausalito! Thanks again, Frits!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
5

Great stay, excellent care from Frits!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed there 5/17 over the weekend for a wedding. We were in a pinch to find a place for 3 couples and Frits actually went out of his way to accommodate us. We are so thankful. He was very responsive to every one of our inquiries, by email and then even over text during our stay. He had keys for each couple, a complimentary bottle of wine, and even a gift certificate to the nearby italian restaurant. His instructions were simple and thorough and checking in/out was a breeze.

We left a t-shirt behind and he even mailed it back to us free of charge. I wish all rental experiences were as easy as this one. We hope to return someday.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wake up with View of San Francisco Bay/Alcatraz & Angel Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276378vbi
Sausalito The Bay Area
England
5

sausalito is a treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were so excited to see the house for the first time and it has not disappointed us in any way!
From the very beginning it gave us a comfortable and welcoming place to stay and return to.
Sausalito is a treasure and provides a great base for exploring the whole area. Frits made the whole experience so easy and enjoyable. The wine was thoroughly enjoyable on the deck admiring the views of the Bay.
We will miss this lovely retreat, however I am sure it wont be too long before we persuade ourselves we deserve another visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2