Puerto Morelos house rental - from the oceanfront porch
from the oceanfront porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Puerto Morelos House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom 2½ baths

The beauty of the ocean right at your door. Calm, scenic, relaxing, and secluded yet close. 25 minutes from the airport, 30 minutes north to Cancun, or 30 minutes south to Playa del Carmen. Also, we're just down the beach from the fishing village of Puerto Morelos. We really are right in the middle of everything. The house has 3 bedrooms upstairs. The first is a master bedroom suite with king bed, comfortable double bed futon, and private bathroom, plus a private ocean overlook breakfast balcony to watch the sunrise. Also, 2 other bedrooms and full bath with king beds. There is also a half bath downstairs.

Large windows to let in the sun and ocean breeze. Spacious, open floor plan on the first floor living area, with full kitchen, dining room, and spacious living room. Swim in the ocean or lounge around your own oceanside pool and patio. Sit on the oceanfront porch to while away the hours with your favorite snacks while watching the boats go by, or enjoy the private rooftop sundeck for an all over tan or to watch the stars at night.

All the comforts of home and your own caretaker who lives on site in a separate cottage to carry your luggage and help with anything you need. Restaurants abound all over the Riviera Maya. with food for every taste.

This home is perfect for a group or family looking for a quiet, safe and relaxing getaway. You will feel right at home and you won't have to drive far after a long flight. Friendly people, great weather, beautiful beaches,and the paradise lifestyle await you.

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased our property several years ago to build on it for our retirement, while vacationing here. The climate is the best place we've ever been in the winter. We are 25 minutes to Cancun International Airport, so we can easily get to anyplace in the world. From most of the northern major cities of the USA and CANADA, we can be here sitting on the front porch having a martini, before someone else can get thru the airport at their destination in Florida. Flight time from New York to Cancun is one hour longer than getting to Miami. The entire Mayan Riviera coast is still growing, so it's a great place to live, and play. We LOVE to shop, and this is a shoppers paradise.

louis connors purchased this house in 2007

We really enjoy the tranquility of the Puerto Morelos area and the location is so central to everything going on in the Riviera Maya. Always a sea breeze blowing thru the windows all year round, and you can hear the sound of the surf, or just sit on the porch and watch the pelicans and seagulls fly overhead and swoop in for fish. We have a nice social life, as there are many other english speakers around, from many places, as well as our latin and european friends. We dine with friends frequently, and there is always a new or unique place to try some different cuisine, whether it's at a friends home or party, or in a restaurant specializing in food from another country, which there are plenty of all over the area. There is always some new activity, or festival somewhere. We love to beachwalk, and we meet many people from all over the world who come here for vacation and we get into some very interesting coversations. We love to sit on the oceanfront balcony and just people watch, or swim in the ocean, or in our own private pool, or quietly read in a gently swinging hammock, and listen to music, while mellowing out with the sounds of the sea. We also go to the sidewalk cafes alot for a drink and a chat, and there are loads of them too, in every city and town. There is plenty to see and plenty to do. There is something for everyone here. And then there are the markets. Another bonanza!

32 Reviews of Property 276326 in Puerto Morelos, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
average rating of 4.645161 based on 32 reviews
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Pennsylvania
5

Beautiful, Exotic and Relaxing Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family of 5 and I just spent a delightful summer vacation at this home and it was wonderful. We thought it may be hot because it was August in the tropics, and were pleasantly surprised that there was a nice breeze coming off the ocean everyday. The water temperature both in the pool and in the ocean was just right. We sat on the porch and watched the ships passing far out at sea, and played on what seemed our own private beach. Even though there were other people in residence, there are few on the beach at any given time. Antonio the caretaker, cut and opened fresh coconuts for us, and we put rum and spices in them, and drank our own version of authentic pina colladas. That was a first for all of us. The house was the cleanest beach house we ever rented, and the oceanfront garden was a delight. We grilled lunch several times right by the ocean, and went out for dinner every night. There are tons of restaurants everywhere you go. A week was not enough time. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

Exactly as advertised!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a wonderful time at this property. It is very private and the owner was very accomodating. The house is set up for families with small children, with pack-and-play, highchair and even a small lawn chair. The caretaker is available as much or as little as you need him. His guacamole is to die for :-) Puerto Morelos is a small town with surprisingly many restaurants . If groceries are needed, though, make the 25 minute run into Playa Del Carmen and the Walmart. Only complaint we had were the mattresses which gave most of us a sore back. We would definitely come back and can recommend this property for anyone who is looking for some relaxing days in the sun and in the pool.
Owner's Response: A nice family that came down for a short getaway, that we hope to see again sometime for a longer vacation. We use orthopedic mattresses on all of our beds. We are inspected by a quality control agency every six months. When checking the sleeping accommodations they check for firmness, support, wear, condition, etc.
We realize that each persons back, comfort zone, and support needs are different, and if there are any mattress issues that have to be addressed, at any inspection, for any reason, we replace them immediately.
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

Most relaxing vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband, another couple, and myself spent a wonderful week relaxing at Casa Manalou. I was impressed with my very first contact with Louis. I made my inquiry via the telephone and found him to be very helpful and very efficient. I was so impressed with his prompt replies when I emailed him questions. He gave very explicit directions and we were able to drive right to the house with no problems from the airport. At first, we were hesitant to rent a car but a car is a must.The house is too far to walk to town. The driving wasn't as horrible as we anticipated. Louis and Ana were at the house to meet and greet us. Poncho carried our luggage into the house for us. Ana made a beautiful fruit basket for us as a welcome gift. We were touched by her generosity. Louis and Ana took time out of their busy schedule to show us the beach road into town. Puerto Morales is a quaint little town. We ate at Habaneros, Pelicanos, and John Gray's Kitchen-highly recommend those restaurants. We bought most groceries in Playa but picked up items as we needed them in Puerto Morelos. We absolutely adored Poncho, the caretaker. We had no idea he would make our beds, sweep the floors,and remove the garbage daily. He is attempting to learn English so it was fun trying to communicate as we did not speak Spanish. He would tell us the Spanish word and we would tell him the English word. He is so delightful and thoughtful. He brought us coconut drinks and fresh guacomole that were so delicious! We enjoyed having coffee each morning on the porch and watching the ships pass by. The ocean was extremely warm as well as the pool. We went to Cozumel for a day and enjoyed the day trip. We spent the other days relaxing by the pool enjoying the warm sunshine and the beautiful view. The house is beautiful and had all the amenities anyone could need. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the house. We had neighbors but we never heard them. It is an extremely quiet neighborhood. The ocean breeze is fabulous for sleeping with the window open listening to the ocean. Both couples went home very relaxed and enjoyed their vacation. We would definitely stay at Casa Manalou again.
Owner's Response: Another group of guests that were a delight to host. They reaffirmed the convenience of a car, which we always recommend, even if you can walk to the store. Car rental is very cost effective. The pyramids are far inland from the coast, and most major attractions are all day affairs. Puerto Morelos is in the center of the "Riviera Maya", and only 25 minutes from the airport,so having your own car will maximize the time you have to go sightseeing and shopping. There is alot to see and do here, and not only should you be selective in what you wish to see and do, you will have to make return trips to see it all.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Calgary
4

An enjoyable holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I and another couple stayed here for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. I would definitely recommend a car as the walk to town is long. The house is amply equipped with good cooking facilities and the living room with TV is comfortable. We were able to connect my husband's computer with no problem although my Ipad would not connect, however I was forwarned of this possibity ahead of time and was not disappointed. There are also 2 barbecues which we made use of especially the old fashioned charcoal one which was our favourite. There are some really wonderful things to say about Casa Manalou.
First, Anna and Louis are very helpful managers and were there to greet us as was a lovely bowl of fruit prepared for us by Anna. They visited weekly and were easy to contact if we had problems. As well, Anna went out of her way to help our friend locate something she needed for her daughter's wedding that she was hoping to buy in Cancun.
Second was Pancho, the lovely young man who looked after the house and pool area. He is learning English and is eager to chat with guests. He made us delightful coconut drinks, guacamole and chips and ceviche which he served on the patio.
Third, the pool is fantastic for a cooling dip and right outside the door. We always had a refreshing breeze and spent most of our time outside. The fellows fished from the sea wall and caught a surprising number of fish. We had sundowners on the rooftop and watched the numerous cruise ships go by. The house is convenient to both Cancun and Playa but Puerto Morelos was our favourite place and the locals are very friendly. Shopping for groceries was a breeze at the local Chedraui.
The only downside to the house was the beach because it is small and susceptible to erosion, as well as trash and seaweed being washed up depending on wind and current. While we were there is was not a particularly nice beach to walk or swim off. We believe this was partly due to a neighbouring property raking their weed and trash back into the ocean every morning.
Overall our stay was wonderful and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: These guests were a pleasure to host, and we would welcome their return any time. They seemed to really enjoy the laid back tropical lifestyle which is what we offer. The photos are representative of our beach, and the upside of a small beach is that we don't get the day trippers, on weekends. Also, our little cove is far enough away from the hotels, that we don't get many people walking by on the beach, so it remains a very quiet peaceful place, and still close to everything. This guest is also right that a car is recommended, but a car should be in your vacation plans period, if you are going to do any sightseeing or shopping. There is alot to see and do here, and attractions and shopping are spread over a wide area. Pyramids and most major attractions are all day trips, and getting there can be tedious and time consuming if you take public transport. With the prices of taxis and busses ever going up, it's very cost effective to rent a car, and have the convenience of being able to go where you want to go, when you want to go.This is especially true when you have 4 or more in your group, not to mention the cost of to and from airport transfers. There are also hundreds of great restaurants all over the area, with every type of cuisine, and to get to them, a car is a real comfort.
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
montreal,quebec,canadamarliene
5

Can`t wait to go back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Can’t wait to go back
Tropical splendor is what I was thinking when we drove thru the gate to this property. The entrance is lined on both sides with coconut palms,and the tropical sun was shining thru the trees. The ocean was the most amazing shade of greens and deep blues. There was also a caretaker to unload our luggage, which is a real treat at our age, and a lovely fruit bowl waiting for us inside. We really felt welcomed. We were here for 10 days, and it was the best Mexican vacation we ever had, and we go somewhere in Mexico every other year. Our family doesn’t see each other as often as we would like these days, as we now live far from each other, so we try to get together on vacation. We spent many hours around the pool just visiting, eating, and drinking and soaking up the sun. The house is on a little bay with a comfortable little beach, with few people passing by, so you have the feeling of being on your own little island, which is different than city beaches, with someone trying to sell you something all day long.
I live in a very upscale neighborhood back home ,but I don’t have a breakfast balcony overlooking the ocean off my bedroom, or marble floors, or an ocean facing porch to sit on and watch the boats drift by. We took a daytrip to see the pyramids of Coba, which I would recommend to anyone, as they were more than amazing. My husband and father dropped us off for one day in Cancun to shop, while they went deep sea fishing. They caught some nice fish and the caretaker cooked some on the grill for us that night. We never had fish so delicious, and you can’t get it any more fresh than that. The house was comfortable, and quiet, and the cleanest rental we’ve ever been in, especially the bathrooms! The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need, but we only cook an occasional breakfast when on vacation. Who wants to cook? I do that at home. The nearby village of Puerto Morelos is a quaint little place full of friendly people and decent small restaurants. We spent a few evenings going there for dinner, and having nice conversations with people from all over. On two occasions they had entertainment in the town square. One night it was dancing to calypso music, which was another first for us. If you like to shop, there are a few curio shops, but if you go to Cancun, there are so many boutiques selling so many unique things you have a hard time deciding what to buy that you can fit in your luggage. I would recommend a vacation in here to a
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The last line should read "I would recommend a vacation in here to anyone". These folks were from Canada, and they are right about the shopping. We always tell guests to bring an extra fold up bag in their luggage to fill up with the treasures they will surely find and want to take home.
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

Beach Front Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband, 17 year-old-son and myself had a fabulous 2 week holiday at Casa Manalou. The villa has a fantastic location right on the beach - we spent many happy hours relaxing by the pool or swimming and snorkelling in the sea. Louis and Ana, the property managers, were great! Nothing was too much trouble. Puerto Morelos is still a quaint fishing village - a very different world to Cancun and Playa del Carmen! You do need to hire a car, though, as there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. We went on day trips in our hire car to Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza, Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Valladolid, all of which were most enjoyable. Supermarkets and shops are plentiful in Playa and Cancun. We went snorkelling on the reef twice, with guides from Puerto Morelos - an amazing experience! If, like us, you are not interested in the 'all-inclusives' and prefer a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all holiday, Casa Manalou is the place for you.
Owner's Response: These guests were a delightful family from England that really took advantage of seeing all that they could see in two weeks, and we hope to host them again one day. They rented a car for their stay which we recommend to everybody, even if you stay in Cancun City, as they are cost effective and convenient, and these folks proved it, by seeing so much, and still having time to relax. Taxi rates have gone up considerably in the last year and airport transfers can be as high as $100US each way. Most major attractions are all day trips. A car allows you to do things at your own pace even if you are just going down the road to try a different restaurant or just spending the day shopping.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

Relax...unwind...ocean breezes...no worries....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My sister-in-law and I spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Casa Manalou and couldn’t have been more pleased. We were looking for a quiet spot to unwind and recharge. We found it! The house was very clean and comfortable. We slept each night with the windows open listening to the ocean waves on the beach. The breeze was constant and cool. We did not need to use the air-conditioning at all during the week.
The neighborhood was quiet and safe. Most days we were the only people on the beach and in the ocean even though there were other people in the neighboring houses. The water temperature in the ocean was perfect though the bottom can be a little rocky in places.
Antonio, the caretaker, was always there to lend a hand (carrying chairs to the beach, cutting up papaya, hanging up our wet beach towels, etc) and monitoring the property which made us feel more secure. He, very discreetly, made sure that the house was clean and locked. He brought us a coconut drink with flowers and straws, homemade guacamole, and a melon drink that was out of this world! Thank you Antonio!
The car ride into town was easy. We went to dinner in town each night and found the restaurants pleasant and very good. We enjoyed meeting other travelers and locals. Everyone was very laid back and friendly. There is also plenty of shopping available.
We made day trips to Tulum and to the Jungle Spa. The house is conveniently located close to the main highway. We had no trouble finding our way around.
We ate breakfast and lunch at the house every day. We arranged with Louis to have basic food items brought to the house before we arrived. It was well worth the small fee to avoid grocery shopping for the week!
We are already talking about returning to Casa Manalou next year to get away, relax and sleep while listening to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Can't wait!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Pittsboro, NC
5

Fabulous Girls Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My mom and sisters and I spent a week at the house and had a great time. The property manager Louis and his nephew, Antonio did everything to make our stay enjoyable. They met us at the property when we arrived, and showed us around the place and how everything worked. Louis then took us on a quick tour of Puerto Morelos, pointing out good restaurants, grocery store, etc.

The house itself isn't luxurious, but definitely very good given the price. Antonio kept the house and pool clean everyday and even made us some coconut drinks and guacamole too. The beach is small, so we generally used the pool or drove to another beach. The drive into Puerto Morelos is quick (10 min), though the road is in bad shape. We were thankful we rented the SUV. Some great restaurants in Puerto Morelos, and an internet cafe - just buy a cup of coffee and they give you a wifi password, or pay per 15 minutes to use their computers. The house technically has wifi, but we weren't able to get a signal. You could "plug in" but that required a computer which we didn't bring, we only had our handheld devices.

We went to one of the big grocery stores near Playa del Carmen and did a lot of cooking at the house. $100 bought the 4 of us groceries for the week, including alcohol. Everything we needed kitchen-wise was in the house including a blender for our daily margaritas.

We also drove to Playa del Carmen and some of the sites further south, like Tulum. That was the one downside of this rental. It was just too far of a drive to get to those tourist sites. 1.5 hr to Tulum. It was about 45 min to Playa, so that wasn't so bad. But I think this house would be best for those who aren't too interested in doing a lot sightseeing and more just about relaxing in a quiet private location with a cute town nearby to venture to.

Overall we really had a great time and loved Puerto Morelos. Well worth the money spent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're glad these guests had a good time, but I want to respond to a couple of points to put things into perspective. There were many complaints about the road,from our guests, hotel guests,and locals.Finally the government responded about two weeks ago, and repaired the road.
We advertise that we are 25 minutes from the airport, and 30 minutes from the two most important towns in the area with the most things to do, which are Playa del Carmen and Cancun. We are located in the most central location for traveling up and down the coast. I drive to Playa del Carmen and Cancun frequently in 30 minutes each, from the property. Tulum is 1.5 hours away, but guests go there maybe once during their stay to sightsee, and most don't go at all. Tulum has it's own flavor, and famous pyramids, but not the most famous, and is located at the very southern end of the Riviera Maya, which is the tourist section of the coast. People stay with us because they ARE interested in sightseeing and our location gives them the closest point to MOST things, but not ALL things.
We stress that we have the latest technology available to our area, provided by NEXTEL, for computer access at the property, but it requires a USB port. People are bringing tablets more and more these days, and no matter where you are in the Rivera Maya you can have signal problems with tablets. Weak signals, or password protected signals.We provide the signal, but it's up to the guest to bring the right equipment, and tablets can be hit or miss .Some tablets work fine, some don't.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Lansing, Michigan, USA
5

Who could ask for more?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a fabulous stay at Casa Manalou. I recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away from it all and just relax and take in the scenery. It was quiet and the views were spectacular. The house is even more beautiful than the photos represent. It was nice to enjoy our morning coffee on the front deck while watching the cruise ships go by . The daytime hours were spent lying by the pool enjoying a refreshing beverage. The rooftop patio was great for watching the pelicans dive for fish and viewing the stars after sunset. The house was very clean and the beds were super comfy (and I usually can't wait to get home to my own bed). The kitchen was well stocked (we only ate one meal in town). Antonio was available whenever we needed him but otherwise quietly took care of things in the morning and evening and we hardly knew he was there. He made us some fabulous coconut drinks our first full day there as a welcome and on our last day brought us a huge dish of the best shrimp ceviche I have ever had! Oh and did I mention fresh guacamole every day?(I know this has nothing to do with the house, but I’m just saying…….) We took a snorkel trip offered by the shop a short walk (south) down the beach and it was the best $25 I've ever spent. I have never been snorkeling before and I can't believe what I've missed! We look forward to returning in the not too distant future. The only negative to be aware of is that the road from the main highway has a lot of ruts and potholes so it must be navigated slowly. But what’s the hurry – you’re on vacation!
We did not try to use any internet connections while we were there so I can’t comment on that.

My response to Mar from Atlanta, Ga is Please stay at home (in the U.S.) and go to a Holiday Inn. Stop giving Americans a bad name - you were in paradise and all you did was complain.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Smack-Bang on the beach!!!Private Pool House/Central to it all!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276326
724 414-4567
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Alberta
5

Two Weeks on the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a great time and would highly recommend this villa. Communication with Lou was no problem for booking. Our connecting flight was delayed in Texas, I called Lou on his cell and everything worked out fine. He and Ana met us at the villa with a basket of fruit and veggies and even showed us where to get provisions in P.M. The directions were very clear to get to. I had mapped it out in Google Streetscape and it felt like we had been there before we even arrived. The villa was everything we needed for our two week stay with bbq, pool and beach. The roof top had great views and was good for morning coffee, sun tanning and having a glass of wine at night. We found our stretch of beach quiet and relaxing. We were within walking distance to a few all inclusives, which we tried out some day passes at. Being between Cancun and PDC we were a short distance to anything we needed...........and staying near Puerto Morelos felt like we were out of the tourist "rat race". Shopping and dining in PM was great. So relaxed. The Mayan market was layed back with good deals. And as for Antonio the live in caretaker, he was the best. You never really knew he was around, yet he looked after the grounds, pool, beach front and kept the house tidy by taking out the trash, washing the floors............etc. When ever we got in our car, Antonio would automatically be at the gate to greet us adios. Antonio would bring us coconuts and fresh made guacamole. Antonio even helped us with getting started with doing our laundry the old fashioned way, by hand and then hanging it up on the line, fun!!! The only recommendation from us would to get better Tupperware or Rubbermaid containers in the kitchen for storing food as the existing containers were a little mismatched. This point though is not a deal breaker ;-). Good times ........................we would go back!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway