Norfolk house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Norfolk House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Welcome to our charming beachfront home away from home! 3 bedroom/2 bath, sleeps 8-10 guests, off street parking for 2, beautiful yard, and just steps to the beach. Whether you enjoy kayaking, crabbing, fishing, skim boarding, sailing or visiting interesting historical sights, it's all here. What a wonderful place to just relax or to find great adventure. Here you will experience a quiet neighborhood, and the most beautiful sunsets. Clean and comfortable overlooking the Chesapeake Bay with miles of safe beaches to stroll and play, you are certain to enjoy yourself at Willoughby Whims. Bring plenty of sun lotion, and prepare to relax. Come have some fun. We look forward to seeing you!

2 Night Minimum

Rental Rates

$200 a night / $1250 a week - Fall, Winter, Spring (September - May)

$2150 weekly rentals only - Summer (June - August)

Damage Deposit (Refundable) $250

Activities

Crabbing

Bike path

Fresh local seafood - yummy!

Local shopping and entertainment

Nearby Marina and Public Boat ramp

Ocean View fishing pier/restaurant, charter boat trips

Convenient to all military bases

Convenient to Norfolk International Airport and Patrick Henry Airport

20 min from Amtrak train station

Tidewater Tides baseball games at Harbor Park

Chrysler Hall/Scope

Many local historical places of interest

Concerts at Verizon Amphitheater in Virginia Beach or NTELOS Pavilion in Portsmouth, VA

Downtown Norfolk/Nauticas

Spirit of Norfolk, dining and dancing cruises

Cruise Line Port, Norfolk, VA

McArthur Mall/Waterside Market Place

Hampton Air and Space Museum

Virginia Marine Science Museum, Virginia Beach

Adam Thoroughgood House, Virginia Beach

Several terrific golf courses nearby, including King's Mill Resort in Williamsburg

20 min from Norfolk State Univ., Old Dominion Univ., Hampton Univ., Christopher Newport Univ.

Convenient Location

20 min from CHKD (Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters), Norfolk, VA

30 min from Virginia Beach oceanfront/boardwalk

45 min from Busch Gardens Williamsburg

Keywords: House, beach house, home, waterfront home

More Details
Hide Details

30 Reviews of Property 294433 in Norfolk, Virginia

Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
average rating of 4.866667 based on 30 reviews
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Suffolk, Virginia
5

A perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from an absolutely wonderful week at this home. We LOVED the location as it was so convenient to the Hampton Roads / Williamsburg / Jamestown area PLUS it is right on the beach so you can literally walk out the door and be steps away from the sand.

The house is exceptionally clean, spacious and well appointed with everything you need plus many wonderful extras like a game room, beach toys, and beach chairs.

The owners were WONDERFUL and went to great lengths to accommodate us and our unique needs. We are exceedingly grateful!

This is also a perfect location for locals who want a getaway close to home!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
5

Mom, Dad, Gram & family- IN

Mom, Dad, Gram & family- IN
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent a week at Willoughby Whims for Thanksgiving. What an awesome place it was for us! Plenty of room, on the beach, watched all the ships & sailboats, great game room where my husband enjoyed beating everyone, including the son-in-laws, at Ping-Pong. Everything we needed was there, including wine glasses, crockpot, baking dishes, even some spices. It was very neat & clean, & the roses in the garden were the most fragrant I have ever smelled!! I loved the stainless steel 5- burner stove & oven. We cooked during our entire stay, only ordered out for pizza once. There was plenty of room to spread out, so when all 9 of us were there for meals & clean-up, we weren't tripping over each other. Our Pug, Molly, loved it too, especially chasing the birds on the beach! The neighborhood was quiet, easy on & off I-64 when we went to Jamestown, Yorktown & Williamsburg. The master with the bathroom was great for my 85 year-old Mom, especially with the walk in shower! We couldn't have had a more perfect vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Gaithersburg, MD
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really enjoyed our time. Grandparents, parents and children (7 people) loved having so many toys and games and kitchen supplies available for our use. The foozeball table was a big hit with the kids! We took the kayak out on the water several times too. It was great!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Richmond, VA
5

Can't wait to return!!!

Can't wait to return!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful time in this cozy but spacious home with its unique layout. Everything was so clean and well maintained. We chose it so that my 88-year-old mother could accompany us, after checking with the owners as to its accessibility (and they were great about answering all our questions ahead of time about the house and amenities). Mom had only two or three steps to manage in order to enter the house either back or front, and both the tub and the spacious, lighted shower stall had a high soap dish with a grab handle on it (and mats on the floors of the tub and shower to prevent slipping). The kitchen had plenty of plates and glasses and many sizes of bowls and pots and pans. The only things I missed were a potato peeler and rubber spatula. Previous guests had left things like salt and pepper, some spices, syrup (not to mention paper products in both the kitchen and bathrooms), so we used what we needed, replaced anything we used up, and left other things for future guests.

Our dog had as much fun there as we did and the many walks on the beach. Mom managed to walk out to the beach and even went knee-deep in the water with two of us holding onto her. She greatly enjoyed (as did we all) watching the large container ships and naval vessels as well as the smaller fishing and pleasure boats and sailboats pass by while sitting in the living room or during meals at the big picnic table on the back deck. My husband, daughter and I had a great time fishing, with the best Spanish mackerel catch of the season on the Smokin’ Gun II (www.captainhoggscharters.com). Our daughter’s boyfriend and his dog joined us for a couple of days and pronounced Willoughby Whims the best place we’d ever found for our family times away from home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Baltimore, MD
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We came with our young children to spend quality time together. It was cozy, comfortable, and functional. The house served our purpose and is right on the beach. Our kids had a great time at the (almost private) beach, and they treasured every minute of it. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, they even (voluntarily) mailed us back a pair of PJ's that they found. Lots of games and toys for children, kayak came to great use.
We would definitely consider coming back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Grantsville, WV
5

A great vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We arrived at Willoughby Whims on June 21, 2013. We were very pleased with what we found. The house was immaculately clean inside and out. Everything was as Jean Marie and the ads had said. The house was fully furnished, the kitchen had everything but food, hot water gallor, ceiling fans, etc. The outside was well maintained too.

Food and supplies are available within one mile, and there is a pier down the road with great fishing. The neighbors on both sides of the house were quiet, but friendly. The beach there is great. My teenage daughters spent a lot of time there swimming and getting a tan. The one thing about the beach is that it is not crowded. Occasional passerbys walked along, but normally the beach was private. The kids loved it!!!!! There are many things to see and do within 30 minutes of the house, there is Nauticus, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Mariners Museum. Busch Gardens, Water World, Fort Eustis and others are about 45 minutes out, and Jamestown and Williamsburg are about an hour away. There are so many places to go!!

To sum it up, we loved this place. We plan to rent this house again next year. For the money, this place was great!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Appomattox, VA
5

A little home away from home, with an added Bonus...the Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family spent Memorial Day weekend at this property and had a wonderful time. The layout of the house was awesome. It had a little bit of everything from entertainment for the kids with ping pong, a nice size yard for them to kick around the soccer ball and beautiful views of the ocean. All of the comforts of home with the Ocean as an added bonus. The beach area was wide and clean with a lot of beach line to take a walk in the mornings. We hit a few local spots, all of which had very friendly people. Home owners were amazing. I would recommend this house to family and friends. We are already thinking of another date to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Georgetown, DE
5

April 2013 at Willoughby Whim

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed here while in town for our daughter's wedding. A nice quiet place to relax before, during and after all of the excitement.
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Connecticut
4

Delightful Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We really enjoy staying at Willoughby Whims. We have stayed twice in the last few years to visit family over Thanksgiving week and find it the perfect spot to relax and spend time with our grandchildren. Our only regret is the weather is never quite warm enough to enjoy the beach as much as we would like. However, watching the water from the living room is something I never tire of.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beachfront Home on the Chesapeake Bay in Norfolk, Va
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294433vb
(757) 567-2146 (Virginia, USA)
Norfolk Tidewater & Hampton Roads
Richmond, VA
5

Had an awesome time with family !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time at this home. The owner was kind enough to replace the blender during our stay (thank you - we really needed it ). The home is right in front of the beach. the beach had low waves and our kids loved it. In the mornings we got to see fisherman fishing and the kids were excited to see the fish. The home gave us everything we needed. The game room was very good. They also provided the beach chairs, sand toys for kids. We spent a lot of time on the beach which was private and very quiet. The whole family enjoyed this trip.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2