Nashville house rental - Welcome home
Welcome home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Nashville House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom

Don't get away from it all - Our Nashville guest house is near all of what you come to Music City for.

As a unique alternative to a traditional hotel/motel or B & B, Shelby House is your vacation retreat in the heart of the Nashville scene. Located in the Lockeland Springs neighborhood of east Nashville you are just minutes from the Lower Broadway District and Printer's Alley. This is where you will find the Country Music Hall of Fame, honky tonks like Tootsies and Legends, the Hatch Show Print store, Wildhorse Saloon and much more.

Shelby House is furnished and decorated with your comfort in mind. Each of the 3 private bedrooms has a queen sized bed with home-style bed linens. The full sized kitchen is complete with a toaster, microwave, coffeemaker and all of the necessities to eat in, if you prefer. Central air-conditioning, gas fireplace, cable television, wireless Internet and front loading washer and dryer complete the amenity package.

The shiny hardwood floors make it possible for us to allow pets. There is even a doggie door out to the grass in the fenced backyard.

On the flagstone patio is a charcoal grill and in the screened porch is casual dining for 4.

Shelby House is located in the historic district of Lockeland Springs. This is a residential neighborhood. The house immediately to right is a proud Victorian. On the left side, a classic bungalow has been restored to its former glory. Shelby House is a mid-century brick ranch - not quite as historic.

Within walking distance is the Shelby Bottoms Greenway and Nature Park. It is one of the true jewels of Metro's Park and Greenway system. This 810 acre park offers 5 miles of paved multi-use trails and another 5 miles of primitive hiking trails. Along the trails, visitors can enjoy boardwalks, scenic overlooks, interpretive stations and seven rustic bridges.

Reservations: Your reservation is important to us. It is confirmed and will be held with your credit card and/or deposit.

A 25% deposit is required for a confirmed reservation. This deposit will be charged to your credit card at the time you make a reservation, and will be applied towards the total amount due. No additional damage or security deposit is required. Alternate deposit methods, such as cash or check, may be considered (inquire for details).

The remaining 75%, or full payment amount, is due 2 weeks prior to your arrival date. This balance due will automatically be charged to your credit card at that time, unless other arrangements are made in advance (mailing us a check, for example).

Cancellations: To cancel your reservation, make changes and to avoid unnecessary charges, proper notification is required.

Contact us by phone at 530-836-2723 (home) or 530-386-6023 (cell); or by email at nashvilleneighbors@bellsouth.net.

At least a 1 month notice, prior to your expected arrival, is required for a deposit refund. A cancellation fee will be deducted from your deposit.

Cancellations made between 2 weeks and 1 month prior to your expected arrival will result in forfeiture of your deposit.

Cancellations made less than 2 weeks prior to your expected arrival will result in forfeiture of your deposit and full payment.

Refunds MAY be considered if we can successfully re-rent the house (a cancellation fee will be deducted from your deposit, and adjustments will be made for days we cannot re-rent).

No refund or credit can be given for early departures.

More Details
Hide Details

About the owner: Bryan and I have been innkeepers for almost 12 years now. We came by this profession quite by chance as part of a grand New Year’s resolution at the turn of the century. We bought a small motel and vacation cottages in northern California. It was rewarding to take this humble project to its full potential. In 2006 an offer that we couldn’t refuse came along so it was time to reshape our future again. Prior to our midlife crisis Bryan was a civil engineer and I was the mom. As it turns out these are great prerequisites for inn keeping. How and why we picked Nashville as our vacation destination of choice is a long story. Visit Nashville too and maybe you will feel the attraction.

Bryan & Stephanie Sprague purchased this house in 2006

Why the Owner Chose Nashville:

The sign near our house in California reads - “Cromberg, population 140”. Since we live in a sleepy mountain community, vacationing to busy cities seems normal. Family history research might be the first reason we landed in Nashville. Many of our early ancestor’s roots started in Kentucky and Tennessee so we vacationed here. As a practical starting point, Nashville is well centered to explore most of the eastern United States. The rich cultural diversity and true Southern hospitality in Nashville will have you sipping sweet tea and asking “How you’ all doing this evening” in no time. Welcome and enjoy your stay.

All of our vacation homes are truly located in Nashville, just a couple of miles to the Lower Broadway entertainment area. With our easy to use inquiry and secure reservation system - Webervations, you can book on line.

15 Reviews of Property 276008 in Nashville, Tennessee

Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had 7 guys total for a bachelor party. We came in from everywhere, LA, NYC, Pittsburgh, Chicago, Philadelphia & Virginia. Great place to base your weekend trip out of, quick ride down to downtown. Now that Nashville has Uber, it's easy to get a car any time of day or night. Was a wonderful house and we feel fortunate to have been able to use it celebrate together! Great Yard too! Saw a couple Cardinals back there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you mentioned the Uber Car Service as an option to get around town. It is new to Nashville and I will share that option with future guests. Seems like the way to go. Glad y'all had a good time in Nashville, thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
Birmingham, AL
4

Shelby House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Was visiting for the Nashville Predators / Chicago Blackhawks game. Shelby House is cute and comfortable. But, I have to agree with another reviewer - the neighborhood seems a bit sketchy at times, but I do understand that its undergoing some revitalization and think it will be great when all is done. There is a lot of construction going on but we were not bothered at all by it. I would recommend this cute quaint house to anyone. But don't count on getting a cab - apparently they just don't show up! Thanks so much for sharing your home! Oh and the back yard is huge if you have kids and need them to burn up some energy playing outside!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good time in Nashville in spite of the taxi cab problem. We love the neighborhood and have enjoyed it for the past 8 years. True - East Nashville or Nashville in general, may not be for everybody. Probably the thing we find most attractive is the diversity. To quote a couple of recent national publications:

“Lovers of the offbeat head to East Nashville, where eateries and coffehouses (the new Barista Parlor in a former transmission repair garage is hot) are tucked into neighborhoods lined with modest bungalows with porch swings. Margot Café & Bar serves French/Italian fare; Mas Tacos Por Favor, an offshoot of a food truck, sells $3 tacos and Mexican Coca-Cola made the old way, with sugar, not high-fructose corn syrup.”

USA Today listed East Nashville in their June 20, 2013 article: “10 best neighborhoods that tourists haven't found yet”
“East Nashville is a breath of fresh alternative air to the crowds of downtown and upscale shopping district Green Hills. East Nashville is where urban pioneers are headed now, and its abundance of quirky shops and excellent restaurants, along with a few nightlife venues, make it well worth investigating.
The 5 Points District - Woodland St. at N 11th St. - is 'vintage central.' Alegria, Moss, Hello Boys, and Goodbuy Girls (major cowboy boots alert!) will have you making tough decisions or blowing through wads of cash. If Music City has you dreaming up your own stage name, pop in to Fanny's House of Music for vintage instruments and dressing room garb.”
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
5

Riverside Drive home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at the Riverside drive house for a long weekend. It was updated and clean with all the amenities as described. It was in a quiet friendly neighborhood next to a park. We were only a 10 minute cab ride from downtown, and about 2 miles from a grocery store and a gas station. The owners were friendly and prompt in returning my email inquiries. I will definitely be returning to Nashville and staying with Nashville neighbors again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
K Country, Alberta, Canada
4

Great location,needs a little work

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Rented this property for 5 nights last week. Great location, within 10 minute drive of downtown action, and some great local restaurant finds within minutes (Lockeland Table is not to be missed!). Couple of small things with the unit, bathroom is in serious need of an overhaul with peeling paint on walls, stained caulking and grout, bathtub taps that other need to be replaced or installed properly, better bedside lighting in all bedrooms (one reading light on one side of the bed for all rooms), coffee table in living room would not only be helpful but make the room look a little more finished. Only one wine glass in kitchen, seriously, this is not an expensive item. Overall, it appears that the owners may not be present and that a 'service' is looking after the place, can't see many owners leaving a bathroom looking like this, otherwise decent spot at a fair price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review it is important to let us know about these details. I expect to be working on the bathroom soon. Keeping the vacation home rental experience a good value has always been a top priority for us. We travel a lot and stay in other homes. It is sometime those smallest details that do get overlooked that can be most annoying. This home has such a nice location it is hard to schedule down time but I will certainly count those glasses again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
5

Debra from Mississippi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My mother, sisters and I enjoyed staying at this Nashville Neighbors home while having a girls weekend away. The house looked exactly like the pictures. It was easy to find. The owners were very easy to work with. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
Elmhurst, IL
5

Family Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family met at the Shelby House to spend a Christmas weekend together. The house was perfect with three bedrooms and a well stocked kitchen for making meals together. Although we cooked a little, we also enjoyed several nearby restaurants - Silly Goose, Mitchell's Deli and Pizza Italia.

The house is decorated very cozy making it feel warm and inviting to our family. We are looking forward to having a return visit.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
California
5

Nashville Neighbors Vacation Homes

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed at Willow Springs, which is one of 3 Nashville Neighbors vacations homes. Customer service was impeccable, the home was so comfortable and cozy~!! It was our first time staying in a vacation rental and this experience was amazing. Everything we could ever want was at the home and we were close to everything. The neighborhood is cute and the neighbors were nice! Thank you Thank you Thank you for the best Nashville experience ever!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
Chicago, IL
4

Great Time!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had a great time! The house is comfortable. There's a nice big park nearby with playground, hiking, and even fishing. It was great being so close to downtown. We had a great experience. The street this house sits on is very nice. But be careful, the surrounding neighborhood can get sketchy real fast, especially after dark. Also, there's not much (other than the fantastic park) within walking distance of this house, so you'll have to drive to coffee/restaurants/shopping etc...

But far superior to a hotel. I felt my vehicles were safe and our kids loved the backyard. the rear porch is great!

Don't count on using the grill, however. It's very old and rusting out and lid falls off when you try to lift it. Not sure you could host a successful barbecue.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: That is good information about the BBQ grill. Many guests do enjoy the use of a grill and it should be in good order. We have been working around the house and yard, getting ready for another busy year.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
Palos Verdes, CA
5

Nice place close enough to city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I stayed here with my family late June/early Aug of 2010. The kids needed to be at camp in downtown everyday. This place made it manageable. The kitchen was well equipped. Everything worked. There was enough space for everyone. The manager was nice.

A good home for a family seeking clean, spacious (enough), well located accomodations.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Nashville Neighbors, 1.5 Miles to Shelby Bridge, 2 Miles Music City Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p276008
Cell: (530) 386-6023
Nashville Tennessee
New York, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Thank you so much. We enjoyed our stay in East
Nashville so very much. What a great neighborhood!!
The most memorable time we had in Nashville were all
places we discovered just blocks from your place. We
hope that we will have the chance to visit again.
Helpful votes: 9/10