Penn Yan cottage rental - Our front porch is just steps from Keuka Lake.
Our front porch is just steps from Keuka Lake.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Penn Yan Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 4-6

Welcome to our little piece of heaven we like to call “The Meritage” - a completely remodeled cottage with all the modern conveniences. The cottage is located on a quiet lower lake road - perfect for walking the dog, taking an evening stroll or maybe a morning bike ride.

When you arrive you'll find a bottle of Finger Lakes wine and local coffee from Keuka Lake Coffee Roasters to get your vacation started. Your mornings can start with a cup of fresh coffee as the sun rises behind you, and your evenings can end with the sun setting across the lake and a glass of wine in hand.

The front door to this lovely cottage takes you into the living room area, artfully arranged to welcome warm conversations with friends or family. A comfortable queen-sized sleeper sofa and pair of matching armchairs make this a great place to catch up on the day’s events.

A large window behind the couch beautifully frames the evening sunsets. Twin bookcases are filled with books and games for you to enjoy during your stay, as well as a flat-screen TV with digital cable, DVD player and DVR.

The living room is open to the dining area with seating for 6 and the completely remodeled kitchen where you’ll find everything you need to prepare a wonderful lakeside meal.

Off the kitchen a laundry room with a new washer and dryer, as well as kitchen “staples” in the pantry area. To the left of the kitchen you’ll find our remodeled bathroom with tub and shower.

The master bedroom features high ceilings with a fan and the original wooden beams. Buckwheat Therapy pillows - handmade by our neighbors two doors down - might change the way you sleep forever! The bedroom also is equipped with cable TV and an alarm clock. A large dresser and armoire can be used to pack your belongings away so you feel more like home. The master bedroom also has a second door leading outside.

The guest bedroom just off the dining area has a double bed and soothing decor.

Outside, friends and family can sit together on the deck, enjoying dinner or a glass of wine and taking in the sight of Keuka Lake. There's a table for six - and a slightly covered space in case it rains! You'll also find both a charcoal grill (for the purist) and a gas grill (for the realist), as well as an outdoor fireplace.

Walk five steps off the deck and you've reached the water. There's plenty of swimming space, and you can dive in off the end of the dock. Also at the end of the dock are two Adirondack chairs.

There's so much to do in the surrounding area. The biggest attraction is the Finger Lakes Wine Trail, and you'll find two of the best wineries within a mile of The Meritage.

You can taste all kinds of wine - from world-class Rieslings, to Pinot Noir, to award-winning dessert wines! And most wineries provide stunning views of the various Finger Lakes. If you don't want to drive, we have information on limo and private transportation services.

Shoppers will love The Windmill Farm and Craft Market, just a short drive away on Saturdays. Some of our favorite restaurants are nearby, and we provide recommendations in the form of a personal Google Map for every guest. There are many ways to enjoy the lake itself - from renting a boat and water skiing, to fishing, to bringing your own equipment like kayaks and rafts! We highly recommend Regan's Canoe and Kayak if you'd like to rent canoes, kayaks or even paddle boards. They know the cottage well and will even drop-off/pick-up everything for you right to the beach!

While we don't recommend working while on vacation, there's certainly room to work if you must! Guests enjoy high-speed wireless Internet and unlimited long-distance calling.

More Details
Hide Details

We're Evan and Morgan Dawson of Rochester, NY, and we take deep, unashamed pride in local produce, wines, and business in the Finger Lakes and western New York. We're the happy owners of The Meritage Cottage on the east side of Keuka Lake. We want our guests to know about the rarely discovered local wonders. We'll help arrange day trips, make reservations, and generally make you feel like you're in a cozy, modern B&B - only we're not there!

Cheers, and see you at The Meritage!

Evan & Morgan

Morgan Dawson purchased this cottage in 2006

Morgan grew up just a mile north of the cottage - where her family still lives - and purchasing a cottage in this location was a no-brainer. The quiet lower lake road is the perfect spot to go for an evening run, bike ride, or walk with the dogs. In fact, it's such an ideal location that we have to convince ourselves it's real. We had searched for a rental property for several years and found nothing like this. It's a cliche, but it's true: This is a dream property.

11 Reviews of Property 275875 in Penn Yan, New York

Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
average rating of 4.625 based on 11 reviews
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
5

A wonderful place for a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have known Even and Morgan for years, and have rented their beautiful cottage on several occasions. We typically stayed in the spring or fall. We have always found the cottage to be clean and comfortable, and featuring all the amenities they advertise.The welcome gifts of wine and coffee are a very nice touch!

Our stays have always been enjoyable. Our lives are very busy, so we cherish the quiet, and tend to stay pretty close to the cottage, spending our time reading, building a puzzle, or lounging in the Adirondack chairs on the dock. Our dog loved swimming in the lake. And on two different occasions, we were treated to a fall fireworks display courtesy of Keuka College across the lake!

Evan and Morgan have a wealth of knowledge regarding the Finger Lakes region, and Keuka Lake in particular. They're always eager to help direct you to a restaurant, winery or other area attraction. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were so inspired by our time there that we purchased our own Keuka Lake cottage in late 2012. They were very helpful to us during that process (and continue to be). Great people.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Philadelphia
5

great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I loved the location, easy access to wineries, the lake & bike riding on east lake road. The place was well stocked with the basic supplies and it was great dog friendly place. The steps to go down to the house were steep but good lighting at night and was made aware of this prior to booking.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Rochester NY
5

We have found our little slice of the Finger Lakes!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I stayed at the Meritage Cottage for the first time, and if you are looking for the charm of a classic Finger Lakes Cottage, with the modern amenities that make it relaxing and incredibly comfortable, the Meritage is for you! The owners have obviously worked quite hard to keep the charming character of the cottage while ensuring that all our needs were met. It started with the complimentary bottle of Finger Lakes Wine (Ravines Dry Riesling) waiting for us in the living room, to the fully stocked kitchen and pantry (we only needed to bring our own food; spices, oils, cooking utensils, etc. were all provided making for easier packing at home). The linens were clean and comfortable with towels laid out for us. One of the owners even contacted me the day before our arrival to see if he could help plan anything for us. It was our anniversary so he helped secure a restaurant and reservations. The new deck was wonderful for meals and relaxing under the roof overhang during the occasional storm. The dock and classic Adirondack chairs at the end, started and ended most of our days. Nightly campfires in the fire pit right next to the water were wonderful. The famed sunsets over Keuka lake did not disappoint! Fishing off the dock each morning and evening was great and highly successful! There was even room for us to store and launch our two kayaks, as most evenings the lake turned to glass. The cottage is very well appointed with comfortable furnishings, electronics (including an I-Home for music with our I Pods), games, AC units, washer/dryer and plenty of wine glasses for you and your guests. Being off the main road on a type of access road was very nice as we took morning and evening strolls with our dogs; yes our two dogs were welcomed at the Meritage! Being able to bring our dogs was important to us and the owners of the Meritage were quite accepting of them! Be aware that there is a staircase down to the cottage from the parking area and road, but in reality that helps seclude the cottage even more, making it quite private and peaceful. The cottage has easy access to at least 5 wineries, with Keuka Springs being less than a mile away. Its proximity to Penn Yan (about 4 miles) makes a quick run into town very easy. For more than 40 years our family has vacationed at the same place that unfortunately is no longer available. We were afraid of finding that "replacement" spot......We found it!! Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
2

Did not live up to expectations

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage is pleasant regarding decor and it is a nice location on Lake Keuka. The new deck is very nice as well. But- the one and only bathroom specifically the toilet did not flush most of the time. We were told previous tenants had the same problem and that a plumber was out earlier the day we arrived. A second plumber (very thorough) was sent out on Sunday and he could not truly fix the problem either, without a major disturbance to our week. The four of us were constantly plunging and it was an unacceptable situation. Also -the amenities stated also were lacking and were not as advertised. Examples: the full pantry was full of dried up, in edible spices and many items were empty or missing. The gas grill was a broken , filthy mess. The dock had many unsecured boards, a safety hazard. The boat lift did not work. The inside and the outside we're actually very dirty. Lots of dust, cobwebs, and stickiness. The dysfunctional bathroom was the cleanest room in the cottage. The bed sheets on the queen bed had a greasy stain on the middle of the bed when we arrived! Gross. We actually left a day early and can not recommend this rental.
Helpful votes: 4/8
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
New Jersey
5

25th Wedding Anniv. Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Meritage was a great location for our anniv getaway. The cottage was very clean and had all the neccessay supplies for a comfortable stay. The owners left a bottle of wine from a local winery and gourmet coffee from a local vendor for our enjoyment and had many suggestions on places to visit. We toured many of the local wineries, visited many of the small towns, biked local trails, enjoyed the fire pit at night and fished right off the dock. Bring your kayaks or rent nearby. Although the listing mentions "sleeps 6" we feel it is more ideal for a couple not wanting to stay in a hotel or B & B. One word of caution, the cottage sits right on the lake which is great but sits about 30 steep steps below the road. No problem for us but if steps are a problem, be aware. Hope to visit The Meritage and this beautiful area again soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Fairport, NY
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We just returned from a too brief stay at "The Meritage". Morgan & Evan did a great job of describing the experience on their web sites and communications. We found everything as promised, right down to the welcome local wine and coffee. The sound of the carallon at Keuka College sings across the lake. This is a cozy spot for a small party and we look forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Southampton, PA
5

Perfect weekend in late March!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Morgan and Evan -
It was such a pleasure working with you to get this weekend planned. Thank you so much for accomodating our stay at the cottage in March/April. Everything - from the beautiful cottage to the wine to the fresh flowers on the table - was just perfect. The weather didn't cooperate but as you say - "a day at the lake is worth a month in town!". We had a great time, the cottage is adorable and very comfortable. Your recommendations for wineries were very helpful. Even though we are very familiar with the area you recommended some wineries that we had not been to before. Thanks again for making this a very pleasant stay. I am enjoying Evan's book very much. And good luck with that new baby!
Best wishes, Lee, Mary, Bev and Joe
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us! It is lovely - and perfect
for our little getaway. Keuka Lake and its surroundings are a true treasure -
so beautiful! We are grateful to have had the opportunity to experience them
again.

Thank you for the great bottle of wine and for having the cottage so well
appointed. It made us feel right at home!

We enjoyed the beauty of the lake, local wineries, shops in Hammondsport,
and ice cream in Penn Yan! I also caught my first "really big" fish out on the
lake! And it was capped off by watching an amazing rain and hail storm come
up the lake - it was an awesome sight!

Thank you for everything - best wishes!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Evan and Morgan,

Thank you both so much for allowing us to enjoy your cottage. We had a
beautiful week. The weather was perfect for boating and taking our motorcycle around the lake to visit the wineries.

The "Meritage" was so comfortable we feel right at home. It was nice to have
all the amenities and not have to pack - you have thought of everything.

We really enjoyed our Meritage Blend of coffee every morning. The wine you
left for us was also perfect and we enjoyed it to celebrate our 20 year
anniversary.

We absolutely loved Keuka Lake and will be back to this beautiful area. What
amazing sunsets!. Thank you again.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Modern waterfront cottage on Keuka Lake - close to Penn Yan & Finger Lakes wine!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275875
+1 585 269-9361
Penn Yan Keuka Lake
Rochester, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My new husband and I stayed at the Meritage for our honeymoon. All I can say is that it really is perfection!
The owners have done an amazing job in providing everything you could possibly need or want. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking amenities, including an array of spices and baking needs. The layout of the cottage is very spacious and open. The beds are very comfortable, and the windows in the master bedroom face the lake and there is nothing more soothing that listening to the lake as you fall asleep.
The outside of the cottage is incredible as well. The deck is big, and seat lots of dinner guests. The grill is brand new and there is a great fire pit for late night bonfires. The dock is right there and makes for great fishing (we caught a huge bass!). The sunsets are gorgeous, especially with a glass of wine from one of the nearby wineries.
You have the best of everything here at the Meritage and I would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone!
Thank you Evan and Morgan for taking such great care to make our stay perfect! We will definitely be back!
Linda and Chris Gressell
Helpful votes: 4/4