Canyon Lake house rental - Historic German homestead circa 1870's on 2 acres
Historic German homestead circa 1870's on 2 acres
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 30 nights
 

Canyon Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

FOLLOW THE OAK LINED ROAD INTO A 2 ACRE PROPERTY THAT LEADS TO AN HISTORIC GERMAN FARMHOUSE CALLED 'MILDRED HAUS'. HOMESTEADED BY THE KRAUSE FAMILY BACK IN 1870, RUMOR HAS IT THAT BACK IN THE 1850'S AND 1860'S THE ORIGINAL LOG PART WAS A STAGECOACH STOP. AN OLD GERMAN STONE WALL MEANDERS THROUGH AND AROUND THE ACREAGE. WORK WAS STARTED 6 YEARS AGO ON 'MILDRED HAUS' AND COMPLETED AT THE END OF 2009 LOVINGLY DONED SO THAT THE ORIGINAL STRUCTURE CAN BE SEEN AND THE BEAUTY OF THE OLD LOGS, MASSIVE STONES WALLS AND OLD FIREPLACE CAN BE ENJOYED AND APPRECIATED.

THERE ARE 2 ENTRIES TO THE HOME FROM THE FRONT PORCH.. ONE GOES INTO THE PARLOR AND THE OTHER INTO THE FAMILY ROOM. FROM THE PARLOR YOU CAN GO UPSTAIRS TO A LARGE MASTER SUITE THAT EXTENDS FROM ONE END OF THE HOME TO THE OTHER WITH A LARGE BEDROOM, STUDY AND BATH. A LARGE MASTER SUITE PLUS SECOND BEDROOM ARE ON THE MAIN FLOOR PLUS A CHARMING KITCHEN WITH SEPERATE BREAKFAST AREA AND DINING ROOM. A SPECIAL 'HOME AWAY FROM HOME'!

5 Reviews of Property 275763 in Canyon Lake, Texas

BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275763
830 708-7742
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Experience history

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I spent six weeks in this completely renovated German Farm house while relocating. The home looks just like the pictures. The two bedrooms and baths are very spacious and allowed for us to put all our belongings away and out of site. We found the home quite, clean, well maintained and stocked with about any non-perishable item you need. We celebrated Christmas here with our extended family. On Christmas Eve, we all walked to the sweet church across the street and attended the candle light service. There is a large BBQ that we used often out back and a wonderful large porch to enjoy the warmer weather. Linda has lived in the area for many years and can help you with just about any question you have. I would certainly stay here again and I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in or around the Canyon Lake area. New Braunfels, Greune, San Antonio, Austin and all the small hill country towns are all within an hour. Big plus for us - the neighborhood includes a private park on the Guadalupe River and has enough flat pavement to run a 3.5 mile circuit. Just beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275763
830 708-7742
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Bastrop, TX
5

Charming and peaceful home in the middle of all the Hill Country has to offer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I stayed at Mildred House for three months this summer and will be going back next summer. We rented it because we have really come to enjoy Canyon Lake and wanted to spend a few months in the area in our first year of marriage. The location allowed us to explore more of the Hill Country including Gruene for shopping and concerts, Flat Rock ranch for mountain biking and obviously the lake. We often went into Gruene or Wimberely for dinner as each was around 15 - 20 minutes away. The owner and her late husband did a remarkable job of converting the 150 year old home into a very comfortable modern day retreat. If you stay there when the weather is cooler, sleep upstairs with the window above your head open, its heavenly. Finally, I'll just add that the house is very quiet and peaceful with a great deck for lounging. We never had any of the neighbors bother us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275763
830 708-7742
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
tucson az
5

walt and doreen from arizona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
we stayed at this beautiful historical home the month of july 2011 with much delight. Linda the owner was very friendly and a delight to be around. She was very helpful .The home and yard was kept up well, and was private.This location was wonderful . We were close to many attractions, food ,lake and several small lovely towns worth checking out.close to the guadalupe river and canyon lake, witch is a wonderful lake to enjoy.We would certainly love to return here in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275763
830 708-7742
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Bend, Oregon
5

Sheila and Darrell from Oregon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We recently spent two months in this historically restored home located a long block from the Guadalupe River. The description by the owner details the house exactly as we found it to be. During our stay we were able to have family and friends visit and found the space ample for entertaining.
We very much enjoyed spending hours on the large front porch, a great spot for reading or just enjoying life. The nearby residential area was a pleasant place to take long walks with our small dog. The house is well located near Canyon Lake and allowed us a variety of day trips nearby. Of special interest is Gruene with it's historic Gristmill and Gruene Hall. We also visited Austin, the large outlet malls near San Marcos, Winberly, San Antonio, Fredericksburg and Kerrville. A dining suggestion is to try "The Italian Garden" restaurant in Canyon Lake. It's worth several visits.
The proud owner, Linda Johns, is delightful to know and made us feel welcome in true Texas style. She lives nearby and was a wonderful source for information about everything in the area.
We enjoyed our stay in Texas and may return after visits to other southwestern states.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC 1870'S GERMAN FARMHOUSE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275763
830 708-7742
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Bend, Oregon
5

Sheila and Darrell from Oregon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We recently spent two months in this historically restored home a long block from the Guadalupe River. The description above details the house exactly as we found it to be. During our stay we were able to have family and friends visit and found this space ample for entertaining.
We very much enjoyed spending hours on the large front porch, a great spot for reading or just enjoying life. The nearby residential area was a very pleasant place to take long walks with our small dog. The house is well located near Canyon Lake and allowed us a variety of day trips nearby. Of special interest is Gruene with its historic Gristmill and Gruene Hall. We also visited Austin, the large outlet malls near San Marcos, Wimberly, San Antonio, Fredericksburg and Kerrville. A dining suggestion is to try "The Italian Garden" restaurant in Canyon Lake. It is worth several visits.
The proud owner, Linda Johns, is delightful to know and made us feel welcome in true Texas style. She lives nearby and was a wonderful source for everything in the area.
We enjoyed our stay in Texas and may return after visits to other southwestern states.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3