Forest Grove house rental - Coast Mountain Home: overlooking stream and pond
Coast Mountain Home: overlooking stream and pond
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Forest Grove House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Convenient location and spectacular setting in the Coast Mountains of Oregon at the north end of the world famous Oregon wine country.

SPECTACULAR SETTING

* Mountain stream with rippling waterfall right behind house

* Large natural pond with waterfall

* View of stream from almost every room in the house

* Trout fishing in stream

* 5 acres: wooded and secluded with huge cedar and fir trees

OREGON SURROUNDS YOU

* 3 wineries within 5 minutes

* More than 25 world class wineries within 30 minutes

* 15 minutes to one of the best salmon fishing rivers in the US - Wilson River

* 40 minutes to Tillamook and the gorgeous Oregon coast

* 55 minutes to Cannon Beach and the Northern Oregon coast

* 40 minutes to downtown Portland

* Hiking trails abound from the property

* Bike riding on scenic mountain byways

FEATURED AMENITIES INCLUDE:

* 4 bedrooms

* 2 full baths

* Fireplace in master bedroom

* Fireplace in living room

* Wood stove in family room

* Sip wine on the decks overlooking stream and pond

* Sleeps up to 8

* Cable TV, DVD player

* Washer, dryer

* Fully furnished

* Fall asleep listening to the stream and crackling fireplace

Keywords: Portland, Oregon, Oregon Wineries, Oregon Coast, Wilson River Salmon Fishing

More Details
Hide Details

Welcome to our beautiful home in the coast mountains of Oregon.

The Owner purchased this house in 1976

We bought the property as an escape. Yet it's close to the beach and Portland.

Seclusion. Beautiful setting. Very relaxing. Love going to sleep listening to the stream.

15 Reviews of Property 275715 in Forest Grove, Oregon

Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
5

Relax in the Emerald Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The drive to this rental took us from PDX, and the hustle and bustle of Portland, through rural Oregon fields and vineyards, and finally into the coastal range. With or without the sun, we felt like we were driving through an emerald forest. We arrived at the rental in short order and, upon entering the house, discovered that the photos on VRBO could not show how nice this place really is. The first floor layout is wide open and large, with views of the creek from all rooms. The upstairs bedrooms and bath are also nicely laid out, with views of the creek from two of the bedrooms and the bath. Sitting in the large living room, with the creek right outside the window, and having a book in one hand and a refreshment in the other was quite relaxing. The drive to Forest Grove is a pleasant one, about 13 miles, where you can find really good grocery stores and various restaurants.

We will definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Ashland Or
5

Magica,l serene house outside of Forest Grove and Banks Oregon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was a perfect getaway from all the hubbub and energy of preparing for my daughter's wedding at a vineyard in nearby Banks. We had peace and only the sound of the running trout stream complete with otter and owl! All was just fine and I would gladly recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Louisville, KY
5

Great getaway with soothing sounds for the soul!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The view and sounds are as beautiful as in the description and provided the most relaxing sleep I had had in months. Spent every night with the windows cracked and the sounds of the creek flooding in with a beautiful star-filled sky for a view. The place was in a great location to do a bunch of day trips such as Mt Hood, Willamette valley, Portland, and the beach. The kitchen provides ample space and utensils to cook the basics, and the grill definitely played its part.

If you are looking to get away, and relax for a couple of days then this is the place for you. This place has more of a cabin feel, so if you are hoping for gold sheets, marble this and that, and big screen tvs then I would look else where. If you want quiet, a good book, and beautiful scenery then for the price and the space then this is a steel. Enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
DC
5

Great weekend with 2 families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a terrific stay in this Forest Grove house. The kids fashioned a bridge across the stream and then spent hours on the other side building a fort in the woods - while the adults hung out by the wood stove reading and chatting. The house was clean, comfortable, and well equipped; and our hosts welcomed us with Valentines day hearts! Easy drive to Cannon Beach and to Portland to spend a rainy day at OMSI - the science museum. Great breakfast at the Log Cabin and dinner at Out Aza Blue.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Enid, OK
5

Oregon coastal mountain home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This lovely home is in a secluded area of the coastal mountains about halfway between Portland and the coast. We spent Christmas here with our grown children and had a lot of fun visiting, playing games (which we brought), watching videos and taking a day trip to Cannon Beach (beautiful) and the Tillamook Cheese Factory (self guided and not worth the drive--all we saw was people packaging cheese, but in all fairness, it was during the Christmas holidays). This house was big enough for 6-8 adults and was very comfortable. The setting was gorgeous--forested with a stream running through the backyard. It rained every day except Christmas, when we woke up to snow. We were able to buy all of our groceries in the nearby town of Banks and we ate out once at Out Aza Blue Market and Cafe (it was good, but it was Sunday--they were closed the next 2 days-- and they were out of most of our choices). With a large group, it was more fun to cook and eat at the house, so we didn't really miss dining out options. My only suggestion to the owner would be to hire a cleaning service and not rely on guests to clean for the next guests. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet, beautiful retreat. The owner was staying nearby and was both friendly and helpful. The photos shown on the website were accurate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Bend, OR
4

out of the way quite home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This home is an excellent location if you are looking for some quite family time. It had all the things that we needed to make a long weekend a comfortable stay. There was no cell phone service at the house, so even the removal of technology was nice for a few days.
Owner's Response: For those who want to connect, we provide unlimited land line long distance at no charge.
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Greer SC
4

Enjoyed wildlife and nature at peaceful mountain retreat near vineyards

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Enjoyed waking to the sounds of birds and the bubbling stream just yards from the back of the house. Totally isolated except for the owner's home and peaceful at night for a great rest. Couple of fireplaces and a wood stove for cold nights (one in the bedroom). Rustic mountain living with the convenience of being close to vineyards and around 30 miles to Portland downtown. The owners are very welcoming and any problems or needs are quickly attended to. Groceries can be bought at the nearby town of Banks or a little further away in Forest Grove. Has a really nice restaurant that is quite a jewel called Out Aza Blue just about 5-6 minutes from the house. If you're looking for peace, lots of nature and great vineyards this would be a lovely place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Madras. Oregon
5

Our visit to your house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This house is a perfect place for quiet family quality time together. Lots of space for those who wanted to do things like read and yet close enough to join in games and conversation. Very comfortable beds. Very beautiful scenery, easy to take a walk and enjoy the coastal mountains. Close enough to both the beach and small towns that everyone could enjoy what they liked best. My only semi-negative comment would be that the dryer doesn't work very efficiently so washing & drying bedding took way too much time on departure day. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Jacksonville, FL
5

Home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I was looking for a place to stay that would comfortably accommodate 6 people and would be close to the site of the wedding we attended, I came across the Forest Grove Cabin. A true find! The cabin was just as it was described. It was clean, comfortable and very accommodating. The property it sits on is beautiful with a stream that runs behind it. The owner not only kept us abreast of any information we needed before hand on the rental but he also keeps a book and brochures of the sites and restaurants in the area in the cabin. The cabin is close to many sites making day trips a breeze. With the equipped kitchen we were able to have a "family' dinner with the bride and groom and extended family. It felt like a holiday with the smells of a home cooked meal and the guys watching baseball. Thank you for sharing your home, we can't wait to come back and you can bet we will recommend your cabin to anyone we know looking for a home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded, Stream & Pond Near Portland, Wineries & Oregon Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275715vbi
Email is best: marling@paper.net
Forest Grove Willamette Valley Oregon
Sammamish, wa
5

Super time in a great place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Came out to your place to celebrate my best friend's 30th Birthday and we had a fantastic time. Upon first entering the house we thought WOW!!! The place looks spectacular and the pics although nice do not do it justice. It is very peaceful with a good vibe and layout. Upon arrival we were greeted be Gretchen? Who was very nice and recommended a fantastic place to pick up some dinner..... We had the best calzones ever from there!! The weekend was short and we hope to come back in the future perhaps using the house as a jump off point for taking the tillamook tour, going to some wineries, the ocean, etc. I would also reccomend this home for families..... The pond in the back is full of salamanders, the river crawdads and there is tons of hiking.....perfect for my eight year old and his cousins...... Although no kids came with us I am looking forward to a future visit with them along....... Anyways, thank you!!! We had a great time and look forward to future visits :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3