Highland house rental - Stunning Swiss Style Chalet on Four Acres surrounded by mature trees! Gorgeous!
Stunning Swiss Style Chalet on Four Acres surrounded by mature trees! Gorgeous!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Highland House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

(See gorgeous video below) Incredible, unique estate located off a long private driveway! Charming, modern 'Swiss Chalet' on 4 acres of serene trees and views, with private cove and inviting beach on a wooded all sports lakefront lot! Stunning waterfall/pond feature is inspirational! You'll think you're dreaming! Granite full service kitchen with stainless fridge, range, dishwasher and microwave! Living room with fireplace and hardwood floors! 3 new full bathrooms! Finished walkout lower level leads to shaded relaxing patio next to stream/waterfall with a four foot fall! You stress will be washed away. Great sunsets off the giant deck! Boat launch on site! Lakefront fire pit with lots of tree stump seats just like at camp for roasting marshmallows! Closest neighbor is 200 feet away from house! Access the main lake under a convenient bridge that accommodates most recreational boats! Did I mention that you'll think you're dreaming? This estate inspired Heartbark.com, a website based in a virtual forest where you can make positive messages on the trees causing them to grow! Log on to Heartbark for free. No drive-bys without appointment!

Peaceful, Serene, Great Views and Amenities: People head north so they can find beauty, mature trees, a feeling of peace and to feel like they're far from the city. With this exceptional home on four forested and waterfront acres, you're already there. The waterfall makes you feel like you're in the mountains or out west! The beautifully designed and landscaped lot is big enough that you can take a walk or find a quiet peaceful spot all to your own! Enjoy the view of the lake and the house from the tip of the peninsula or sun yourself on the inviting beach and private sun/swim deck. Have a seat on the huge deck that looks down over the lot and enjoy the sunset on the other side of the lake! Watch for Deer, Raccoon, Blue Heron, Beaver, Otter, Ducks, Geese, Swans, Birds, Frogs, Fish. There's good fishing (please catch and release). You're not going to want to leave!

Local Fare & Access to World Class Entertainment!: If you like relaxing, skiing, golf, horseback riding, boating, swimming, shopping or great eating you're in luck. You'll love the Highland House, with a varied menu and great pizza. Walk through neighboring Milford's restaurants and shops. There's great golf at Dunham Hills. 25 minutes away is Twelve Oaks Mall that offers shopping including Nordstroms, Macy's, Lord and Taylor and great boutiques.

Catch major concerts at DTE Energy Theater, while the city and suburbs of Detroit offer world class dining, prime entertainment and classic museums. There is gambling at one of Detroit's casinos like the Motor City, Greektown or the MGM Grand. With a passport you can cross over to Windsor, Canada which is known for fine dining, great views of Detroit, gambling and shopping.

Clean Updated and Cozy!: All the beds are new, plush and supportive. There's plenty of room to spread out, even it is rainy. There's a living room with fireplace and and a roomy family room with second entertainment area. View the lake from many rooms. There's cable TV, videos library, book library, playing cards, board and video games and included free WI-fi. Note: The Waterfall feature may not be running during cooler weather due to possible freeze conditions.

Get inspired! This property and it's majestic trees inspired the website Heartbark.com, which is based in a virtual forest where the user can make positive messages on the trees, causing them to grow higher! Join us on Heartbark to get a feel for this inspirational home! Note: Our video was taken in the morning, when it's shady. Property is not as shaded in the afternoon for fun in the sun!

More Details
Hide Details

Privately and family owned. Friendly, loving, understanding, family people with four kids. We'd love to hear from you and accomodate anything we can for you. Note: We're in the real estate business, so we have a pretty tight contract to make sure no one can harm our home, but we're really friendly and never have had a in issue with an Occupant.

Welcome to the Hearbark Home, which is place of serenity and beauty rarely found anywhere. The home is well cared for, clean, has modern amenities and a location close to town where you can get whatever you need with a short car ride. If you're looking for a place where you feel like you're on a private estate and like to relax surrounded by beauty and not other neighbors or occupants, then this is the place for you. Everybody loves this unique site.

On four acres

Private quiet cove

Waterfall running during the warm season

Giant view deck

Towering mature trees

Lots of parking

Closest neighbor is 200 feet away

Large private beach

Private road leading to house

9 Reviews of Property 275647 in Highland, Michigan

Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
4

Ladies Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The Ladies from the church chose to stay here to have our Womens Retreat and we enjoy ourselves. The home had plenty of space for 10 women. We were able to use the paddle boat and canoe and use the firepit. Overall a great experience plenty of towels and blankets. Most of the ladies were from the city so spending the weekend in a wooded area was different but relaxing.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
5

Adorable, cozy, peaceful, and unforgettable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family chose this property for our extended family get-together - we had 9 adults and two kids (four generations!) in this house, and we absolutely loved it!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Jenna was a fabulous resource for amenities in the area, was super friendly and answered every one of our many questions, and we felt very well taken care of. I admit that before we got there I was nervous about all of us fitting, but upon arriving I was amazed at how roomy it was. The two living areas, combined with the decks, the beach, the swing and the numerous other places to go and relax on the property meant that we never felt cramped, but we were also close enough to enjoy our family togetherness. We were all very impressed with the updated and luxurious feel of the kitchen and bathrooms. The kitchen was perfect for the family dinners we cooked every night, and all the outdoor amenities kept everyone busy. The house was so well stocked with supplies and activities, it was so comforting and relaxing and truly like a home away from home - but with a waterfall, a beach, and a tranquility we don't get at home!
We had a ton of fun going to local restaurants, a mom&pop ice cream place, the enormous outlet mall nearby, and the kids loved the neighborhood playground. It was so relaxing on the property, and there was always someone on the swing, sunbathing on the beach, reading in the hammock, or having a cup of coffee on the deck. The landscaping was gorgeous and the little personal touches around the entire property lets you know this place is loved and cared for. I'd totally recommend this for people wanting to relax and enjoy nature, but still be close to shopping, restaurants, and in-town living. Great for families!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time for the kind words and for staying at our home. We hope you visit again. Best wishes. Jenna and Marshall
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
4

Serene experience

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed a week here and had a great time. The property is very private and serene. Great fun fishing right off the doc. The owner was very responsive to our questions and pleasant to interact with. The canoe was so fun and paddle boat too. Bonfires in the evening lakefront truely memorable. This place is unique in a beautiful way. The only reason I did not give five plus stars is because we did not want to swim in the lake in front of the home. But a short boat ride and we were in swim worthy waters. Would not deter us from staying at this lovely property again. There is lots to do in the area, including spash park, hiking, you name it.
Owner's Response: Thank you Anne for the great review and we're glad you enjoyed yourself. Our family loves swimming near the docks where the water depth is about 6-7 feet deep and is quite roomy, but yes, there is a lot of swimming out on the main lake as well. Again, much thanks and please come again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
TX, FL, MI, MA, & MD
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Very nice house on a wonderful large private almost secluded lot. It’s close to the metro area, but quite private with a very large lawn extending out onto the peninsula. Neighbors are pretty much hidden by the trees or way across the lake from the private cove. Having the canoe was great. We enjoyed watching the swan family with 3 cygnets every day. Fishing was good right at the dock. Beds were very comfortable, except for the convertible sofa of course. There was lots of outside seating. Close enough to stores and shopping. The listing was very accurate and complete.
The negatives were that the pontoon boat was unavailable due to maintenance issues. Other maintenance issues included a leak in the canoe. It was fixed within two days. The hammock was rotted out but the owner reimbursed us to replace it. Many of the windows did not have screens or cranks to open them. This was a problem when the power went out for 12 hours. Candles or flashlights would have been useful. Kitchen lacks mixing bowls, 9x13 and 8x8 baking pans, and a vegetable peeler.
The biggest disappointment was the weed infested cove. It wasn’t just the season. No other house that we saw in the lake had such a weed infested waterfront. It needs maintenance.
No property is perfect , and overall we were pleased with our 8 days there and would rent this property again.
Owner's Response: Thank you Kurt and Cindy for staying and for your good review. As a response, the pontoon boat is never included in any rental. The power was out for hundreds of thousands in the area. Just the same we will make sure emergency supplies are on site, which is a grood suggestion. I wasn't aware of a leak in the canoe and I'm looking to replace it. I will also increase our kitchen supplies. Other input is also valuable that we're looking into. Thanks again for the great input.

The Heartbark House
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
5

Sweet Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family and I really enjoyed staying here. Everything was well set up and ready for our arrival. The lake was gorgeous. The kids had fun roasting marshmallows at the firepit and we fished a lot. Good local restaurants too. I recommend it to anyone!
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
5

Nice House and Site

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My family and I loved staying here. A lot of fun and relaxing. The home is charming and set up for what you need. Great location. The pictures don't do the home justice cause it's really nice. We will go back.
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
5

Really Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The place really sounded nice and the photos looked good. Like they say a pictures is worth a thousand words, but they just couldn't justify the beauty and peaceful feeling that you get while you at this wonderful home.
The house was clean and well set up with a great kitchen with granite counters and maple cabinets and a stainless steel roomy fridge and ice maker.
The bedrooms are really nice with great sleeping beds and cozy atmosphere. Two family areas for entertainment are great for the kids and adults to break up.
The deck overlooking the property is really big and a great place to hang out and enjoy a drink. The beach is sandy and roomy enough for lots of people. What I think is really nice is the fact that the property is private and very large with beauty in every direction. But wait I forgot about the waterfall. It blew me away. It was really big and had the greatest, pleasing sound and splashing beauty. Then there's the lakefront campfire. The kids loved the diving deck and private swimming area. Great location, close to shopping and restaurants. Would love to stay again. Thank you Heartbark. Oh yes, check out the Heartbark tree.
Nice owner. Easy to work with. Got our deposit back on time.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
5

Great Family Gathering Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We recently rented this property for a family/friend gathering and it was wonderful. The house was just the right size for everyone to stay together. We enjoyed the deck, the water and the fire pit. The place is close enough to civilization to make a quick run to the store while feeling like you are out in the wilderness. Everyone had a great time and we can't wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Stunning Waterfall Estate with Private Cove and Beach! Trees! Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275647
+1 248 737 6800 103
Highland Southeast Michigan
Bloomfield Hills
5

Up North feel in Metro Detroit....Wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
My wife, kids (4,6 &10) and I went with another family to this property during the winter. We like to find a place to go every year so our familys' kids can play and we (the adults) can too. Boy were we lucky to find this place.

Let me start of by saying, you are in for a big surpise. Turning onto their street, off the main road, you begin to think "How the heck can the picture be showing the right place?". The street is a typical looking subdivision in suburbia: Cookie cutter houses with standard lots. After a few minutes you come up to some dense woods out of nowhere and you think, "Where did this come from??". It's at this point, you are there. Where is there you may ask...its your own secluded haven.

The property is truly amazing. Your own private peninsula, bay, beach, dock, fire pit big enough to please any size party and woods in all directions. There appears to be an amazing waterfall/pond feature that was built right next to the house, which can also be viewed (and I am sure listened to) from the large deck off the house. Sadly, we came during the winter and missed out on this feature. Off the back of the house is a slight slope that worked out great for our little children to sled right onto the lake. They had such a blast. And hot chocolate was a step away. Skiing is not far away either...10 minutes maybe? You really feel like you are up north!!!!

The house is just as amazing. It looks as if it has been completely updated. The kitchen has beautiful cabinets and granite countertops with a nice bar counter for casual eating or to help serve food. The bedrooms all appear to have new furniture and done in a very cozy and warm feel. We all slept extremely well. The bathrooms too appear completely updated. As well as the downstairs familyroom that has a walkout to the small beach.

I could go on and on about this property. The end result is this: We will be coming here again and again. Next time....the summer!!!

Thank you again to the ownerfor opening up this gem for others to enjoy. It was more than we hoped for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 30/31