Alexander cottage rental - Cozy cottage
Cozy cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Alexander Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

A secluded getaway or a fun filled family vacation. Enjoy fishing, swimming, boating, walks, nature watching and fantastic sunsets. Take a boat trip from Pocomoonshine Lake to Crawford Lake through the 4200 acre ecosystem. Bring your rod, binoculars, camera, and a picnic lunch. If you are fortunate, you may see an eagle searching for his lunch or a moose enjoying a lily pad salad for his lunch in the picturesque Maine River. Pocomoonshine is well known for its excellent large and small mouth bass fishing. Once you get to the lake you won't want to leave, but for the adventurous, take a day trip to Acadia National Park, Baxter State Park, Quoddy Head, Eastport, or many other charming sites that Down East Maine has to offer. Canada (passport required) is just 30 minutes away across the International Bridge in Calais, Maine. Calais is where you can visit some cozy restaurants and stock up on supplies.

6 Reviews of Property 275542 in Alexander, Maine

Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
5

Peaceful Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We've stayed in many different rental homes/cottages in various places, but this cottage was probably the most well appointed cottage of all. We nicknamed it the "Red Roof Inn". This cottage even smelled clean when we walked in the door! It is definitely larger than it looks from the outside. We enjoyed exploring Pokey by kayak. The bald eagle even made a close appearance. Members of family who stayed in another cabin saw the moose down river. Chatting with our gracious hosts, Connie and Jeanne, who live next door, was also enjoyable. Thank you for letting us use your cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
5

Outdoor fun with the family.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The listing was accurate, the house was clean and had all amenities needed for a week stay. This place is bigger than it appears in the pictures. We have family in Maine that joined us during the day. We shared meals together at the house and it wasn't cramped. The large porch is great for hanging out while the kids play. The owners are very gracious hosts. We went on several day trips, and enjoyed the lake and canoe every day as well. We went to Bar Harbor, Acadia and St Andrews.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you had a good time with your family and that there was lots of room.
Jeanne and Connie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
5

Awesome Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
"This vacation was one of our most relaxing ever. The views are spectacular, especially at sunset when you cannot only see the loon's but hear them as well! Not only that, but we were able to bring both of our dogs (they are part of our family) and they LOVED swimming! Having an enclosed patio was wonderful to sit out at night and play cards or just read. Regardless, we truly enjoyed our time spent here and were so grateful we were able to be here! Thanks for everything!"
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
Centennial (Denver area), Colorado
5

Pocomoonshine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I have been going to this area of Maine for over 50 years and have rented lakefront camps on this lake, Pocomoonshine, and others before. Pokey is, overall, the best lake in the area. The water is good, clear and cold. It's deep, so your boat isn't running over rocks.The bass and pickeral are friendly to a lure. This lake hosts bass tournaments.

The cabin is very good. It's quiet and well stocked. I had two other adult men from my high school days during my stay and we were very comfortable.

Prepare yourself for a really good night's sleep.


It's a reasonable drive to town and the bridges to New Brunswick.

Finally, the Murray's are next door and available for anything needed. They are a class act.

I will return this coming summer.

Frank J, Birgfeld
The St. Croix Group LLC
Cenyennial, Colorado
frank@thestcroixgroup.com
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Frank- we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you this summer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
New York
5

Classic Maine Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This cabin and lake was everything depicted and more. We arrived to find the well appointed, tastefully decorated cabin waiting for us. The quiet lake provides plenty of solitude. During the week we were there, no jet skis, waterskiers etc. Just a few people fishing and kayaking. When the loons started in the evening I was reminded of "On Golden Pond".
The weather there in late August was generally in the Seventies during the day and low fifties at night, with only one rainy day. We slept with the windows open.
We did several day trips, including Campobello Island, Eastport and Machias. All were easy scenic rides from the cabin.
If you are looking for a good value lake vacation, within reach of the coast, and gracious hosts, then don't hesistate to make the reservation. You are bound to have a great time..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a good time! We hope you come again. PS- Thanks for the wifi tip.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Front Cottage on Picturesque Pocomoonshine Lake with Spectacular Sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275542
+1 9106651099
Alexander Downeast and Acadia
Berkshires, MA
5

Quintessential Lakefront Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family of four spent a delightful week on Pocomoonshine Lake. A beautiful setting, comfortable and clean house, screened in porch, your own dock to fish from, and endless kayaking kept everyone content. Although hard to leave we enjoyed being so close to the coast. Quick trips to Eastport and Quoddy Head supply a salt water experience, beautiful hiking and easy whalewatching. You defintely get a real Maine experience. We saw moose, loons, seals and whales. We ate lobster, had great takeout from a local restaurant and were also able to cook or barbeque at the house and eat on the porch. It was a terrific week and a great value. The owners are wonderful too and were very amenable to my last minute plans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you had a nice time. Thanks for the nice review!
Helpful votes: 3/3