Merida house rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This newly renovated house was designed by the well known architect William Cox who has been featured in many decor magazines.

Mr. Cox is known for his design of Casa de Campo in Dominican Republic which is a villa and hotel located on 17.000 acres of lush terrain.

The house has been designed with both style and design in mind. He has paid extra attention to air flow which is vital in tropical climates.

Located just 2 blocks from the famous boulevard, Paseo Montejo and the Museum of Anthropology and History, the house is also walking distance to the

city center and its many restaurants, theaters and art galleries.

For those renting a car, all day parking is available in front of the house, which is a also a non bus street.

The kitchen is fully equipped with high end appliances including dishwasher, stainless steel refrigerator, oven, toaster oven and blender. The polished concrete kitchen island with seating for 4 is convenient for dining as well.

The dining area has a glass top custom table with seating for 6.

The living room has a modern sectional with a queen size bed if needed. The room is decorated with various antique pieces and has crown molding with a chandelier.

The center of the house has an inside loggia with twin arches facing on to a relaxing stone fountain and etched glass window of a Japanese koi fish.

The spa like bathroom features a large soaking tub back dropped by the koi fish etched glass window and 2 arched glass windows on either side.

The double vanity has 2 stone vessels and wood shelving below. The bathroom also has a full shower with a pasta tile wall.

The bedroom has a king size 4 poster wooden bed with beautiful large arched doors looking out to the back patio and garden.

There is a large walk-in closet with shelving on both sides and sky lights.

The patio faces a stone covered yard with a large tree, cascading cactus, and a hand made stone wall which surrounds the entire property for privacy.

The patio has seating and table for relaxing, enjoying a meal or your favorite cocktail.

The house is also equipped with a washer and dryer, ironing board, iron, all linens and bedding..

Each room has it's own air conditioner and ceiling fans.

There is a long corridor with skylights and wall sconces which leads out to the patio through a custom iron gated door.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 275526 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Casa Tranquility
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
St. John's Newfoundland Canada
4

Great house and location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for the month of February 2014. It is a lovely home . The photos give a very accurate depiction . The location was ideal for us : walking distance to main attractions but removed enough not to be overrun by tourists. I attended a language school which was nearby . There are also several good restaurants within a short walking distance . The manager was helpful and professional .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Asheville, North Carolina
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I had the pleasure of spending a week at Casa Tranquility, and it was everything I hoped for and then some. The house is every bit as nice as it looks in the photos, and it's even larger than it looks online. It's well thought-out, from the beautiful living room to the modern kitchen, from the open-air central courtyard to the spacious bathroom, and from the bedroom (with possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on) to the large back porch.

Casa Tranquility is located on a quiet street two blocks from historic Paseo de Montejo, in a very safe neighborhood. It's within easy walking distance to bakeries, restaurants, convenience stores, supermarkets and museums, and roughly 11 blocks from the main plaza. I rented a car for the week and parked it in front of the house, and I never worried about it. And while the street itself isn't itself on the bus route (part of the reason it's so quiet), hop one street over in either direction and you can easily catch a bus heading north or to the downtown bus stops.

I travel to Mérida every year or two, and I'll absolutely be staying at Casa Tranquility from here on out. It's simply spectacular.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Vancouver, Canada
5

A REAL GEM

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
From the moment we walked in the doors of Casa Tranquility we knew our expectations were going to be exceeded. If you need a great but small (1Bed.1Bath) place in Merida nothing can beat C.T.
1. Excellent location: 1 block from lovely Paseo Montejo, a great, wide boulevard lined with restored mansions and huge trees, full of restaurants and cafes, 10 min. easy walk to the center (Zocalo).
2. Every room is decorated very, excellent king size bed in a quiet bedroom facing the backyard.
3. Very reasonably priced.
4. Easy and quick communication with the management and with the owner (if necessary)
We stayed in Casa Tranquility from Jan.5th to Feb.3rd, 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it.
Highly recommended.


MARY, THANKS FOR EVERYTHING !!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

A lovely house in a great neighbourhood.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent a week over Christmas and New Year in this cool, comfortable, spacious home on a quiet street close to the main boulevard. The kitchen contained all the essentials for cooking meals for two. The property manager was professional and helpful. When the propane tanks ran dry on Christmas Eve a new tank was promptly delivered so the turkey could be cooked to perfection. The house is clean and well-maintained. Excellent value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

Excellent value! An unexpected little paradise lays waiting behind those big brown doors!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed one month in this gorgeous casa and loved every minute of it. Very clean, old-world charm, kind and helpful landlady, exceptionally comfortable bed, delightful back patio, well-equipped, and very well-situated – we were able to walk everywhere; to the Cathedral Square in centro and also along the beautiful Paseo Montejo. Santa Anna Market is the place to buy fresh vegetables, fruit and meat and is just a few blocks away. There is a variety of interesting and wonderful restaurants in the area. We met many delightful people, locals and expats alike. This casa is the perfect place to come home to after a day of site-seeing, or simply a peaceful place to enjoy a relaxing day at home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Indianapolis, IN
5

Cozy getaway in the 'Centro' district of Mérida

Cozy getaway in the 'Centro' district of Mérida
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Casa Tranquility, in additon to being in a great location, is a beautiful, comfortable and well-designed home in Mérida.

The home is well-equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay while in the city. The kitchen has the appliances and tools to prepare your home-cooked meals. The bathroom is spacious and includes a shower and spa-like soaking tub which was very inviting, although I never enjoyed it. Conveniences such as a washer and dryer, local cable TV, Internet, etc. are a plus; however, the true charm in this locale is the peaceful ambiance and decor. Even on the warmest of summer days, the breeze from the back patio will flow through the main hallway to the open-aired center of the home.

Be careful with A/C usage. There are several units within the property, but if you are unfamiliar with the Mexican CFE you will see that electricity is expensive throughout the country and based on a usage scale. Unfortunatly, property managers here and elsewhere will charge the highest CFE rates to earn a profit, so even running one A/C unit will drive up costs. So, in this home we only used the bedroom unit. Hint: Do not turn the split unit off during the day, but yet set it at 30 degrees Celsius. You will save energy by doing so.

The neighborhood is great and parking is readily available within feet of the front door of Casa Tranquility. It is a Santa Ana neighborhood jewel! You will want to book your next trip before you even leave this comfortable and delightful property!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Canada
5

Wonderful holiday in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Dear Mary,

We returned home last weekend from Cozumel to a 60 degree Celcius drop in temperature - BRRRRR!!!! We were wishing we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of Mexico and the warmth.

Your home in Merida is BEAUTIFUL! We enjoyed the free flow from indoor to outdoor to indoor to outdoor. We appreciated the attention to both the architectural and design elements - well done!!! We have been telling friends and family about how impressed we were with your home in Merida.

We found our accommodations at Casa Tranquility to be very comfortable. In particular, we appreciated;

the well-equipped kitchen which allowed us to cook most of our meals with ease;
the ample supply of towels in the bathroom;
the comfort of the bedroom mattress;
the hand soap supplied in the bathroom;
the screen on the small bedroom window;
the washer and dryer that allowed us to have dry and clean towels and clothing conveniently as needed;
the bottle of purified water when we arrived;

the binder of information you supplied.

Your management support person, Lucia, was welcoming, kind and helpful. We are very grateful for the care and attention to so many little details on your part and the part of your management company.


Thank you,


Linda and Allan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Atlanta, GA
5

Great value for our week of Spanish immersion classes (adults in our 50s)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We went to Merida to take a week of Spanish language classes, 9am-2pm each day. Since we didn't know where the school was located, we wanted to rent a comfortable and clean place within walking distance to the historic area, the Centro of the city. In this area some streets are thoroughfares for the vehicle traffic and one never knows if the street the house is one is one of those noisy, busy streets. This house is on a very quiet street with next to no traffic. Perfect home for our needs as 2 adults. Front living room is where we spent most of our time; worked on our laptops, read restaurant reviews, planned which market we wanted to visit or which evening concert or event we wanted to see. The sofa is very comfortable and relaxing. Lighting is also very good in this room.

Kitchen is very nice as well. Big clean cold refrigerator/freezer, big jugs of purified water, nice functional kitchen island/breakfast bar.

The courtyard is a wonderful sanctuary. We would turn the water fountain on at night and enjoyed hearing the gurgling.

Master bedroom and bathroom have everything, double vanity sink, large shower, counter space, and a big soaker tub. Bedroom has very nice views into the back patio and backyard. It was very, very quiet back there; only sound you will likely hear is someone's rooster crowing in the early hours. After the first day, our brains just tuned him out. We were fortunate that a cold front came through at the beginning of our week. We only had to use the A/C on day 1 and it worked great in the bedroom and living room. On days when it did warm up, we got a wonderful cross ventilation breeze going by opening the windows in the front door and the whole house cooled down within 10 minutes. With a ceiling fan in every room, we were very comfortable.

This is an ideal location because the house is two small blocks from the Paseo Mantejo, the big beautiful boulevard with marvelous big old mansion, some restored completely, some not. The house is a 12 minute walk to the Main Square of the city in one direction and 12 minutes to the Walmart (great produce, rotisserie chicken, wine, cheese, etc.) in the other direction. There are bread shops in either direction and if you don't find what you want at one, you can ask (in Spanish of course) where's the next closest one.

We would highly recommend this home to anyone who is interested in exploring the inner historic neighborhoods of Merida. It was an excellent value for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Tranquility
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p275526vbi
(516) 984-3383 (New York, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Bermuda
5

Wonderful introduction to Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband and I spent our first visit to Merida in this house and boy did we get our money's worth. The house is much more spacious than it appears in the pictures and it is very cleverly designed. The home is elegantly appointed and the location couldn't have been better. The cascading cactus also boasted a daily visit from a hummingbird, much to my delight. The property is appropriately named as it was indeed most tranquil and calming. Following long days of walking the streets and taking in all the sights, sounds and smells of Merida, there was nothing more luxurious than a soak in the mammoth tub flooded by natural light from windows on three sides. The agent was extremely responsive and spoke excellent English; meeting us on our first night at close to midnight.
The neighbourhood is quiet and only 5 mins walk from Paseo Montejo and 12 mins (give or take) from the Central Plaza.
We are very much looking forward to our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3