Fredericksburg cabin rental - Moonrise Retreat under the post oak canopy
Moonrise Retreat under the post oak canopy
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fredericksburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
A 2 bedroom, 2 full bath, full kitchen, dining and living room that sleeps 7.

The two- story cabin offers ample space, excellent beds and furnishings, original oil paintings by hill country artists, views that inspire, a fully stocked kitchen for a big country breakfast, a two-person whirlpool tub. It is a great place for two couples to get away for a weekend or a family is reconnect for a week in the country air. The road it is located on is not a through road so there is almost no traffic. A great place to walk and bike. A wonderful place to sit on the balcony and look over the Palo Alto Creek Valley with a glass of wine and watch the moon rise!. If you are a cyclist, it is the perfect location to connect to the best biking roads in the hill country. We invite you to come and retreat to little piece of Texas hill country heaven.

A beautiful place to retreat....: This is a beautiful place to let your hair down and enjoy the views of the Texas Hill Country. This cabin is located on a farm with cows, chickens, clean air, peace and quiet. It is only three miles from downtown Fredericksburg, so the shopping, restaurants, and fun are only minutes away. The beautiful amenities and full kitchen make you feel right at home. A safe place for children, a great place to bike and walk and gaze at the moon and stars. This is a great place for bicyclists because we are at the entrance point to most of the great biking roads in the Hill Country.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a member of the faculty at Texas Lutheran University in Seguin,TX. I teach voice, music education and direct two choirs. I love to sing, ride horses, fish, teach, run our guest houses and babysit our first granddaughter.

Laura Jenschke purchased this cabin in 2005

We bought this property because of the beautiful houses, amazing trees, views and its short distance to downtown Fredericksburg. You are out in the country but minutes from town.

The guest house has beautiful touches of wood trim and tile floors, high ceilings, beautiful views, peace and quiet.

25 Reviews of Property 431410 in Fredericksburg, Texas

A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Dallas, Texas
5

Quiet and Solitude Away from the masses

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Fredericksburg is a wonderful place to visit but the downtown area can be very crowded and harried. Just a short drive away you'll find peace and quiet at this very comfortable and well equipped cabin. The owners are great to work with, very accommodating, and you'll have opportunities to enjoy the beautiful Texas hill country without the crowds. We'll be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

A perfect friends weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Thank you for a wonderful place to get away with friends and enjoy the hill country.
Your place was better than I even expected, so clean, well decorated and had exceptionally comfortable beds. Fresh eggs and all the breakfast food and beverages were so wonderful to have there, we ate them for dinner. We also enjoyed the friendly animals and listening to the birds sing, what a peaceful place. We definatly will be back to stay when we visit again.
I would be happy to recommend this property.
Sincerely,
Marci
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Marci,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We take so much pride in Moonrise Retreat and are so happy when our guests enjoy the property. These reviews always reminds us why we do what we do. Please return and best wishes.

Laurie
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Kenmore, WA
5

A wonderful relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a great place to stay...close to town, but far enough out that you can 'get away'. The views are beautiful and the grounds are very inviting. There is a wonderful lane to go for a walk or a great deck to sit out on and enjoy the sunrise. So, if you want a fun get away that fixes your soul, this is the place!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review. We hope you come back and stay with us in the future!

Laurie and Daniel
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Kenmore, WA
5

Just perfect!!! ..in so many ways!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
As I said..just perfect. When we were sadly leaving, I could only think of how 'right' this place was, from the wonderful beds and home, to the very sweet and hospitable owners, and to top it all off...the wonderful country quietness, beautiful views, sunrises and the sounds of cows and chickens. Then there is the very fun lane to walk down. So, if you want a fun get away that fixes your soul, this is the place!!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We love our place and hope that everyone else does, too. Please come back.

Laurie and Daniel
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
2

Filthy, Disgusting, misleading

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The place is full of cobwebs and filth. Even some of the cabinets have a layer of dust on them. We had to buy pots and pans to cook with because the one pan, and one cookie sheet in the house were very disgusting and covered in a sticky slime. The forks were covered in food and we felt it necessary to wash the silverware and cups before using them. The one knife had a broken handle. There is NO hot tub like the ad says (which is one of the main reasons we chose to stay here). The owner told me that the house was 100 yards away, because we wanted some privacy, but it is more like 100 feet away. The owner told me that the cabin had a private yard and that my dogs would be fine - that is also not true. We had to chase the dogs into the next property and down the road, and could not leave them out unattended. Yes, there was a fire pit, but only 4 pieces of small wood.
I sent an email to the owner to try and make it right without having to file a complaint and she responded in a totally unprofessional manor, threatening and blaspheming me.
We left the house in better condition than what we found it - even after being so disappionted. I have never, in my 6+ years of renting through HomeAway and VRBO, been so mislead by an owner on a propery, or treated this way by an owner when trying to voice my concerns.
The town, however, is very cute. It is a great place to be for a history-lover. The Nimitz museam is amazing - you need a full day to get through it. Also, San Antonio is only about 1.5 hours away, as well as the Natural Bridge Caverns. I think we found a new destination! However we will not be going back to this rental. There are over 63 rentals in the area...so lots to choose from!
Owner's Response: To all of the readers that will be reading this, I want you to know that Daniel and I have been in the BnB business for 12 years. We take great pride in our two properties and only want the best for our guest's stay.

We have had lovely guests stay with us and return year after year. We have updated the televisions to flat screens, put fresh duvays spreads on for each new guest, provide farm fresh eggs, bacon, bread, orange juice, milk and cereal for each guest's stay.

We don't have a private fence for pets at Moonrise, however, we offer our fenced in yard for guests to leave their pets when they leave for the day.

We do have chickens that roam around so you do have to watch your dogs. Our horses will come by and say hello. They also will accept apples and carrots!

We have a two-person jetted tub upstairs in the bathroom. We have a new rock backyard door patio and fire pit that guests can use. We provide the firewood and starter logs. We also have an outdoor charcoal grill. We provide the charcoal for that, as well.

Our cooking utensils are not top quality, but I will be bringing in replacements for the broken griddle. Cutlery is not fancy but is always clean. We have an excellent cleaning staff that has never received a complaint about cleanliness.

Our house is near the cabin. We usually never see our guests unless they need something because the cabin faces out over the beautiful fields.

My husband is a homebuilder and I am a college professor. We love this aspect of our lives and the chance to give families a great experience at our properties.

Sincerely,
Laurie Jenschke
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Beautiful Property and Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful property in the Texas hill Country. We enjoyed perfect weather, sat by the fire pit and on the upstairs balcony during the evenings. Daytime activities included golf and shopping in Fredericksburg. Great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind comments! We are so glad you loved are little piece of heaven. Please come back soon.
Laurie
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Moonrise Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Well maintained property located only ten minutes from Main Street in Fredericksburg. Close to town but has the feel of staying in the country with horses, chickens and cows nearby. Also, lots of deer to watch in the evening especially when the feeder starts spreading corn. There were two couples on our trip and we enjoyed our stay at Moonrise Retreat. Bacon and eggs were stocked in the refrigerator along with milk, OJ and other items.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Northeast Ohio
5

Moonrise retreat property review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very relaxing and enjoyable. This was the perfect spot for our five day get-away. The location and accomodations were great. I hope we are able to come again. How relaxing to sit back and watch the horses, chickens and listen to all the quiet.The night time view of the stars from the upper porch was something we will not soon forget.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Austin
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property is fantastic. Both bedrooms are upstairs with direct access to the bathroom, and the downstairs bathroom with shower is in the hallway as soon as you walk in the door. Very comfy for the four of us. We were celebrating our in-laws' 50th anniversary so we went out on the town a lot. But we grilled out one evening and sat out watching the stars and wildlife around the farm. If you were ambitious and not worried about sharing space, we think you could get up to three couples in this house plus a kid or two. But it would be cramped and you'd want to be able to go outside or to town instead of staying in. The owners were amazing and very nice. Breakfast was included and a wonderful addition to our stay. We would certainly stay there again!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
A beautiful luxury Hill Country cabin that inspires romance and relaxation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431410vb
+1 8304563016
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in this cabin. It was just what we needed. It was very relaxing and perfect when traveling with a seven month old. Thank you Laurie for providing a great place to stay. We're really big animal lovers so, being greeted by your horses as we were sipping our morning coffee was priceless!! We only wish we could have stayed longer. One thing's for sure. We'll be back!! :)
Owner's Response: Thank you, Michelle. We are so glad you enjoyed it! This is why we do what we do, because it makes us happy when our guests have a great time!
Laurie
Helpful votes: 2/3