Bailey house rental - Prowl looks to south, picture is facing west
Prowl looks to south, picture is facing west
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bailey House Rental Photos and Description
3BR, 2 1/2 Baths, sleeps 8-10, spa tub, hot tub , 7.4 acres - unobstructed views

At the end of a 2 mile gravel mountain road, custom built, full view of mountains and river valley, private. This 2010 house has nothing behind it except mountains and forest. Hike down the property to the Pike National Forest and to the North Fork of the South Platte River below. There is mountain hiking on the property and all around with fishing, hunting, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing nearby. There are only four other houses at the end of this road. This property does not just have views--it is in the 360 degree view. You are a part of the scenery. With 7.4 acres touching the Pike National Forest just go out the back door and hike. This property welcomes writers, artists, lovers, hikers, anglers, and all those who want a special retreat away from life's stresses and the hustle-bustle of city life. Better hurry, we are BOOKING UP FAST for the whole year.

CAUTION: THIS LISTING IS NOT LEGITIMATELY ON CRAIGSLIST

Retreat: If you want to get away from Denver for a long weekend, or stay for a month as you write a novel, Big Rock Mountain House welcomes you to a brand new, modern, gorgeous mountain home that is casual, comfortable and custom designed to be a contemporary cabin experience. You can hike on the property for thirty minutes to the National Forest and beyond and not see another human. You will be surrounded by nature, tall pines, firs, wild large and small animals. You can hear the sound of water rushing from the rapids of the North Fork of the South Platte River far below you, or the wind rustling through the forest. Go to the bottom of the property, look up, and see that you are literally on a BIG ROCK. Sit in the 8 person spa under the stars. Take a bath in the 6 foot 7 jet spa for two located in the master bath, look out the window and have a glass of wine. Sit on the balcony and look at the 180 degree mountain views. Rock on the back patio in huge log rockers or relax on a lounger.

Hikers and Anglers Welcome: The house overlooks The Lost Creek Wilderness. Hike the property--on one side, climb down the rock outcrop. On the other side, climb through a dense alpine forest to the plateau below overlooking the river valley and continue descending to the river. There are many other places to hike. Hike to South Twin Cone Peaks, Platte Peak, Payne Benchmark. Take a drive and go to Kenosha Pass, Windy Peak, The Castle, The Taryall Mountains, Puma Peak, or Mount Evans Wilderness to name a few. Anglers can fish in the river below but access is from Bailey and must be on public land. Or you can go to Pine, Shawnee, Boxwood Gulch, Blue River, Long Meadow, Chatfield Reservoir or many other fishing holes near and far. For details, check with The Knotty Pine in Bailey.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Must be at least 25 years old to rent or have a responsible party willing to assume financial responsibility. A copy of a drivers license or passport or other government ID is needed.

This is a NON-SMOKING property without exception. No open fires on the property. No glass or bottles (beer or wine bottles) or any other breakable glasswear outside. Polycarbonate or non-breakable containers are provided. No foodstuff should be left outside unattended at any time including trash so as not to attract wild animals. No guns, hunting, pellets, paint balls or shooting anything on the property. No golfing on the property.

There is a local newspaper 'The Flume' and a summer and winter guide called 'Summer or Winter in the Park'. This is good information about attractions in the area. Google it online.

More Details
Hide Details

I have always loved Colorado. We use to drive for 16 hours when I was in college just to spend a long weekend in the mountains. When my kids were growing up, we would all go and everyone loved the change of scenery from the hills of Central Texas to the majestic Rockies. When I told my family 'I don't know why I bought land and built a house in Colorado', my daughter reminded me 'Dad, you love Colorado, we always went there as kids'. It made perfect sense to her. I do love Colorado and so will you.

Jaron Winston purchased this house in 2009

Incredible. Overlooking the Lost Creek Wilderness with 180 degree unobstructed views of National Forest. Yet, only 1 hour from the big city and 1 1/2 hours from downhill skiing. You can't find beauty like this just anywhere.

7.4 acres of mountain property in a natural wilderness area with all the amenities of a modern home. Clean air, quiet, nature all around.

44 Reviews of Property 274888 in Bailey, Colorado

New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
average rating of 5.0 based on 44 reviews
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved every minute of our stay. The house is very comfortable and the views are amazing. We hiked around the house and enjoyed the hot tub during a snowfall. We drove to Breckenridge and skiied/snowboarded one day. Sherrie and Sean were very welcoming and made sure that we felt right at home. We hope to return soon!
Owner's Response: I am very happy you had a great stay. I know before coming, you had lots of questions and

concerns but hope we more than met your expectations. Thanks for spending time at Big Rock,

tell your friends and family about our wilderness retreat and return as soon as possible.

Jaron Winston
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

Absolutely beautiful and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our second stay at this home and my husband and I plan on returning many times. The home, beds, bedding, bathrooms, etc. are comfortable and of top quality. I love the added stationary bike and new pictures. We will be coming back soon.
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

The Most Amazing Experience EVER!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I rented this VERY clean, organized & beautiful house for myself and my fiance along with 2 other couples for our annual couples trip. All 6 of us slept comfortably and had our own rooms, and I truly believe if another couple or friends would have joined it would have been plenty of room to have their own personal space! This house is as beautiful as the pictures show, if not MORE! It had ALL the dishes, silverware, cover, towels, blender etc. that we needed to make our stay very comfortable and cozy! The first night we cooked dinner and ate at home to enjoy the house instead of heading out to Denver like we orginially planned. We did NOT want to leave the home unless it was a must! The owner Jaron was always quick responding to my emails prior to the trip and once arriving we met with Sherrie and her daughter and they were so helpful and accommodating as well. Sherrie made us feel as if, if we were ever in need for ANYTHING, she was available. I'm always the planner of our trips, so my friends had to trust that I was picking somewhere great, and this went beyond anything we could have imagined!!! At first, we voted to pick a condo in Denver, and EVERYONE left thinking "Thank God we did not!" The PEACEFULNESS and CALMNESS of being out in the mountains. The hot tub was OMG! I was able to just sit and look out into the mountains. We drove to Breckenridge for skiing which was a reasonable drive, and just truly enjoyed ourselves. Jaron said when I booked I would want a longer stay, and if time permitted we surely would have. We have all promised ourselves to come again every 2 years if not sooner & longer stay! My fiance wants to bring our kids as well. I can recommend Big Rock enough!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could! Thank you Jaron & Sherrie for everything. God Bless You!
Owner's Response: WOW! What a review. Another 5 STAR!! It is what it is--fantastic. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can come again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
United States
5

SPECTACULAR!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house is amazing. They views from this property are breathtaking! The owners are awesome and this house has everything you could ever need. We will ABSOLUTELY stay here again, in fact a friend of ours that came up to visit while we were there and lives in Denver took all the info to book this for all her family at Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for an amazing getaway Jaron and Jeffery!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review and we are glad you loved Big Rock. Tell friends and family to book early because we book up especially for holidays and summer.
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

Total serenity!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Family and I went for the first time in May 2014, and all I can say is WOW!!! I lost my wife and kids in the driveway, before we even saw the house. The views are indescribable, pictures don't do them justice. The house is amazing, my wife instantly fell in love with the kitchen. Spacious, relaxing, breath taking, all that we were looking for and more. As awesome as the house is, Sparky makes it even more amazing once you get there, the stories he has to tell makes you want to sit around a campfire and listen for hours :) You are centrally located; an hour from Denver, an little over an hour to Co. Springs, an hour from Breckenridge. Love it! Love it! Love it! Mr. Winston, don't ask questions as to why you bought a house in CO, you have your own piece of heaven! It is all worth it, and now my family had had the chance to love CO, and the mountains, as it they were meant to be loved... The mountains, the serenity, the peace from our very busy, stressful lives, you give us that chance to relax and enjoy our vacation because you and your family have allowed us to stay at the most amazing place they have ever seen! We will be back for years to come.
After we came back from our 8 day trip in May, we couldn't wait to get back again. Wife booked another vacation in October, and the scenery was quite different. The Aspens were changing, the scenery was different, but still just as breath taking as in May. I hope that someone can change your life, as you have changed ours. Thanks again, Jaron, for sharing your home and allowing my family to fall in love with the mountains.
Owner's Response: WOW--Life changing! I agree. There is nothing like just being in a natural, spectacular setting to help you feel great, be apart of life and nature and see the real planet we live on and not the ant farm called our lives that we frantically run circles in. What a review. Life changing!! Fantastic. Come again and tell your friends and family. It is a very spiritual place that is truly beautiful, peaceful and amazing.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

Majestic and Peaceful - a little slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Big Rock Mountain Cabin was everything it promised to be. It was clean and beautiful with a panoramic view of the mountains and valleys. It was nice and roomy for our big family. It was a little piece of heaven for us as we stayed there in between preparing for my sons wedding in Bailey. The stars were amazing at night and the mornings were crisp and clear and oh so peaceful.
We really didn't get to enjoy the cabin as much as we would have liked coming and going so much over the weekend. We did manage to squeeze in a Big Barbecue on Sunday and found that the cabin was well equip with everything we needed. While waiting for the meal some of the family played pool in the garage others enjoyed the beautiful view and some watched football on the Flat Screen TV. We will definitely be back when we can just relax and use the Spa and have a fire in the beautiful fireplace, and enjoy family time.
The short strip of dirt road to the property is very steep and curvy but was no problem for any of the vehicles to handle.
We would recommend this property to anyone who wanted to enjoy a little rest and relaxation in a beautiful setting.
Sparky the property manager was very helpful and accommodating.
Thanks for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. We felt truly blessed to be here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
Toronto, Canada
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you Jaron and Sparky for an amazing place to have our family vacation. There were a few glitches that were beyond your control. Lightning does strike and there is nothing we can do about it. Jaron your home was fabulous and the pictures don't do it justice. It was tempting to just stay put and look at the amazing views but we did want to do a number of things. We loved fishing even though we didn't catch anything but even better was the horseback riding. The places you recommend were perfect. Sparky took care of everything we needed while we were there including letting us know that the power was out in the whole area one night. The view of the stars that night was particularly gorgeous. For anyone considering renting this home, you won't find anything better. It was truly amazing and if we are in the area again we would not hesitate to rent it again if Jaron will have us back. And if we're in the area again Sparky we'll take you up on the offer to go tubing. Thank you again for the perfect place for your family holiday.
Everything in the home was as described and then some. It was clean and very well maintained. We were very well looked after. As I said we did have a power outage one night which prompted Sparky to put together an emergency kit. We were asked for our input on it and at least one of what we felt was an important suggestion was acted on immediately. The activities and restaurants in the area that were recommended were fantastic. I would recommend this property to anyone.
Owner's Response: Thanks for another great review! And we do hope you come again. Sparky is a gem of a manager and guy and you won't find a better mountain man to take care of you in the best and worst of times.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
Tyler, Texas
5

Second Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The "4" couples had another fabulous stay at 'The Big Rock House'!! Thanks Jaron (and Sparky) for making this a true vacation outpost! Love it and will be back soon.
Owner's Response: You are welcome. Come back soon and tell friends and family. Jaron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
McPherson KS
5

Incredible mountain views - Warm, Luxurious home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Other reviews have said it, but honestly, the pictures simply cannot convey the amazing mountain views surrounding the home. We stayed for a week in July and were awe-struck anew each morning by the view. We loved watching the ever-changing views as the sun and clouds moved across the sky through the day. We were treated to sunshine, a couple of refreshing rainstorms, a little hail, and a spectacular DOUBLE-rainbow! We enjoyed meeting several neighboring deer during drives up to the cabin, and enjoyed the birds and used the bird-ID books to identify the various species. My mom bought a hummingbird feeder and enjoyed watching all the humming birds that stopped by.

The house was warmly and luxuriously furnished. We found the kitchen to be nicely supplied with all the cooking equipment we needed. The grill made for simple, delicious meals, and we loved dining outside on the patio table for many of our meals. The towels, beds, bedding and blankets were all very comfortable. We took advantage of a clear star-lit night to enjoy the hottub and were thrilled by a shooting star. For a few cool evenings, the fireplace warmed us.

The house is in a great location - less than an hour for day-trips to Red Rocks, or Denver, or many Platte River advenutres. Sparky, the property manager is very helpful in making suggestions for your adventures or in answering any questions. If you are considering making a reservation, don't hesitate! Book Big Rock Mountain House Now!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for another great review. Come again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New House Overlooking Platte River Valley Lost Creek Wilderness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274888
Bailey Denver Area
5

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful vacation. The house is amazing and really has everything you could need. Coming from Texas, arriving in Denver, and driving to the house was very easy. We stopped at the King Soopers and Biggie's Liquor store on our way. The views from the living room windows were awesome. My parents and siblings went white water rafting and ziplining with AVA one day and had a blast. My husband and I took a little drive to the Red Rocks Park (only about 40 mins away) and it was very cool to see. The pool table and ping pong table were a hit with my husband, dad, brother, and brother in-law. My 2 year old daughter really had a great time at the playground down the road. Pretty fancy playground for such a small little town. We grilled every night for dinner. Gas grill worked pretty well. The extra blow up mattress definetely came in handy for my daughter to sleep on. Plenty of towels, blankets, and pillows. Anyone who is on the fence about reserving this house should not hesitate. I would recommend to anyone. Thanks to Jaron for sharing his house with our family!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the fantastic review. I have nothing to add. You have said it all! We are glad you had a fantastic time and hope you come again. Jaron