Taveuni cottage rental - Lomani Afternoon
Lomani Afternoon
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Taveuni Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom + Outdoor Shower - designed for romance & relaxation

Lomani is designed for couples seeking privacy in an extremely romantic setting.

Lomani is a very romantic oceanfront rental home set on 2 acres of tropical gardens offering all the luxury of a 5 star resort and the privacy of your own home.

There is a private swimming pool with infinity edges and a king size four poster bed with mosquito net and a double headed outdoor stone shower.

There are full kitchen, bathroom and laundry facilities provided as well as TV, DVD, stereo and a range of music, movies and games.

A dedicated caretaker is available as required to meet all of your needs.

Privacy can be broken by moonlight massages and dinners on the deck overlooking the ocean below.

Lomani is eco friendly with natural artesian spring water and solar power.

Lomani is located between Matei and Somosomo and is within easy distance of the many restaurants and shops both towns offer. Two bikes, diving gear and fishing equipment is available for your use whilst staying at Lomani. Taveuni Island itself was the location for filming Return to the Blue Lagoon. You will easily understand why when you see the range of beautiful attractions including beaches, waterfalls, rain forests. Taveuni also offers an extremely wide range of adventures and activities.

Most importantly, Taveuni offers the opportunity to experience the authentic traditional Fiji and Fijian culture and charm.

We at Lomani like to say an island unaffected by time, void of worry and spoiled by beauty.

More Details
Hide Details

We discovered this piece of paradise whilst on our honeymoon in 2006. We enjoyed a few days at Anthony Robbins Resort ‘Namale’ on Vanua Levu (the island seen across the Somosomo Straits from Lomani). We then travelled to Taveuni to enjoy a private luxury house in contrast to a resort.

It was here that we discovered the opportunity to create Lomani.

Saskia Davison purchased this cottage in 2007

totally private home with a million dollar view just for you

6 Reviews of Property 274709 in Taveuni, Melanesia

Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
average rating of 3.75 based on 6 reviews
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Lomani is excellent"

"Lomani is excellent"
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
"Bula,
We loved Lomani and would highly recommend it to anyone. The fresh fruits and vegetables on the property were fantastic. The grounds around Lomani were breathtaking and the views over the Somosomo Strait were gorgeous, especially during sunset. The staff provided excellent, friendly service with many opportunities to learn about Fijian culture.
Excellent staff. Kelera, Nox, Tukana, and Jon Brown were all very friendly and eager to assist us with anything. Our stay at Lomani was exceptional due to the services and interactions with Jon Brown. He was constantly making sure we had power and would provide fresh fruits and vegetables from Lomani and his own farm every day. He cooked dinner for us one night and ate with us. He then made a bowl of Kava for us to try and told us stories about Fijians and their use of Kava and their way of life. Jon also gave us a tour of his farm and the surrounding village and again introduced us to Fijian culture. He offered to drive us into town or wherever we needed. He did an excellent job and I give him the highest accolades and praise for the services that he provided.
Our stay at Lomani was simply excellent! "
Doug and Sarah
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lomani

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Dear Saskia,

Many thanks for the email, unfortunately myself and Rali were heading different ways. I have been back onboard my ship in New Caledonia since yesterday evening and I believe she should be landing in London about now.

We left a note in the guest book but there were no blank questionnaire forms so thankyou for this one.

My feedback may seem to focus on the negatives but this is because I feel that these few points are the only negatives, and if they could be ironed out then Lomani would be the perfect experience. For Rali and I our time in Taveuni, staying in Lomani was by far the best two weeks of our holiday. I feel that the cottage was just as described and to Rally's eyes it was an amazing surprise on arrival (we had a perfect sunset that evening). Rally is very scared of bugs and spiders and so the first two nights were a bit of a trial! but she soon got used to it and every day was amazing there. The location was perfect for diving with Julie's Taveuni Ocean Sports at the foot of the hill; Rally achieved her Open Water qualification having only just learnt to snorkel with me in Tonga. We had some great experiences diving the pristine Rainbow Reef, all the guys at TOS were highly professional, friendly and not to mention entertaining!

We managed to visit the waterfalls, waterslide and Lavena walk. I managed to get one (extremely expensive) half day fishing with the Hawaiian expat John. We had great weather and only a few days of rain so the only TV I watched was Wales vs Fiji in the sevens. The TV worked well and we watched one movie using my USB stick so it was great to have a modern TV. We only lost power once (on the first night) and no problems thereafter with power. It seems that Rally was allergic to the relentless mosquitos (I was lucky they didn't seem to like welsh blood) but despite this we had many beautiful mornings and evenings eating either outside on the deck or in the kitchen. The friendly geckos and toads helped keep the spiders at bay so not too many freak outs and it was only on the last day that a spider bigger than my hand appeared! This was all highly entertaining for me and I think Rally has become a lot braver since the start of the holiday!

You have picked a perfect location with Lomani, the sunsets are beautiful and the garden was full of fruit. It was a blissful oasis after 1 night in the Sofitel surrounded by other tourists! It is surely an experience we will treasure and I will be sure to recommend Lomani
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
1

Disappointed with Lomani...

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
When we found Lomani on homeaway we were very excited! Saskia the owner was nothing but accommodating, and we were very happy to have found such a beautiful place to stay for our honeymoon. Unfortunately, when we arrived at Lomani we came across BEDBUGS! We were very upset with this and contacted Saskia right away. We then asked to receive a full refund for our stay at Lomani, due to the fact that it was not a healthy environment for accommodations. We were VERY DISAPPOINTED to find out that we were only going to receive HALF OUR MONEY BACK! We were told that the property had been fumigated and that we were welcome to come stay at Lomani for the rest of our stay however, there was no proof of fumigation therefore we did not find this evident proof that the property had in fact been fumigated. With that in mind, we did not accept the invite to return to Lomani. I hope that both John and Saskia can see how unfair this resolution was of only returning HALF OUR MONEY!
Owner's Response: Bula Michele,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review below for Lomani.

We want to express our deep disappointment that we were not able to deliver on your expectations.

We also want to take this opportunity to highlight to our potential future guests that we immediately acted on the valuable feedback provided to allow us to feel very confident in asserting that our guests at Lomani will not encounter bed bugs.

It is important to highlight that in operating Lomani for over four years now we have never prior to or subsequent to this occasion ever had any complaints with respect to bugs.

In these particular circumstances:

1) Our guests, who professed to being trained in the identification of bed bugs, immediately upon arrival advised they had identified bed bugs in the bed and requested to be relocated to alternate accommodation they had arranged;
2) We undertook our own inspection with the Lomani Caretaker and Cleaner who were both unable to confirm the existence of bed bugs;
3) Notwithstanding this, we immediately after transferring the guests as they requested made arrangements to treat all bedding, the mattress and all couches with FenvaStar EcoCap.

The reality is we had never before or subsequently ever received such a complaint (including guests who departed almost immediately prior to our guests arrival and guests who stayed within two weeks of our guests departure) and we were not able to confirm through the inspections of our staff (caretaker and cleaner who it is accepted are not trained in the identification of bed bugs) that bed bugs were in fact in existence at Lomani.

On this basis, we considered a 50% refund reasonable in the circumstances.

We apologize for our guests experience but we are very confident in expressing our view that based on our history, our standards, the steps we have and continue to take and our commitment to our customer's satisfaction that no bed bugs will be experienced at Lomani.

Vinaka Saskia
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
4

Unbelievable view/Romantic seclusion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at Lomani for our honeymoon and are so glad we did! We were nervous renting off of homeaway.com, but the owner of Lomani addressed our questions in the planning process almost immediately via E-mail and/or phone. The caretaker of Lomani was at the airport to pick us up when we arrived. He and our taxi driver took us to the village and assisted us with going to the bank and with shopping. The caretaker gave us a cell phone to contact him and the taxi driver. When we arrived at Lomani, the view was breath-taking and champagne was waiting for us! The cottage itself is broken into two small "houses" next to each other--one with the kitchen, and the other with the living room, bedroom, and bathroom. It feels very open and the showers are outside (but private...cool!), so it kind of gave us the feel of "fancy camping." The photos on the website are very accurate. It was clean when we arrived. We had privacy that you wouldn't have at a resort. For meals, we mostly ate at the Coconut Grove resort or had them deliver. The housekeeper also made dinner at home for us and then delivered it and they made a traditional meal in a fire they created on our lawn one night, arranged through the caretaker. The pool is great. Heads up: the only thing that is really walking distance is a GREAT scuba diving shop (where you can snorkel also with the snorkel equipment provided at Lomani). To get to any restaurants, villages, or decent beaches, you have to take a taxi. Two bicycles are provided, however, they do not work very well and are very uncomfortable. We rode them to the village one day, which was a pretty far bike ride and difficult since the bikes didn't work well, so we did not ride them again. We also tried to walk to Tromonto's restaurant one night and figured out half-way there that it was WAY too far to walk to. Also, the house is solar powered (with a generator), so we did run out of power two times (and we were very conservative with the power!), but we just called the caretaker and he turned on the generator. The only real negative was that we did not have much hot water. We could only get one of the showers to get hot, and that was only if you barely turned it on so the water pressure was very low. We let the caretaker know and he tried to fix it, but it still did not work. Two of the days, the water was cloudy too....even though they say you can drink the water, I don't think I would! Also, the taxi driver is extremely helpful in taking you to anywhere!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
5

Did Not stay at hotel but did Enjoy customer service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I did not spend any time at lomani but I had planned a trip there in september of 2012. I had placed my deposit of 700 dollars for the week. The owner was very flexible and extremly helpful. My plans changed and i was unable to work out the time in order to get there and have a wonderful experiance, but the customer service they provided with me was enough to make me look forward to getting there one day. The owner was extremely helpful even converting currency and doing whatever they could do help me get my refund. I would highly recommend the owners just based on how helpful and accomidating they were without me even being there. One day i will get there and enjoy what i can only asume is a beautiful home, due to there amount of help i was offered by the owners
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Oceanfront Home, private infinity pool and gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274709
+601 7377 x 5270
Taveuni Fiji
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Paradise awaits!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I were married on Taveuni and then spent our honeymoon at Lomani. This property was just as advertisted. Pictures do not do it justice.
We had a great time and were taken care of from the moment we landed to when we regrettably had to leave.
If you are looking for privacy and seclusion then look no further. Lomani is well maintained and cared for and while you are there if you have any needs they will also be taken care of.

Thanks Saskia and John for sharing this wonderful oasis. I hope to be back very soon!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6