Huddleston house rental - A view from the lake
A view from the lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms (10 beds- zoned for 8 adults + 2 children under 2yrs)

If Ralph Lauren ever featured a lake house in any of his advertisements, this would be the property he would use. Almost every room features a magnificent and unfettered view across broad expanses of Smith Mountain Lake. There is a link below to additional photographs. The covered back porch faces West and is where we sit to watch the kids playing in the yard or watch the sunsets while sharing a glass of wine and listening to our favorite tunes through speakers located throughout the propery (via satellilte radio).

The lake house sits on almost 3 acres and is almost completely surrounded on three sides by the lake. It has a secluded cove for safe swimming and a large boat house with covered lounging as well. There is a grassy field for soccer play and another for lawn tennis (badminton).

Around the corner from Mitchell's Point Marina where you can rent boats and wave runners. The Marina also provides free wireless internet and has a bar and grill with excellent food.

PETS: The only pets we permit are adult dogs who are well trained and require a small fee for pets. Please call to discuss the fee and additional security deposit that may be required.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an attorney practicing law in both Virginia and Florida. My wife stopped working as an investment money manager (she has a CFA and MBA) to help raise our twin boys, now teenagers. Our family loves the water so, when we left Florida ten years ago we were excited to find this wonderful lake house permitting us to spend large amounts of quality time together as a family. The whole family enjoys skiing, wake boarding and boating. Many afternoons we spend floating in the cove just off our boat house spending time with the boys - when they aren't wrestling with each other and throwing each other into the lake from our floating trampoline - kng of the mountain style.

Reed Tolber purchased this house in 2007

We love Huddleston and being on the Bedford side of the lake. Our lake house is located on a very wide part of the Craddock Creek part of the lake and the water quality is much clearer than the more northern part of the lake. That is because by the time the various streams and rivers join and get down to our part of the lake, all of the silt in the water has settled- usually by the time it goes through the winding bends just northwest of our part of the lake. We also love being right around the corner from a great marina- Mitchell's Point Marina. It makes it easy to get gas for the boat and wave runner and means we are close to a nice bar and grill and ice cream for the kids. On the weekends, Mitchell's often has live entertainment in the form of local bands. By boat, we are about three minutes away. By car, we are about one half mile away from Mitchell's point. We are also close - by water- to Mariner's Landing, a very nice hotel and golfing destination with great dining as well.

14 Reviews of Property 274600 in Huddleston, Virginia

Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
4

Great house, great owners

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is our second time staying 2 weeks at this house and it was as good as we remembered teh first time (2 years ago). Reed did a nice job of communicating before, during and after our visit and he supplies quite a bit of things for the house (makes for easier packing). Beautiful views, nice property, large dock and overall just a really solid home to rent for a family or group.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

GREAT HOME, GREAT LAKE, GREAT VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow!!!! What a beautiful lake home--private, clean, very comfortable, beautifully appointed and has everything(and more) that one could possibly need(towels, games, movies, well equipped kitchen, etc...)

To top all, the owner was very gracious and great with his timely and detailed communication, which was much appreciated.

My family would LOVE to return immediately!!

The Henderson's
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Peaceful...easy..relaxing place to stay...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house is so comfortable. Beautifuly decorated.....great flat yard for both grandparents and little kids to run around and play......hard to find as many properties are with steep yards. Love the music system!! So great to have all the choices for our entertainment. With several families coming it was great to have a little division in the home also! Beautiful place to stay....awesome view!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Ellicott City, MD
5

Best Spot on the Lake!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I really can't say enough about our stay here over Memorial Day weekend. The owner was incredibly wonderful. The sunsets, breathtaking, and the house was stunning. It was immaculate and resembled a mix between Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware. We spent the days out on a rented boat and the evenings fishing from the dock or shore or sitting on the porch and watching the sun go down. We've stayed in a VRBO on Smith Mountain Lake before and this was by far the best experience we've had. Top to bottom it was a two thumbs up rental!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Tequesta,Fl
5

Our perfect long weekend on the lake.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This house is the perfect lake house with a panaromic view of Smith Mountain Lake. We appreciated the
house being so clean, it was as if it was our house that had just been cleaned by the best cleaning company. The openess of the kitchen, dining area and family room was comfortable and worked well for our large family. The porch and patio area gave us extra hang out space and take advantage of the great view. Our kids enjoyed the badminton and volleyball in the back yard, and even slept out in a tent one nite, that we brought. Would highly recomend this house to anyone who appreciates a beautiful lake home with the best views.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Jacksonville, Florida
5

Another Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
For the second year in a row, my wife, four children and I had a wonderful stay in this wonderful house! Our hosts spared no expense, and left no detail unattended, in creating a welcoming retreat from the hectic pace of daily life. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Washington DC
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We couldn't have asked for more from our first trip to SML, our two families had a great time and very much enjoyed the upscale look and feel of the house. Its clear the owner takes great pride in the house and genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay, we've stayed in many rentals over the years and this one was right up there as one of the best :)

Its superbly located right on the lake allowing you to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets or just watch the kids play for hours on the water trampoline - one important tip - be sure to rent a boat to explore the vast expanse of lake on your doorstep.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Fairfax, VA
5

Charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The house was just as described. My family and I go every year. This was probably the best trip yet. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful lake house with us!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
North Carolina
5

We'll be back!

We'll be back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family spent several glorious days at the lakehouse and enjoyed it immensely! The house is great! It's beautifully decorated, yet homey and comfortable. The lake view from the house was awesome. We enjoyed meals on the screened-in porch, hot tea in the yard chairs by the lake and relaxing in the living room to the "movie of the night"! My daughter and I enjoyed several walks around the neighborhood and to the local marina and felt very safe. We drove the 20-some minutes to Moneta for dinner at Moosies - delicious sandwiches! I feel sure we'll be back and I hope it's soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic Lake House Ralph Lauren Would Love (with acres of flat lawns)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274600
+1 434 295 6659
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Frederick, MD
5

Beautiful Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had an amazing time at this rental property. The view was beautiful, the house was clean, beds comfortable, and Smith Mountain Lake was so peaceful. We saw very few boats on the lake and were so pleasantly surprised how clean the water was. I would highly recommend this as a great place to escape and would most definitely consider coming back. Owner was very helpful in answering my questions. The listing description is spot on. We were very pleased with the condition of the home. I would warn folks with teenagers there is no cable. We thought this would be an issue, however, we were happy not having a TV on all day! Videos were provided and we found ourselves watching a movie most nights before bed. We had an awesome time at Smith Mountain Lake!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children