Isla Mujeres house rental - View of Bay of Isla Mujeres
View of Bay of Isla Mujeres
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Isla Mujeres House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 5 baths sleeps max 10

Watch the sunrise and the sunset from the tip of Isla Mujeres in this beautiful new home with all the amenities. Casa Vista Alegre del Sur is located just a few hundred yards from the Mayan Ruins located on the south point of the island.

Vista Alegre del Sur, completed in 2010, means 'Happy View'. You can easily see why. The house is located at the south tip of the little island of Isla Mujeres Mexico and has 360 degree views allowing for both sunrise and sunset views. You can spend a whole day just watching the white clouds roll across the turquoise waters while looking at the Cancun hotel district off in the distance. Enjoy the red orange sunset and then the view turns into a sparkling diamond bracelet of lights.

Relax: The house is detailed with the finest quality materials. The floors and showers throughout the house are travertine. The counter tops are striped travertine and the wood doors, cabinets and railings are mahogany. The pool decking is conchuela, a stone made from conch shells that is always cool to the feet.

The pool, approx 20' x 40', gives a vanishing edge view of the beautiful water that you literally can't take your eyes off of. You may never want to leave the house. A short walk to the very tip of the south point will take you to the Mayan Ruins, Templo Ixchel, where you can walk through the sculpture gardens and visit the lighthouse before having lunch or dinner at the at the restaurant on the point. You can also walk to Garrafon Park where you can spend the day hanging at the beach, the pools, snorkeling, diving, kayaking, or riding the zip line.

Surrounding area: Travel by little red taxi, golf cart, or moped to the North Beach to check out the white sandy beaches and beach restaurants. The North Village 'Centro' is exciting day or night. Its a great place to eat, shop, hang, people watch, and meet people. Hidalgo Street is the place for night life and trea restaurants.

You can take a ferry over to the hotel district of Cancun for more fancy dining and world class shopping. Come down anytime late spring or summer and experience a thrill of a lifetime swimming with the 30 to 40 foot whale sharks. Isla Mujeres is a world class fishing and diving destination.

In June through August don't miss the once in a lifetime experience to swim with the 30 to 40 foot whale sharks. Isla Mujeres is one of the few places where they migrate close enough to see. If you are a diver or a fisherman you have probably already heard of Isla Mujeres.

Our Casa: I myself am a golfer and love bringing my clubs down and playing the many golf courses around Cancun and Playa del Carmen with course designs by world famous players and architects .

This beautiful casa awaits your visit, whether a romantic get away or family or friend vacation. The house is comfortable for 2 to 10 people.

More Details
Hide Details

David Malloy, hit songwriter and music producer and his wife Kathy Anderson, interior designer, reside in Nashville, Tennessee. After the first honeymoon visit together on Isla Mujeres they knew that this magic spot was where they wanted to make their second home.

David Malloy purchased this house in 2010

Award winning interior designer Kathy Anderson, who has visited the island for years, chose this perfect location to build her island dream home, together with builder, designer David Wisnievitz they were able to create this unique one of a kind custom home.

The view is amazing and the fluorescent turquoise water becomes ingrained in your memory.

22 Reviews of Property 274526 in Isla Mujeres, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
5

Auburn Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We shared your wonderful home again this year with old Auburn friends and had a magnificent week. Your coordinator, Carla, did a fantastic job of taking care of our every need. The house and setting are just beautiful. We hope that we are fortunate enough to come back with our same group next year, and have recommended your home on Isla Mujeres to all of our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Wisconsin
5

AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was the best vacation ever! My husband, our kids and spouses spent the week in your beautiful house. We felt very much at home right away. The views are spectacular and the layout is great for all to have their own private space. The outdoor patio was used everyday to spend time together- eating, laughing, enjoying the pool and relaxing. We have such great memories to last a very long time. I want to thank you for sharing your wonderful home and we hope to come back again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
franklin tn
5

Best Vaca in My Life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home is much more beautiful than the pictures can convey. There were 4 couples on my stay and we all had to go around and marvel at each other's rooms. Even with 8 adults, we never felt crowded and the rooms were quiet if some wanted to nap or turn in early. Even on the outdoor hanging bed, with the sound of the sea below, you had to strain to hear the murmurs of voices. The home and the island offer something Cancun will never have. Beauty and style combined with the simplicity of island life. There was no dressing for dinner, no having to call taxis or wait in line for anything. If you want a taxi, just go stand outside and one will drive by in about a minute. They just circle the island. The islanders were very friendly and helpful. I felt as safe here as I do in my own home. The food was incredible and so fresh. No one even got remotely sick. Those days are long gone here. The island has it's own water purification and the house comes with a water cooler. The housekeeper made fresh guacamole for us. She and her husband came every day to clean everything. They even folded laundry! The convenience of the scooters and the golf cart were great. Don't forget the drive-thru beer market. Whale Sharks were in season, but we didn't go because it was early in the season and they were still far out from the island. I went snorkeling two days to Garrafon de Castilla which can be seen from the house and I also went scuba diving on a day trip with Gilberto and Carey Dive Center. The guys went deep sea fishing with someone recommended by the owner's caretaker and had a tremendous experience. We all went into town to eat the fish they caught, which was prepared by Captain Jorge and his parents who own a restaurant. We strolled around town and shopped. We walked the paths along the waterfronts. I am a cyclist, but I wouldn't recommend renting bikes here. It's kind of crazy with the scooters, golf carts, and people being distracted. Mary Ann the massage therapist (in the book at the house) came to give all 8 of us massages. She was maybe the best I'd ever had. She embraced us coming up and taking pictures of each other during the massage. The wi-fi worked great. We were able to take care of our departure tickets easily and fend off unwanted distractions from work. Plain and simple, we had fun. No one wanted to go home. And we can't wait to go again. More than one of us felt this was truly the best vacation of our lives and it all started with this beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Midwest
5

Beautiful Property - Excellent Service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Five adults shared this home and it was wonderful. Leading up to the trip, David, the owner, was very helpful and responsive to my questions and that level of service continued during our trip. We were greeted with fresh guacamole made by the housekeeper and arranged for her to make some of our lunches while were there. Everything was delicious. We had the unfortunate luck of some very bad weather and David called to check on us several times and ensure that we were taken care of. The home is modern and beautiful. The views are amazing. The pool is perfect. Each bedroom is located in different levels of the house so they are very private. I very readily recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Beth, so happy to hear that even in rainy weather casa Vista Alegre Del Sur is still the place to be. Look forward to your return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Littleton, Colorado. USA
5

Jeanne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of 10 just got back from a 9 day stay at Vista Alegre. The house is so beautifully done and the views are to die for. The main living room is very spacious with comfortable furniture. The large island in the kitchen was the gathering place for the whole family. We had family members of all ages and everyone had a wonderful time with plenty of things to do. Julian was great and helped us get golf carts to accommodate our large group. The helpful hints found in the house instructions were invaluable. The island was charming and the people were so friendly. We couldn't have been more pleased with the house and our visit to Isla Mujeres. David and Kathy, we just love your home and hope to return again. Jeanne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Grand Haven, Michigan USA
5

Chickenless!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
First, where are all the chickens? There were no chickens roaming anywhere! For that matter, unlike many of our previous Caribbean stops, there were no packs of stray dogs, no wild horses, and no cannon-volley wake up calls at 4:45am. Without cannon blasts or cock-a-doodles at first light we dedicated our early morning hours to REM sleep and stayed that way until we got a whiff of breakfast or heard the clang of Bloody Mary's being stirred. On the equinox however, we did manage an early morning rally to greet the sunrise and welcome Spring. We gathered at the Myan temple just down the street and arrived early thinking there would be a crowd. Seems that without chickens or cannons the island population remains horizontal until 7-8 and we had the temple to ourselves. I had my camera in the event a flotilla of women showed up for some pagan ritual, but apparently the tradition has fallen to the wayside. It's good that our nights were restful because our days were full of activity. We were constantly moving...from the dining table, to the patio, to the pool, to a lounge chair, to the swinging bed (what a great idea), and each new adventure often involved a detour past the frige. It's hard to imagine, but by the time evening rolled around we were pretty worn out from all the moving around during the day. By evening, the best we could muster was to change out of our bathing suits and drive a golf cart to some place where we could just sit and pay someone else to bring us food and drink.This was a very nice option after a long day at the Villa and luckily the island is full of places that specialize in such treatment. On a few occasions we did break away from our daily focus on sloth and gluttony and we golf carted into town or some nearby attraction. The Villa is a fabulous place! Architecturally it boast clean lines, a great floor plan, impressive craftsmanship and choice of materials, tasteful decorations, and it shows great pride in ownership. Functionally, everything worked flawlessly, which means I wasted suitcase space on my multi-tool, flashlight, and duct tape. Our only issue was learning to work the satellite TV, but the antics surrounding our efforts were more entertaining than most programs..2500 words is not enough to tell our happy stories, but we only need two words to describe our one issue with this vacation; too short. My wife and I and the other three couples that shared this vacation all hope to return, but for longer next time...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Atlanta, GA
5

My favorite vacation accomodation ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We have just returned from sharing a week at Alegra with another couple. The other couple had stayed at Alegra twice before. Alegra was just as magnificent as they had described and far surpassed our wildest expectations. The spacious central living areas as well as the private bedroom suites were perfectly designed. The property has a magnificent panoramic view of the Carribean and the most accomodating staff imaginable. All areas of the property, heated pool, and grounds were meticulously maintained and offered complete seurity. I cannot imagine any aspect of this property that could be improved. I just hope to return "soon and often!" Jane
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks Jane! That's exactly how we feel. Guess this means we'll be looking for you to come back and stay at our house again. :) I will tell the staff, they will be happy to hear.
David
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Burlington, VT
5

Perfect Place for Family Destination Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My entire family, new and old, stayed here for me and my partners quasi-elopement. It was fantastic. Just steps from the southern tip of the island, you can walk to the sculpture garden and a beautiful gazebo, where we held our service, and also follow the ocean walk along the rocky cliffs facing the northern coast.

It's so peaceful, I almost feel like I missed out on more of the island, because we were utterly comfortable staying put at this house. It's well kept, gorgeously decorated, and has more than any home you've probably ever lived in - lovely open space for conversing, extremely private bedrooms (great for a party of 8 with couples), a stunning pool with ocean/Cancun views, and a state-of-the-art kitchen.

Wonderful stay, and truly worth repeating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cathy for your sweet review of our property. We really appreciate it and want you to know you are always invited back.

David
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Nashville, TN
5

AMAZING!!!!! This place is a must stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
AMAZING!!!! I cannot say enough good things about this house and our experience there. This was our first time to Isla and this wonderful casa. We were already planning a return trip by the end of day one. The design, layout and details of this house are all superb! I love the understated street view of the property. Once you open the wooden door to the private, front courtyard, you begin to be awed by all of your surroundings and the attention to details of this house, Prepare for your breath to be taken away by the views. Watching sunsets from this house are priceless! The swing bed is by far the best place to nap in the world! The property manager is very helpful, and Judith prepares an amazing breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice,daily upon request. The island itself is wonderful and easy to explore. I could be completely happy never leaving the house though. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to rent a vacation home...and even over a hotel. The materials and furnishings of this home are all high end and nothing was skimped on. It is simply beautiful. We are so grateful to Kathy and David for sharing their little bit of paradise with us. Karey & Kent
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
*Breathtaking* 4BR / 5BA Oceanfront House, Heated Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274526
+1 615 298-5775
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
4

amazing vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
this house was so beautiful on the best block on the island. quiet, private, modern - this house has it all. the view is amazing, the pool is awesome. The house has a housekeeper that comes every day and will cook if you ask her to and provide the food.
I would definitely come back to isla mujeres only if i could rent this same house. it was perfect for our family and the best vacation yet.