Kohala Estates estate rental - Lanai
Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kohala Estates Estate Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms , 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10-14

CLICK ON THE VIRTUAL HOME TOUR LINK LOCATED BELOW to see this lovely home. It is so near the ocean you can whale watch as you enjoy your beautiful view from the lanai. This home is outstanding with beautiful landscaping and professional Hawaiian style decor. Enter the home while walking along a stone pathway through a beautiful koi pond and waterfall entrance. This home is very private and nestled into the gentle slope of the island. Lots of space for entertaining and enjoying quality family time.

Set on a spacious 5 acre parcel, this home provides the opportunity for luxury along the beautiful coastline at a fraction of the cost. Many luxurious amenities are included with this property such as a theater room, koi pond, multiple areas for entertaining and outdoor hot tub.

The elevation of 500, allows for warm sunny days and cool breezes in the evening. Kohala Coast enjoys 300+ days of sunshine, and is located on the dry side of the island.

CLICK ON THE VIRTUAL TOUR TO SEE !!!: Every room in this house has a beautiful view with 6000 sq. ft of living space.There are two spacious and luxurious master suites (one is wheelchair accessible). Beautiful gourmet kitchen, and more than you can imagine at a great price. Call or email me for special rates. Book now to reserve this amazing property.

More Details
Hide Details

Having visited the Hawaiian islands various times over the years with my young children, we finally discovered the Big Island - totally fell in love with the island.... Hawi specifically, then realized that the 'dry side' had a lot to offer...

Jennifer Greggor purchased this estate in 2008

I purchased this property because of it's central location to all of what I think is the best that the Big Island has to offer. Mainly in all honesty because I realized for the first time in my life, I was able to make a major financial decision by myself - so I purchased an estate! Meanwhie, You can easily reach the volcano and Hilo side, the observatories at the summit, Kona, Waipio Valley, Puako, Hawi, the resorts, and beaches without having to overnight somewhere else. You can watch the ship traffic enter the harbor at Kawaihae or spend the day watching the whales from the house. (try and visit between December and March for the humpbacks)

This home lends itself well to multi-generational family reunions, weddings, and events while maintaining the intimate feel for smaller family vacations. Since it sits on a large parcel of land, guests will enjoy the privacy and tranquility provided in a rural uncrowded setting surrounded by coconut palms and professional landscaping.

29 Reviews of Property 274167 in Kohala Estates, Hawaii

Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 29 reviews
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS HOME!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What a magnificent estate!
We were very fortunate to find Jenny and Mark’s beautiful Kohala Coast Estate for our family to relax and entertain for my son and new daughter-in-law’s destination wedding plans at a nearby resort. With a handicapped daughter, the challenges to find a truly wheelchair accessible home, with accommodations for up to 10 of us, was a daunting task. In the end, only 6 could make the trip and the flexibility to meet our final needs made this the perfect spot. This solved the logistics of having our family comfortably settled in one spot. It also put my mind at ease to enjoy the joy of a family reunion and wedding celebration!
What came next was our arrival! It’s hard to describe the beauty of the setting overlooking the Pacific after navigating the magnificent garden walk and Koi Pond entry, spacious foyer, living room and adjoining phenomenal kitchen. All led to the huge lanai and yard through a massive wall of sliding glass doors. What more could be asked for? A perfect sense of spacious openness to the Pacific! A perfect place to enjoy and entertain!
After a good night’s rest in our comfortable Four-Star surroundings we enjoyed spending the next day in the fully equipped kitchen preparing to show off as parents of the groom with a rehearsal barbeque for all attending the wedding. We could not have been happier nor more proud to honor our son and his bride with a reception at Mark and Jenny’s Kohala home! I can only say thank you for being the best Hosts-In-Absentia. The reception was an overwhelming success, primarily the result of its location. We could not have asked for a more inviting place to spread out, entertain, enjoy, relax, renew and celebrate! The rest of the week was perfect with a beautiful beach wedding and more relaxing with family and friends at our private estate!
What a great place for small to large families or multiple families with or without children. The location is convenient to all along the Kohala Coast. It is fully equipped and beautifully appointed. And, it is the best buy from the best folks you will ever have the pleasure to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Montana USA
5

Hawaii Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I spent 10 days here. The first week was preparing for my daughter's wedding. We played a little before the big event. This home can provide anything you are looking for. It can be a quiet retreat, a place to base family excursions from and an excellent venue for an important event. We used it for all of the above and were very satisfied. The first part of the week we enjoyed the nearby beaches with the grandkids, kayaking and swimming with the dolphins and manta rays. When you needed a rest, there was always a quiet place to go. My daughter's wedding was just the right size with approximately 55 in attendance. The house and grounds were beautiful and easily accommodated the guests during the 'pre-party', ceremony, dinner and dancing. Jenny and her staff were very accommodating. We had a small emergency when I discovered the coffee pot decided to quit but the maintenance manager immediately took care of me. I had never stayed in a vacation home before and I was very pleased with this experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
jonesboro georgia
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The pictures of the property does not do this property justice. I was so amazed i begin to cry from happiness and amazement. There are no words to describe this property it truly was the height of my families vacation. My whole family loved every single part of this house. If you want a truly amazing vacation this is the property to choose. The owners are sooo very nice and helpful they give so much care and assistance to accommodate you to have an easy transition to the island. Just prepare yourself for AMAZEMENT!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
San Rafael, CA
5

Perfect place for our wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thought that coming to this beautiful house for our wedding would offer a great family gathering place, space to relax in between sightseeing and wedding plans, and a wonderfully beautiful venue to hold our small wedding. It was all these things and more! We filled all 6 bedrooms with family, but everyone had space to come and go as they pleased, relax with coffee on the lanai in the morning breeze, plan the day's activities, fix meals, and relax with games and wine on the lanai in the evenings.
The stars are amazing from the yard, the location offers some great snorkeling beaches within 10 minutes, it is private, comfortable and both Kona and Hilo are about an hour away.
The spacious house and accessible yard and lanai offered lots of options for our wedding setup, and when our outdoor plans had to change with an unusually strong wind, there was plenty of space to move the bar, tables, and food as needed. Everyone loved the house and setting for the wedding.
Jenny and Mark are very responsive to your needs and are available to answer questions or take care of things. They supply lots of tourist information in the house, as well as the great theater.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Fabulous House – Awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We arrived at the house around 11pm (easy to find with a GPS) & were immediately met with a beautiful breeze & the most brilliant stars. Stepping in to the house we were amazed at how spacious & beautiful it was. We awoke to the ultimate vacation view – palm trees in the yard, mountains to our left & a water view right in front of you. While the land down the hill to the water is somewhat barren it is still really picture perfect. The landscape around the house is gorgeous & very well maintained. The area is very private & quiet but a quick easy drive to beaches, resorts, shops etc. There is plenty of space to spread out both inside & out. House is beautiful & does not disappoint. We were all over the island & can attest that Mark & Jenny picked the best spot on the island for their lovely home. Weather was great – it was sunny every day but never too hot. Big kitchen was wonderful to cook a few meals in together. Media room was great to retreat to after watching the sun set. The house has everything you would need - towels, laundry detergent, condiments, sugar etc. I would suggest bringing some coffee if you are big coffee drinkers like we are. At 4:30am I was ready for my coffee but had to wait a few hours until we could get out & get some. Local restaurants just down the street have great food.

With good local food, awesome house & wonderful views it was hard to pull yourself away to go see other parts of the island. However, try & see as much as you can. The volcano is amazing & should not be missed. The Hilo Farmer’s Market is a great place to get local food & crafts at a good price & the drive has some beautiful views. You must go up to Mauna Kea Summit one night – there is nothing like wearing sweaters & drinking hot chocolate while you are in Hawaii. The views on the drive up are views you will not often get to see, nor soon forget.

We were here for 8 days but next time will stay for 2 weeks so we have a little more time to relax. Mark & Jenny were great to work with right from the start. The whole reservation & payment process was easy and they were always available for our every question. One night a battery wore out on a smoke detector that was on a high ceiling. We called in the morning and they had it fixed within hours.

It was a wonderful vacation & really a very reasonable way to have 3 different families stay together in Hawaii. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend working with Mark and Jenny.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

AMAZING HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was our second visit to this wonderful home for a family reunion, and as before it was difficult to tear ourselves away. The house and garden are very well maintained and the water views and sunsets from the porch are outstanding. The kitchen is well supplied for eating in, although there are good restaurants nearby. The location is quiet and private, yet the beaches are only 10 minutes away. In the morning we were woken by birdsong and while having morning coffee the birds paid us a visit. Our teenagers loved the entertainment room. The weather in this part of the island is reliably sunny, but you definitely need raincoats for trips to the volcano and Hilo. In addition to spending time at the beach, we recommend hiking north of Hawi and exploring some of the other trails. Our group of 10 ranged in age from 16 to 85 and the house accommodated all of us comfortably. We would love to return to this wonderful spot in the future.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Woodland CA
5

AMAZING HOME!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I have used vacation rentals before and sometimes the photos/descriptions aren't always accurate and we've been disappointed when we actually arrived. However this was absolutely not the case here. In fact, I don't think the photos do the place justice. It was an amazing house and we could have almost just stayed there the whole time! There was so much room in the house that at first we had a little trouble finding each other and our way around:) This was our first trip to the Big Island and it was truly spectacular. Jenny was very gracious and left helpful tips about finding our way around the island and things to see while we were there. If we had any questions, there were multiple numbers available to reach her. It was always just so nice to get back to the house at the end of the day and watch the sunsets from either the patio or deck because all the views were lovely. Sunday was especially quiet because all the boys were in the movie room watching football.
We would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay with tons of amenities that you don't even appreciate until you are there. Thank you Jenny for making your home available to us ....... AWESOME PLACE!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Livermore, CA
5

Spectacular home and stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
As soon as we arrived for our stay, we were blown away at the beauty and expanse of this home. It was incredibly spacious, with a relaxed design and all the comforts of home that one would want while away. The house in real life, far exceeded the expectations I had from the photos. From the fish pond and waterfall in the entryway, to the large and welcoming foyer, to the theater, to the kitchen fully stocked with all the equipment to cook a gourmet meal for a huge group, to the master bathrooms and the sprawling guest rooms, to the huge back patio complete with two BBQ grills. Everything is maintained and in excellent shape, and it is clear that the owners take great pride in this property.

There were four of us (two couples) that stayed here, so we each were able to have one of the master suites. This gave us enough privacy to feel like we had our own place, but made for great meetings in the gourmet kitchen and outside patio. In fact, most of our time at the house was spent on the outside patio where we had a beautifully landscaped yard with many different types of incredibly colored flora, palm tree-bordered ocean views, spectacular sunsets, and very impressive star-gazing at night. Since we were outside so much, we did notice some mosquitoes, but kept repellent coils burning on the outside table and had bug spray handy, and it seemed to do the trick. There are also tiki torches that line the yard for the same effect.

The location of the house felt perfect for the activities we had planned for the week. We traveled into Kona several times for different day trips, over to Hilo to see the volcano, and finally up to Waimea for an awesome breakfast and quick walk around town. The ride back down the mountain gave us some breathtaking panoramic views.

I've never really vacationed this way before, but Jenny and Mark made the whole process very easy and comfortable. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Ashburn, VA
5

Fantastic Home...Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We initially found this wonderful property and just knew that this is where I wanted to celebrate my BIG birthday with my family. I wanted it to be perfect and PERFECT it was. From the time we contacted Jenny and Mark, our stay and arriving back home, they were always there to answer any of our questions. The owners are very thoughtful and have furnished it with virtually everything that any family (regardless of their age) might want or need to have a fantastic vacation. The six bedrooms, three full bathrooms, large open plan, huge lanai, hot tube and may other amenities provide everyone with room to relax. Many varieties of plummeria and coconut trees as well as hibiscus, and a wonderful Koi pond all on the property. With a commanding view of the Pacific Ocean, this home provided us a breathtaking view of sunsets every day. For those who enjoy star gazing, during the night, you will be amazed by thousands of stars twinkling in the sky and have your wish ready to make upon seeing a shooting star, which we have personally seen. This house is truly one-of-a-kind, as there are no other properties like it and the price is very affordable, especially with all of the provisions to cook your own meals and spend excellent quality time with your family and friends. The property is very close to Hapuna Beach, which is great and centrally located to many of the Big Island's attractions. It is also situated at an ideal elevation, which provides cool (and sometimes strong) breezes to flow through the house. In addition to being an individual family retreat (with or without children), the house can accommodate larger groups as well for special occasions such as reunions or weddings. Carpe Vacationum (Seize the Vacation) at the Greggor home and experience the vacation of a lifetime. You will not be disappointed. - Aloha! The Rector's, Adams, and Neudorff's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Big Island Hawaii, Private Kohala Coast Luxury Estate, Hawaii's #1 Six Br Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274167
+1 415 2330529
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
San Jose, CA
5

Exceptional Last Minute Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We arrived at our vacation rental on the Big Island and were very disappointed in the place we'd picked over the internet. We decided to make last minute changes. We checked VRBO and this house happened to be open for the three nights we needed. With only one day's notice the owners were more than accommodating and did everything they could to help us "recover" our vacation. Twenty four hours later we were out of the dump and into their beautiful home.

The house is located in one of the driest spots on the Island. Seems like the chances of spending a rainy week in Hawaii are pretty much nil at this location. You get expansive views of the ocean, but you are up a hill from the shore so it is not like you are on the water. The houses up here are far apart so you definitely get your privacy. The land on this side of the island is brown and scrubby -- desert-like, but the grounds of the house itself are beautifully landscaped and well watered.

Inside, the house is very nice and huge! At first my family of five didn't know what to do with ourselves in all of that space, but after a while we settled in and the place became very comfortable. I can see why the house would be good for a wedding or reunion with all of that square footage. We had four adults and one teen in our group. If I came back to stay here with a group like this again we would probably want to rent two cars to give us all more flexibility.

Nice big kitchen. Two grills outside. The 2nd floor Master Bedroom has it's own patio. A hot-tub in the back yard was well positioned to watch the sun go down. The theater was great for the kids. Three spectacular beaches were just a 15-25 minute drive away. My son and I took a road trip up to the Mauna Kea Summit. Pretty amazing.

As I said, the owners were great. I think the house is normally rented by the week, but they made an exception in our case and bent over backwards to help us make it work. They checked in with us after we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. They even gave us a break on the cleaning fee since we were only there three nights.

Thanks to Jenny and Greg for saving our vacation!!
Helpful votes: 7/7