Oakland cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Oakland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Charming 1930's cottage on approximately 5 acres studded with redwoods. This cottage is approximately 1800 sq. ft. and has a view of Mt. Diablo. It is all 1 level with 1 step up from the dining area.The third bedroom is set up as a den with queen sofa bed, laundry area and television. There is a lovely private yard with fountain. There are 2 fireplaces, wood floors and knotty pine walls. There are 2 bathrooms, one with shower and the other with shower over tub. Additionally, there is a dining room with fireplace and view . The cottage is private and set well away from the main house. It shares use of the pool, hot tub and outdoor entertainment area(kitchen, fireplace, bath and waterfall) with the main house. You are surrounded by redwoods and oaks. The property has a 'Zen' like feeling. When you drive down the driveway you feel you are out in the country, yet you are only minutes from downtown Oakland and SFO. Wildlife abounds. Hiking, biking and horseback riding trails are nearby. A perfect place to unwind.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

62 year old retired realtor. Loves horses and outdoor sports. I have horses on the property and enjoy riding.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1990

The setting is to die for. When you drive down the driveway you feel as though you are miles away from everything, yet you are only minutes away! The peace and setting nurture your mind.

Bucolic views, sounds of nature, wildlife and warmer weather that Montclair village.

9 Reviews of Property 274140 in Oakland, California

Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
La Jolla, California
5

1850 sf Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This charming hideaway, is very large and killer views! You have your own private yard with view, or enjoy the common pool area. Giant trees and mature landscape making you feel like you are part of the park adjacent! Some very good hiking and mountain bike trails (all degrees of difficulty), are a short drive one direction or about a mile walk the other direction . Randy and Sue could not be nicer, and the dogs are cool and respect your space. We enjoyed a week at Thanksgiving and spent 3 days here over Easter! Perfect weather both times. Only downside is small kitchen but the peaceful setting and beauty make up for any negatives! I am a fireplace guy, and this place has two of them. Plenty of wood!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, we really enjoyed having you!
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
5

I'm in Love.

I'm in Love.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
I believe that great things must be shared. Such is the case for this hidden gem.

First, let me tell you now that our experience of staying at this property was nothing short of memorable.

Though this property is listed as being a "Cottage", I personally think that it should be labeled as a "Spa" or even a "Personal Resort".

No offense to Sue, but the photos and description of the property don't do it justice. Believe me, I'm a photographer.

The crowning glory of your stay will be to watch a magnificent sunrise through the pristine wilderness behind the cottage, uninterrupted by houses or freeways. The experience is simply magical.

From the one lane private driveway to the beautifully manicured garden, filled with flowers and plants, I knew our stay was to be perfectly relaxing and fun. The pool and hot tub area was a great place to hangout and get a tan in the day, and unwind with great company and a bottle of wine at night.

The cottage itself is also at the same level of classy personal touch. From the beautiful hardwood floors, rustic door handles, and two brick fireplaces you will never think of this place as being short of exquisite character. The bedrooms are a good size with very comfortable beds, and there are plenty of closet space. The kitchen is fully equipped and besides a waffle maker, there was nothing else that we wished to have brought.

Lastly, we all know that one of the make or breaks of picking a place to stay are the people who own the property and keep it beautiful. So I want to thank Sue, Randy, Claire and Loki, the Australian shepherd, for being very welcoming and accommodating! They made us feel like friends from out of town.

So if you do make the right decision and book the property, I just have one big request. Please don't burn the cottage down. My family and I want to create more unforgettable memories at this oasis.
Owner's Response: You are so kind, we would love to have you come again and share our oasis with us1
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Oakland Hills home, redwoods and Mt. Diablo views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great home base for visiting family in the East Bay and day tripping with our kids around SF area. Comfy home with ranch-motif furnishings, pool and hot tub access, relaxing garden setting, redwoods on property, sunroom and private back patio with forest framed views of Mount Diablo, and lots of parking for visitors. Plenty of living space to host family dinners. 2 BR, 2 BA, all the amenities. I almost don't want to review this place so I can keep it all to myself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again. Thankyou, Thank you, Thankyou!
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
5

AWESOME!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The pictures don't do this place justice. Fantastic view all you see are hills and trees around you. Quiet and safe. I came up for my daughters wedding with my parents and children. Plenty of room, and very relaxing environment. The owners are super nice, and just really good people. One of the nicest experiences I have ever had with VRBO rentals. The d├ęcor is rustic American as is the feel and look. I just cant say enough good things about this place. I would have been happy just to spend a week and hang out. They have the most amazing looking cedar tree on the property that I could only compare to a banyan tree, must be over a hundred years old. So if your in this area do yourself a favor and stay here. You wont be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the nice comments, I hope you can come back and hang out as well.
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
Pahoa, HI
5

J. Marvin - Pahoa Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
What a wonderful oasis! We had a very relaxing few days in Oakland Hills and our dog was welcome, too! We had family dinners in the dining room with a roaring fire and the view toward Mt. Diablo was just beautiful. We enjoyed everything.
Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
Newburyport, MA
5

An Oasis in the Oakland hills!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I, along with my parents, rented this wonderful home for 10 days in November. The home is in a gorgeous setting with killer views and lots of privacy, yet it's close to stores and major roads. The home was beautifully maintained and had everything we needed. The owners were friendly and helpful, offering us fresh eggs from their chickens and use of their hot tub. We had all of the wood we needed for the two fireplaces and had at least one of them lit every morning and evening. We all hated to leave and look forward to returning some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We love it there ourselves and have always felt it is a very "special" place.
It is nice to hear that you feel the same.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
Southern California
5

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
An oasis of serenity hidden in the hills above Oakland. Gracious hosts, beautiful grounds, we would gladly return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
Los Angeles, CA
5

Best in Oakland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We've stayed at wonderful VRBO properties everywhere from Hana Hawaii to Valle de Bravo Mexico -- and this one is at the top of the list. Unsurpassed location - gateway to dozens of hiking trails, but still a short drive to the restaurants of Rockridge Berkeley. Great getaway for two couples or a family. We were reluctant to leave, and we can't wait to go back this summer to take more advantage of the pool, jacuzzi and BBQ. Sue, the owner, is a wonderful host and we hope to become regulars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surrounded by the Park Yet Close to Everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274140vbi
(510) 409-6796
Oakland The Bay Area
San Diego
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
I have stayed ay vrbo's for the last 15 years and this is one of the best-it not the best. Great setting, charming cottage with fantastic views and lots of wildlife-can't wait to come back!!!