Kill Devil Hills house rental - Welcome to Sunset Escape!
Welcome to Sunset Escape!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kill Devil Hills House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, loft area w/futon, sleeps 9

Bring the boat or jet skis! Sunset Escape is a beautifully furnished 2400 SF canal-front home located in the private gated community of Colington Harbour. The rental price includes the use of 2 tandem kayaks and adult sized life vests. This property has all the luxuries of home such as high-speed Internet with wifi, bluray DVD player and several flat screen cable TVs. THREE OF THE BEDROOMS HAVE PRIVATE BATHS. It is the perfect home for boating, kayaking, fishing, crabbing & relaxing. The neighborhood soundside beach w/playground & pool is perfect for the kids. A wonderful escape offering privacy with lots to do and is close to Wright Brothers Memorial, grocery stores, restaurants & bars, and a movie theater.

The neighborhood soundside beach is about a 1 mile from our home and the Kill Devil Beach with public access and bathhouse is 5 miles away. The neighborhood pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. After Labor Day the pool will typically be open during weekends in September, weather permitting.

*** MANY MORE PHOTOS AVAILABLE ***: SEE LINK TO OUR PROPERTY SLIDESHOW (The link is located near bottom of page above 'Property Review' section

Please note this is a Friday-to-Friday rental ONLY during the Summer months. Partial week stays are only considered during non peak times and we have a THREE night minimum. Check-in time is 3 PM with a check-out by 11 AM.

Other Terms:

- THE LISTED RATES ARE THE TOTAL RENTAL COST AND INCLUDE CLEANING FEE AND TAXES. AN ADDITIONAL, REFUNDABLE $350 SECURITY DEPOSIT IS ALSO REQUIRED. There will be a 3% convenience fee for any payments made by credit card.

- GUESTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR BRINGING THEIR OWN LINENS. There are local businesses in the area which provide linen rental services, as well as rental bikes, additional kayaks, baby equipment, etc. Please indicate if interested.

- RENTAL PAYMENT TERMS: 50% Rental Amount due with signed rental agreement to secure week. Remaining balance & Security Deposit are due 45 days prior to arrival. For arrivals less than 45 days away, the full amount, including security deposit, is due to reserve home.

- LAUNCH FEES: The approximate Colington Harbour launch fee is $25 for the week or $10/day for guests who opt bring their own boats or jet skis.

- NO PETS, NO FAMILY GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 9 PEOPLE AND PLEASE NOTE OUR MIN STAY REQUIREMENTS.

More Details
Hide Details

Dear Guests - Thank you for considering our home for your vacation! My name is Yvonne Scott and my husband's name is Stan. We have two children, ages 19 and 15. We live in Fairfax County in Northern Virginia. I work full time in the software industry but also have a background in real estate. Stan owns an electrical contracting business. We all love the Outer Banks area as we really enjoy boating and being on the water. As a family we also enjoy skiing too.

Yvonne Scott purchased this house in 2009

Stan and I have been vacationing in the Outer Banks for almost 30 years now. We discovered Colington Harbour back in 2005 afer we purchased our Waverunner jet skis. We wanted to bring our jet skis on vacation with us and we discovered Colington Harbour is the perfect neighborhood where you can rent an affordable home and have your own dock. We also really enjoy fishing and crabbing. Being on the water away from the beach crowds is very relaxing but yet it's close enough to visit the beach attractions and restaurants. For several years we rented homes in Colington for our annual summer vacation. After a few years and a soft real estate market we decide to invest in a second home property. One day hope to retire at our home.

16 Reviews of Property 273584 in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina

Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
South Central PA
5

First time in Colintonton--Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our first time staying anywhere other than on the beach road (after 10+ yrs) but we bought a boat & I was looking for a place with a dock. I was immediately smitten with the pictures of this home. I ended up booking with only 2 of us going in the hopes we'd be able to have some of our friends join us. That didn't work out so we had plenty of room for just the two of us but it was great! The home is exactly as pictured. Very nicely decorated & the dock & harbor are so convenient to the sound. We were out every evening watching the sun set & saw some dolphins one morning. The beach access is only 15 minutes away. The owner was very responsive & easy to deal with during the entire process. The thing I liked most was that the price included everything--no having to calculate the cleaning fee or tax! And, I already have my refund check for the security deposit! The only thing we suggested to the owner was a second set of cleats at the dock to make it easier to tie up the boat. Didn't use the kayaks or pool so can't comment on them. Plenty of dishes & glasses. The welcome bag with paper towels, toilet tissue & dish washer detergent was a nice surprise. House would be great for 2 couples with kids. All three bedrooms upstairs have an attached bath & the downstairs bath has a shower. If we can find someone to join us next year, we will definitely rent again & I'd recommend this home to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle of the beach road or bypass. It is only 15 minutes away.
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

Top-Notch OBX Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Not sure I have much to add to the other superlative reviews on this house but let's just say that the house looked promising on the website and exceeded my expectations once I arrived. The owners are extremely responsive and take great care to make sure you have an excellent experience.

It is a great find in a quiet neighborhood right on the sound.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

BEAUTIFUL HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a beautiful home! It is right on the canal with a dock out back. Great for fishing & crabbing! We also enjoyed the use of the two kayak's that came with the rental. You have everything right here is your back yard & in this private community that you need. The home is beautiful inside as well. Our girls loved it here! It is an easy drive to the beach & much closer than I thought it would be. Thanks to the Scott family for sharing their home with us!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

Outstanding Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our vacation was smooth from the initial inquiry til the timely refunded deposit. Its a quiet safe community with plenty to do but off the beaten path. It was well equipped, clean, and current. The master bed was the most comfortable I have EVER slept in. The Friday to Friday rental is so brilliant, no traffic! Definately would recommend to anyone seeking waterfront but not neccesarily oceanfront. Sweet Frog was a hit for dessert. The owners are very responsive in whatever form you need..email, phone, or text... very convenient. If I hadn't missed my puppy so much I would book again in a heartbeat. Thanks for a memorable week!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
Greenville, South Carolina
5

Wonderful home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This vacation home has everything one would need and more -- ample space, cable TV, well-stocked kitchen and a very nice deck for hanging out and eating dinner while watching the boats pass by. We had bought some games with us in case it rains but we didn't have too. There are enough books and board games to keep everyone entertained. We enjoyed the golf scrabble and the Trivial Pursuit! The location is also great as it is far enough from traffic and beach crowds but still close enough to the grocery and for sightseeing. We also enjoyed the kayaks. We highly recommend this rental in the OBX!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

Excellent Choice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The owners have a beautiful house to offer to anyone looking to experience the OBX. The house has more than anyone could want to enjoy their vacation. Our 10 yr old girls had the time of their lives checking out the ducks, kayaking, even playing horse-opoly on the night we decided to stay in! While the house wasn't on the beach, we had no inconveniences accessing it via the short drive. Overall it was well worth the money to stay here, I didn't feel like I overpaid for this house. We were very sad to leave but now we have great memories and a place we plan to rent again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
Severn, MD
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Stayed for a long weekend in this beautiful home. Nicely furnished with a lovely open floor plan. Colington harbour is a nice quiet neighborhood to stay in. Would definitely recommend this house.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The house is beautiful and very accommodating. It is accessible to all on the major desired locations. The owners are very good to work with and promptly answered all of our questions. We will definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
5

Great family escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Great house...very comfortably furnished with a fully stocked kitchen. Homeowners left information covering any questions you could possibly have. We rented a kayak for the week and it was great to be able to kayak out into the sound especially early evening to see the sunset. The kids loved crabbing off the dock. The water in the canal was so warm...it was perfect to swim in when we returned from the beach. I would just suggest bringing water shoes...or there's a KMart a few minutes away that carried them. Bought a bunch of seafood at Billy's Seafood Market and made a great dinner at home...along with the crabs the kids caught off the dock. We had a perfect family vacation and are looking forward to returning next year. The Friday to Friday rental totally eliminates the traffic issue coming over the bridge...we made great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Like New Waterfront Home w/ Private Dock - Bring the Boat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273584
+1 703 307-1410
Kill Devil Hills Outer Banks
Edenton, North Carolina
5

Excellent Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in this home. It is well maintained and appointed and the "off-the-beaten-path" location is great for those wishing to get away from the more touristy areas of the beach. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful and the park area was nice for the kids, even though it was so hot that we only visited it once! Sitting on the back deck looking out over the channel or watching the guys fish was an excellent start and end to our days. I was originally concerned about downstairs noise affecting the upstairs bedrooms but it wasn't an issue. The owners quickly answered all of our questions and went out of their way to accommodate us. I highly recommend this home & hope to visit it again next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1