Lake Whitney cabin rental - The Cabin Porch and Entry
The Cabin Porch and Entry
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Whitney Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-10)

Trinity Trails Ranch is 24 acres of heaven, located in the heart of Texas. The ranch is nestled between the towns of Whitney and Hillsboro on Lake Aquilla just 45 minutes south of the Dallas/Ft Worth Metroplex. There is about a mile of dirt roads on the property to explore and view the natural beauty of the woods and observe the wildlife. It’s peaceful, quiet, secluded, and the stars at night light up the sky. We hate to head back home every time we come to enjoy the ranch.

The custom designed ranch house we call our 'cabin' was built in 2008 and is nearly 1400 square feet arranged in a great open floor plan. It is situated on 6 of the acres in Trinity Trails, but you can explore the entire ranch and the 50 acres of Corp land next to the lake.

The master has a King, second bedroom has a queen, and the third has a set of twin beds that can be arranged as bunk beds. There is also a full bed in the loft and a queen sofa sleeper if you need more places to sleep.

Come enjoy the cabin, use the canoes on the lake, fishing off the shore, sitting around the campfire, and making great memories with friends and family in a unique get away that won't be soon forgotten. The cabin is about 100 yards from the shoreline, canoes only 50 yards away with a caddy to make it easy to wheel them to the water.

The incredible fishing on Lake Aquilla is one of the best kept secrets in Texas. It's chalked full of bass, crappie, and channel catfish. And Trinity Trails Ranch is set right next to one of the prime fishing spots. And if water skiing, sailing, or scuba diving is more to your liking, Lake Whitney is just a few miles away and is considered one of the top two lakes in all of Texas.

The cabin is very well equipped. We have Direct TV with a 40' flat screen TV and WIFI internet. Plenty of games including a foosball table, dart board, and poker cards/chips. A complete kitchen stocked with all the normal appliances, coffee pot, pots/pans, dishes and glasses, cooking utensils, and a gas grill on the back patio means all you need to bring is groceries.

And as with any place in the country there is a great variety of wildlife to be seen. There are deer, armadillos, wild turkey, the occasional snake, and all kinds of birds...hawks and even bald eagles have stopped by.

Note: Boats can be easily left just inside the front gate as there are so many trees, a couple dips, and turning around with a boat is difficult except at the pasture.

Canoes: Life jackets are provided and must be used at all times. Children must be accompanied by an adult when in the canoes.

More Details
Hide Details

We have always wanted to have a cabin in the woods we could share with friends and family and we finally built that dream on a very special piece of property!

Sean Lynes purchased this cabin in 2008

I had been looking for years for just the right property for us. This heavily wooded ranch on a lake and with so much room has allowed us to build our dream cabin.

28 Reviews of Property 273474 in Lake Whitney, Texas

Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Waxahachie, Texas
5

Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved this cabin in the woods! We will be back, as long as Sean continues to share it with us. Sean was great to deal with and reimbursed our deposit the day after our departure. We enjoyed some much needed family time and the location of this cabin provided the break we needed. There were 7 of us and it was very comfortable for all of us. We stayed for 3 nights and we all wanted to stay longer. I am thinking a week will do the trick next time. Thanks again Sean for providing a great escape from everyday life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Leander, TX
5

Another wonderful weekend at the cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our third trip to the cabin and we're already looking forward to our fourth! Sean is so amazing to work with!!! My grandsons (age 5 and 2) LOVE the foosball table ... especially when most everybody is still asleep! We watched movies, played cards and board games, and just generally hung out and were lazy ... stayed in "comfies" all weekend! Made s'mores over the fire Saturday night ... great fun! Thanks, Sean, for sharing your cabin with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Mission, Texas
5

Awesome Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The best hideaway Cabin to forget all of work and do nothing but relax! My kids and i had a time of our life there with great picture memories to bring back. 24 acres and a lake to enjoy all to ourselves. Spent a couple of days on the lake and a day of trails and drove out to the nearby lake whitney also. Beautiful scenery in every direction. A must for the outdoor nature lover. With Forth Worth and Dallas nearby, we made the time to head up to Six flags and catch a Texas Rangers game. We fell in love with the Cabin and want to make plans to stay in cooler weather this year. Thanks for the memories!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Texas
5

Definitely off of the beaten path

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The ten of us really enjoyed the cabin near Lake Aquilla. The cabin was well stocked, clean and well maintained. It was very hot outside but we had plenty of games to play indoors. The kids loved the loft and the swings. We did canoe a little bit but not too far due to the heat.

The pictures accurately describe the cabin and the owner was very easy to work with and gave great directions.

If you are looking for excitement, we went to Lake Whitney to cliff jump. Not far away at all.

We also had a great Italian meal in Hillsboro on the square at Frenkies.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Hillsboro, TX
5

5-Star Campground

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
If you enjoy all of the camping activities you can do with the family but not so much with the sleeping bag and the tent, then this place is perfect for your family, as you can have all of the outdoor fun in complete privacy (24 ac of mostly woods + lake + grass field + kids playground) without sacrificing the hot shower, a fully stocked kitchen, TV, internet, and nice beds,....

My family (2 kids: 4, & 6) spent a week here with my brother's (their kids: 20 & 21), and it was tons of fun. We were hiking, canoeing, fishing, and bird watching by day and play games around campfire and watch stars by night. I was glad that I brought my Xbox and Knect because that's when adults can get some quality time to chat away. And I strongly recommend anyone considering this place to bring a good binocular to watch birds by day and stars at night. We spotted 10 different bird species including eagles and the "milky way" in the sky was so clear at night with our binocular.

Note:
1. There are about 6 fishing rods and a variety of hooks and baits in the tool shed, but all but 1 rod's reel still works. So if you like fishing, bring your own gear.
2. The sunset is beautiful at the lake, but I find riding in the canoe in the middle of the lake is the best place to watch sunset, but to make sure I can find my way back to the boat launch after sunset, I strapped my LED headlight on a tree about 20' higher than the water level and set it to the "flash mode" (blinks), pointing to the direction where I'll be in the lake. This little LED will serve as a beacon when I decided to roll back ashore before pitch dark. Without it, the 1 mile shore line looks the just the same to me, very difficult to point the boat at a constant accurate direction. Hope this helps.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Brenham
5

THANKS FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had looked at this property and were looking forward to a week's retreat with the family. Unfortunately some mechanical problems with the property, at the last minute, prevented us from being able to stay there. The owner assisted us in finding another location, transferred our payments to the new property and made up the difference in price. In just a short four hours we were off to our new vacation destination.

We will make use of this property in the future. Good property, Good house, Good to work with.
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

I can recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Everything is fine now.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Abilene, TX
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I can highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking to get away. The seclusion of the cabin makes you feel as if you're 1,000 miles from nowhere, but there are any amenities you want within a 15-minute drive. Our party consisted of two couples, a one-year old, and a 14-month old, and there was plenty of room. Outstanding place at an outstanding price. I'd recommend staying here to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
San Antonio
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I travel several times a year and have been to many Cabins but this vacation property was by far the best! Everything about this house was just amazing, all the amenities you could think of were provided and more. There was plenty of room, gorgeous kitchen and my personal favorite the big screen TV. I slept like a Queen and will definitely be back again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Atlantic, Iowa
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Thank you so much! The house is beautiful (the photos don't do it justice) and spacious. It was very well stocked. Only minor problem we had was when we arrived the key broke off in the lock but that was taken care of with one phone call. We loved how it is settled way back into the wooded area but the town isn't very far away at all. Our 1 year old wanted to play outside the entire time, and so did we. The big boys caught some yummy catfish. Loved the paths (well established and the more adventurous ones). Enjoyed the 75 degree days on the canoes on the lake. Made some delicious smores right out back. The foosball table and dart board were a hit. Great family experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Trinity Trails: Lone Star Cabin in 6 acres on Lake Aquilla
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273474
+ (469) 831-4101 (Texas, USA)
Lake Whitney Texas Lakes
Burleson, TX
5

Impressive!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We had a fabulous time at the ranch! It was the perfect getaway for my husband's birthday. The lake was beautiful! The house was perfect for us and the couples that joined us from out of town. We were all very impressed with the property. The only bad thing was that we weren't able to stay long enough! There was so much offered that we didn't get to take advantage of like the canoes, fishing and nature trails. We look forward to doing it all next time! The campfire area was perfect for sitting and catching up with old friends over s'mores. We've all decided that our kids would love the place so we are already planning to come back with them and stay longer. I highly recommend this property for someone looking for a getaway with your spouse, with your family or as a place to meet up with old friends. This cabin has everything you need! Thanks again for a wonderful time, it was more than we expected and we look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4